DETAILED ACTION
Notice to Applicant
In response to the communication received on 05/07/2025, the following is a Non-Final Office Action for Application No. 19200989.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted on 05/07/2025 are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/07/2025 and 07/16/2026 has been acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on: 19200989 filed 05/07/2025 Claims Priority from Provisional Application 63647230, filed 05/14/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. In adhering to the 2019 PEG, Step 1 is directed to determining whether or not the claims fall within a statutory class. Herein, the claims fall within statutory class of process or machine or manufacture. Hence, the claims qualify as potentially eligible subject matter under 35 U.S.C §101. With Step 1 being directed to a statutory category, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2. Step 2 is the two-part analysis from Alice Corp. (also called the Mayo test). The 2019 PEG makes two changes in Step 2A: It sets forth new procedure for Step 2A (called “revised Step 2A”) under which a claim is not “directed to” a judicial exception unless the claim satisfies a two-prong inquiry. The two-prong inquiry is as follows: Prong One: evaluate whether the claim recites a judicial exception (an abstract idea enumerated in the 2019 PEG, a law of nature, or a natural phenomenon). If claim recites an exception, then Prong Two: evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception. The claim(s) recite(s) the following abstract idea indicated by non-boldface font and additional limitations indicated by boldface font:
A method comprising:receiving, by a processor associated with a casino device connected to a casino network, user input, wherein the user input is received via a display contained within a hardened enclosure of a point-of-sale (P0S) terminal, wherein the hardened enclosure comprises a POS controller, wherein the POS controller permits, via a communication port of the POS terminal, a passthrough usage of the display by the casino device to receive the user input, and wherein an amount is specified for purchase of credits for gaming use;providing, by the processor via a communication device of the P0S terminal, the user input for performance, by the P0S controller, of a payment-card transaction, with a payment service provider (PSP) system, for the purchase of credits, and wherein the P0S controller prevents the passthrough usage of the display by the casino device during the payment-card transaction;detecting, by the processor in response to performance by the P0S controller of the payment-card transaction, authorization of the amount; andperforming, by the processor in response to receipt of the authorization, a funds transfer to a game controller accessible to the casino device via the casino network, wherein the game controller increments, based on the amount, a credit meter associated with a gaming session, and wherein the POS controller restores the passthrough usage of the display after the authorization is provided.
[or]
A system comprising:a point-of-sale (POS) terminal having a hardened enclosure including a display, a touchscreen, and a POS controller, wherein the POS controller permits, via a communication port of the POS terminal, a passthrough usage of the display and the touchscreen by a casino device;one or more processors configured to execute instructions that, when executed, cause the system to perform operations to:present, via passthrough usage of the display, content to initiate a purchase request of credits for gaming use;receive, via passthrough usage of the touchscreen, user input, wherein an amount is associated with the purchase request;provide, to a communication device of the POS terminal, the user input for performance, by the POS controller, of a payment-card transaction with a payment service provider (PSP) system, wherein the POS controller prevents the passthrough usage of the display by the casino device during the payment-card transaction;detect, in response to performance by the POS controller of the payment-card transaction, authorization of the amount; and perform, in response to receipt of the authorization, a funds transfer, via a casino network, to a game controller accessible to the casino device, wherein the game controller increments, based on the amount, a credit meter associated with a gaming session, and wherein the POS controller restores the passthrough usage of the display after the authorization is provided.
[or]
One or more non-transitory, computer-readable mediums having instructions stored thereon,which instructions, when executed by one or more processors, cause a gaming apparatus to perform operations comprising: receiving user input, wherein the user input is received via a display contained within a hardened enclosure of a point-of-sale (POS) terminal, wherein the hardened enclosure comprises a POS controller, wherein the POS controller permits, via a communication port of the POS terminal, a passthrough usage of the display by the gaming apparatus to receive the user input, and wherein an amount is specified for purchase of credits for gaming use; providing, via a communication device of the POS terminal, the user input for performance, by the POS controller, of a payment-card transaction, with a payment service provider (PSP) system, for the purchase of credits, and wherein the POS controller prevents the passthrough usage of the display by the gaming apparatus during the payment-card transaction; detecting, in response to performance by the POS controller of the payment-card transaction, authorization of the amount; and performing, in response to receipt of the authorization, a funds transfer to a game controller accessible to the gaming apparatus via the casino network, wherein the game controller increments, based on the amount, a credit meter associated with a gaming session, and wherein the POS controller restores the passthrough usage of the display after the authorization is provided.
