DETAILED ACTION
This is the first Office action on the merits based on the 19/200,940 application filed on 05/07/2025. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . The effective filing date of the present application is 03/24/2023. Claims 1-13, as originally filed, are currently pending and considered below.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2025 was in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it is not is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. Applicant is suggested to delete the abstract of the disclosure and replace it with:
--- An exercise machine comprises a support frame having at least one rail, a slidable carriage slidably positioned on the at least one rail, a coil spring, and a shroud. The coil spring is connected to the support frame and is connectable to the slidable carriage to apply a biasing force to the slidable carriage. The shroud substantially surrounds a cylindrical body of the coil spring, and is expandable and retractable along a longitudinal axis of the coil spring to accommodate stretching and retracting of the cylindrical body of the coil spring along the longitudinal axis as the slidable carriage is moved along the at least one rail. ---.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 4, 9, 11, and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In each of claims 4, 9, and 12, lines 1-2, “including a fixed end attached to an end of the support frame” should be --- wherein the support frame further comprises an end portion having a fixed end ---. Refer to the specification, as originally filed, page 20, lines 4-5, and Figures 8 and 9.
In claim 11, line 13, “the coil spring;” should be --- the coil spring; and ---.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Endelman (US 2001/0056011) in view of Tal Ran (WO 9108025 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Endelman discloses an exercise machine (the exercise apparatus 10; Figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a support frame (the generally rectangular frame 12; Figures 1 and 2) having at least one rail (the pair of parallel track or rail members 18; Figures 1 and 2);
a slidable carriage (the movable carriage 20; Figures 1 and 2) slidably positioned on the at least one rail;
a coil spring (one of the plurality of springs 24; Figures 1 and 2) connected to the support frame and connectable to the slidable carriage to apply a biasing force to the slidable carriage (Figures 1 and 2).
However, Endelman fails to disclose: a shroud that substantially surrounds a cylindrical body of the coil spring, the shroud being expandable and retractable along a longitudinal axis of the coil spring to accommodate stretching and retracting of the cylindrical body of the coil spring along the longitudinal axis as the slidable carriage is moved along the at least one rail.
Tal Ran teaches an analogous coil spring (one of the plurality of coil springs 32; Figure 1) and a shroud (the sheath 34 of each of the resilient flexible elongate elements 30; Figures 1 and 2B-2D; page 4, lines 24-32) that substantially surrounds a cylindrical body of the coil spring, the shroud being expandable and retractable along a longitudinal axis of the coil spring (page 2, lines 18-21: “Further in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the invention the resilient flexible elongate elements also include a extendible flexible sheath covering the coil springs.”; Figures 1 and 2B-2D) to accommodate stretching and retracting of the cylindrical body of the coil spring along the longitudinal axis (page 2, lines 18-21; page 4, lines 24-32; Figures 1 and 2B-2D).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the coil spring of Endelman’s invention to include a shroud, as taught by Tal Ran, in order to prevent unwanted mechanical interaction of the coils of the coil spring with the body or clothing of a user” (Tal Ran: page 5, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 2, Endelman in view of Tal Ran teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further teaches wherein the shroud is made from a material that is at least one of flexible or stretchable that enables the shroud to expand and contract in a lengthwise direction along the longitudinal axis of the coil spring (Tal Ran: page 2, lines 18-21: “Further in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the invention the resilient flexible elongate elements also include a extendible flexible sheath covering the coil springs.”; Figures 1 and 2B-2D).
Regarding claim 3, Endelman in view of Tal Ran teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further teaches wherein the shroud includes a plurality of pleats (Tal Ran: Figures 1 and 2B-2D) that enables the shroud to expand and contract in a lengthwise direction along the longitudinal axis of the coil spring (Tal Ran: page 2, lines 18-21; page 4, lines 24-32; Figures 1 and 2B-2D).
