DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahraray et al. (US PGPub 2011/0090233), Mizusako et al. (US PGPub 2010/0214271), and Saitoh et al. (US PGPub 2010/0201897).
Regarding claim 1, Shahraray discloses a display device (fig. 3) comprising:
a display panel (fig. 3, display 310);
a ([0042], “Computer 300 operates a display 310, which may shutter between different images”) ([0042], “cycling of the displays on display 310”),
a control unit (fig. 3, computer 300),
wherein:
the control unit includes an image generation circuit ([0042], “Computer 300 operates a display 310, which may shutter between different images” where the computer operates the method of figs 2a and 2b as explained in [0048], “The computer 500 can perform the steps described above (e.g., with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2a-2b). Additionally, computer 500 can operate as computer 300 in FIG. 3. Computer 500 contains processor 510 which controls the operation of the computer by executing computer program instructions which define such operation, and which may be stored on a computer-readable recording medium”)
the control unit generates, based on data for a secret image and data for a public image, data for a first image with a compressed gradation of the secret image ([0038], “The flow of the method starts at start circle 200 and proceeds to operation 205, which indicates to display periodically a private image sequence on a display in synchronicity with a first signal”) and data for a second image reflecting a reverse image of the first image and the public image ([0038], “The negative image sequence includes an inverse of the private image sequence causing the part of the display to appear white or gray in the public image sequence” also see fig. 4),
the image generation circuit generates the data for the first image and the data for the second image ([0042], “Computer 300 operates a display 310, which may shutter between different images” where the computer operates the method of figs 2a and 2b as explained in [0048], “The computer 500 can perform the steps described above (e.g., with respect to FIGS. 1 and 2a-2b). Additionally, computer 500 can operate as computer 300 in FIG. 3. Computer 500 contains processor 510 which controls the operation of the computer by executing computer program instructions which define such operation, and which may be stored on a computer-readable recording medium”),
the control unit causes the first image and the second image to be displayed by time division (fig. 2A, step 205), and
the control unit controls the (fig. 2A, step 220).
While Shahraray discloses a computer 500 contains processor 510 based on computer program instructions stored in storage 520 and loaded into memory 530 (Shahraray: [0048]), it has been known to use a memory to store information about image data. Furthermore, while compensating public and private images in Shahraray is performed during usage and generating image outputs for given inputs using an intended function, instead of executing the function on the inputs during usage, it has been known to run the function on a list of possible inputs to obtain the corresponding list of outputs to generate a LUT determined based on display responsiveness of the display panel for access during use as a well-known alternative. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Mizusako discloses wherein the memory is a look-up table (fig. 1, look up tables 32); the look-up table is determined based on a display responsiveness of the display panel ([0032], “The lookup tables are used for compensating for the responsiveness of liquid crystal”).
In view of the teachings of Shahraray and Mizusako, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the lookup table of Mizusako within the system of Shahraray as a known alternative, whereby Mizusako teaches that display responsiveness which is effected by temperature affects image quality degradation such that compensation based on display responsiveness could be included in the image output operation to help address such degradation, so that use of such lookup table based on display responsiveness as taught by Mizusako in a display system such as taught by Shahraray would further improve image quality by further addressing such degradation.
While the combination of Shahraray and Mizusako teaches a shutter module for the display, a polarizer is a known specific type of shutter. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Saitoh discloses the polarizing module placed over a whole of a screen of the display panel ([0044], “The polarization layer 49b is formed, for example, over the entire surface of the liquid crystal cell 10”), the polarizing module having an optical structure that switches between states of polarization using liquid crystal cells ([0005], “However, with the liquid crystal shutter glasses 41 being switched to the transmission state in sync with the display of the images A and B and to the shielding state in sync with their inverted images A' and B', observer 42 wearing the liquid crystal shutter glasses 41 can recognize images A and B. Therefore, only observer 42 using the liquid crystal shutter glasses 41 can recognize the display”).
