DETAILED ACTION
Applicant filed an amendment on 10/5/26. Claims 1, 10, and 17 have been amended. Claims 7-8 have been canceled. Claims 1-6 and 9-20 remain pending in this application. After careful consideration of applicant arguments and amendments the examiner finds them to be moot and/or non-persuasive. This action is a Final Rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-6, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1, 10, and 17 are directed to method, system and non-transitory medium which are statutory classes of invention. Step 1 – yes
Claim 1 has been identified as the model claim for analysis.
The limitations under their broadest reasonable interpretation cover performance of the limitation as certain methods of organizing human activity. Making payments for a parent/child relationship recites a fundamental economic practice. If a claim under it’s broadest reasonable interpretation covers performance of the limitation as a fundamental economic practice then it falls within certain methods of organizing human activity grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly the claim recites an abstract idea.
The abstract elements include
creating, in response to receiving an indication to enroll in a management platform, a master account associated with a first user, the master account having master login credentials associated therewith; providing a management … to … in response to a login using the master login credentials; creating a subordinate account associated with a second user in response to a first user input via the management … the subordinate account having subordinate login credentials associated therewith; establishing one or more content-based spending rules for the subordinate account in response to a second user input via the management … ;providing a subordinate … in response to a login using the subordinate login credentials; generating a subordinate payment token for a payment account associated with the master account; receiving, from …, a request to approve a first in-app purchase … , the request indicating that the … has received the subordinate payment token; retrieving, based on receiving the request indicating that the … has received the subordinate payment token, the one or more content-based spending rules for the subordinate account; and
receiving an indication of content requested in the first IAP
and approving the first … from the subordinate account based on the content requested in the first … satisfying the one or more spending rules.
The technical elements including a processor computer and GUI are just applying generic computer elements to the abstract limitations. The recitation of generic computer components in a claim does not necessarily preclude that claim from reciting an abstract idea.
Claims 10 and 17 are similar to claim 1.
Step 2A prong 1 yes the claims recite an abstract idea.
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular the claims recite the additional elements of a computer GUI etc. The computer hardware and/or software is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly these elements when considered separately and as an ordered combination do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea and are at a high level of generality. There claims X, Y and Z are directed to an abstract idea without a practical application. Step 2A prong 2 No the additional claimed elements are not integrated into a practical application.
The claims do not contain additional elements because when considered separately or as ordered combination they do not add significantly more known as inventive concept. The integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. The additional elements of using a generic computer and a GUI amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the inventive concept.
It appears that 0025 of the specification is referring to a parent/child account on known software applications like Xbox software using generic elements.
Accordingly these elements do not change the Step 2B no.
The dependent claims 2-6 and 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected because they do not further integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Thus claims 1-6,10-20 are not patent eligible as claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US Patent Publication 20110320294 to Votaw in view of US Patent Publication 20180158057 to Kirch and US Patent to Kelly 8622801
As per claim 1 Votaw discloses;
creating, in response to receiving an indication to enroll in a management platform, a master account associated with a first user,
the master account having master login credentials associated therewith;
providing a management graphical user interface (GUI) to a user device in response to a login using the master login credentials;
Votaw(master account, which is also primary account, 0052)
creating a subordinate account associated with a second user in response to a first user input via the management GUI,
the subordinate account having subordinate login credentials associated therewith;
Votaw(0071 a child account)
establishing one or more … spending rules for the subordinate account receiving an indication of … requested in the first IAP in response to a second user input via the management GUI; providing a subordinate GUI in response to a login using the subordinate login credentials;
Votaw(0071 withdrawal rules for the subordinate account)
Votaw does not explicitly disclose what Kirch teaches;
generating a subordinate payment token for a payment account associated with the master account; receiving, from a computing system, a request to approve a first in-app purchase (IAP), the request indicating that the computing system has received the subordinate payment token;
Kirch(0057- in app purchase)
retrieving, based on receiving the request indicating that the computing system has received the subordinate payment token, the one or more spending rules for the subordinate account; and approving the first IAP from the subordinate account based on the … requested the first IAP satisfying the one or more … spending rules. Kirch(0027 payment credentials, like applicant token, see applicant spec definition of token in 011)
It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the parent/child accounts of Votaw with the in app payment system of Kirch for the motivation of “protecting transaction accounts” (0002)
Votaw and Kirch do not explicitly disclose what Kelly teaches;
Content based controls, (col. 86, lines 5-10, account for a child, which has limits including the types of games amount of money spent playing games etc. “types of games” could be content. It would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the disclosure of Votaw with the teaching of Kelly for the motivation of adding to “casino player tracking systems” col. 2 lines 1-10”
Claims 10, 17 are similar to claim 1.
