DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination in instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Azar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0223696 A1), hereinafter “Azar”.
As to claim 1. Azar discloses, a method for authenticating a user (Azar, a system and method for providing secure authorization to a device), the method comprising:
requesting the user to verify identity using a first mode, wherein the first mode comprises one of a password verification process, a fingerprint verification process, a voice verification process, or a iris verification process (Azar, Para. [0046]. starting the initial "log-on" process 801 that triggers some external event requiring authentication credentials to be entered by the user; Para. [0050], many different variations of gesture and biometric information such as exact/tolerant factors as well as multiple tolerant factors can include but are not limited to ... Para. [0052], Password [first mode] and Face.);
analyzing a continuous video stream of the user, using a facial identification engine, to verify the user identity (Azar, Para. [0046], An authentication screen is then displayed 803 and at least one video frame is received by the camera 805 so that the user can then input a predetermined screen gesture or other security factor 807; Para. [0047], a determination is made to match the facial recognition frame received by the camera to a cloud or local data 809 [facial identification]; If the counter is not exceeded, then the camera will be used for supplying additional video frames 805; If the credentials match, then an automatic database process is performed to update the images and/or other data stored in the database 819; Para. [0026], The camera provides substantially real-time images and typically runs at a rate of approximately 5-10 frames per second for continuously supplying digital image data to the electronic device 101.);
requesting the user to perform an action while maintaining the continuous video stream (Azar, Para. [0048], When the gesture does not match to the cloud or local database 813, then the user is again asked to enter alterative credentials or cancel the request 815; however, if the new credentials do match then an update is performed on the automatic database to update the facial biometrics 819; Para. [0050], many different variations of gesture and biometric information such as exact/tolerant factors as well as multiple tolerant factors can include but are not limited to ... Para. [0064], Face, Voice and Gesture [perform an action]; Para. [0026], The camera provides substantially real-time images and typically runs at a rate of approximately 5-10 frames per second for continuously supplying digital image data to the electronic device 101.);
analyzing the continuous video stream, using the second engine, to verify that the requested action is performed by the user (Azar, Para. [0048], However, if the gestures do match 813 [verify that the requested action is performed], then the user is authenticated and the local cloud based credentials can be placed into a specific application for granting access and/or use 821. Any updated biometric facial data 819 will be used in this authentication process 821; Para. [0050]. many different variations of gesture and biometric information such as exact/tolerant factors as well as multiple tolerant factors can include but are not limited to ... Para. [0064), Face, Voice and Gesture; Para. [0026), The camera provides substantially real-time images and typically runs at a rate of approximately 5-10 frames per second for continuously supplying digital image data to the electronic device 101.); and
authenticating the user based on results of the first mode, the facial identification engine, and the second engine (Azar, Para. [0048), the user is authenticated and the local cloud based credentials can be placed into a specific application for granting access and/or use 821. Any updated biometric facial data 819 will be used in this authentication process 821.).
As to claim 2. Azar discloses the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the facial identification engine and the second engine are the same engine or different engines (Azar, [0046], the touch screen 709 will operate in combination with the camera 711 whose inputs are controlled and interpreted by the microprocessor 705 [same engine). This allows the user to input a gesture into the touch screen 709 that is used in combination with the camera 711 to provide user authentication for the device.).
As to claim 3. Azar discloses the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein the second engine is a voice identification engine or an object identification engine (Para. [0050), many different variations of gesture and biometric information such as exact/tolerant factors as well as multiple tolerant factors can include but are not limited to ... Para. [0064], Face, Voice and Gesture.).
As to claim 12, is rejected for same rationale as discussed above in reference to claim 1. Additionally, please note that facial recognition and biometrics are part of a neural network. Furthermore, a non-audio or video authentication is a simple login process which is discussed in detail see, Azar [0004-0005]).
As to claim 18 is rejected for same rationale as applied to claim 12 above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 8-11, 13, 15-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0223696 A1), hereinafter “Azar” in view of Ganong et al. (Pub. No.: US 2017/0124385 A1), hereinafter “Gan”.
As to claim 4. Azar discloses the invention as in parent claim above. Azar however does not disclose explicitly, wherein requesting the user to perform an action comprises: requesting the user to turn the user's head in a different direction; and analyzing the user's face to verify the user identity while the user's face is looking at the different direction.
