Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Alternatively, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 and claim 10 recites, inter alia:
An input sensor, comprising / wherein the input sensing part comprises:
a first touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part electrically insulated therefrom, the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode each extending in a first direction;
a first pen sensing electrode disposed between the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode and extending in the first direction;
a second touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part electrically insulated therefrom, the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode each extending in a second direction crossing the first direction; and
a second pen sensing electrode disposed between the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode and extending in the second direction.
Reviewing corresponding specification, first touch sensor electrode refers to first sensing electrode SE1 (with first part being left half of a SE1 electrode and second part being right half of a SE1 electrode) and second touch sensor electrode refers to second sensing electrode SE2 (with first part being upper half of a SE2 electrode and second part being lower half of a SE2 electrode).
The claim limitation of “a first touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part electrically insulated therefrom”, and “a second touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part electrically insulated therefrom”, cover the scope wherein the first part and second part of first touch sensing electrode are complete insulated from each other, and wherein the first part and second part of second touch sensing electrode are complete insulated from each other.
In all embodiments and description of pending application, however, while first part and second part of first touch sensing electrode are physically separate from each other at some area, they are joined together at end of substrate, and are Not electrically insulated from each other. Similarity, while first part and second part of second touch sensing electrode are physically separate from each other at some area, they are joined together at end of substrate, and are Not electrically insulated from each other (see annotated fig. 8, 9, below).
Paragraphs 148-151 also specifically state first/second parts of first sensing electrode are integrated with each other at one end, and first/second parts of second sensing electrode are integrated with each other at end. The corresponding claim limitations, wherein the scope encompass first/second parts of first/second touch sensing electrode to be completely insulated from each other, lack written description from specification, or these limitations are at least indefinite to clearly define what constitute the claimed being insulated from each other.
For the purpose of this office action, corresponding claim limitations are interpreted as having unsupported limitation removed:
a first touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part , the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode each extending in a first direction;
a first pen sensing electrode disposed between the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode and extending in the first direction;
a second touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part , the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode each extending in a second direction crossing the first direction; and
a second pen sensing electrode disposed between the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode and extending in the second direction.
Claims 2-10, and 12-20 are rejected for dependency on rejected claims 1 and 11.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-19, and 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, U.S. Pat. App. US 20230393672 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”), in further view of Yang et al, U.S. Pat. App. US 20210265588 A1 (hereinafter “Yang”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a display device comprising a display panel, and an input sensing part disposed on the display panel (paragraph 4, “The touch sensor in the touch input device may be disposed on a display panel that displays an image or a portion of the touch input device. As a user touches a touch sensor to interact with the touch input device, the touch input device may provide an intuitive user interface to the user”) wherein the input sensing part comprises:
(see fig. 16, paragraph 385 for generation description of sensor pattern being utilized for touch sensing of object and pen sensing of stylus: “In case of No. 4, the plurality of first patterns 101 are used as the touch driving electrode for sensing the touch of the object. The plurality of second patterns 102 are used as the stylus sensing electrode for sensing the stylus pen signal as well as the stylus driving electrode for driving the stylus pen. The plurality of third patterns 103 are used as the touch sensing electrode for sensing the touch of the object. Also, the plurality of fourth patterns 104 are used as the stylus sensing electrode for sensing the stylus pen signal.”, see fig. 37, 43, paragraphs 495-499, 530-535 annotated as in below for various embodiments of sensing pattern mapped to claimed limitations).
a first touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part, the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode each extending in a first direction;
a first pen sensing electrode disposed between the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode and extending in the first direction;
a second touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part, the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode each extending in a second direction crossing the first direction; and
a second pen sensing electrode disposed between the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode and extending in the second direction.
Kim does not specifically discloses that the display device is a display device, comprising: a display panel including a circuit element layer, a display element layer disposed on the circuit element layer, and a thin film encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer; an input sensing part disposed on the display panel; and an anti-reflection layer disposed on the input sensing part.
In similar field of endeavor, Yang discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel including a circuit element layer, a display element layer disposed on the circuit element layer, and a thin film encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer;
(fig. 7, paragraphs 90, 92, 93, “Referring to FIG. 8, the display panel DP may include a substrate SUB, a circuit element layer DP-CL disposed on the substrate SUB, a display element layer DP-OLED disposed on the circuit element layer DP-CL, and a thin-film encapsulation layer TFE (e.g., encapsulation layer) disposed on the display element layer DP-OLED. The display element layer DP-OLED may be disposed on the display area DA. The thin-film encapsulation layer TFE may be disposed on the circuit element layer DP-CL to cover the display element layer DP-OLED. The thin-film encapsulation layer TFE may face the substrate SUB with both the circuit element layer DP-CL and the display element layer DP-OLED therebetween. A plurality of pixels PX may be disposed on or defined in the circuit element layer DP-CL and the display element layer DP-OLED. Each pixel PX may include a transistor TR disposed in the circuit element layer DP-CL, and may also include a light emitting element OLED disposed in the display element layer DP-OLED and connected to a corresponding one of the transistor TR. A configuration of the pixel PX will be further discussed in detail below.”)
an input sensing part disposed on the display panel; and
an anti-reflection layer disposed on the input sensing part,
(fig. 7, paragraphs 70, 71, 75, 95, “Referring to FIG. 7, … The display module DM may include a display panel DP, an input sensing part ISP (e.g., input sensing layer), an antireflection layer RPL, a window WIN, a panel protection film PPF (e.g., panel protection layer), and a cushion layer CSL. … The antireflection layer RPL may be disposed on the input sensing part ISP. The antireflection layer RPL may face the display panel DP with the input sensing part ISP therebetween.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of display device of Yang into the display device of Kim, to constitute a display device, comprising: a display panel including a circuit element layer, a display element layer disposed on the circuit element layer, and a thin film encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer; an input sensing part disposed on the display panel; and an anti-reflection layer disposed on the input sensing part, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow display device with various layers to display intended images for user to be integrated with touch as well as pen sensing capabilities and allow versatilities in receiving user input.
