DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action in response to U.S. application 19/200,502. All claims are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ide (US 20190272477, IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Ide teaches a computer-implemented method (Figs. 5-6) comprising:
maintaining robot experience data characterizing robot interactions with an environment, the robot experience data comprising a plurality of experiences that each comprise an observation and an action performed by a respective robot in response to the observation ([0041] discusses sensors supplying sensor data to the input control part 31 where [0045]-[0046] discuss the input control including observation variables which are input into the state estimating part which supplies state information and detects the instructed action where the state information and action are interpreted as an experience and where because the system operates in a cycle as shown by Figs. 5-6 it would maintain a plurality of experiences);
obtaining annotation data that assigns, to each experience in a first subset of the experiences in the robot experience data, a respective task-specific reward for a particular task ([0051] discusses the history producing part (annotation data) which updates an action history (tasks) and reward history associated with the actions (task-specific rewards));
training, on the annotation data, a reward model that receives as input an input observation and generates as output a reward prediction that is a prediction of a task-specific reward for the particular task that should be assigned to the input observation ([0049] “The reward estimating part 35 executes estimation of the reward imparted by the user for the action of the information processing apparatus 10 on the basis of the reward model constructed by a reward model learning part 52 and the observation variables based on the input data” with [0054] further discussing the reward model is based on the action/reward history (annotation data));
generating task-specific training data for the particular task that associates each of a plurality of experiences with a task-specific reward for the particular task ([0053]-[0054] discuss the learning part 40 which comprises a motion model learning part 51 and a reward model learning part 52 which generate learning data based on the stored experiences and the reward model being supplied to the reward estimating part), comprising, for each experience in a second subset of the experiences in the robot experience data ([0049] discusses the reward estimating part 35 receiving the observation variables and estimating a reward for the action of the apparatus based on the user input where the user input is interpreted to be the annotation data which is supported by page 8 lines 1-5 of the instant application’s specification which states that the second subset of experiences is associating reward predictions with the experience):
processing the observation in the experience using the trained reward model to generate a reward prediction ([0054] “The reward model learning part 52 executes learning of the reward model used in the estimation of the reward to be imparted by the user for the action of the information processing apparatus 10 on the basis of the reward history stored in the storage part 39. The reward model learning part 52 supplies the constructed reward model to the reward estimating part 35”), and
associating the reward prediction with the experience ([0049]-[0054] discuss the experience information being updated from the reward estimating part by being stored in the history producing part 38 where the learning part uses the stored associated rewards and action histories); and
training a policy neural network on the task-specific training data for the particular task, wherein the policy neural network is configured to receive a network input comprising an observation and to generate a policy output that defines a control policy for a robot performing the particular task ([0045]-[0053] discuss and Fig. 1 shows how using the learning part 40, a reward is associated with an input action and stored to update the learning models of learning part 40 where the motion model learning part 51 transmits the motion model data to the motion producing part 33 where the motion control part 34 then uses this data to control the robot where the motion control is interpreted as a control policy where [0150] discusses the reward model as a neural network).
Double Patenting
Claim 1 of this application is patentably indistinct from claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12325130 (‘130) and claim 1 of U.S. Patent 11712799 (‘799). Pursuant to 37 CFR 1.78(f), when two or more applications filed by the same applicant or assignee contain patentably indistinct claims, elimination of such claims from all but one application may be required in the absence of good and sufficient reason for their retention during pendency in more than one application. Applicant is required to either cancel the patentably indistinct claims from all but one application or maintain a clear line of demarcation between the applications. See MPEP § 822.
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 1 rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent 12325130 (‘130) and claim 1 of U.S. Patent 11712799 (‘799). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other, as shown in the table below.