Regarding claim 4, Endelman further discloses a fixed end attached to an end of the support frame (paragraph 0052: “The foot end 16 [of the generally rectangular frame 12] further has the horizontal foot support platform 28 fastened to the top wall 76 of the extrusion 86.”; Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 5, Endelman further discloses wherein the at least one rail is comprised of a first rail and a second rail (the pair of parallel track or rail members 18; Figures 1 and 2) that are parallel to one another.
Regarding claim 6, Endelman discloses an exercise machine (the exercise apparatus 10; Figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a support frame (the generally rectangular frame 12; Figures 1 and 2) having at least one rail (the pair of parallel track or rail members 18; Figures 1 and 2);
a slidable carriage (the movable carriage 20; Figures 1 and 2) slidably positioned on the at least one rail;
a plurality of spring assemblies (the plurality of springs 24; Figures 1 and 2) each connected to the support frame and connectable to the slidable carriage to apply a biasing force to the slidable carriage (Figures 1 and 2);
wherein each of the plurality of spring assemblies comprises a coil spring (one of the plurality of springs 24; Figures 1 and 2).
However, Endelman fails to disclose: the plurality of spring assemblies is a plurality of shrouded spring assemblies; wherein each of the plurality of shrouded spring assemblies comprises a coil spring and a shroud, wherein the shroud substantially surrounds a cylindrical body of the coil spring, the shroud being expandable and retractable along a longitudinal axis of the coil spring to accommodate stretching and retracting of the cylindrical body of the coil spring along the longitudinal axis as the slidable carriage is moved along the at least one rail.
Tal Ran teaches an analogous plurality of shrouded spring assemblies (the resilient flexible elongate elements 30; Figures 1 and 2B-2D), wherein each of the plurality of shrouded spring assemblies comprises a coil spring (the coil spring 32 of each of the resilient flexible elongate elements 30; Figures 1 and 2B-2D) and a shroud (the sheath 34 of each of the resilient flexible elongate elements 30; Figures 1 and 2B-2D; page 4, lines 24-32), wherein the shroud substantially surrounds a cylindrical body of the coil spring (Figures 1 and 2B-2D; page 4, lines 24-32), the shroud being expandable and retractable along a longitudinal axis of the coil spring (page 2, lines 18-21: “Further in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the invention the resilient flexible elongate elements also include a extendible flexible sheath covering the coil springs.”; Figures 1 and 2B-2D) to accommodate stretching and retracting of the cylindrical body of the coil spring along the longitudinal axis (page 2, lines 18-21; page 4, lines 24-32; Figures 1 and 2B-2D).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of spring assemblies of Endelman’s invention such that each is a shrouded spring assembly, as taught by Tal Ran, in order to prevent unwanted mechanical interaction of the coils of the coil spring with the body or clothing of a user” (Tal Ran: page 5, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 7, Endelman in view of Tal Ran teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further teaches wherein the shroud is made from a material that is at least one of flexible or stretchable that enables the shroud to expand and contract in a lengthwise direction along the longitudinal axis of the coil spring (Tal Ran: page 2, lines 18-21: “Further in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the invention the resilient flexible elongate elements also include a extendible flexible sheath covering the coil springs.”; Figures 1 and 2B-2D).
Regarding claim 8, Endelman in view of Tal Ran teaches the invention as substantially claimed, see above, and further teaches wherein the shroud includes a plurality of pleats (Tal Ran: Figures 1 and 2B-2D) that enables the shroud to expand and contract in a lengthwise direction along the longitudinal axis of the coil spring (Tal Ran: page 2, lines 18-21; page 4, lines 24-32; Figures 1 and 2B-2D).
Regarding claim 9, Endelman further discloses a fixed end attached to an end of the support frame (paragraph 0052: “The foot end 16 [of the generally rectangular frame 12] further has the horizontal foot support platform 28 fastened to the top wall 76 of the extrusion 86.”; Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 10, Endelman further discloses wherein the at least one rail is comprised of a first rail and a second rail (the pair of parallel track or rail members 18; Figures 1 and 2) that are parallel to one another.