Gan discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, wherein requesting the user to perform an action comprises: requesting the user to turn the user's head in a different direction (Gan, [0286], During the authentication session, the system requests that the user in front of a camera to perform a movement of their face such that they have to rotate their head around the pitch and the yaw.); and
analyzing the user's face to verify the user identity while the user's face is looking at the different direction (Gan, [0286], The system generates face signatures at different points of rotation- such as up, down, left and right or combinations of these movements. The system authenticates the user using stored face signatures that were generated at corresponding points of rotation.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Azar with the teaching of Gan for the purpose of confirming that a face being presented to a camera is that of an actual person and not a falsified "likeness" (Gan [0285]).
As to claim 8. Azar discloses the invention as in parent claim above including, wherein requesting the user to perform an action comprises: requesting the user to follow audio or on-screen instructions (Azar, [0031], the user may be prompted [on-screen instructions] for one or more additional authentication factors such as a pass phrase or a second password that provides an optional additional factor for authentication.).
Azar fails to explicitly disclose receiving an input video data in response to requesting the user to follow audio or onscreen instructions; analyzing an input video data, using an object recognition engine, to verify that the user followed the audio or on-screen instructions.
Gan discloses, receiving an input video data in response to requesting the user to follow audio or on- screen instructions (Gan, [0290], The security platform 6502 may provide one or more an electronic prompts to the user 10 positioned in front of an image capture device 6504 (e.g. camera), the prompts may direct user 10 to satisfy a sequence of one or more random position requests based on pitch and yaw changes or movements to generate a series of face signatures; [0293], the system may present an indicator on the screen of the display (of security platform) that is visible by the eyes, and the system tracks the eye movement to ensure that it follows the direction of the indicator.);
analyzing an input video data, using an object recognition engine, to verify that the user followed the audio or on-screen instructions (Gan [0293], The system captures the movement of the individual eyes [object recognition] to determine whether the indicator is properly being followed and thus prove it is a real person in front of the camera.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Azar with the teaching of Gan for the purpose of mitigating the ability of someone to present a video in order to mimic the request and act as an impostor (Gan, [0291]).
As to claim 9, the combine system of Azar and Gan discloses the invention as in claims above including, further comprising analyzing the continuous video stream to verify the user identity using the facial identification engine while the user is following the audio or on-screen instructions (Azar, (0027], a determination whether images continuously supplied by the camera 105 are human facial images. If a human facial image is detected, it is determined whether this image matches any of those stored in the database 107 from previous user sessions; Para. [0029], So long as the user remains in front of the device, the system ... attempts to perform a database match. Even after authentication has occurred, each camera frame is evaluated utilizing this continuous authentication feature; Para. (0031], In the event that a match does occur between the current vector received from the camera and one stored in the database before the user alert timer 221 expires, then the user may be prompted [on-screen instructions] for one or more additional authentication factors such as a pass phrase or a second password that provides an optional additional factor for authentication.).
As to claim 10. the combine system of Azar and Gan discloses the invention as in claims above including, wherein requesting the user to follow audio or on-screen instructions comprises requesting the user to perform a specific act with the user's hand, object, or a part of the user's face (Azar, (0071], The authentication process 1000 begins where a user is prompted with live video and a message in the data entry or 'gesture' area of the touchscreen display 1001; Para. [0074], once facial authentication has occurred 1017, a second determination is made if a second factor has been entered by the user 1039. The second factor may include but is not limited to a screen gesture, password, entry of displayed symbols or various combinations thereof.).
As to claim 11. the combine system of Azar and Gan discloses the invention as in claims above including, wherein the specific act comprises a gesture with one or more of the user's hands or fingers or an action with a desktop object (Para. [0066], the method ... leverages the unique, individual characteristics of a user's face coupled with a pin, gesture (movement of the user's finger on the touch screen, in a pattern of their choice) or combination displayed symbols, shapes or other indicia to verify identity and to provide secure, convenient access.).
As to Claim 13, Azar disclose the invention as in parent claims above. Azar however fails to explicitly disclose wherein requesting the user to enable a real-time stream of data from the user's device comprises providing the user with an instruction to perform an action.
Gan is in the field of user authentication (Abstract) and teaches wherein requesting the user to enable a real-time stream of data from the user's device comprises providing the user with an instruction to perform an action (Gan, [0286], During the authentication session, the system requests that the user in front of a camera to perform a movement of their face such that they have to rotate their head around the pitch and the yaw.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Azar with the teaching of Gan for the purpose of confirming that a face being presented to a camera is that of an actual person and not a falsified "likeness" Gan [0285]).
As to claim 15. The combined system of Azar and Gan discloses the invention as in claims above including, wherein the instruction comprises instructions to perform an action in front of a camera, and wherein the real-time stream of data comprises a video stream (Gan, [0286], During the authentication session, the system requests that the user in front of a camera to perform a movement of their face such that they have to rotate their head around the pitch and the yaw.).
