DETAILED ACTION
Formal Matters
Claim 1 is are cancelled. Claims 2-21 are pending and under examination.
Benefit
The instant application claims benefit as a Continuation to 17/787,232 (17 June 2022) issued as US 12,234,589 (10 June 2025) which claims benefit as a National Stage application under 35 USC 371 of PCT/US2021/012284, filed 6 January 2021, claiming benefit to US Provisional 62/958195 filed 7 January 2020.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 9 May 2025, 13 June 2025, 15 July 2025, 6 August 2025, 3 October 2025, 4 February 2026, 12 February 2026, and 15 May 2026 have been considered by the examiner. Signed copies are attached.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim 2-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Scott et al., US 20190231350 (1 August 2019).
Regarding independent claim 2, Scott teaches a cartridge (FIG 11, cartridge, ¶98) configured to be received in a surgical instrument (FIGs 11-15, end effector 1100) that employs a drive element (feed bar 1130, ¶87) for applying clips (FIG 11, surgical clips 1110a-f; ¶82),
the surgical instrument (1100) including first (FIG 11, jaw 1111a) and second (FIG 11, jaw 1111b) jaws movable between open and closed positions (¶92) and a drive element (1130),
the cartridge (¶98) comprising: a first plurality of clips (FIG 11, “surgical clips 1110a-c packed in a first layer and surgical clips 1110d-f packed in a second layer”, ¶82) arranged longitudinally (¶84) in a first row of clips (1110a-c) in the cartridge (¶98),
each one of the first plurality of clips (FIG 11, 1110a-c; ¶82) configured to be sequentially (¶86) formed via actuation of the drive element (1130) of the surgical instrument (¶86); and
a member (FIG 11, clip feeder 1102) extending from the cartridge and configured to displace the drive element (via biasing element 1122; ¶85) into a position at which the drive element (1130) is aligned with the first row of clips (1110a-c) (¶85).
Scott teaches that “surgical clips 1110a-f or another suitable number of surgical clips may be added to end effector 1100 in a cartridges, magazines, and similar structures” (¶98). Accordingly, Scott teaches cartridges as an obvious alternative carrier or container for the multiple clips (e.g. 1110a-f).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine the alternative embodiments of Scott as applied to end effector 1100 (FIG 11) given that the prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single embodiment. Instead, the container types are taught as obvious equivalents. Scott expressly teaches a finite list of equivalent container types, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Scott.
Regarding claim 3, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 2, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the member is an inclined surface (FIG 13, grooves 1160; ¶90) that engages the drive element (feedbar 1130) so as to laterally displace (¶90) the drive element (1130) into the position at which the drive element (1130) is aligned with the row of clips (¶90).
Regarding claim 4, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 2, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the cartridge (¶98) is configured to be received in a channel of the surgical instrument (clip track 1131).
Regarding claim 5, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 4, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the member is a proximal tab (FIG 11, spring shoe 1120). extending into the channel (clip track 1131).
Regarding claim 6, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 5, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches the cartridge (¶98) further comprising a second plurality of clips arranged longitudinally in a second row of the cartridge (FIG 11, “surgical clips 1110d-f packed in a second layer”, ¶82).
Regarding claim 7, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 6, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein each one of the second plurality of clips (FIG 11, 1110d-f; ¶82) is
configured to be sequentially (¶86) formed via actuation of the drive element (1130) of the surgical instrument (¶86); and
Regarding claim 8, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 6, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the second plurality of clips (FIG 11, 1110d-f; ¶82) is configured to be sequentially (¶86) formed on a condition that all of the clips of the first plurality of clips have been sequentially formed (¶83, “surgical clip feeder 1102 includes upper retainer plate 1116, lower retainer plate 1117, and forward stop 1118 to aid in maintaining surgical clips 1110a-f therein until their dispensation is desired”).
Regarding claim 9, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 6, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the second row of clips (FIG 11, 1110d-f; ¶82) is disposed adjacent to the first row of clips (FIG 11, 1110a-c; ¶82) such that the second row of clips can be formed upon displacement of the drive element (¶¶83-84).
Regarding claim 10, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 2, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches the cartridge further comprising a locking feature for locking the cartridge in the first jaw (FIG 11, forward stop 1118, ¶88).
Regarding claim 11, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 2, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the first plurality of clips (FIG 11, “surgical clips 1110a-c packed in a first layer and surgical clips 1110d-f packed in a second layer”, ¶82) is configured to be sequentially (¶86) formed via actuation of the drive element (1130) via a robotic control system (FIG 1 , ¶25).
