Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over MERRILL et al. (US 2013/0333855 A1), in view of Tang et al. (US 2016/0332922 A1, “Tang”).
Regarding claim 1 and claim 8, Merrill et al. teaches a coating system comprising:
a mold (16) having a flexible wall (e.g., 16a; [0016, 0036, 0038-0039, 0042, 0048, 0052]) defining a mold cavity (18, see FIG. 2B);
the flexible wall (e.g., 16a) defining a mold cavity (18; e.g., [0005] “then joining the mold halves to define an injection volume”) that is configured in geometry to receive a component (10) therein such that there is a coating gap defined between the component and the flexible wall of the mold cavity (see FIG. 2B gap between surface 24 and the surface of the core 10) and capable of receiving a molding slurry (as claimed in Claim 8; e.g., [0005] “vacuum injecting a ceramic molding material into the injection volume”);
a component (core 10) disposed in the mold cavity (18), there being a coating gap defined between the component (10) and the flexible wall (16a) of the mold cavity (e.g., see FIG. 2B).
Merrill et al. does not specifically disclose, “either a molding slurry or a solidified molding slurry filling the coating gap”.
Merrill et al., however, discloses at [0005] “vacuum injecting a ceramic molding material into the injection volume”, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, the “ceramic molding material” being injected into the injection volume is analogous to the claimed “molding slurry” filling the coating gap. Merrill et al. discloses injecting a material into the injection cavity 18, that will solidify in the gap in the injection cavity 18 (see FIG. 2B, and [0038]).
In the same field of endeavor of methods for ceramic-based coating [0004-0017], Tang et al. teaches a ceramic-based substrate [0004, 0011] (20; i.e., a gas turbine engine component, such as but not limited to, an airfoil, a combustor liner panel, a blade outer air seal, among others) that includes a composite material (22) that is used as an environmental barrier layer to protect an underlying substrate 24 ([0032] “the substrate 24 can be a ceramic-based substrate, such as a silicon-containing ceramic material.”) from environmental conditions, as well as thermal conditions [0028];
[0036-0037] “The barrier layer and/or intermediate layer 234 can be fabricated using a slurry coating method. The appropriate slurries can be prepared by mixing components, such as silicon oxycarbide, barium-magnesium alumino-silicate, and powder of silicon dioxide or colloidal silica (Ludox) in a carrier fluid, such as water.” [0034] “The relatively small intermediate layer silicon oxycarbide particles 238 provide a relatively low roughness for enhanced bonding with the underlying substrate 24.” [analogous to the claimed a coating surface roughness that is less than the component surface roughness”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a molding slurry, as suggested by the prior art of Tang et al., as the coating material in the coating system of Merrill et al., for the purpose of fabricating a barrier layer, as suggested and taught by Tang et al. [0036-0037], using a slurry coating method in the coating system of Merrill et al., with good expectations of predictably and successfully fabricating a ceramic-based barrier layer over a core surface with the molding slurry (MPEP 2143(I)(D)), since it have held to be within the ordinary skill of worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination.” "The combination of familiar elements according to known methods is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results." KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S.Ct. 1727, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). See MPEP 2141 (I).
"It is well settled that the recitation of a new intended use for an old product does not make a claim to that old product patentable." In re Schreiber, 128 F.3d 1473, 1477 (Fed. Cir. 1997). We conclude that this is true whether an intended use recitation is recited in the preamble or, as in the present case, in a wherein clause. See Griffin v. Bertina, 283 F.3d 1029, 1034 (Fed. Cir. 2002).
Regarding claim 2 and claim 9, Merrill/Tang teaches the coating system as recited in claim 1 and claim 8, respectively, wherein the mold is formed of silicone (see Merrill et al. [0016, 0036, 0038]).
Regarding claim 3 and claim 10, Merrill/Tang teaches the coating system as recited in claim 1 and claim 8, respectively, wherein the mold includes one or more bumpers (“flexible positioning pins” 22) spacing the component (10) from the flexible wall (16a), and projecting in the mold cavity (18) (as claimed in Claim 10) (see Merrill et al. FIG. 2B).
Regarding claim 4, Merrill/Tang teaches the coating system as recited in claim 3, wherein the component (10) includes one or more cooling holes (cooperating opening 86), and the one or more bumpers (e.g., 81, Merrill et al. [0047]) plug the one or more cooling holes (see FIGs. 10A-B).
Regarding claim 5, Merrill/Tang teaches the coating system as recited in claim 1, except for specifically disclosing, wherein the component is a gas turbine engine component formed of ceramic (e.g., see Tang et al. [0004-0017, 0028, 0032-0036]).
Regarding claim 6, Merrill/Tang teaches the coating system as recited in claim 1, except for specifically disclosing, wherein the molding slurry and the solidified molding slurry contain silica.
Tang at [0036] discloses, “The barrier layer and/or intermediate layer 234 can be fabricated using a slurry coating method. The appropriate slurries can be prepared by mixing components, such as silicon oxycarbide, barium-magnesium alumino-silicate, and powder of silicon dioxide or colloidal silica (Ludox) in a carrier fluid, such as water.” [0034] “The relatively small intermediate layer silicon oxycarbide particles 238 provide a relatively low roughness for enhanced bonding with the underlying substrate 24.” [analogous to the claimed a coating surface roughness that is less than the component surface roughness”].
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have selected a molding slurry containing silica, as suggested by the prior art of Tang [0036], such that the molding slurry and the solidified molding slurry contain silica, and the final coating having a coating surface roughness that is less than the component surface roughness, as taught by Tang [0034], for the purpose of enhancing the bonding with the component surface, as taught by Tang (MPEP 2143 (I) (G)), since it have held to be within the ordinary skill of worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use. See MPEP 2144.07 Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945), “The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination.”
Regarding claim 7, Merrill et al. teaches the coating system as recited in claim 1, wherein the molding slurry and the solidified molding slurry contain siliconoxycarbide (Tang [0036]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bedzyk (US Pat. No. 7,913,743): See FIG. 4, Col. 2 lines 50 – 67.
/EDGAREDMANUEL TROCHE/Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/JEFFREY M WOLLSCHLAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742