As to claim 16. The combined system of Azar and Gan discloses the invention as in claims above including, further comprising analyzing the video stream to verify the user identity using a facial identification engine while the user is performing the action in front of the camera (Gan, [0286), During the authentication session, the system requests that the user in front of a camera to perform a movement of their face such that they have to rotate their head around the pitch and the yaw; The system generates face signatures at different points of rotation- such as up, down, left and right or combinations of these movements. The system authenticates the user using stored face signatures that were generated at corresponding points of rotation.).
As to claim 17. the combine system of Azar and Gan discloses the invention as in claims above including, wherein the specific act comprises a gesture with one or more of the user's hands or fingers or an action with a desktop object (Azar, (0066], the method ... leverages the unique, individual characteristics of a user's face coupled with a pin, gesture (movement of the user's finger on the touch screen, in a pattern of their choice) or combination displayed symbols, shapes or other indicia to verify identity and to provide secure, convenient access.).
As to claim 19, the combine system of Azar and Gan discloses the invention as in claims above including, wherein the request to enable the real-time stream of data from the user's device comprises providing the user with an instruction to perform an action (Gan, [0286], During the authentication session, the system requests that the user in front of a camera to perform a movement of their face such that they have to rotate their head around the pitch and the yaw.).
Claim(s) 5-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azar et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0223696 A1), hereinafter “Azar” in view of Huang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2010/0114573 A1), hereinafter “Hua”
As to claim 5. Azar discloses the invention as in parent claim above. Azar however fails to disclose explicitly, wherein requesting the user to perform an action comprises: requesting the user to read out loud a text displayed on a displaying device;
receiving an input audio data in response to requesting the user to read out loud the text; analyzing the input audio data to verify the user identity, using a voice verification engine; and
transcribing the input audio data to verify that the text displayed is read correctly.
Hua discloses a similar concept in the same field of endeavor including, wherein requesting the user to perform an action comprises:
requesting the user to read out loud a text displayed on a displaying device (Hua (0024], the mobile telephone 100 provides a character string to the user that functions as a transient password. For example, a random digit string such as "5-2-9-2-5-8-0-0" may be selected by the speaker verification process and displayed to the user on the display screen 105.);
receiving an input audio data in response to requesting the user to read out loud the text (Hua, [0025], The user is then provided with a predetermined time period during which he or she must repeat the character string as an audible utterance spoken into the microphone 120.);
analyzing the input audio data to verify the user identity, using a voice verification engine (Hua [0026), The mobile telephone 100 then matches the input utterance with the character string, to ensure that the correct password was entered, and also matches the input utterance with the stored speech data, to verify that the speaker of the input utterance is an authorized user.); and
transcribing the input audio data to verify that the text displayed is read correctly (Hua, [0026), The mobile telephone 100 then matches the input utterance with the character string, to ensure that the correct password was entered, and also matches the input utterance with the stored speech data, to verify that the speaker of the input utterance is an authorized user.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Azar with the teaching of Hua for the purpose of defeating any attempts by an imposter to concatenate recordings of an authorized user's voice to reproduce the character string (Hua, [0025]).
As to claim 6. The combined system of Azar and Hua discloses the invention as in claim above including, wherein requesting the user to perform an action comprises: requesting the user to follow audio or on-screen instructions (Azar, [0031], the user may be prompted for one or more additional authentication factors such as a pass phrase or a second password that provides an optional additional factor for authentication.).
Azar fails to explicitly disclose receiving an input audio data in response to requesting the user to follow audio or onscreen instructions; analyzing the input audio data to verify the user identity, using a voice verification engine; and transcribing the input audio data to verify that the user followed the audio or on-screen instructions.
receiving an input audio data in response to requesting the user to follow audio or on- screen instructions (Hua, (0025), The user is then provided with a predetermined lime period during which he or she must repeat the character string as an audible utterance spoken into the microphone 120.);
analyzing the input audio data to verify the user identity, using a voice verification engine (Hua, [0026], The mobile telephone 100 then matches the input utterance with the character string, to ensure that the correct password was entered, and also matches the input utterance with the stored speech data, to verify that the speaker of the input utterance is an authorized user.); and
transcribing the input audio data to verify that the user followed the audio or on-screen instructions (Hua, [0026], The mobile telephone 100 then matches the input utterance with the character string, to ensure that the correct password was entered, and also matches the input utterance with the stored speech data, to verify that the speaker of the input utterance is an authorized user.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Azar with the teaching of Hua for the purpose of defeating any attempts by an imposter to concatenate recordings of an authorized user's voice to reproduce the character string (Hua, [0025]).
