DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
Claims 1-20 are rejected herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 05/08/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-9 and 11-14 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The recitation “a sufficient distance” renders the claims 4 and 11 indefinite because one would not know what distance can be considered as a sufficient distance.
Dependent claims 5-9 and 12-14 are rejected based on their respective dependencies.
Appropriate correction/explanation is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Roy (U.S. Pat. No. 10797380 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Roy teaches a mounting assembly for remote radio units, the mounting assembly comprising:
a first clamping assembly (Fig. 2; 11 top) and a second clamping assembly (11 bottom), each clamping assembly comprising front and rear clamp members (15, 13) held together by two threaded bolts (23) that are inserted through aligned holes (hoes of 11 receiving 23) to secure the respective clamping assembly to a mounting structure (Col. 3; lines 53-56); and
a first mounting panel (41 top) and a second mounting panel (41 bottom), an end of each mounting panel secured to one of the clamp members for each clamping assembly such that the mounting panels extend outwardly from the clamping assemblies and parallel to each other, the first and second mounting panels each comprising a section (surface of 41) configured to have a remote radio unit mounted thereon in a back-to-back orientation [capable].
Regarding claim 2, Roy teaches the first and second mounting panels (41 top, 41 bottom) extend outwardly in a first direction that is perpendicular to an axis (vertical axis of the mounting structure) defined by the mounting structure.
Regarding claim 3, Roy teaches the first and second mounting panels (41) have mirrored configurations.
Regarding claim 4, Roy teaches each mounting panel (41) comprises a mounting section (front flat section of 41) and an extension section (45, 47 including the bend sections), the mounting section is configured to have a remote radio unit secured thereto and the extension section is configured to be secured to the clamp assemblies and position the remote radio unit a sufficient distance from the mounting structure [capable].
Regarding claim 5, Roy teaches each mounting panel comprises a plurality of apertures (49) positioned in the mounting section such that the mounting assembly can accommodate mounting locations for a variety of different types and/or sizes of remote radio units.
Regarding claim 7, Roy teaches the extension section (45, 47 including bend sections) of each mounting panel comprises opposing flanged edges having an end (top and bottom ends) that extends axially outwardly from an outer edge of the extension section and a pair of securing flange members (180) extending outwardly from the outer edge of the extension section, and wherein the opposing flanged edges of the extension section and a respective securing flange member are configured to engage a respective clamp member therebetween to secure the mounting panel to the clamping assemblies.
Regarding claim 10, Roy teaches wherein each mounting panel comprises one or more apertures (49) that are configured to receive a hoisting cable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-20 are allowed.
Claims 11-14 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 6, 8-9 and would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892.
MUHAMMAD IJAZ
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3631
/Muhammad Ijaz/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631