DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 filed May 7, 2025 are pending and are hereby examined.
Double Patenting
7. Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of provisional nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, and 21-27 of U.S. Patent 12,327,234. In fact, the ‘234 patent is more detailed and more specific and encompasses almost all of the elements of the broader, current ‘460 application as seen below.
8. This is an obviousness nonstatutory double patenting rejection because although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed limitations from the present application and U.S. Patent 12,327,234 above are significantly similar and the claimed features seem to be identical with various obvious alternate methods. The omission of an element with a corresponding loss of function is an obvious expedient. See In re Karlson, 136 USPQ 184 and Ex parte Rainu, 168 USPQ 375. For these reasons, claims 1-20 of the instant application are not identical to claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-9, 11-12, 14-16, 18-19, and 21-27 of U.S. Patent 12,327,234, but they are not patentably distinct.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
13. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D’Souza et al (US 2018/0241577) in view of Piparsaniya et al (US 2020/0097952) and Thakkar et al (US 2019/0386984).
14. Re Claims 1, 10, 16: D’Souza discloses comprising:
one or more processors (see [0055, 0103] processor);
memory storing thereon instructions that, as a result of being executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform a method including (see [0103, 0104] memory):
emitting a presence audial tone at a point-of-sale device, wherein the presence audial tone denotes a presence at the point-of-sale device, and wherein when the presence audial tone is received at a user device, the user device establishes a secure communications session with the point-of-sale device (see [0058] computing devices may be separated by spatial gap up to 6 feet, authentication may be restricted to taking place only within predefined physical proximity, [0028] receiving acoustic data, [0044] detecting acoustic signal, decoding data);
and processing the authenticated transaction by demodulating the confirmation audial tone to obtain the payment confirmation (see [0053] frequency demodulation).
However, D’Souza fails to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Piparsaniya teaches:
receiving a confirmation audial tone through the secure communications session at the point-of-sale device, wherein the confirmation audial tone encodes payment confirmation corresponding to a transaction (see [0078] confirmation regarding generation of voice currency token to payor or designated payee, transferring either or both encrypted voice currency token and confirmation regarding generation of voice currency token);
comparing the confirmation audial tone against the expected characteristics to authenticate the transaction (see [0071] comparing information extracted from voice data);
From the teaching of Piparsaniya, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify D’Souza’s proximity-based security with Piparsaniya’s confirmation in order “… for secure electronic payment transactions based on voice generated currency tokens (see Piparsaniya Abstract).”
However, D’Souza and Piparsaniya fail to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Thakkar teaches:
determining expected characteristics of the confirmation audial tone using an algorithmic library (see [0026] determine two-factor authentication password through encryption of audio communications).
From the teaching of Thakkar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify D’Souza’s proximity-based security with Piparsaniya’s confirmation in and Thakkar’s teaching of expected characteristics in order “… for two-factor authentication through ultrasonic audio transmissions (see Thakkar Abstract).”
15. Re Claims 2, 11, 17: However, D’Souza and Piparsaniya fail to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Thakkar teaches wherein the expected characteristics are based on a current time (see [0026] determine two-factor authentication password through encryption of audio communications). From the teaching of Thakkar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify D’Souza’s proximity-based security with Piparsaniya’s confirmation in and Thakkar’s teaching of expected characteristics in order “… for two-factor authentication through ultrasonic audio transmissions (see Thakkar Abstract).”
16. Re Claims 3, 12, 18: However, D’Souza and Piparsaniya fail to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Thakkar teaches wherein the expected characteristics are based on identifying information corresponding to the point-of-sale device (see [0026] determine two-factor authentication password through encryption of audio communications). From the teaching of Thakkar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify D’Souza’s proximity-based security with Piparsaniya’s confirmation in and Thakkar’s teaching of expected characteristics in order “… for two-factor authentication through ultrasonic audio transmissions (see Thakkar Abstract).”
17. Re Claims 4, 13, 19: D’Souza discloses wherein the point-of-sale device is implemented without network connectivity (see [0027] without need for Bluetooth, wireless, or network connectivity; see [0050] user-requested authentication).
18. Re Claims 5, 14, 20: D’Souza discloses further comprising rejecting a replayed audial tone, wherein the replayed audial tone is identical to the confirmation audial tone (see Fig. 5C rejection).
19. Re Claim 6: D’Souza discloses further comprising receiving a user device audial tone that encodes cryptographic information for performing a handshake process to establish the secure communications session (see [0075, 0080] handshake).
20. Re Claim 7: However, D’Souza and Piparsaniya fail to disclose the following. Meanwhile, Thakkar teaches further comprising displaying an indication that the authenticated transaction has been processed (see [0086] completion message displayed). From the teaching of Thakkar, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify D’Souza’s proximity-based security with Piparsaniya’s confirmation in and Thakkar’s teaching of processed transactions in order “… for two-factor authentication through ultrasonic audio transmissions (see Thakkar Abstract).”
21. Re Claim 8: D’Souza discloses wherein the presence audial tone encodes information of an entity associated with the point-of-sale device (see [0029] encodes).
22. Re Claim 9: D’Souza discloses wherein the expected characteristics include frequency, pitch, amplitude, or pattern (see [0029] frequency, [0056] amplitude, [0027] acoustic pattern).
Examiner Notes
23. The Examiner suggests clarifying what devices are performing these steps exactly (emitting presence audial tone, receiving confirmation audial tone, determining expected characteristics, comparing confirmation audial tone, processing authentication transaction). The Examiner suggests incorporating dependent claims 5, 6, 8, and 9 together into the independent claims. The Examiner suggests clarifying how the proximity is detected. The Examiner suggests clarifying what is receiving the device audial tone, and what does that audial tone consist or compose of. The Examiner suggests clarifying what is meant by device audial tone, from which device exactly. The aforementioned claim suggestions, in combination together, is suggested to help advance prosecution forward, although further search, examination, and consideration is required.
Conclusion
24. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Zakariyya et al (An Efficient Polar Coding Scheme for Uplink Data Transmission in Narrowband Internet of Things Systems, NPL) is found to be the most pertinent NPL prior art.
/FAWAAD HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3627