DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (US 20220285427 A1, hereafter Son).
Regarding claim 1, Son teaches a display device comprising:
a substrate having a display area (DA) comprising a first area (SDA1’) and a second area (SDA2’), and a non-display area (NA) (Fig. 5, [0139], [0147]);
first signal lines comprising data lines (DL) connected to pixels, and readout lines (SENL) connected to sensor pixels, in the first area and in the second area (Fig. 5, [0140], [0150], where sensing lines SENL are located in the display area DA; Fig. 2, [0087], defining a sensing line SL as a sensing line connected to a sub-pixel SPX);
second signal lines (CL1’) between the first signal lines in the first area and in the second area (Fig. 5, [0140], where there are connection lines CL1’); and
connection lines (CL2’) in the display area, and connecting at least some of the first signal lines in the first area to corresponding ones of the second signal lines in the second area (Fig. 5, [0140], where there are connection lines CL2’ that connect data lines DL to connection lines CL1’).
Regarding claim 2, Son teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the first signal lines and the second signal lines extend in a second direction, and are arranged along a first direction crossing the second direction, and wherein the first area and the second area are separated in the first direction (Fig. 5, where lines DL and CL1’ extend in a second direction DR1’ and are arranged along a first direction DR2’ along which the first and second area are also arranged).
Regarding claim 3, Son teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the data lines and the readout lines in the first area are respectively connected to corresponding ones of the connection lines (Fig. 5, [0150], where sensing lines SL are connected to sensing pads using first and second connection lines CL1’ and CL2’ in a manner similar to the data lines and pads PAD1’).
Regarding claim 6, Son teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the data lines comprise a first data line, a second data line, a third data line, a fourth data line, and a fifth data line sequentially located along a first direction in plan view (Fig. 5, [0143], where the data lines DL include at least M data lines),
wherein the second signal lines comprise:
a second bridge line and a third bridge line between the second data line and the third data line (Fig. 5, [0140], where there are connection lines CL1’ corresponding to the bridge lines, some of these connection lines CL1’ being positioned between data lines DL); and
a fourth bridge line and a fifth bridge line between the fourth data line and the fifth data line (Fig. 5, [0140], where there are connection lines CL1’ corresponding to the bridge lines, some of these connection lines CL1’ being positioned between data lines DL),
wherein the second data line in the first area is connected to the fifth bridge line in the second area through a first connection line (Fig. 5, [0139]-[0140], where a data line DL is connected to a connection line CL1’ corresponding to the fifth bridge line via a connection line CL2’ corresponding to the first connection line), and
wherein the third data line in the first area is connected to the fourth bridge line in the second area through a second connection line (Fig. 5, [0139]-[0140], where a data line DL is connected to a connection line CL1’ corresponding to the fourth bridge line via a connection line CL2’ corresponding to the second connection line).
Regarding claim 7, Son teaches the display device of claim 6, wherein the readout lines comprise:
a first readout line between the first data line and the second data line (Figs. 5 and 7, [0150], [0173], where sensing lines SENL are disposed in the display area DA between data lines DL); and
a second readout line between the third data line and the fourth data line (Figs. 5 and 7, [0150], [0173], where sensing lines SENL are disposed in the display area DA between data lines DL), and
wherein the first readout line in the first area is connected to a sixth bridge line between a sixth data line and a seventh data line in the second area through a third connection line (Figs. 5 and 7, [0150], [0173], where sensing lines SENL are disposed in the display area DA between data lines DL and are connected to sensing pads using the connection lines CL1’ and CL2’ in the same manner as the data lines and pads).
Regarding claim 14, Son teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein, in the first area, the data lines are connected to the connection lines, and wherein the readout lines in the first area are not connected to the connection lines ([0150], where, alternatively, the sensing lines SENL are not connected to sensing pads via connection lines like the data lines).
Regarding claim 20, Son teaches an electronic device comprising:
a processor configured to provide input image data (Fig. 1, [0072], where there is an external processor providing an input image signal RGB);
a display device configured to display an image based on the input image data (Fig. 1, [0072]-[0074], where the input image signal is used to display the input image signal RGB); and
a power supply device configured to supply power to the display device ([0066], where there is at least a first power source for powering display),
wherein the display device comprises:
a substrate having a display area (DA) comprising a first area (SDA1’) and a second area (SDA2’), and a non-display area (NA) (Fig. 5, [0139], [0147]);
first signal lines in the first area and in the second area, and comprising data lines (DL) connected to pixels, and readout lines (SENL) connected to sensor pixels (Fig. 5, [0140], [0150], where sensing lines SENL are located in the display area DA; Fig. 2, [0087], defining a sensing line SL as a sensing line connected to a sub-pixel SPX);
second signal lines (CL1’) between the first signal lines in the first area and the second area (Fig. 5, [0140], where there are connection lines CL1’); and
connection lines (CL2’) in the display area, and configured to connect at least some of the first signal lines in the first area to corresponding ones of the second signal lines in the second area (Fig. 5, [0140], where there are connection lines CL2’ that connect data lines DL to connection lines CL1’).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 8-13, 15-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Son does not teach direct connection of third signal lines in the non-display area to some first signal lines in the second area (claims 4 and 5), dummy lines extending from second signal lines (claims 8-10), shielding lines or layers positioned with respect to signal lines in the non-display area (claims 11-13), direct connection of data lines in the first area to third signal lines in the non-display area (claims 15 and 16), data lines not being connected to connection lines (claims 17 and 18), and the pixel having a light-receiving element (claim 19).
Conclusion
/PETER D MCLOONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621