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the first part of the first touch sensing electrode has a chevron shape in a plan view and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode also has a chevron shape in the plan view and the first pen sensing electrode has a diamond shape disposed within a diamond-shape space between the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode (see Kim, annotated figure below, first and second part of first touch sensing electrode each has an chevron shape, together forming a diamond shaped space wherein diamond shaped first pen sensing electrode fit within).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the first part of the second touch sensing electrode has a chevron shape in a plan view and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode also has a chevron shape in the plan view and the second pen sensing electrode has a diamond shape disposed within a diamond-shape space between the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode (see Kim, annotated figure below, first and second part of second touch sensing electrode each has an chevron shape, together forming a diamond shaped space wherein diamond shaped second pen sensing electrode fit within).
Regarding claims 14, 15, 16 and 17, Kim in view of Yang discloses (see Kim, paragraphs 530-535, fig. 43 annotated as in below)
(from claim 14) the display device of claim 11, further including a third pen sensing electrode overlapping the first pen sensing electrode in the plan view and a fourth pen sensing electrode overlapping the second pen sensing electrode in the plan view.
(from claim 15) wherein the third pens sensing electrode and the fourth pen sensing electrode are each substantially rectangular in shape.
(from claim 16) wherein the first pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the third pen sensing electrode and the second pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the fourth pen sensing electrode (see paragraph 325, 336, pattern 102 and 104 including claimed first/third and second/fourth pen sensing electrode electrically connected through vias as shown as black dot on figure).
(from claim 17) wherein the first pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the third pen sensing electrode through a set of first contact holes and the second pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the fourth pen sensing electrode through a set of second contact holes.
(see paragraph 325, 336, pattern 102 and 104 including claimed first/third and second/fourth pen sensing electrode electrically connected through vias as shown as black dot on figure).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Kim in view of Yang (see Kim, paragraphs 495-499, fig. 37 annotated as in below) discloses (from claim 18) the display device of claim 11, wherein the first touch sensing electrode and the first pen sensing electrode, extending in the first direction, cross the second touch sensing electrode and the second pen sensing electrode, extending in the second direction, at a joining area,
wherein the first touch sensing electrode and the first pen sensing electrode cross the joining area,
wherein the second touch sensing electrode and the second pen sensing electrode do not cross the joining area but are electrically connected across the joining area by connection patterns that overlap the first touch sensing electrode and the first pen sensing electrode in the plan view; and
(from claim 19) wherein the second touch sensing electrode and the second pen sensing electrode are electrically connected to the connection patterns through a set of contact holes (paragraphs 502-504, connection of sensing pattern through vias).
Regarding claim 1, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 11, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 11.
Regarding claim 2, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 12, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 12.
Regarding claim 3, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 13, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 14, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 14.
Regarding claim 5, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 15, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 15.
Regarding claim 6, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 16, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 16.
Regarding claim 7, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 17, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 17.
Regarding claim 8, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 18, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 18.
Regarding claim 9, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 19, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 19.
Claims 20 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yang, as applied in claims 11 and 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama, US 20200285348 A1 (hereinafter “Nakayama”).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Yang discloses the display device of claim 11. Kim in view of Yang does not disclose in particular the display device further including dummy electrodes overlapping the first touch sensing electrode and the second touch sensing electrode in the plan view.
In similar field of endeavor of touch input device, Nakayama discloses the concept of providing dummy electrode to overlap with first and second touch sensing electrodes to improve visual effect (paragraph 110, “As described above, also in the conductive member according to Embodiment 2, similarly to the conductive member 13 according to Embodiment 1 shown in FIG. 5, the plurality of first sensing electrodes SE1 and the plurality of first dummy electrodes DE3 are overlapped with the plurality of second sensing electrodes SE2 and the plurality of second dummy electrodes DE4 to form the third mesh pattern MP3. Therefore, it is possible to reduce a parasitic capacitance in an electrode intersection portion and prevent the fine metal wires MW1 included in the first electrode layer and the fine metal wires MW2 included in the second electrode layer from being conspicuously visually recognized”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of providing dummy electrode with touch sensing electrode, such as disclosed by Nakayama, into the display device of Kim in view of Yang, to constitute wherein the display device further including dummy electrodes overlapping the first touch sensing electrode and the second touch sensing electrode in the plan view, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would provide benefit if improved visual appearance of display device while allow display device with various layers to display intended images for user to be integrated with touch as well as pen sensing capabilities.
Regarding claim 10, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 20, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 20.
Conclusion
/PEIJIE SHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622