Regarding claim 11, Endelman discloses an exercise machine (the exercise apparatus 10; Figures 1 and 2), comprising:
a support frame (the generally rectangular frame 12; Figures 1 and 2) having at least one rail (the pair of parallel track or rail members 18; Figures 1 and 2);
a slidable carriage (the movable carriage 20; Figures 1 and 2) slidably positioned on the at least one rail;
a plurality of spring assemblies (the plurality of springs 24; Figures 1 and 2) each connected to the support frame and connectable to the slidable carriage to apply a biasing force to the slidable carriage (Figures 1 and 2);
wherein each of the plurality of spring assemblies comprises a coil spring (one of the plurality of springs 24; Figures 1 and 2).
However, Endelman fails to disclose: the plurality of spring assemblies is a plurality of shrouded spring assemblies; wherein each of the plurality of shrouded spring assemblies comprises a coil spring and a shroud, wherein the shroud substantially surrounds a cylindrical body of the coil spring, the shroud being expandable and retractable along a longitudinal axis of the coil spring to accommodate stretching and retracting of the cylindrical body of the coil spring along the longitudinal axis as the slidable carriage is moved along the at least one rail; wherein the shroud is made from a material that is at least one of flexible or stretchable that enables the shroud to expand and contract in a lengthwise direction along the longitudinal axis of the coil spring; wherein the shroud includes a plurality of pleats that enables the shroud to expand and contract in a lengthwise direction along the longitudinal axis of the coil spring.
Tal Ran teaches an analogous plurality of shrouded spring assemblies (the resilient flexible elongate elements 30; Figures 1 and 2B-2D), wherein each of the plurality of shrouded spring assemblies comprises a coil spring (the coil spring 32 of each of the resilient flexible elongate elements 30; Figures 1 and 2B-2D) and a shroud (the sheath 34 of each of the resilient flexible elongate elements 30; Figures 1 and 2B-2D; page 4, lines 24-32), wherein the shroud substantially surrounds a cylindrical body of the coil spring (Figures 1 and 2B-2D; page 4, lines 24-32), the shroud being expandable and retractable along a longitudinal axis of the coil spring (page 2, lines 18-21: “Further in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the invention the resilient flexible elongate elements also include a extendible flexible sheath covering the coil springs.”; Figures 1 and 2B-2D) to accommodate stretching and retracting of the cylindrical body of the coil spring along the longitudinal axis (page 2, lines 18-21; page 4, lines 24-32; Figures 1 and 2B-2D);
wherein the shroud is made from a material that is at least one of flexible or stretchable that enables the shroud to expand and contract in a lengthwise direction along the longitudinal axis of the coil spring (page 2, lines 18-21: “Further in accordance with a preferred embodiment of the invention the resilient flexible elongate elements also include a extendible flexible sheath covering the coil springs.”; Figures 1 and 2B-2D);
wherein the shroud includes a plurality of pleats (Figures 1 and 2B-2D) that enables the shroud to expand and contract in a lengthwise direction along the longitudinal axis of the coil spring (page 2, lines 18-21; page 4, lines 24-32; Figures 1 and 2B-2D).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the plurality of spring assemblies of Endelman’s invention such that each is a shrouded spring assembly, as taught by Tal Ran, in order to prevent unwanted mechanical interaction of the coils of the coil spring with the body or clothing of a user” (Tal Ran: page 5, lines 2-5).
Regarding claim 12, Endelman further discloses a fixed end attached to an end of the support frame (paragraph 0052: “The foot end 16 [of the generally rectangular frame 12] further has the horizontal foot support platform 28 fastened to the top wall 76 of the extrusion 86.”; Figures 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 13, Endelman further discloses wherein the at least one rail is comprised of a first rail and a second rail (the pair of parallel track or rail members 18; Figures 1 and 2) that are parallel to one another.
Conclusion
/GARY D URBIEL GOLDNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784