Response to Arguments
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-19, and 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim, U.S. Pat. App. US 20230393672 A1 (hereinafter “Kim”), in further view of Yang et al, U.S. Pat. App. US 20210265588 A1 (hereinafter “Yang”), and Lee at al., US 20170199594 A1 (hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 11, Kim discloses a display device comprising a display panel, and an input sensing part disposed on the display panel (paragraph 4, “The touch sensor in the touch input device may be disposed on a display panel that displays an image or a portion of the touch input device. As a user touches a touch sensor to interact with the touch input device, the touch input device may provide an intuitive user interface to the user”) wherein the input sensing part comprises:
(see fig. 16, paragraph 385 for generation description of sensor pattern being utilized for touch sensing of object and pen sensing of stylus: “In case of No. 4, the plurality of first patterns 101 are used as the touch driving electrode for sensing the touch of the object. The plurality of second patterns 102 are used as the stylus sensing electrode for sensing the stylus pen signal as well as the stylus driving electrode for driving the stylus pen. The plurality of third patterns 103 are used as the touch sensing electrode for sensing the touch of the object. Also, the plurality of fourth patterns 104 are used as the stylus sensing electrode for sensing the stylus pen signal.”, see fig. 37, 43, paragraphs 495-499, 530-535 annotated as in below for various embodiments of sensing pattern mapped to claimed limitations).
a first touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part that is spaced apart therefrom, the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode each extending in a first direction;
a first pen sensing electrode disposed between the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode and extending in the first direction;
a second touch sensing electrode including a first part and a second part that is spaced apart therefrom, the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode each extending in a second direction crossing the first direction; and
a second pen sensing electrode disposed between the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode and extending in the second direction.
Kim does not specifically discloses that the display device is a display device, comprising: a display panel including a circuit element layer, a display element layer disposed on the circuit element layer, and a thin film encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer; an input sensing part disposed on the display panel; and an anti-reflection layer disposed on the input sensing part.
In similar field of endeavor, Yang discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel including a circuit element layer, a display element layer disposed on the circuit element layer, and a thin film encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer;
(fig. 7, paragraphs 90, 92, 93, “Referring to FIG. 8, the display panel DP may include a substrate SUB, a circuit element layer DP-CL disposed on the substrate SUB, a display element layer DP-OLED disposed on the circuit element layer DP-CL, and a thin-film encapsulation layer TFE (e.g., encapsulation layer) disposed on the display element layer DP-OLED. The display element layer DP-OLED may be disposed on the display area DA. The thin-film encapsulation layer TFE may be disposed on the circuit element layer DP-CL to cover the display element layer DP-OLED. The thin-film encapsulation layer TFE may face the substrate SUB with both the circuit element layer DP-CL and the display element layer DP-OLED therebetween. A plurality of pixels PX may be disposed on or defined in the circuit element layer DP-CL and the display element layer DP-OLED. Each pixel PX may include a transistor TR disposed in the circuit element layer DP-CL, and may also include a light emitting element OLED disposed in the display element layer DP-OLED and connected to a corresponding one of the transistor TR. A configuration of the pixel PX will be further discussed in detail below.”)
an input sensing part disposed on the display panel; and
an anti-reflection layer disposed on the input sensing part,
(fig. 7, paragraphs 70, 71, 75, 95, “Referring to FIG. 7, … The display module DM may include a display panel DP, an input sensing part ISP (e.g., input sensing layer), an antireflection layer RPL, a window WIN, a panel protection film PPF (e.g., panel protection layer), and a cushion layer CSL. … The antireflection layer RPL may be disposed on the input sensing part ISP. The antireflection layer RPL may face the display panel DP with the input sensing part ISP therebetween.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of display device of Yang into the display device of Kim, to constitute a display device, comprising: a display panel including a circuit element layer, a display element layer disposed on the circuit element layer, and a thin film encapsulation layer disposed on the display element layer; an input sensing part disposed on the display panel; and an anti-reflection layer disposed on the input sensing part, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow display device with various layers to display intended images for user to be integrated with touch as well as pen sensing capabilities and allow versatilities in receiving user input.