Per Prong One of Step 2A, the identified recitation of an abstract idea falls within at least one of the Abstract Idea Groupings consisting of: Mathematical Concepts, Mental Processes, or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity. Particularly, the identified recitation falls within the Mental Processes including concepts performed in the human mind (including an observation, evaluation judgment, opinion) and/or Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity including managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people (including social activities, teaching, and following rules of instructions). The pending-claimed activities of a receiving user input, providing a payment-card transaction, detecting authorization of the amount, and performing funds transfer are "long prevalent in our system of commerce" and are each "a building block of the modern economy", see Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int'l, 573 U.S. 208, 219-20, 110 USPQ2d 1981-82 (2014), Bilski V. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 611, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010). See also Intellectual Ventures / LLC V. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1313, 120 USPQ2d 1353, 1356 (Fed. Cir. 2016) ("The category of abstract ideas embraces 'fundamental economic practice[s long prevalent in our system of commerce,' including 'longstanding commercial practice[s"). Additionally, handling local payments exchangeable for goods and processing information through a clearinghouse were activities held to be an abstract idea in Inventor Holdings, LLC V. Bed Bath Beyond, 876 F.3d 1372, 1378-79, 125 USPQ2d 1019, 1023 (Fed. Cir. 2017), and Dealertrack V. Huber, 674 F.3d 1315, 1331, 101 USPQ2d 1325, 1339 (Fed. Cir. 2012), respectively. Per Prong Two of Step 2A, this judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claim as a whole does not integrate the identified abstract idea into a practical application. The POS terminal, hardened enclosure, touchscreen, processor and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium is recited at a high level of generality, i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function of processing/transmitting data. This generic POS terminal, hardened enclosure, touchscreen, processor and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium limitation is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Further, performing a funds transfer to a game controller accessible to the gaming apparatus via the casino network by a POS terminal, hardened enclosure, touchscreen, processor and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application. Accordingly, this/these additional element(s) does/do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, since the claims are directed to the determined judicial exception in view of the two prongs of Step 2A, the 2019 PEG flowchart is directed to Step 2B. Therein, the additional elements and combinations therewith are examined in the claims to determine whether the claims as a whole amounts to significantly more than the judicial exception. It is noted here that the additional elements are to be considered both individually and as an ordered combination. In this case, the claims each at most comprise additional elements of: POS terminal, hardened enclosure, touchscreen, processor and non-transitory computer-readable medium . Taken individually, the additional limitations each are generically recited and thus does not add significantly more to the respective limitations. Further, performing a funds transfer to a game controller accessible to the gaming apparatus via the casino network by a POS terminal, hardened enclosure, touchscreen, processor and/or non-transitory computer-readable medium is mere instruction to apply an exception using a generic computer component which cannot provide an inventive concept in Step 2B (or, looking back to Step 2A, cannot integrate a judicial exception into a practical application). For further support, the Applicant’s specification supports the claims being directed to use of a generic computer/memory type structure at ¶0019 wherein “The gateway 120 may be a server, a desktop computer, a laptop, a smartphone, a gaming machine, or other form of electronic device having one or more processors, a computer memory, an electronic communications system”. Taken as an ordered combination, the claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the limitations are directed to limitations referenced in Alice Corp. that are not enough to qualify as significantly more when recited in a claim with an abstract idea include, as a non-limiting or non-exclusive examples: i. Adding the words "apply it" (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer, e.g., a limitation indicating that a particular function such as creating and maintaining electronic records is performed by a computer, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2360, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(f));
ii. Simply appending well-understood, routine, conventional activities previously known to the industry, specified at a high level of generality, to the judicial exception, e.g., a claim to an abstract idea requiring no more than a generic computer to perform generic computer functions that are well-understood, routine and conventional activities previously known to the industry, as discussed in Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2359-60, 110 USPQ2d at 1984 (see MPEP § 2106.05(d));
