DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III in the reply filed on May 5, 2026 is acknowledged. As a note, in the Office action mailed March 2, 2026, Species I should have been defined as “A sealing/anchoring subassembly comprising a[[n]] tapered integrated locker ring shown in Figs. 8A-8D.”
Double Patenting
A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-5, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claims 1-4 and 12 of prior U.S. Patent No. 12,305,458. This is a statutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 17, 19-21 and 32 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13-16 and 24 of U.S. Patent No. 12,305,458. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all the limitations of pending claims 17, 19-21 and 32 are already required by patented claims 13-16 and 24.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 16 and 32 are rejected under 35 USC 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ingram (US 10,590,732 B2).
Referring to claims 1 and 16: Ingram teaches a well system, comprising:
a wellbore located in a subterranean formation (FIG. 2); and
a sealing/anchoring assembly 50 positioned in the wellbore, the sealing/anchoring assembly including:
a mandrel 110;
a sealing/anchoring element 200 positioned about the mandrel, the sealing/anchoring element configured to move between a radially retracted state and a radially expanded state; and
a ratch latch body coupled to the sealing/anchoring element, the ratch latch body configured to hold the sealing/anchoring element in the radially expanded state, the ratch latch body including:
a stroke sleeve 210 having a stroke sleeve outer diameter (ODSS) and a stroke sleeve inner diameter (IDSS), the stroke sleeve inner diameter (IDSS) having a plurality of stroke sleeve teeth 214 disposed thereon; and
a base 170 having a base outer diameter (ODB) and a base inner diameter (IDB), the base outer diameter (ODB) having a plurality of base teeth 174 disposed thereon, the stroke sleeve teeth and the base teeth configured to directly ratchet along one another to hold the sealing/anchoring element in the radially expanded state (column 10, lines 29-39; column 11, lines 26-45).
Referring to claim 32: Ingram teaches a method, comprising:
positioning a sealing/anchoring assembly 50 within a wellbore located in a subterranean formation (FIG. 2), the sealing/anchoring assembly including:
a mandrel 110;
a sealing/anchoring element 200 positioned about the mandrel, the sealing/anchoring element configured to move between a radially retracted state and a radially expanded state; and
a ratch latch body coupled to the sealing/anchoring element, the ratch latch body configured to hold the sealing/anchoring element in the radially expanded state, the ratch latch body including:
a stroke sleeve 210 having a stroke sleeve outer diameter (ODSS) and a stroke sleeve inner diameter (IDSS), the stroke sleeve inner diameter (IDSS) having a plurality of stroke sleeve teeth 214 disposed thereon; and
a base 170 having a base outer diameter (ODB) and a base inner diameter (IDB), the base outer diameter (ODB) having a plurality of base teeth 174 disposed thereon, the stroke sleeve teeth and the base teeth configured to directly ratchet along one another to hold the sealing/anchoring element in the radially expanded state; and
actuating the stroke sleeve or base to move the sealing/anchoring element from the radially retracted state to the radially expanded state (column 10, lines 29-39; column 11, lines 26-45).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Ingram and in view of McNair et al. (US 5,311,936) (“McNair”).
Referring to claim 17: While Ingram teaches a main wellbore, Ingram does not specifically teach a lateral wellbore extending from the main wellbore. McNair teaches a well system comprising a wellbore 66 located in a subterranean formation; and a sealing/anchoring assembly 72 positioned in the wellbore (FIG. 4A), wherein the wellbore is a main wellbore, and further including a lateral wellbore 70 extending from the main wellbore, the sealing/anchoring assembly positioned proximate an intersection between the main wellbore and the lateral wellbore. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system taught by Ingram to include a lateral wellbore as taught by McNair with a reasonable expectation of success since such a setup is very well known in the art to help reach, treat, produce from, etc., a larger area within the downhole formation, without having to drill multiple wellbores from the surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 13, 14, 29 and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Ghamdi et al. (US 2025/0369317 A1) teaches a seal assembly 100 in a wellbore 110, where the assembly comprises a band 175, 180 around the assembly [0036], [0037].
/Catherine Loikith/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674
10 June 2026