Kim in view of Yang further discloses wherein each of the first part and second part of the first touch sensing electrode include an extension pattern at a region thereof that that crosses the second touch electrode (see Kim, fig. 37 as annotated above, first touch sensing electrode including extension part at intersection between touch sensing electrodes).
Kim in view of Yang only does not disclose a thickness of the first part and second part of the first touch electrode at the extension pattern is less than a thickness of the first part and second part of the first touch electrode elsewhere within the first touch sensing electrode, the thicknesses being measured in a plane of the first direction and the second direction.
In similar field of endeavor of touch device, Lee disclose intersecting touch electrodes (fig. 11, first touch electrodes 1120, fig. 3, second touch electrodes 140, the first touch electrodes and second touch electrode perpendicular with each other and intersecting with each other at plurality of intersections), wherein first touch sensing electrode include an extension pattern at a region thereof that that crosses the second touch electrode, and a thickness of the first touch electrode at the extension pattern is configure to be extra thin at the region intersecting with other touch electrode, the thickness at extension part is less than thickness elsewhere within the first touch electrode, the thicknesses being measured in a plane of the first direction and the second direction (Lee, paragraph 80, “The first sensing connecting portion 1123 may include a first sub-sensing connecting portion 1123 a disposed adjacent to the plurality of first sensing electrodes 1121 and having a third width d12 and a second sub-sensing connecting portion 1123 b connecting the first sub-sensing connecting portions 1123 a and having a fourth width d11. The fourth width d11 may be less than the third width d12. For example, the fourth width d11 may be greater than 100 micrometers, and the third width d12 may be greater than 150 micrometers”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of configuring touch sensing electrode extension pattern with least thickness at intersection region of touch electrodes, such as disclosed by Lee into the device of Kim in view of Yang with first touch electrode having first part and second part, such that the first part and second part of first touch sensing electrode at intersection with second touch sensing electrode are configured with less thickness, to constitute: a thickness of the first part and second part of the first touch electrode at the extension pattern is less than a thickness of the first part and second part of the first touch electrode elsewhere within the first touch sensing electrode, the thicknesses being measured in a plane of the first direction and the second direction, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would allow touch sensing electrode resistance to be adjusted to better accommodate for robustness against static electricity (see Lee, paragraph 92).
Regarding claim 12, Kim in view of Yang and Lee discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the first part of the first touch sensing electrode has a chevron shape in a plan view and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode also has a chevron shape in the plan view and the first pen sensing electrode has a diamond shape disposed within a diamond-shape space between the first part of the first touch sensing electrode and the second part of the first touch sensing electrode (see Kim, annotated figure below, first and second part of first touch sensing electrode each has an chevron shape, together forming a diamond shaped space wherein diamond shaped first pen sensing electrode fit within).
Regarding claim 13, Kim in view of Yang and Lee discloses the display device of claim 11, wherein the first part of the second touch sensing electrode has a chevron shape in a plan view and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode also has a chevron shape in the plan view and the second pen sensing electrode has a diamond shape disposed within a diamond-shape space between the first part of the second touch sensing electrode and the second part of the second touch sensing electrode (see Kim, annotated figure below, first and second part of second touch sensing electrode each has an chevron shape, together forming a diamond shaped space wherein diamond shaped second pen sensing electrode fit within).
Regarding claims 14, 15, 16 and 17, Kim in view of Yang and Lee discloses (see Kim, paragraphs 530-535, fig. 43 annotated as in below)
(from claim 14) the display device of claim 11, further including a third pen sensing electrode overlapping the first pen sensing electrode in the plan view and a fourth pen sensing electrode overlapping the second pen sensing electrode in the plan view.