iii. Adding insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception, e.g., mere data gathering in conjunction with a law of nature or abstract idea such as a step of obtaining information about credit card transactions so that the information can be analyzed by an abstract mental process, as discussed in CyberSource v. Retail Decisions, Inc., 654 F.3d 1366, 1375, 99 USPQ2d 1690, 1694 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (see MPEP § 2106.05(g)); or
v. Generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, e.g., a claim describing how the abstract idea of hedging could be used in the commodities and energy markets, as discussed in Bilski v. Kappos, 561 U.S. 593, 595, 95 USPQ2d 1001, 1010 (2010) or a claim limiting the use of a mathematical formula to the petrochemical and oil-refining fields, as discussed in Parker v. Flook. The courts have recognized the following computer functions inter alia to be well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner: performing repetitive calculations; receiving, processing, and storing data (e.g., the present claims); electronically scanning or extracting data; electronic recordkeeping; automating mental tasks (e.g., process/machine/manufacture for performing the present claims); and receiving or transmitting data (e.g., the present claims). The dependent claims do not cure the above stated deficiencies, and in particular, the dependent claims further narrow the abstract idea without reciting additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of the exception or providing significantly more than the abstract idea. A printer and touchscreen are introduced in the claims, however this recitation of additional elements is extra-solution activity and does not provide significantly more than the recited abstract idea. As explained by the Supreme Court, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not amount to an inventive concept, particularly when the activity is well-understood or conventional. Parker V. Flook, 437 U.S. 584, 588-89, 198 USPQ 193, 196 (1978). In Flook, the Court reasoned that "[the notion that post-solution activity, no matter how conventional or obvious in itself, can transform an unpatentable principle into a patentable process exalts form over substance." Since there are no elements or ordered combination of elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception, the claims are not eligible subject matter under 35 USC §101. Thus, viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Warner et al. (US 20150187177 A1) hereinafter referred to as Warner in view of Crandall (US 11966896 B1) hereinafter referred to as Crandall.
Warner teaches:
Claim 1. A method comprising:
receiving, by a processor associated with a casino device connected to a casino network, user input, wherein the user input is received via a display contained within a hardened enclosure of a point-of-sale (P0S) terminal, wherein the hardened enclosure comprises a POS controller, wherein the POS controller permits, via a communication port of the POS terminal, a passthrough usage of the display by the casino device to receive the user input, and wherein an amount is specified for purchase of credits for gaming use (¶0063 The electronic transaction terminal may also be or a chip-and-PIN (EMV) certified device suitable for use with chip-and-PIN (EMV) cards. The electronic transaction terminal allows the patron to obtain monetary equivalents without having to leave and find a ATM machine. The electronic transaction terminal device may be an external attachment to the gaming or amusement device or embedded in the gaming or amusement device. Each electronic transaction terminal is associated with a specific gaming or amusement device or a gaming patron's location. The process of purchasing credits is similar to that of any other point-of-sale ("POS") process ¶0070 One embodiment of the present invention enables the patron to enter the required transaction information which may include the PIN number, transaction type, and the transaction amount. The request is processed and, if approved, the patron receives a monetary-equivalent ticket in the amount of the requested transaction or the gaming device is credited with the approved amount. This effectively replicates every step in a conventional POS transaction except that the physical indicia is a monetary-equivalent ticket or credits applied to a specific gaming device instead of cash or other tangible item. The monetary-equivalent ticket is redeemable for cash through a ticket redemption machine, cashier station or kiosk, or for placing credits into a gaming or amusement device that has a card and/or ticket reader. ¶0021 The present invention provides devices, systems, and methods for the electronic purchase of gaming or amusement credits using a secure transaction device at a patron's location to apply funds from a financial account to the purchase of credits for use with an amusement or gaming device, system, or point of other wagering activity. Such credits are provided at the patron's location in the form of a printed ticket or other physical indicia of equivalent value, credits appearing in the credit meter and on the display of a gaming device, credit issued to a player card confirmed at the patron's location, credit issued to a debit card confirmed at the patron's location, and/or cash or other monetary-equivalents. In addition, physical confirmation of the completed electronic transaction from the patron's financial account may be concurrently provided to the patron in the form of a receipt. In one embodiment, the electronic transaction system ("ETS") includes an electronic transaction terminal ("ETT") at the patron's location that accepts secure personal identification number("PIN")-based transaction requests to initiate electronic transactions, including but not limited to those described as "point-of-sale" transactions.);