As to claim 7. The combined system of Azar and Hua discloses the invention as in claim above including, further comprising analyzing the continuous video stream to verify the user identity using the facial identification engine while the user is following the audio or on-screen instructions (Para. [0027], a determination whether images continuously supplied by the camera 105 are human facial images. If a human facial image is detected, it is determined whether this image matches any of those stored in the database 107 from previous user sessions; Para. [0029], So long as the user remains in front of the device, the system ... attempts to perform a database match. Even after authentication has occurred, each camera frame is evaluated utilizing this continuous authentication feature: Para. [0031), In the event that a match does occur between the current vector received from the camera and one stored in the database before the user alert timer 221 expires, then the user may be prompted [on-screen instructions) for one or more additional authentication factors such as a pass phrase or a second password that provides an optional additional factor for authentication.).
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azar and Gan in view of Huang et al. (Pub. No.: US 2010/0114573 A1), hereinafter “Hua”.
As to claim 14, the combine system of Azar and Gan discloses the invention as in claims above. Azar and Gan however fail to explicitly disclose, wherein the instruction comprises instructions to read a sentence.
Hua is in the field of user verification (Abstract) and teaches wherein the instruction comprises Instructions to read a sentence (Hua, [0024], the mobile telephone 100 provides a character string to the user that functions as a transient password; the character string is not limited to a digit string, but can include any alphanumeric string, including words or phrases; Para. [0025], The user is then provided with a predetermined time period during which he or she must repeat the character string as an audible utterance spoken Into the microphone 120.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Azar and Gan with the teaching of Hua modify for the purpose of defeating any attempts by an imposter to concatenate recordings of an authorized user's voice to reproduce the character string (Hua, [0025]).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Azar in view of Kant et al. (Pub. No.: US 2016/0275375 A1), hereinafter “Kan” and further, in view of Do et al. (Pub. No.: US 2009/0109180 A1), hereinafter “Do”.
As to Claim 20, Azar discloses the system of claim 18.
Azar fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first neural network comprises an object identification neural network configured to identify one or more objects in the background and to collect one or more attributes on each object, wherein authenticate the user comprises comparing the collected one or more attributes of each object with stored attributes of objects of known locations of the user.
Kan is in the field of object detection (Abstract) and teaches wherein the first neural network comprises an object identification neural network configured to identify one or more objects in the background and to collect one or more attributes on each object (Kan, [00181, The objects 110 present in the video or still images can include background objects or transient objects; Para. [0034), From analysis of the first image, the object detection component 205 can identify a first object 11 O [identify one or more objects in the background] such as a person present in the corridor; Para. [0036], For example, the object classification component 210 can query or compare the object 110 (e.g., a blob or blob image} against a convolutional neural network (CNN) ... that has been previously trained, for example to recognize humans and associated gender; Para. [0037), when the first level classification category indicates that the object 110 is a human male, the second level classification category can indicate that the object is a man, or a male child or other characteristic [collect one or more attributes], such as a man wearing a hat or a jacket.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Azar with the teaching of Kan for the purpose of tracking at least one object that appears in multiple different video or still images (Kan, [0017]).
Do et al. is in the field of user identification (Abstract) and teaches wherein authenticate the user comprises comparing the collected one or more attributes of each object with stored attributes of objects of known locations of the user (Do, [0027]. Identifying and/or authenticating individuals and their location can allow for personalized interactions or secure interactions between participants utilizing the interactive surface to conduct a meeting [known locations of the user); Para. [0028], As illustrated by block 304, the entity (participant, device or object} could be queried for an attribute [the collected one or more attributes of each object]. The attribute could be a unique identifier as determined by the system; Para. [0035], As illustrated by decision block 306, it can be determined if an acceptable attribute has been acquired by the system. As illustrated in block 308, it can be determined if the attribute detected can be located in a database such that an identifier can be qualified or verified [comparing] or that a repeat participant can be confirmed; Para. [0024], attribute acquisition modules 202-208 can, in some modes query entities 210 and 212-217 and electronically can take pictures or video. audio reading, fingerprints, electronic transmissions, signatures, biometric scans etc. and can acquire attributes about entities 210, and 212-217.).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the instant application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Azar and Kan with the teaching of Do et al. for the purpose of facilitating operations such as sharing of information or to personalize content or processes provided to the participant (Do, [0024]).