As per claims 2, 11 Votaw disclose; The method of claim 1, further comprises: receiving, via the management GUI, a request for a funding rule; associating the funding rule with the subordinate account; and funding the subordinate account based on the funding rule. Votaw(one or more could be one, 0013)
As per claim 3 Votaw discloses;
The method of claim 2, further comprising updating the subordinate GUI to include the funding rule.
Votaw(0013,0021)
As per claim 4 Votaw discloses; The method of claim 2, wherein the funding rule includes a task and an incentive associated with a completion of the task. Votaw(0089, incentives for customers, task is a general term)
As per claim 5 Votaw discloses; The method of claim 4, further comprising receiving an indication of the completion of the task, wherein funding the subordinate account based on the funding rule comprises funding the subordinate account using the incentive associated with the task.
Votaw(0088)
Claim 12 is similar to claim 5
As per claim 6 Votaw discloses;
The method of claim 1, wherein the computing system is a digital platform computing system, the method further comprising associating the subordinate account with an account at the digital platform computing system. Votaw(0043)
Claims 13, 18 are similar to claim 6
As per claim 9 Votaw discloses;
The method of claim 6, wherein the one or more spending rules include an approved digital provider list, wherein the request to approve the first IAP includes an indication of a digital provider associated with the first IAP, and wherein approving the first IAP comprises confirming that the digital provider is on the approved digital provider list.
Votaw(0084, various rules for spending)
Claims 15, 19 are similar to claim 9.
As per claim 14 Votaw discloses; The system of claim 10, wherein the one or more spending rules require approval of the IAP request from the master account, wherein approving the first IAP comprises: providing, to the master GUI, an indication of the request for the first IAP; and receiving, from the master GUI, an indication of the approval of the first IAP.
Votaw(0052, master or primary account)
As per claim 16 Votaw discloses; The system of claim 10, wherein the one or more spending rules include one or more approved purchase time ranges, wherein the request to approve the first IAP includes an indication of the time the request approve the first IAP is made, and wherein approving the first IAP comprises confirming that the time the request approve the first IAP is made is within the one or more approved purchase time ranges. Votaw(0055, 0062 spending rules based on time)
Claim 20 is similar to claim 16.
Response to Arguments
Applicant filed an amendment on 10/5/26. Claims 1, 10, and 17 have been amended. Claims 7-8 have been canceled. Claims 1-6 and 9-20 remain pending in this application. After careful consideration of applicant arguments and amendments the examiner finds them to be moot and/or non-persuasive. This action is a Final Rejection.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. & 103
The Office Action indicates that claims 1-16 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as
allegedly being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2011/0320294 ("Votaw") in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2018/0158057 ("Kirch"). It appears claims 17-20 were also intended to be rejected based on similar portions of the cited references. For the purposes of this response, Applicant assumes that claims 17-20 are also under rejection.
Without acquiescing to the rejections, claim 1 has been amended to recite, in part:
As described in the present application with respect to a non-limiting embodiment, the
content-based spending rules may include "a restriction from particular IAPs such as a restriction from purchasing new characters or a restriction from playing games with certain content ratings (e.g., restriction based on age appropriate content). These rules may be referred to as content- based spending rules." (Specification [0054]). Thus, as recited in claim 1, the system receives "an indication of content requested in the first IAP" and approves the IAP only if "the content requested in the first IAP satisf[ies] the one or more content-based spending rules." Votaw's "rules" are not "content-based spending rules" as recited in claim 1 and are not used to "approv[e] the first IAP from the subordinate account based on the content requested in the first IAP." Instead, Votaw's rules only "dictate the budgeting account from which the payment is made" based on the "type of good or service being purchased, the amount of the purchase, the category of the merchant (e.g., restaurant, grocery store, etc.), and the like." (Votaw [0062]).
Here in view of arguments and amendments, Kelly is offered. It is noted that the claims are interpreted as amended because they are not an exact rollup and further they are not argued as such.
