DETAILED ACTION
Non-Final communication in response to communication filed 5/7/25
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8, 10, 16 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chong et al 7200769.
With respect to claim 8, figure 7 and 11 of Chong et al. disclose a method, comprising:
Generating [751] a feedback signal [Upndwn] according to a first clock signal [System CLK];
Adding [couter760] a logic value of the feedback signal to an accumulated value [Up down counter];
Adjusting [count to control] a controlling signal [Ctl[5:0]]] according to the accumulated value;
Generating [706] a first enable signal [CLKIN] according to the first clock signal; and
delaying [710,720,730,740] the first enable signal according to the controlling signal.
With respect to claim 10, figure 7 and 11 of Chong et al. disclose the method of claim 8, further comprising:
Generating a second enable signal [Delayed clock] according to the first clock signal; and
aligning [phase detector 750] a first edge of the first clock signal [System CLK] with a second edge of the second enable signal [Delayed clock].
With respect to claim 16, figure 7 and 11 of Chong et al. disclose a device, comprising:
a dividing circuit [706] configured to receive a first clock signal [system CLK] to generate a first enable signal [CLKIN];
a delaying circuit [710,720,730, 740] configured to receive the first enable signal to generate a second enable signal [Delayed clock]; and
a gating circuit [770, fig. 11] configured to receive the first clock signal to generate a third
enable signal [top input 1122], and comprising:
a first logic element [1122] configured to receive each of the first clock signal [by way of 1117 and ] and
the third enable signal, to output a gated clock signal [CLKOUT].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 6-16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11909399. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims describe different combinations of the same subject matter with slightly different language.
Claim 1 is disclosed by claims 1, 5, and 16.
Claim 2 is disclosed by claims 4 and 5.
Claim 3 is disclosed by claims 20.
Claim 6 is disclosed by claims 3, 6, and 7.
Claim 7 is disclosed by claims 13-15, 17-19.
Claim 8 is disclosed by claims 11 and 13.
Claim 9 is disclosed by claims 1, 12, 16, 20
Claim 10 is disclosed by claims 1, 3, 9-12, and 16.
Claim 11 is disclosed by claims 7, 13, 15, and 20.
Claim 12 is disclosed by claims 6, 7, 13, 15.
Claim 13 is disclosed by claims 6-9, 11, 17, 20.
Claim 14 is disclosed by claims 9, 13-15, 19.
Claim 15 is disclosed by claims 15 and 19.
Claim 16 is disclosed by claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13-20
Claims 1-4, 6-20 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12323151. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims describe different combinations of the same subject matter with slightly different language.
Claim 1 is disclosed by claims 2, 3, 4. Providing a clock to a processor is an intended use.
Claim 2 is disclosed by claims 1,5,6,10-14, and 16
Claim 3 is disclosed by claims 4 and 8.
Claim 4 is disclosed by claims 1, 3, 4, and 6.
Claim 6 is disclosed by claims 5, 16, 13, 16,17, and 19.
Claim 7 is disclosed by claims 12-14 and 16.
Claim 8 is disclosed by claims 5,6, 10-14 16-20.
Claim 9 is disclosed by claims 1, 2, 4 and 9.
Claim 10 is disclosed by claims 7 and 8.
Claim 11 is disclosed by claims 11 and 12.
Claim 12 is disclosed by claims 12, and 14-16.
Claim 13 is disclosed by claims 1, 5, 13, and 16-18.
Claim 14 is disclosed by claims 12 and 14.
Claim 15 is disclosed by claims 12 and 15.
Claim 16 is disclose by claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, and 16-20
Claim 17 is disclosed by claims 3 and 4.
Claim 18 is disclosed by claims 1,3, 6.
Claim 19 is disclosed by claims 5 and 6.
Claim 20 is disclosed by claims 13-17, 19.
Claim 5 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12323151 and 11909399 in view of Desoli et al. 20200310758.
With respect to Claim 5 the above claims is disclose the circuit except for the logic element being and “AND” logic gate.
However, figure 40 of Desoli et al. discloses a gated clock arrangement as claimed and seen in the current applicant using an “AND” logic gate to produce the gated clock signal.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to use an “AND” logic element for the gated clock as it’s a known technique in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-7 are allowed upon filing a terminal disclaimer.
Claims 9, 11-15, 17-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. A terminal disclaimer is required.
Conclusion
/RYAN JAGER/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2842
7/11/26