In view of the teachings of Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the polarizer of Saitoh within the system of Shahraray and Mizusako as a known and specific means of implementing a shutter disclosed by Shahraray.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh further discloses wherein the first state of polarization and the second state of polarization are linear polarizations whose transmission axes are orthogonal to each other (Saitoh: [0041], “The light transmission axes of the polarization layers 49a and 49b are orthogonal to each other”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh further discloses wherein a length of a first period during which the display panel displays the first image is different from a length of a second period during which the display panel displays the second image (Shahraray: [0029], “Additionally, the non-private image may be displayed for a greater number of cycles than the private image and therefore may not need to be displayed at the same intensity as image Y”).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh further in view of Murzyn (US PGPub 2025/0189834).
Regarding claim 3, while the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh discloses vertical and horizontal polarization, circular polarization has been known. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Murzyn discloses wherein the first state of polarization and the second state of polarization are circular polarizations one of which is a right-handed circular polarization and the other of which is a left-handed circular polarization ([0076], “The display panel 100g is not limited to linear polarization dichroism and may use circular polarization dichroism. The quarter-wave plate 178 is mounted between the first liquid crystal retarder 124 and the dichroic element exhibiting the circular polarization dichroism. The linear polarization of the light presented from the first liquid crystal retarder 124 is changed to a circular polarization by the quarter-wave plate 178. The circular polarization may be right-hand or left-hand circularly polarized light. The passive dichroic dye film 126a has selective transmission of light depending on the direction of circular polarization”).
In view of the teachings of Shahraray, Mizusako, Saitoh and Murzyn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use circular polarization of Murzyn, in the system of Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh, as a known alternative type of polarization where Murzyn discloses linear or circular polarization can be used interchangeably (Murzyn: [0076]).
Claims 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh further in view of Miyasaka et al. (US PGPub 2010/0177112).
Regarding claim 6, while the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh teaches a public and private image formed using a look-up table, it has been known to for images by using a plurality of tones. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Miyasaka further discloses wherein
the public image is formed by at least two different tones of luminance including a maximum luminance and a minimum luminance ([0062], “the image processing section 131 determines whether both of a reminder of the X value of the pixel divided by 8 and a reminder of the Y value of the pixel divided by 8 are smaller than 4, or bigger than 3 (Step S3), and when the determined value is true, a value of 255 (which is "white") is selected as a value of the public image P (Step S4), and when the determined value is false, a value of 0 (which is "black") is selected as a value of the public image P (Step S5)” where white is a maximum and black is a minimum), the look-up table includes at least two sub-look-up tables including a first sub-look-up table for a tone of the maximum luminance of the public image and a second sub-look-up table for a tone of the minimum luminance of the public image, and each of the first and second sub-look-up tables includes a data set in which luminance tone values of the first image and luminance tone values of the second image are associated with luminance tone values of the secret image ([0064], “In this case, one frame will be divided into 6 sub-frames (Step S6), in the same manner as the case in the third embodiment. The image processing section 131 selects and outputs an image in response to the order of a sub-frame to which the image is going to be outputted. Specifically, the image processing section 131 selects Sin for a first sub-frame, Rin for a second one, P for a third one, P for a fourth one, Sin for a fifth one, and Rin for a sixth one. The secret images are outputted so as not to be adjacent to each other (Step S7). The image processing section 131 also makes an image resulted by luminance addition Sin+Rin at every pixel be no correlated with the secret image.”).