Rejections Under 35 U.S.C. & 101
Claims 1-20 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 because they are allegedly directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. Applicant respectfully traverses these rejections.
Step 2A, Prong One
As discussed above, the claims now recite, in part, "establishing one or more content- based spending rules for the subordinate account," "receiving an indication of content requested in the first IAP," and "approving the first IAP from the subordinate account based on the content requested in the first IAP satisfying the one or more content-based spending rules." As emphasized in the 2025 memo "Reminders on evaluating subject matter eligibility of claims under 35 U.S.C. 101" from Deputy Commissioner Charles Kim (the "SME Memo"), examiners must "distinguish claims that recite an exception (which require further eligibility analysis) from claims that merely involve an exception (which are eligible and do not require further eligibility analysis)." (SME Memo p. 2-3). The claimed features are not directed to a fundamental economic practice. Rather, they recite a specific computer-implemented technique involving a hierarchical account structure, a subordinate payment token, and content-based rule evaluation between a provider institution computing system and a digital platform computing system to control in-app purchase approvals. At its core, this is a technologically-founded arrangement of features.
Step 2A, Prong Two:
Even assuming, arguendo, that the claims recite a judicial exception, the claims integrate any alleged abstract idea into a practical application. As the SME Memo instructs, "the analysis should take into consideration all the claim limitations and how these limitations interact and impact each other when evaluating whether the exception is integrated into a practical application." (SME Memo p. 3). The claims require a particular technical architecture involving interaction between or among: (i) a management GUI that provides content-based spending rules, (ii) a subordinate payment token generated for a payment account associated with the
master account, (iii) a digital platform computing system that transmits a request to approve an IAP with an indication that the subordinate payment token has been received along with an indication of the content requested, and (iv) a provider institution computing system that retrieves the content-based spending rules and approves or denies the IAP based on whether the content satisfies those rules. This is not merely an instruction to "apply" budgeting concepts using generic computer components. Rather, the claims recite a specific combination of technical elements that work together to achieve a technical improvement.
This technical solution addresses a specific technical problem identified in the
specification, that "the digital nature of the digital platforms restricts the visibility of how they are being used by other users (e.g., non-adult members)" and that "many digital platforms allow for a user to make in application purchases (IAPs) using previously stored payment account information, which may allow unauthorized transactions to be made."
(Specification [0003]). The claimed content-based spending rules solve this technical problem by enabling the provider institution computing system to receive content information associated with an IAP request and automatically evaluate whether the content satisfies predefined content-based rules before approving the purchase, without requiring real-time human intervention for each transaction.
This improves the functioning of the computer system by providing automated content-based purchase control across digital platforms. As the SME Memo explains, "[a]n important consideration in determining whether a claim improves technology or a technical field is the extent to which the claim covers a particular solution to a problem or a particular way to achieve a desired outcome, as opposed to merely claiming the idea of a solution or outcome." (SME Memo p. 3). Here, the amended claims do not merely claim the idea of a solution; rather, they recite the specific technical steps by which content-based purchase control is achieved.
Here arguably the use of content based spending rules could be a computer related problem. However, aside form the IAP limitation, the process is not specifically different from a more traditional credit card parent child limitation for example. If there were limitations that are more specific to the computer environment or improving the computer technology, then this would be a more persuasive argument.
Step 2B
Even if the claims were found not to be integrated into a practical application, they nonetheless recite significantly more than any alleged abstract idea. The claims recite an inventive concept through the specific combination of: generating a subordinate payment token
for a payment account associated with the master account; receiving a request from a digital platform computing system indicating that the subordinate payment token has been received; retrieving content-based spending rules associated with the subordinate account; receiving an indication of the content requested in the IAP; and approving the IAP based on whether the content satisfies the content-based spending rules. This combination of features is not well- understood, routine, or conventional, but rather represents a specific technological solution to the technical problem of controlling in-app purchases across digital platforms based on content evaluation.
While argued to be a technical solution, basically we’re approving transactions based on a content based rule. Here one alternative might be the specialized timer and controls of 0050 of the specification.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure from IP.com
A Decentralised Digital Token Architecture for Public Transport, ARXIV.org 2020
Smart Parking: IoT and Blockchain, ARXIV.ORG 2019
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRUCE I EBERSMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3693