Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Pratt et al. (US 4907733 A).
Regarding Claim 1, Pratt teaches an assembly comprising: a continuous structural element (Fig. 1A element 14) for aircraft; and, a fitting (Fig. 1A element 12), wherein the continuous structural element comprises an outer flange (Fig. 1A upper surface of element 14), an inner flange (Fig. 1A lower surface of element 14), and a web (Fig. 1A web between upper and lower surface of element 14) between the outer flange and the inner flange, the inner flange having at least one portion with a wavy shape such that a height of the web increases or decreases at the at least one portion of the inner flange (Fig. 1A shows curved web around element 12), wherein the fitting comprises at least one through hole (Fig. 1A element 20) and is configured to fit a portion of the web at the at least one portion of the inner flange with the wavy shape such that in an assembled state the fitting is joined to the portion of the web by connecting means so that the at least one through hole of the fitting is not covered by the web (Shown in Fig. 1A).
Regarding Claim 4, Pratt teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1 and further discloses the fitting comprises two sections (Shown in Fig. 1C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pratt et al. (US 4907733 A) in view of Hall (US 1847559 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Pratt teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1.
Pratt fails to explicitly teach the connecting means comprises a plurality of rivets which form a riveting pattern.
However, Hall teaches the connecting means comprises a plurality of rivets which form a riveting pattern (Fig. 3; “The sheet metal keel A, of truss construction, is stiffened along its lower outer edge by strips 1 riveted to its opposite sides, its central or web portion is stiffened by riveting to the opposite sides thereof flanged semi-tubular web members or U-sections 2” Page 1 lines 71-76).
Pratt and Hall are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of fitting structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the fitting of Pratt to be connected to the continuous structural element by a pattern of rivets as disclosed by Hall. Doing so would provide a secure connection between the fitting and the structural element while dispersing the load on the connection. Rivets are known in the art and are not considered novel.
Regarding Claim 3, Pratt and Hall teach the limitations set forth in Claim 2.
Hall further discloses the riveting pattern comprises rivets proximate a part of the web having a reduced height (Shown in Fig. 3).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pratt et al. (US 4907733 A) in view of Hall (US 1847559 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Pratt teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1.
Pratt fails to explicitly teach the continuous structural element is a frame.
However, Hall teaches the continuous structural element is a frame (Shown in Fig. 1).
Pratt and Hall are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of fitting structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the continuous structural element of Pratt to be a frame as disclosed by Hall. Doing so would allow for a secure and reliable fitting for connecting different aircraft structures.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pratt et al. (US 4907733 A) in view of Hall (US 1847559 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Pratt teaches the limitations set forth in Claim 1.
Pratt fails to explicitly teach the continuous structural element is a beam.
However, Hall teaches the continuous structural element is a beam (Shown in Fig. 1).
Pratt and Hall are considered analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of fitting structures. It would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the continuous structural element of Pratt to be a beam disclosed by Hall. Doing so would allow for a secure and reliable fitting for connecting different aircraft structures.
Conclusion
/E.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3644
/Nicholas McFall/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3644