In view of the teachings of Shahraray, Mizusako, Saitoh and Miyasaka it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the plurality of frames of Miyasaka within the system of Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh, for the purpose of providing an apparatus, method and program for image processing, and a display device, with which stealing a glance at a secret image and visually annoying display, mentioned above, are restrained with a simple way (Miyasaka: [0012]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako, Saitoh and Miyasaka further discloses wherein in each of the first and second sub-look-up tables, the luminance tone values of the second image with respect to the luminance tone values of the first image are determined based on the display responsiveness of the display panel (Miyasaka: [0044], “For example, a public image pattern is selected, in response to the spatial-frequency of a secret image, from some patterns that are previously stored in the memory. It is more effective that a secret image is divided into a plurality of blocks and a public image pattern having an optimal spatial-frequency is selected for each block”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako, Saitoh and Miyasaka further discloses wherein the second period is longer than the first period (Shahraray: [0029], “Additionally, the non-private image may be displayed for a greater number of cycles than the private image and therefore may not need to be displayed at the same intensity as image Y”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako, Saitoh and Miyasaka further discloses wherein
the luminance tone values of the first image and the luminance tone values of the second image in the second sub-look-up table for the tone of the minimum luminance are a combination of luminance tone values of the display panel during the first period and luminance tone values of the display panel during the second period, the combination of luminance tone values being selected such that a luminance is attained that is equal to a luminance of the display panel as measured in a case that the display panel is driven under a first condition in which a time-division display is performed at a maximum luminance tone value during the first period and at a minimum luminance tone value during the second period, and
the first condition corresponds to a maximum luminance tone value of the first image (Miyasaka: [0062], “when the determined value is true, a value of 255 (which is "white") is selected as a value of the public image P (Step S4), and when the determined value is false, a value of 0 (which is "black") is selected as a value of the public image P (Step S5)”).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako, Saitoh and Miyasaka further discloses wherein
the luminance tone values of the first image and the luminance tone values of the second image in the first sub-look-up table for the tone of the maximum luminance are a combination of luminance tone values of the display panel during the first period and luminance tone values of the display panel during the second period, the combination of luminance tone values being selected such that a luminance is attained that is equal to a luminance of the display panel as measured in a case that the display panel is driven under a second condition in which a time-division display is performed at a minimum luminance tone value during the first period and at a maximum luminance tone value during the second period, and
the second condition corresponds to a minimum luminance tone value of the first image (Miyasaka: fig. 8, steps S3-S7).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shahraray, Mizusako, and Saitoh further in view of Aman et al. (US PGPub 2025/0025774).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako, and Saitoh further discloses a display system (Shahraray: fig. 3) comprising:
the display device according to Claim 1; and
glasses having a polarizing plate (Saitoh: [0035] and fig. 1, liquid crystal shutter glasses).
While Shahraray, Mizusako, and Saitoh teaches glasses with a polarizing plate capable of switching polarization, it has been known to have glasses with a polarizer that does not switch. In a similar field of endeavor of display devices, Aman discloses glasses having a polarizing plate in the first state of polarization, wherein there is no change in a state of the polarization of the glasses ([0030], “FIG. 4 is a perspective view of secret message output device 22 comprising a projector 21-p, where projector 21-p outputs both a secret message image A oriented at a first polarization and complimentary image B orientated at a second polarization that is orthogonal to the first polarization, where the combination of images A and B are perceived by a viewer 20 using the naked eye as a public image 21-img that is different from secret message image A, and where magnifying glass 15 uses lens 15-lp-as to selectively transmit only images A such that a gamer 2s using glass 15 perceives secret message images A and not the combined A and B public image”).
In view of the teachings of Shahraray, Mizusako, Saitoh and Aman, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include the polarization glasses of Aman within the system of Shahraray, Mizusako and Saitoh, for the purpose of perceiving secret messages using glasses (Aman: [0030]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Shahraray, Mizusako, Saitoh and Aman further discloses wherein
a first viewer visually recognizes the first image by viewing the screen of the display panel via the polarizing module and the glasses, and by viewing the screen via the polarizing module, a second viewer who does not wear the glasses visually recognizes, as the public image, a composite image made up of the first image and the second image (Shahraray: [0010], “Another method is provided for sharing a display. The method includes displaying periodically a private image sequence on the display in synchronicity with a first signal, and displaying periodically a non-private image sequence on the display. In the method, the private image sequence and the non-private image sequence combine to form a public image sequence on the display. The non-private image sequence may be an inversion of the private image, in which the inversion of the private image and the private image combine to prevent the private image from being visible to the public users not using the goggle”).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 10-11, filed 04/28/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Mizusako and Saitoh.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Okumura (US PGPub 2011/0007160) discloses “In the secure display technique, a public image provided to unspecified people, a private image provided to only specific users, and a reverse image of the private image are displayed in a time division manner in one frame by the display device and the optical shutter present in front of the users is switched to a transmission state in synchronization with display timing for the private image. Consequently, only the private image is visually recognized by the users who use the optical shutter and only the public image is recognized by the unspecified people (public) who are present around the users and do not use the optical shutter because the private image is superimposed on the reverse image and changed to a half-tone (gray) image.” ([0007]).
/EJF/
/BENJAMIN C LEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2629