DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-7 in the reply filed on 5/29/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the non-elected groups (II and III, claims 8-13, and 14-18) would overlap and encompass the field of search of the elected group.. This is not found persuasive because, as pointed out in the election requirement, the non-elected groups have different limitations and are classified in different CPC groups than the elected claims. While clearly there is some overlap, the differences are significant that the search criteria and search areas would be different.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 4 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, last line should be amended to “wherein the downhole gauges within the defined zones are configured to remain operable during electrical and communication interruptions or failures.”
Claim 4 should be amended to “wherein the electronics assemblies are configured to receive and process the electrical signals from the downhole gauges for transmission to surface equipment.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7139218 B2 to Hall in view of US 20100050017 A1 to Almadi.
Regarding claim 1: Hall discloses 1. A system for controlling downhole gauges comprising:
a plurality of downhole gauges (92, 44, 46) electrically connected in parallel and positioned within a well for monitoring parameters downhole (Figure 2 and 5); and
a plurality of electronic assemblies 18 electrically connected in series and positioned within the well to isolate the downhole gauges within defined zones (Fig 4 the gauges and electronics are spaced apart and thus “isolated” within zones);
the electronics assemblies being operably connected to the downhole gauges via shared connection means for controlling power and communication across the downhole gauges within the defined zones (Figure 6, Col 5, lines 52-61, 104, As best understood the gauges and electronics share power and communications means in each zone);
However fails to disclose wherein the downhole gauges within the defined zones are configured to remain operable during electrical and communication interruptions or failures.
Almadi teaches wellbore data management system wherein sensors 33 collect data which are continuously sent in real time to a controller at the surface , where when there is a communications failure, reestablishing communications and sending both current data and stored data to the controller [0041].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Hall to configure his downhole gauges and electronics to remain operable during electrical and communication interruptions or failures, in view of Almadi, so as to provide data from the time of the communications failure after communications have been restored [0041]
Regarding claim 3: Hall discloses wherein the downhole gauges are electrically connected to the electronics assemblies for transmitting electrical signals representative of the 86parameters to the electronics assemblies. (Figure 6,Col 5, lines 44-Col 6, line 60, the electronics are interpreted as receiving data from sensors, as electrical signals)
Regarding claim 4: Hall discloses, wherein the electronics assemblies are configured to receive and process the electrical signals from the downhole gauges for transmission to surface equipment. (Col 5, lines 44-Col 6, line 60, the electronics are interpreted as receiving data from sensors, as electrical signals, and transmitting them to the surface)
Regarding claim 5: Hall discloses wherein the downhole gauges 44 comprise permanent downhole gauges mountable to a tubing 130 (Figure 8) within the well.(Figures 1 and 4 the Examiner interpreters the sensors of Hall as permanent downhole gauges, as in they are not temporary or single use, mounted to a tubing, drill pipe 16, and are within a well).
Regarding claim 6: Hall discloses 6. The system of claim 5, wherein the electronics assemblies are mounted in alignment with the downhole gauges to the tubing (Figures 1-5, the sensors/tools are “in alignment” with the nodes 18, where electronics are located).
Regarding claim 7: Hall discloses 7. (Original) A method for controlling downhole gauges (Abstract, col 6, line 1-5) comprising:
positioning a plurality of downhole gauges(92, 44, 46) electrically connected in parallel within a well for monitoring parameters downhole(Figure 2 and 5);
positioning a plurality of electronics assemblies 18 electrically connected in series within the well to isolate the downhole gauges within defined zones (Fig 4 the gauges and electronics are spaced apart and thus “isolated” within zones on the tubing string, see also col 3, lines22-30);
operably connecting the electronics assemblies to the downhole gauges via shared connection means; and controlling, via the electronics assemblies, power and communication across the downhole gauges within the defined zones (Figure 6, Col 5, lines 52-61, 104, As best understood the gauges and electronics share power and communications means in each zone);
However fails to disclose wherein the downhole gauges within the defined zones remain operable during electrical and communication interruptions or failures.
Almadi teaches wellbore data management system wherein sensors 33 collect data which are continuously sent in real time to a controller at the surface , where when there is a communications failure, reestablishing communications and sending both current data and stored data to the controller [0041].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Hall to configure his downhole gauges and electronics to remain operable during electrical and communication interruptions or failures, in view of Almadi, so as to provide data from the time of the communications failure after communications have been restored [0041]
Claim(s) 2is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7139218 B2 to Hall and US 20100050017 A1 to Almadi, in view of US 20190360278 A1 to Chu.
Regarding claim 2: Hall discloses wherein each electronics assembly comprises a housing 130 encapsulating electronics 158 however fails to explicitly disclose an electronics printed circuit board.
Chu teaches printed circuit boards are well-known for downhole electronics.
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Hall and used a printed circuit board for his electronics, in view of Chu, in order to achieve complex functionality [0004].
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 7139218 B2 to Hall and US 20100050017 A1 to Almadi, in view of US 6131658 A to Minear.
While the examiner contends that Hall above teaches the claimed limitations, as worded, if one were to disagree.
Minear teaches the permanent placement of a sensor system with sensors 210 on cable 211 along a casing 102 (Abstract, see figure1 ).
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date (AIA ) to have modified Hall and placed his sensor system along a casing in a wellbore in a permanent manor, in view of Minear, in order to monitor a wellbore during completion and production phases. This would amount to no more than Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 6: Hall discloses 6. The system of claim 5, wherein the electronics assemblies are mounted in alignment with the downhole gauges to the tubing (Figures 1-5, the sensors/tools are “in alignment” with the nodes 18, where electronics are located).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20220372867 A1 to Shanks discloses 1. A system for controlling downhole gauges (Abstract) comprising:
a plurality of downhole gauges 36 electrically connected in parallel (Figure 2) and positioned within a well for monitoring parameters downhole (Figure 1); and
a plurality of electronics assemblies (16, with 38 and 40) electrically connected and positioned within the well to isolate the downhole gauges within defined zones (Figure 2);
the electronics assemblies being operably connected to the downhole gauges (Figure 3 and 4) via shared connection means for controlling power and communication across the downhole gauges within the defined zones;
wherein the downhole gauges within the defined zones (20,Figure 1)
US 5995020 A to Owens discloses 1. A system for controlling downhole gauges (Abstract, ) comprising:
a plurality of downhole gauges (18,Col 3, lines 5-11) electrically connected in parallel and positioned within a well for monitoring parameters downhole(Figs 1 and 2); and
a plurality of electronics assemblies (16 with 38 and 34, and 41) electrically connected and positioned within the well to isolate the downhole gauges within defined zones (Figure 2);
the electronics assemblies being operably connected to the downhole gauges via shared connection means 14 for controlling power and communication across the downhole gauges within the defined zones (Col 3, lines12-20 and 60 -col 4, line 30);
US 7207396 B2 discloses sensors along a tubular in a wellbore.
US 7148812 B2 discloses controlling and communicating with sensors along a wellbore.
US 10119393 B2 disclose a downhole communications system with nodes.
/STEVEN A MACDONALD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674