providing, by the processor via a communication device of the P0S terminal, the user input for performance, by the P0S controller, of a payment-card transaction, with a payment service provider (PSP) system, for the purchase of credits, and wherein the P0S controller prevents the passthrough usage of the display by the casino device during the payment-card transaction (¶0089 Secured first computing device 120 provides a single, secure, access-controlled and actively managed channel from the application running on the electronic transaction terminal 110 to the (one or more) secured banking network web services. Since the player 1110 communicates only with the secured first computing device 120, applications running on the electronic transaction terminal 110 cannot connect with unauthorized web applications and are therefore secure. The system is secure along all links via the use of industry standard link encryption and access controlled at all interfaces via the use of industry-standard user authentication. Link encryption refers to communications security protocols that encrypt and decrypt all traffic at each end of a communications line.);
detecting, by the processor in response to performance by the P0S controller of the payment-card transaction, authorization of the amount (¶0064 When the patron swipes his payment card, enters a PIN and requests a specific amount to be debited from his account, the electronic transaction terminal initiates a secured request via the secured first computing device through the electronic transaction system to a financial network for approval or denial. The amount of the transaction may include the amount of gaming or amusement credits to be purchased plus any fees associated with the transaction. If the transaction request is approved, the electronic transaction system provides authorized monetary value credits to be dispensed to the patron via a credit system. The system directs the credit system to dispense a suitable form of credit, in physical or electronic form, to or on behalf of the player. In one embodiment, the system may initiate and cause a ticket to be printed in the authorized amount at the specific location and utilizing hardware in the gaming environment associated with the electronic transaction terminal that originated the transaction. Alternatively, system may direct a cooperative system to update the patron's loyalty/prepaid debit card account with the authorized funds. The patron can then use the card or ticket on a variety of gaming or amusement devices to receive game credits or redeem the card or ticket for cash through the authorized gaming or amusement device system.); and
performing, by the processor in response to receipt of the authorization, a funds transfer to a game controller accessible to the casino device via the casino network, wherein the game controller increments, based on the amount, a credit meter associated with a gaming session, and wherein the POS controller restores the passthrough usage of the display after the authorization is provided (¶0064 When the patron swipes his payment card, enters a PIN and requests a specific amount to be debited from his account, the electronic transaction terminal initiates a secured request via the secured first computing device through the electronic transaction system to a financial network for approval or denial. The amount of the transaction may include the amount of gaming or amusement credits to be purchased plus any fees associated with the transaction. If the transaction request is approved, the electronic transaction system provides authorized monetary value credits to be dispensed to the patron via a credit system. The system directs the credit system to dispense a suitable form of credit, in physical or electronic form, to or on behalf of the player. In one embodiment, the system may initiate and cause a ticket to be printed in the authorized amount at the specific location and utilizing hardware in the gaming environment associated with the electronic transaction terminal that originated the transaction. Alternatively, system may direct a cooperative system to update the patron's loyalty/prepaid debit card account with the authorized funds. The patron can then use the card or ticket on a variety of gaming or amusement devices to receive game credits or redeem the card or ticket for cash through the authorized gaming or amusement device system. ¶0067 In one embodiment, a ticket reader uses software for reading the barcode of a ticket provided by the electronic transaction system, and after reading the barcode, the ticket reader passes the barcode information to the processor of an associated gaming or amusement device. The gaming or amusement device then forwards the barcode information to the ticket validation system via the ticket validation network to verify its authenticity. After verifying the authenticity, the ticket validation system presents an authorization to the gaming or amusement device for the ticket amount, via the ticket validation network, and the gaming device in turn adds credits to its credit meter in the amount authorized by the ticket validation system. Finally, the gaming or amusement device instructs the ticket reader to retain the used ticket internally so that it is not returned to the presenter.).