Regarding independent claim 12, Scott teaches a cartridge (FIG 11, cartridge, ¶98) configured to be received in a first jaw (jaws 1111a/1111b) of a clip applier (FIGs 11-15, end effector 1100) and to be actuated by a drive element (feed bar 1130, ¶87) of the clip applier (1100), the cartridge (¶98) comprising:
a first row of clips arranged longitudinally in the cartridge (FIG 11, “surgical clips 1110a-c packed in a first layer and surgical clips 1110d-f packed in a second layer”, ¶82), the clips configured to be sequentially (¶86) formed via actuation of the drive element (1130; ¶87); and
a member (FIG 11, clip feeder 1102) extending from the cartridge and configured to displace the drive element (via biasing element 1122; ¶85) into a position at which the drive element (1130) is aligned with the first row of clips (1110a-c) (¶85).
Scott teaches that “surgical clips 1110a-f or another suitable number of surgical clips may be added to end effector 1100 in a cartridges, magazines, and similar structures” (¶98). Accordingly, Scott teaches cartridges as an obvious alternative carrier or container for the multiple clips (e.g. 1110a-f).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date of the invention to combine the alternative embodiments of Scott as applied to end effector 1100 (FIG 11) given that the prior art included each element claimed, although not necessarily in a single embodiment. Instead, the container types are taught as obvious equivalents. Scott expressly teaches a finite list of equivalent container types, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have had a reasonable expectation of success in combining the teachings of Scott.
Regarding claim 13, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 12, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the member is an inclined surface (FIG 13, grooves 1160; ¶90) that engages the drive element (feedbar 1130) so as to laterally displace (¶90) the drive element (1130) into the position at which the drive element (1130) is aligned with the first row (¶82) of clips (¶90).
Regarding claim 14, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 12, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
the cartridge (¶98) is configured to be received in a channel of the surgical instrument (clip track 1131).
Regarding claim 15, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 14, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the member is a proximal tab (FIG 11, spring shoe 1120). extending into the channel (clip track 1131).
Regarding claim 16, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 12, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches the cartridge (¶98) further comprising a second plurality of clips arranged longitudinally in the cartridge (FIG 11, “surgical clips 1110d-f packed in a second layer”, ¶82).
Regarding claim 17, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 16, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the clips in the second row are configured to be sequentially formed via actuation of the drive element of the surgical instrument on a condition that all of the clips of the first row of clips have been sequentially formed.
Scott teaches wherein the clips in the second row (FIG 11, 1110d-f; ¶82) are configured to be sequentially (¶86) formed via actuation of the drive element (1130) of the surgical instrument (1100) on a condition that all of the first row of clips (FIG 11, 1110a-c; ¶82) have been sequentially (¶86) formed (¶88).
Regarding claim 18, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 17, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the second row of clips (FIG 11, 1110d-f; ¶82) is disposed adjacent to the first row of clips (FIG 11, 1110a-c; ¶82) such that the second row of clips can be formed upon displacement of the drive element (¶¶83-84).
Regarding claim 19, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 12, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the first row of clips (FIG 11, “surgical clips 1110a-c packed in a first layer”, ¶82) is configured to be sequentially (¶86) formed via actuation of the drive element (1130) via a robotic (¶25) teleoperated (¶27) control system (FIG 1, ¶25).
Regarding claim 20, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 12, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches the cartridge further comprising a locking feature for locking the cartridge in the first jaw (FIG 11, forward stop 1118, ¶88).
Regarding claim 21, Scott teaches the cartridge of claim 20, as set forth above, for the reasons set forth above.
Scott teaches wherein the locking feature is a fin configured to engage a cutout (FIG 13, groove 1160, ¶90) in the first jaw (FIG 13, 1111a or 1111b).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Scott et al., US 20190239892 (8 August 2019), teaches surgical clip applier with wide aperture surgical clips.
Harris et al., US 20190239891 (8 August 2019) teaches surgical clip applier employing arcuate surgical clips.
Deck et al., US 20190125354 (2 May 2019) teaches surgical clip applier comprising adaptive control in response to a strain gauge circuit.
Shelton et al., US 20190125360 (2 May 2019) teaches clip applier comprising a motor controller.
Shellenberger, US 20180271532 (27 Septemhber 2018) teaches surgical clip and clip applier.
Manetakis et al., US 20070185504 (9 August 2007) teaches medical clip feeding mechanism.
Kerver et al., US 12,324,589 (10 June 2025) teaches surgical instruments for applying multiple clips.
Swayze et al., US 20130334284 (19 December 2013) teaches end effectors for e.g. endocutters for endoscopic device, has jaw comprising anvil for deforming first fastener to first fired height and second fastener to second fired height, where first fired height is different from second fired height.
McCuen et al., US 20110204119 (25 August 2011) teaches surgical instrument i.e. powered surgical stapler such as gas-powered pneumatic stapler, has measurement unit determining parameter of motion of firing rod based on sensed change in electric field.
/CHERIE M POLAND/Examiner, Art Unit 3771