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claims 1, 12 and 18 rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 12 and 18 of U.S. Patent No.12306918. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because see the table below:
Instant application: 19202412 U.S. Patent No.: 12306918
1. A method for authenticating a user, the method comprising:
requesting the user to verify identity using a first mode, wherein the first mode comprises one of a password verification process, a fingerprint verification process, a voice verification process, or a iris verification process;
analyzing a continuous video stream of the user, using a facial identification engine, to verify the user identity; requesting the user to perform an action while maintaining the continuous video stream;
analyzing the continuous video stream, using the second engine, to verify that the requested action is performed by the user; and
authenticating the user based on results of the first mode, the facial identification engine, and the second engine.
1. A method for authenticating a user, the method comprising:
requesting the user to verify identity using a first mode, wherein the first mode comprises one of a password verification process, a fingerprint verification process, a voice verification process, or a iris verification process;
analyzing a continuous video stream of the user, using a facial identification engine, to verify the user identity; requesting the user to perform an action while maintaining the continuous video stream;
analyzing the continuous video stream, using the second engine, to verify that the requested action is performed by the user; and
authenticating the user based on results of the first mode, the facial identification engine, and the second engine, wherein the continuous video stream is analyzed using a multi-stage authentication process that includes sequential verification steps, with each step focused on different biometric features of the user, wherein the system provides real-time feedback to the user regarding the performed action and prompts the user to repeat the action if the action does not meet a predetermined threshold for successful authentication, wherein the continuous video stream is analyzed in conjunction with additional data streams, including biometric sensor data, to enhance the confidence score associated with the user authentication, wherein the system continuously monitors facial expressions during the video stream and analyzes the expressions to detect any discrepancies with expected user behavior, and wherein the authentication thresholds are adjusted dynamically based on user-specific historical data, wherein previous authentication attempts are used to modify the criteria for future authentication sessions.
12. A method for authenticating a user, the method comprising:
verifying the user identity using a first mode, wherein the first mode is not an audio or video-based authentication mode;
requesting the user to enable a real-time stream of data from the user's device;
analyzing the real-time stream of data from the user's device to verify the user's identity using a first neural network; and
authenticating the user based on results of the first mode and results from the first neural network.
12. A method for authenticating a user, the method comprising:
verifying the user identity using a first mode, wherein the first mode is not an audio or video-based authentication mode;
requesting the user to enable a real-time stream of data from the user's device;
analyzing the real-time stream of data from the user's device to verify the user's identity using a first neural network; and
authenticating the user based on results of the first mode and results from the first neural network, wherein the continuous video stream is analyzed using a multi-stage authentication process that includes sequential verification steps, with each step focused on different biometric features of the user, wherein the system provides real-time feedback to the user regarding the performed action and prompts the user to repeat the action if the action does not meet a predetermined threshold for successful authentication, wherein the continuous video stream is analyzed in conjunction with additional data streams, including biometric sensor data, to enhance the confidence score associated with the user authentication, wherein the system continuously monitors facial expressions during the video stream and analyzes the expressions to detect any discrepancies with expected user behavior, and wherein the authentication thresholds are adjusted dynamically based on user-specific historical data, wherein previous authentication attempts are used to modify the criteria for future authentication sessions.
18. A system for authenticating a user, the system comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein the memory comprises instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
verify the user identity using a first mode, wherein the first mode is not an audio or video-based authentication mode;
request the user to enable a real-time stream of data from the user's device; analyze the real-time stream of data from the user's device to verify the user's identity using a first neural network; and
authenticate the user based on results of the first mode and results from the first neural network.
18. A system for authenticating a user, the system comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory, wherein the memory comprises instructions, which when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
verify the user identity using a first mode, wherein the first mode is not an audio or video-based authentication mode;
request the user to enable a real-time stream of data from the user's device; analyze the real-time stream of data from the user's device to verify the user's identity using a first neural network; and
authenticate the user based on results of the first mode and results from the first neural network, wherein the continuous video stream is analyzed using a multi-stage authentication process that includes sequential verification steps, with each step focused on different biometric features of the user, wherein the system provides real-time feedback to the user regarding the performed action and prompts the user to repeat the action if the action does not meet a predetermined threshold for successful authentication, wherein the continuous video stream is analyzed in conjunction with additional data streams, including biometric sensor data, to enhance the confidence score associated with the user authentication, wherein the system continuously monitors facial expressions during the video stream and analyzes the expressions to detect any discrepancies with expected user behavior, and wherein the authentication thresholds are adjusted dynamically based on user-specific historical data, wherein previous authentication attempts are used to modify the criteria for future authentication sessions.
The instant claims merely broaden the scope of the conflicting claims. It is well settled that broadening the scope of claims would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art in view of the narrower issued claims. In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982) and In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
/Tauqir Hussain/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446