Although not explicitly taught by Warner, Crandall teaches in the analogous art of systems for expanded cash management functionality via a cash handling device:
POS controller prevents the passthrough usage of the display by the casino device during the payment-card transaction (C.21 L.29 the POS terminal may comprise a POS terminal controller configured for causing the POS terminal cash recycler to deposit and/or accept cash in applicable amounts for a particular transaction. In certain embodiments, the POS terminal controller may have a configuration similar to the cash handling device controller, such that the POS terminal controller comprises one or more non-transitory memory storage areas, one or more processors, one or more network connection mechanisms, and/or the like. Accordingly, the POS terminal controller may be in electronic communication (e.g., via a network) with the cash handling device controller, the monitoring server, and/or the like C.37 L.35 embodiments as reflected with the illustrated displays of FIGS. 9-24 are additionally configured to determine when, during a particular workflow, the user is required to step away from the cash handling device to perform steps necessary in the execution of the workflow, such that the system is configured to provide detailed instructions to the user of steps necessary for completion of the described processes, and to automatically log the user out with the cash handling device. Such automated log-out ensures that other unauthorized users are prevented from accessing secure data within the cash handling device that may be accessible via a particular user's access credentials. Moreover, the user's progress in completing a particular workflow may be stored in association with the user's unique access identification credentials, such that multiple users may be performing multiple corresponding workflows at least substantially simultaneously, with each user's current progress in completing their respective workflows being associated with their respective access credentials. Thus, as one user logs-out of access to the cash handling device, and another user logs-in to access the cash handling device, the second user's current progress in completing an assigned workflow process may be unaffected by the first user's previous usage of the cash handling device.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems for expanded cash management functionality via a cash handling device of Crandall with the electronic transaction systems and methods for gaming or amusement credit purchases of Warner for the following reasons:
(1) a finding that there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings, e.g. Warner ¶0005 teaches that there remains a need for a less costly way for providing funds for gaming and amusement activities;
(2) a finding that there was reasonable expectation of success since the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference, e.g. Warner Abstract teaches electronic purchase of gaming or amusement credits using a transaction device at a patron's location to apply funds from a financial account to the purchase of credits for use with an amusement or gaming device, and Crandall Abstract teaches machine-learning based modelling utilized to automatically select a particular display variation of a user interface to be displayed to a user of a specially configured computing device, such as a cash handling device used in a retail establishment; and
(3) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness, e.g. Warner at least the above cited paragraphs, and Crandall at least the inclusively cited paragraphs.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to combine the systems for expanded cash management functionality via a cash handling device of Crandall with the electronic transaction systems and methods for gaming or amusement credit purchases of Warner. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2143(G).
Warner teaches:
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the P0S terminal is incorporated into a form factor of the casino device (¶0063 The electronic transaction terminal may also be or a chip-and-PIN (EMV) certified device suitable for use with chip-and-PIN (EMV) cards. The electronic transaction terminal allows the patron to obtain monetary equivalents without having to leave and find a ATM machine. The electronic transaction terminal device may be an external attachment to the gaming or amusement device or embedded in the gaming or amusement device. Each electronic transaction terminal is associated with a specific gaming or amusement device or a gaming patron's location. The process of purchasing credits is similar to that of any other point-of-sale ("POS") process.).
Warner teaches:
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the P0S controller is compliant with the Payment Card Industry Data Security Standard (PCI DSS) to conduct the payment-card transaction (¶0063 The electronic transaction system includes a secure electronic transaction terminal with PIN (Personal Identification Number) pad that may be a Payment Card Industry ("PCI") PIN Entry Device ("PED") certified device along with a magnetic stripe and smart card reader and a display. The electronic transaction terminal may also be or a chip-and-PIN (EMV) certified device suitable for use with chip-and-PIN (EMV) cards. CL. 7. The system of claim 1 wherein the electronic transaction terminal further comprises at least one of any of a Payment Card Industry (PCI) certified device, a PIN entry device (PED) certified device, a chip-and-PIN (EMV) certified device, a point-of-sale (POS) personal identification number (PIN) entry keypad, a payment card reader, a display, a network connectivity module, a printer, a printer port, a secure mobile application, a secure client-side application, and a secure electronic transaction application).