(from claim 15) wherein the third pens sensing electrode and the fourth pen sensing electrode are each substantially rectangular in shape.
(from claim 16) wherein the first pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the third pen sensing electrode and the second pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the fourth pen sensing electrode (see paragraph 325, 336, pattern 102 and 104 including claimed first/third and second/fourth pen sensing electrode electrically connected through vias as shown as black dot on figure).
(from claim 17) wherein the first pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the third pen sensing electrode through a set of first contact holes and the second pen sensing electrode is electrically connected to the fourth pen sensing electrode through a set of second contact holes.
(see paragraph 325, 336, pattern 102 and 104 including claimed first/third and second/fourth pen sensing electrode electrically connected through vias as shown as black dot on figure).
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Kim in view of Yang and Lee (see Kim, paragraphs 495-499, fig. 37 annotated as in below) discloses (from claim 18) the display device of claim 11, wherein the first touch sensing electrode and the first pen sensing electrode, extending in the first direction, cross the second touch sensing electrode and the second pen sensing electrode, extending in the second direction, at a joining area,
wherein the first touch sensing electrode and the first pen sensing electrode cross the joining area,
wherein the second touch sensing electrode and the second pen sensing electrode do not cross the joining area but are electrically connected across the joining area by connection patterns that overlap the first touch sensing electrode and the first pen sensing electrode in the plan view; and
(from claim 19) wherein the second touch sensing electrode and the second pen sensing electrode are electrically connected to the connection patterns through a set of contact holes (paragraphs 502-504, connection of sensing pattern through vias).
Regarding claim 1, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 11, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 1 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 11.
Regarding claim 2, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 12, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 2 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 12.
Regarding claim 3, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 13, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 3 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 13.
Regarding claim 4, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 14, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 4 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 14.
Regarding claim 5, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 15, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 5 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 15.
Regarding claim 6, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 16, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 6 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 16.
Regarding claim 7, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 17, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 7 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 17.
Regarding claim 8, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 18, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 8 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 18.
Regarding claim 9, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 19, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 9 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 19.
Claims 20 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim in view of Yang and Lee, as applied in claims 11 and 1 above, and further in view of Nakayama, US 20200285348 A1 (hereinafter “Nakayama”).
Regarding claim 20, Kim in view of Yang and Lee discloses the display device of claim 11. Kim in view of Yang and Lee does not disclose in particular the display device further including dummy electrodes overlapping the first touch sensing electrode and the second touch sensing electrode in the plan view.
In similar field of endeavor of touch input device, Nakayama discloses the concept of providing dummy electrode to overlap with first and second touch sensing electrodes to improve visual effect (paragraph 110, “As described above, also in the conductive member according to Embodiment 2, similarly to the conductive member 13 according to Embodiment 1 shown in FIG. 5, the plurality of first sensing electrodes SE1 and the plurality of first dummy electrodes DE3 are overlapped with the plurality of second sensing electrodes SE2 and the plurality of second dummy electrodes DE4 to form the third mesh pattern MP3. Therefore, it is possible to reduce a parasitic capacitance in an electrode intersection portion and prevent the fine metal wires MW1 included in the first electrode layer and the fine metal wires MW2 included in the second electrode layer from being conspicuously visually recognized”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the concept of providing dummy electrode with touch sensing electrode, such as disclosed by Nakayama, into the display device of Kim in view of Yang and Lee, to constitute wherein the display device further including dummy electrodes overlapping the first touch sensing electrode and the second touch sensing electrode in the plan view, such is incorporation of a known technique into a known device to yield predictable result, the result would have been predictable and would provide benefit if improved visual appearance of display device while allow display device with various layers to display intended images for user to be integrated with touch as well as pen sensing capabilities.
Regarding claim 10, this is an input sensor claim counterpart of display device claim 20, with all claimed limitation of input sensor already addressed in display device claim. Accordingly, claim 10 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 20.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PEIJIE SHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2622
/PATRICK N EDOUARD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2622