Claim
This Application’s Claim
130’s Claim (1/16/2025)
‘799 Claim (12/19/2022)
1
A computer-implemented method comprising:
1. A computer-implemented method comprising:
1. A computer-implemented method comprising
1
maintaining robot experience data characterizing robot interactions with an environment, the robot experience data comprising a plurality of experiences that each comprise an observation and an action performed by a respective robot in response to the observation;
1. maintaining robot experience data characterizing robot interactions with an environment, the robot experience data comprising a plurality of experiences that each comprise an observation and an action performed by a respective robot in response to the observation;
1. maintaining robot experience data characterizing robot interactions with an environment, the robot experience data comprising a plurality of experiences that each comprise an observation and an action performed by a respective robot in response to the observation;
1
obtaining annotation data that assigns, to each experience in a first subset of the experiences in the robot experience data, a respective task-specific reward for a particular task;
1. obtaining annotation data that assigns, to each experience in a first subset of the experiences in the robot experience data, a respective task-specific reward for a particular task; wherein obtaining the annotation data comprises: providing, for presentation to a user, a representation of one or more of the experiences in the first subset of experience data, comprising providing a video of a robot performing an episode of the particular task; and obtaining, from the user, inputs defining the rewards for the one or more experiences, comprising obtaining, for each of a plurality of frames of the video, a respective input that associates the frame of the video with a respective measure of progress of the robot towards completing the particular task as of the frame
1. obtaining annotation data that assigns, to each experience in a first subset of the experiences in the robot experience data, a respective task-specific reward for a particular task, wherein the first subset of experiences comprises experiences from a plurality of different task episodes of the particular task;
1
training, on the annotation data, a reward model that receives as input an input observation and generates as output a reward prediction that is a prediction of a task-specific reward for the particular task that should be assigned to the input observation;
1. training, on the annotation data, a reward model that receives as input an input observation and generates as output a reward prediction that is a prediction of a task-specific reward for the particular task that should be assigned to the input observation;
1. training, on the annotation data, a reward model that receives as input an input observation and generates as output a reward prediction that is a prediction of a task-specific reward for the particular task that should be assigned to the input observation,
1
generating task-specific training data for the particular task that associates each of a plurality of experiences with a task-specific reward for the particular task, comprising, for each experience in a second subset of the experiences in the robot experience data:
1. generating task-specific training data for the particular task that associates each of a plurality of experiences with a task-specific reward for the particular task, comprising, for each experience in a second subset of the experiences in the robot experience data:
1. generating task-specific training data for the particular task that associates each of a plurality of experiences with a task-specific reward for the particular task, comprising, for each experience in a second subset of the experiences in the robot experience data:
1
processing the observation in the experience using the trained reward model to generate a reward prediction, and associating the reward prediction with the experience;
1. processing the observation in the experience using the trained reward model to generate a reward prediction, and associating the reward prediction with the experience;
1. processing the observation in the experience using the trained reward model to generate a reward prediction, and associating the reward prediction with the experience;
1
and training a policy neural network on the task-specific training data for the particular task, wherein the policy neural network is configured to receive a network input comprising an observation and to generate a policy output that defines a control policy for a robot performing the particular task.
1. and training a policy neural network on the task-specific training data for the particular task, wherein the policy neural network is configured to receive a network input comprising an observation and to generate a policy output that defines a control policy for a robot performing the particular task.
1. and training a policy neural network on the task-specific training data for the particular task, wherein the policy neural network is configured to receive a network input comprising an observation and to generate a policy output that defines a control policy for a robot performing the particular task.
‘799’s claim 1 is the same as the instant application’s claim 1 except that it includes detail on the first subset of experiences comprising experiences from a plurality of different task episodes of a particular task and optimizing the reward model using a loss function. As claim 1 of ‘799 contains all of the claim limitations of the instant application’s claim 1, the instant application has a broader scope than application ‘799 and therefore is not patentably distinct from application ‘799.
‘130’s claim 1 is the same as the instant application’s claim 1 except that it includes detail on the annotation data comprising video frames and associating video frames with the completion of a task. As claim 1 of ‘130 contains all of the claim limitations of the instant application’s claim 1, the instant application has a broader scope than application ‘130 and therefore is not patentably distinct from application ‘130.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Kim (US 20220032450, IDS) and Luciw (US 20190061147, IDS) teach storing a plurality of experience which includes reward information; Liu (US 20210308863, IDS) teaches episode-based reinforcement learning; Porter (US 10766136, IDS) teaches using a model to determine a level of success for a robotic task; Ozawa (US 20200250490, IDS) teaches updating a reward model using observation variables; Otsuka (US 20190314983, IDS) teaches reinforcement learning using evaluation values as a reward to learn the action model; Lewis (US 20210174245) teaches using reinforcement learning to predict second actions based on a first predicted action and reward; and Xu (US 20200175364) teaches training a reinforcement learning neural network with a reward function.
/D.M.J./ Examiner, Art Unit 3657
/DYLAN M KATZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657