DETAILED ACTION
1. The office acknowledges the receipt of the following and placed of record in the file: Application dated 5/6/2025 claimed priority of date 12/28/2022.
2. Claims 1-23 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claim(s) 1, 5 and 20-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP2010140156 (“JP-156”) as provided in form 1449.
Regarding Claims 1, 21, 22 and 23, JP-156 teaches an onboard apparatus mounted on a vehicle, comprising:
a device connection unit (interface of device 4) configured to connect a plurality of onboard devices (device group-9) mounted on the vehicle [Para: 0022(as interface of device 4 connecting and “control each device” from device group-9, 0027, where these devices are mounted on vehicle board, see 0001)];
an apparatus state management unit (device control unit 4) configured to manage an apparatus power state of the onboard apparatus [Para: 0022(control unit 4 controls “an operating state” by “shifting each device in the group 9”)];
an application execution unit configured to install a plurality of applications and execute the applications installed [Para: 0024(as “selection unit 6 … to select only a device to be accessed by an application that was been operating immediately before the transition”) and 0033((“device selection unit 6 … extract the application …”)]; and
a device power management unit configured to manage a device power state of the onboard devices connected to the device connection unit [Para: 0018 (“power supply state control unit 1 … performs transition control from an operating state to an low power consumption state”)],
wherein:
an on state is defined as a state in which power is supplied [Para: 0007(operating state)];
a standby state is defined as a state in which the power is supplied and power consumption is suppressed compared to the on state [Para: 007(low power consumption state or hibernation state)];
the device power management unit sets at least the onboard device capable of detecting a wake-up factor (a “flag” is set), which is a factor for activating the application, to the on state or the standby state [Para: 0033(“check the flag indicating a start state …”)]; and
the device power management unit sets, based on device usage information in a manifest (a “device management table” containing certain application is in “active state”) in which the device usage information indicating the onboard device used by an installed application is set, an onboard device necessary for an installed and operating application to execute processing to a device on state, which is the on state of the onboard device [Para: 0009(“activate a required device in the device group … the device activation selection unit refers to the device management table and select only those device used by the application operating immediately before the low power consumption state”) and 0023(reading “management table 5 has device list information to be used … an application is an active state is monitored by adding a flag”)].
Regarding Claim 5, JP-156 teaches wherein: the plurality of onboard devices include at least one of an onboard communication device, an acceleration sensor, an external communication device [Para: 0027(GPS)], a short-range communication device, a camera, a speaker, and a microphone.
Regarding Claim 20, JP-156 teaches wherein: the application execution unit is capable of installing the plurality of applications obtained from outside the vehicle [Para: 0033(“check the flag indicating the start state … extract the application”0 and 0038(“restart all the applications that are operating immediately before the transition”)]; and
the onboard apparatus further comprises a storage unit that stores the manifest for each application installed in the application execution unit, the manifest being obtained from outside the vehicle along with the application 0023(“management table 5 has device list information to be used … an application is an active state” where the active state is stored in a memory with a “flag”)].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claim(s) 2-3, 11-13 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JP-156 and Lee et al. (“Lee”), U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0089294.
Regarding Claim 2, JP-156 teaches the onboard apparatus is configured to have, as the apparatus power state, an apparatus on state, which is the on state of the onboard apparatus, and an apparatus standby state, which is the standby state of the onboard apparatus [Para: 0007(hibernation state];
the plurality of onboard devices are configured to have, as the device power state, a device off state, which is the off state of the onboard device, a device on state, which is the on state of the onboard device, and a device standby state, which is the standby state of the onboard device, or are configured to have the device off state and the device on state without having the device standby state [Para: 0019(operating state to a low power consumption state)];
the device power management unit sets, when the onboard apparatus is in the apparatus on state, the onboard device necessary for the installed and operating application to execute processing to the device on state based on the device usage information in the manifest [Para: 0009(“activate a required device in the device group … the device activation selection unit refers to the device management table and select only those device used by the application operating immediately before the low power consumption state”)]; and
the device power management unit sets, when the onboard apparatus is in the apparatus standby state, sets at least the onboard device capable of detecting a wake-up factor [Para: 0033(“check the flag indicating a start state …”)], which is a factor for activating the application, to the device on state or the device standby state [Para: 0023(reading “management table 5 has device list information to be used … an application is an active state is monitored by adding a flag”)].
JP-156 does not disclose expressly wherein: an off state is defined as a state in which power supply is cut off.
In the same field of endeavor (e.g., power control method during boot period), Lee teaches wherein: an off state is defined as a state in which power supply is cut off [Para: 0020, 0034 and 0048];
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify JP-156’s teachings of power management unit configured to control during on state and standby state for onboard apparatus mounted on vehicle with Lee’s teachings of : an off state is defined as a state in which power supply is cut off would allow JP-156 to dynamically controlling power for devices during boot period and to save power.
Regarding Claim 3, JP-156 teaches wherein: the application execution unit is in the on state when the onboard apparatus is in the apparatus on state [Para: 0009(as active state indicates applications operating immediately before transition to low power state and selecting devices that are necessary in active state when system resume from low power state)]; and
the application execution unit is in the standby state when the onboard apparatus is in the apparatus standby state [Para: 0029].
Regarding Claim 11, JP-156 teaches wherein: the manifest includes the wake-up factor set for each of the plurality of applications in addition to the device usage information; and
the apparatus state management unit transitions the onboard apparatus to the apparatus on state when the onboard apparatus is in the apparatus standby state and when the wake-up factor set in the manifest occurs [Para: 0033(a “flag” is set, which is a factor for activating the application, to the on state as “check the flag indicating a start state …” from low power state)].
Regarding Claim 12, JP-156 teaches wherein: the plurality of applications includes an application for which a type of apparatus power state is set as the wake-up factor [Para: 0023(“device list indicates list of devices to be accessed by the applications” where the where list includes a type from para 0027)].
Regarding Claim 13, JP-156 teaches wherein: the plurality of applications includes an application for which a detection result by the onboard device is set as the wake-up factor [Para: 0009(“applications are in activated state” are selected for activation when system resumes from low power state)].
Regarding Claim 16, JP-156 teaches wherein: the application execution unit is configured to operate the plurality of applications simultaneously [Para: 0009(“applications are in activated state”)];
the device power management unit sets the onboard device necessary for each of the plurality of applications to execute processing to the device on state when the plurality of applications are operating simultaneously; and the device power management unit sets an unnecessary device, which is the onboard device that is no longer needed, to the device off state or the device standby state when at least one of the applications in operation completes the operation [Para: 0009(when system resumes “selects only the device used by the application operating immediately before the transition to the low power consumption state” for execution in active state)].
Regarding Claim 17, See the discussion above.
Allowable Subject Matter
5. Claims 4 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED H REHMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176