DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 1 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 still contains the language from the parent application where claim 12 still existed. Claim 1 needs amended to correct this deficiency.
For examination purposes claim 1 will be interpreted (based on the parent application and instant disclosure for proper antecedent basis and enablement) as follows:
A method, comprising:
positioning a print head of a stereolithography 3D printer (SLA printer)
aligning the magnetically responsive particles in the resin composition with a magnetic field generated by
SLA printing the resin composition comprising the magnetically responsive particles to form a solid layer comprising the aligned magnetically responsive particles.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-4 are seen as vague and indefinite since it is unclear as to whether or not an Autodesk Ember printer is required or not. The phrases “separation slide velocity” and “approach slide velocity” appear to be used exclusively in connection with Autodesk Ember SLA printers, the Examiner could not find another printer that used such parameters. Therefore, do claims 2-4 require an Autodesk Ember SLA printer to be used as the SLA printer?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Safaee et al (Investigation of a Magnetic Field-Assisted Digital-Light-Processing Stereolithography for Functionally Graded Materials: herein Safaee).
Regarding claim 1:
Safaee teaches in Figure 1 a SLA printer with a print head (print bed), a resin vat, and a magnet holder on the print head. The resin vat of Safaee contains iron oxide (Fe3O4) per section 2.1. During printing layer-by-layer (Section 2.2 second paragraph page 733) the magnets aligns the particles as discussed in the first paragraph of Section 2.2, the first paragraph of Section 3, and as seen in Figure 4.
Regarding claims 5 and 6:
Safaee teaches using 0.5 wt% Fe3O4 per section 2.1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adafruit Industries (Ember 3D Printer from Autodesk, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3p9xnjGKCT0), in view of Safaee.
Regarding claim 1:
Adafruit Industries shows the operation of an Autodesk Ember SLA printer from timestamp 00:22 through 00:56. This shows a print head being position onto a resin composition where each layer is cured. Adafruit Industries does not discuss the use of magnetically responsive particles in the resin, or the use of a magnet to align the magnetically responsive particles.
In the same field of SLA printing Safaee, as previously discussed, teaches using a print head with magnets to align magnetic particles in the resin.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add the magnets to the print head and use magnetic particles, as taught by Safaee, since doing so allows for the creation of functionally graded materials with customizable magnetic gradations (Safaee: Abstract and Conclusion).
Regarding claims 5 and 6:
As previously discussed Safaee teaches the claimed composition.
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Adafruit Industries and Safaee as applied above, and further in view of Instructable Workshop (How to Tune Ember’s Print Setting for New Resin; already of record).
Regarding claim 2:
Adafruit Industries and Safaee are silent to the claimed parameters for a first layer.
In the same field of endeavor Instructable Workshop teaches when using an Ember printer there is only one first layer (page 6, first paragraph), and that one can control the separation slide velocity based on the needs of the resin used and one can control the approach slide velocity in order to reduce shear stress on the part (page 9, last two paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the parameters of the first layer as discussed by Instructable Workshop, since doing so optimizes such parameters for the resin used and the shear stress applied.
Regarding claim 3:
Adafruit Industries and Safaee are silent to the claimed parameters for a burn in layer.
In the same field of endeavor Instructable Workshop teaches when using an Ember printer there is at least one burn in layer (page 6, first paragraph), and that one can control the exposure time to prevent resin jamming, control the separation slide velocity based on the needs of the resin used, and one can control the approach slide velocity in order to reduce shear stress on the part (page 9, last three paragraphs).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the parameters of the burn in layer as discussed by Instructable Workshop, since doing so optimizes such parameters for the resin used and the shear stress applied.
Regarding claim 4:
Adafruit Industries and Safaee are silent to the claimed parameters for a model layer.
In the same field of endeavor Instructable Workshop teaches when using an Ember printer there is at least one model layer (page 6, first paragraph), and that one can control wait time to allow for resin to flow out from under the model, control the exposure time to prevent resin jamming, control the separation slide velocity based on the needs of the resin used, and one can control the approach slide velocity in order to reduce shear stress on the part (page 9, last three paragraphs and page 10, fourth paragraph).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to control the parameters of the model layer as discussed by Instructable Workshop, since doing so optimizes such parameters for the resin used and the shear stress applied.
Alternatively with regards to claims 2-4:
Claims 2-4 are claiming how to use an Ember 3D printer, as discussed throughout Instructable Workshop, printing parameters can be optimized for known reasons. Additionally, the Applicant has admitted that when using the Ember printer known parameters are simply optimized (page 6, lines 19-30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to optimize known print parameters for the Ember printer, since it has been held that optimization of known process parameters is obvious (MPEP 2144.05 II). In this instance Instructable Workshop has shown what the parameters are and what they accomplish, at the same time the Applicant has admitted to simply optimizing known parameters of the known Ember 3D printer.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additionally cited references are pertinent to use of Ember 3D printers with and without magnetic particles, and other printers with magnetic particles in the resin.
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743