Although not explicitly taught by Warner, Crandall teaches in the analogous art of systems for expanded cash management functionality via a cash handling device:
Claim 4. The method of claim 1 further comprising:receiving, via the POS controller from the casino device, a transmission of the user input, wherein the transmission indicates the amount; disabling, by the POS controller, the passthrough usage of the display by the casino device; presenting, by the POS controller, a message to tap a payment card against the display; detecting, via a near field communication (NFC) reader contained within the hardened enclosure of the POS terminal, a tap of the payment card; presenting, by the POS controller via the display, a personal identification number (PIN) entry screen for input of a PIN for the payment card; performing, by the POS controller in response to receipt of the PIN, the payment-card transaction with the PSP system; and transmitting, by the POS controller in response to receipt of a payment authorization obtained from the PSP system, the authorization of the amount of the payment-card transaction to the processor associated with the casino device (C.20 L.40 A POS terminal may be configured for receiving and/or dispensing cash during one or more transactions. A POS terminal may be embodied as a self-checkout (SCO) terminal, specifically configured for operation with/by a retail customer. Particularly for POS terminals configured for use in SCO implementations, the POS terminal limits user access to cash stored therein, by accepting cash via a cash acceptor mechanism (e.g., an acceptor slot) and dispensing cash via a cash dispensing mechanism (e.g., a dispensing slot). In other embodiments, a POS terminal may be specifically configured for operation with/by a retail employee helping individual retail customers during transactions. The POS terminal may comprise one or more user interfaces (e.g., an LCD monitor, a PIN-pad, and/or the like), one or more data readers (e.g., a card reader, a barcode reader, an NFC reader, a camera (which may also be utilized for recording security footage), a biometric reader, and/or the like). In certain embodiments, the cash handling device hardware may comprise one or more secure information storage areas configured to securely store data, such as transaction data, cash content data, and/or the like. The POS terminal may further comprise one or more currency outputs (e.g., a coin dispenser, such as a loose coin dispenser, a note dispenser, such as loose note dispenser, and/or the like), one or more currency intakes (e.g., a coin acceptor, a check/note scanner/acceptor, and/or the like), a receipt printer, and/or the like. The POS terminal may additionally comprise one or more cash recycler portions configured to store cash, separated by denomination, therein. The cash recycler portions may be configured to accept cash provided to the POS terminal and/or to dispense cash from the POS terminal, for example, as change to a customer during a transaction. As discussed herein, the cash recycler portion may be configured as a Last-In-First-Out configuration for each denomination, such that the most recently received bill for a particular denomination is the first bill to be dispensed during the same or a later transaction.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the systems for expanded cash management functionality via a cash handling device of Crandall with the electronic transaction systems and methods for gaming or amusement credit purchases of Warner for the following reasons:
(1) a finding that there was some teaching, suggestion, or motivation, either in references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the reference or to combine reference teachings, e.g. Warner ¶0005 teaches that there remains a need for a less costly way for providing funds for gaming and amusement activities;
(2) a finding that there was reasonable expectation of success since the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art being the lack of actual combination of the elements in a single prior art reference, e.g. Warner Abstract teaches electronic purchase of gaming or amusement credits using a transaction device at a patron's location to apply funds from a financial account to the purchase of credits for use with an amusement or gaming device, and Crandall Abstract teaches machine-learning based modelling utilized to automatically select a particular display variation of a user interface to be displayed to a user of a specially configured computing device, such as a cash handling device used in a retail establishment; and
(3) whatever additional findings based on the Graham factual inquiries may be necessary, in view of the facts of the case under consideration, to explain a conclusion of obviousness, e.g. Warner at least the above cited paragraphs, and Crandall at least the inclusively cited paragraphs.
Therefore, it would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the invention to combine the systems for expanded cash management functionality via a cash handling device of Crandall with the electronic transaction systems and methods for gaming or amusement credit purchases of Warner. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so." DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). See MPEP 2143(G).
Warner teaches:
Claim 5. The method of claim 4, wherein the NFC reader is wired within the hardened enclosure and is not accessible outside of the hardened enclosure to the casino device (¶0046 The electronic transaction terminal may comprise one or more network connectivity modules for communication using wired, wireless, near-field communications (NFC), other electromagnetic, fiber optic, other optical, or other communication means and/or protocols, including but not limited to Bluetooth, infrared, optical, radio frequency, GPRS, and satellite. ).
Warner teaches:
Claim 6. The method of claim 4, wherein the POS controller encrypts sensitive data of the payment card during communication with the PSP system, and wherein the sensitive data is not available to the casino device (¶0048 The secured second computing device comprises a database with encrypted data, a communication interface to the secured first computing device, an operator management application, and at least one electronic firewall between the secured second computing device and the secured first computing device. The database includes encrypted data for each electronic transaction and the encrypted data comprise at least one of the electronic transaction terminal ID, transaction ID, gaming device ID, credit system ID, patron's name, host system's name, transaction value, date, and time ¶0054 A principal advantage of this invention over the present art is the enhanced security it provides. The use of a secured first computing device provides the most secure and efficient handling of sensitive financial transactions possible. The electronic transaction terminals used by patrons to initiate electronic transactions connects exclusively to the secured first computing device using the highest grade of encryption and most secure communication methods and protocols available. Only authorized electronic transaction terminals may connect to the secured first computing device to initiate such financial transactions. The secured first computing device also employs the highest grade of encryption and most secure security protocols available to communicate with patrons' financial institutions via high security industry-standard secured banking networks.).
Warner teaches:
Claim 7. The method of claim 1 further comprising:receiving, by the processor during the payment-card transaction, a host token provided by the PSP system in place of sensitive data of the payment card; andusing, by one or more of the processor or one or more controllers associated with a casino server, the host token for tracking player purchases for enforcement of spending limits (¶0025 The system comprises a credit system configured to dispense game play credit for the benefit of a patron in physical or electronic form, an electronic transaction terminal, and a secured first computing device communicatively connected to the credit system, the electronic transaction terminal, the patron's financial account via a secured banking network, and a secured second computing device. The secured second computing device is configured to account for and reconcile the transactions. The electronic transaction terminal comprises a secure client-side application for receiving transaction instructions from the patron and means for initiating and transmitting the transaction instructions to the patron's financial institution. The electronic transaction terminal is configured to connect exclusively to the secured first computing device, to initiate communications with the patron's financial institution, and to transmit the transaction instructions to the secured banking network via the secured first computing device. In one embodiment, the invention features a method for managing and applying electronic funds from a patron's financial account to a credit system in the form of gaming or amusement credits. The method may comprise the following steps. First, providing a credit system configured to dispense credit for the benefit of a patron via physical or electronic credit means.).
Warner teaches:
Claim 8. The method of claim 1, wherein the hardened enclosure of the POS terminal is mounted within a portion the casino device, wherein the POS terminal includes a touchscreenaccessible via the passthrough usage of the display, wherein the touchscreen receives, during passthrough usage, a first input screen to specify a payment amount, wherein during the payment-card transaction the POS controller presents at least one of a payment card action screen, a personal identification number (PIN) entry screen, a payment confirmation screen, or a transaction processing screen, and wherein after the payment-card transaction is completed the POS controller restores the passthrough usage of the display for presenting, by the processor associated with the casino device, a second input screen to receive, via the touchscreen, additional user input to request printing of a receipt (¶0087 The application store and cache 3200 is an interface into the application database 3100 that conforms to the Universal Description Discovery and Integration (UDDI) discovery standards for machine readable service functionality discovery. Management User Interface (UI) 3300 is a set of web application screens that allow data center administrators to control the use of the system, for example, allowing or disallowing access to a particular secured banking network, or promoting an application from test to production. The Application Registration Service 3500 is the module that allows the developer to publish an application from the Integrated Development Environment (IDE). The remote call handler 3600 executes properly authenticated web service calls and the Application Program Interface (API) handler 3700 is an interface that external services 5000 (like payment processors) implement in order to be accessed from within the system. Secured first computing device 120 securely handles interaction between the electronic transaction terminals 110 and the application servers 4000 which host the secured banking network web services that provide access to the patron's financial accounts, and between the electronic transaction terminals 110 and any supporting applications 5000).
Warner teaches:
Claim 9. The method of claim 1 further comprising printing, by the processor in response to additional user input via the display after performance of the funds transfer, a receipt of the payment- card transaction via a printer associated with the casino device (¶0046 The electronic transaction terminal may comprise a printer and/or a printer port for connection of an external printer or a plurality of printers connected to a plurality of gaming devices via wired, wireless, or other communication means. ¶0069 The display prompts the patron for such information and informs the patron of transaction request approvals and rejections. A printer may be attached to print out a receipt for evidence of the transaction.).
As per claims 10,11-18 and 19, the system and manufacture tracks the method of claims 1&8,2-9 and 1, respectively, resulting in substantially similar limitations. The same cited prior art and rationale of claims 1&8,2-9 and 1 are applied to claims 10,11-18 and 19, respectively. x8x discloses that the embodiment may be found as a system and manufacture (Fig. 1 and ¶0087).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230086207 A1
Palmisano; Angelo et al.
SYSTEMS AND METHODS FOR PROVIDING DYNAMIC REWARDS
CA 3025201 A1
SOUKUP THOMAS E et al.
CASINO MANAGEMENT SYSTEM WITH ANONYMOUS PLAYER BONUSING
US 20020094860 A1
Itkis, Yuri et al.
Fully automated bingo session
/KURTIS GILLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624