DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 16 July 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 5-7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 5: “the radiation” in line 2 should be “the electromagnetic radiation” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 6: “the radiation” in line 2 should be “the electromagnetic radiation” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Claim 7: “one of the radiation sources” in line 2 should be “one of the at least two radiation sources” for further clarity and continuity in the claim language.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations use a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a deflection element to…” in claim 1: a mirror (¶14, The deflection element can comprise a mirror, in particular).
“an optical element for…” in claim 12: there is no sufficient structure for this limitation provided in the specification.
“a validation element for…” in claim 15: a white reference, filter, or filter wheel (¶17, This validation element can be manifested by a white reference or can be a filter or filter wheel, for example).
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, “radiation” in line 5 is unclear. Is this limitation referring to the electromagnetic radiation mentioned previously or a different radiation? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the electromagnetic radiation mentioned previously.
Claims 2-15 are rejected for their dependency on claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, “radiation” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 1, on which claim 7 is dependent” is this limitation referring to the same radiation (i.e. the electromagnetic radiation) mentioned previously or a different radiation? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same radiation (i.e. the electromagnetic radiation) mentioned previously.
Claim 8 is rejected for its dependency on claim 7.
Regarding claim 9, “electromagnetic radiation” in line 2 is unclear as this limitation has been mentioned previously in claim 1, on which claim 9 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the same electromagnetic radiation mentioned previously or a different electromagnetic radiation? In light of the specification, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the same electromagnetic radiation mentioned previously (specifically the electromagnetic radiation emanating from the material sample).
Claims 10-11 are rejected for their dependency on claim 9.
Regarding claim 12, “the observation region” in line 3 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Claims 13-14 are rejected for their dependency on claim 12.
Regarding claim 13, “a detector” in line 1 is unclear as at least one detector has been mentioned previously in claim 1, on which claim 13 is dependent. Is this limitation referring to the at least one detector mentioned previously or a different detector? In light of the specification, specifically ¶29, the Examiner is interpreting this limitation to be referring to the at least one detector mentioned previously.
Regarding claim 15, “the radiation path” in line 2 lacks proper antecedent basis and is therefore unclear.
Claim limitation “an optical element” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 7, and 10 of copending Application No. 19/203,121 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other for the following reasons:
Regarding claim 1, claims 1, 7, and 10 of application 19/203,121 teach a device for analyzing material samples via electromagnetic radiation (see claim 1, lines 1-2), the device comprising: at least two radiation sources to generate the electromagnetic radiation (see claim 1, lines 3-4); a deflection element to deflect the electromagnetic radiation onto the material sample (see claim 7), radiation from at least one of the at least two radiation sources being selectively directable onto the material sample via the deflection element (see claim 7); and at least one detector to detect the electromagnetic radiation emanating from the material sample (see claim 1, lines 6-7), wherein the deflection element is rotatable about an axis substantially parallel to a direction of propagation of the deflected radiation (see claim 10).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Berthold et al. (EP 3614130 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Berthold teaches a device for analyzing material samples via electromagnetic radiation (¶4, the sample is exposed to light (excitation light) with defined properties (e.g., fluorescence intensity ...B. with a specific excitation wavelength) and thereby generates fluorescent light. The fluorescence light emitted from the sample, which is normally shifted to longer wavelengths (lower energies) compared to the excitation light and is often also referred to as emission light, is directed to a photosensitive detector in a detection path (also called emission path) and the resulting intensities are measured), the device comprising: at least two radiation sources (LQ1/LQ2) to generate the electromagnetic radiation (see figure 2, light sources LQ1 and LQ2; and ¶45, two light sources LQ1, LQ2 can be seen diametrically opposite each other to the principal axis…they emit radiation); a deflection element (KO) to deflect the electromagnetic radiation onto the material sample (MP1) (see figure 2, coupling optics KO; and ¶47, The coupling optics KO is designed as a reflective coupling optics or as a mirror system in such a way that for each of the light sources, the light running along its direction of incidence is reflected at a mirror surface of the coupling optics and reflected in one and the same focal point, namely the measuring position MP1), radiation from at least one of the at least two radiation sources (LQ1/LQ2) being selectively directable onto the material sample (MP1) via the deflection element (KO) (see figure 2, coupling optics KO; and ¶12, A coupling device serves to selectively couple light from at least one selected light source of the light source arrangement into the measuring position); wherein the deflection element (KO) is a mirror (¶47, The coupling optics KO is designed as a reflective coupling optics or as a mirror system); and at least one detector (DET/DET2) to detect the electromagnetic radiation emanating from the material sample (MP1) (see figures 1 and 2, detectors DET and DET2; and ¶11, The device has at least one photosensitive detector for converting incident light into electrical signals that can be evaluated), wherein the deflection element (KO) is rotatable about an axis substantially parallel to a direction of propagation of the deflected radiation (see figure 7C; and ¶24, It is also possible that the coupling optics have a deflecting mirror rotatably mounted around a rotational axis, which can be moved into different reflection positions by means of an actuator in order to selectively reflect the radiation of the excitation light arriving from different directions into the measuring position).
Regarding claim 2, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least two of the radiation sources (LQ1/LQ2) are substantially the same (¶45, two light sources LQ1, LQ2 can be seen diametrically opposite each other to the principal axis… they emit radiation in spectrally separate, different wavelength ranges, but this is not mandatory).
Regarding claim 3, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least two of the radiation sources (LQ1/LQ2) are designed in different ways (¶45, two light sources LQ1, LQ2 can be seen diametrically opposite each other to the principal axis… they emit radiation in spectrally separate, different wavelength ranges, but this is not mandatory).
Regarding claim 4, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the deflection element (KO) has beam shaping properties (¶49, The coupling optics can have a cone-shaped mirror surface, so that the mirror surfaces are convexly curved at the points of impact of the incident light rays. Concave or focusing mirror surfaces or flat mirror surfaces can also be used at the impact areas).
Regarding claim 5, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the deflection element (KO) has a focusing effect on the radiation (¶49, The coupling optics can have a cone-shaped mirror surface, so that the mirror surfaces are convexly curved at the points of impact of the incident light rays. Concave or focusing mirror surfaces or flat mirror surfaces can also be used at the impact areas; and Note: concave mirrors focus light).
Regarding claim 6, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 4, wherein the deflection element (KO) has a defocusing effect on the radiation (¶49, The coupling optics can have a cone-shaped mirror surface, so that the mirror surfaces are convexly curved at the points of impact of the incident light rays. Concave or focusing mirror surfaces or flat mirror surfaces can also be used at the impact areas; and Note: convex mirrors disperse (i.e. defocus) light).
Regarding claim 7, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the deflection element (KO) comprises a mirror, via which radiation from one of the radiation sources (LQ1/LQ2) is selectively directable onto the material sample (MP1) (see figure 2, coupling optics KO; ¶47, The coupling optics KO is designed as a reflective coupling optics or as a mirror system; and ¶12, A coupling device serves to selectively couple light from at least one selected light source of the light source arrangement into the measuring position).
Regarding claim 8, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 7, wherein the mirror (KO) is a concave mirror (¶49, The coupling optics can have a cone-shaped mirror surface, so that the mirror surfaces are convexly curved at the points of impact of the incident light rays. Concave or focusing mirror surfaces or flat mirror surfaces can also be used at the impact areas).
Regarding claim 15, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein a validation element (EF) for calibrating the device and/or for validating measurements is present in the radiation path downstream of the deflection element (KO); wherein the validation element (EF) is one of a white reference, a filter, or a filter wheel (¶39, The components of the detection beam path DTS include a parabolic mirror PS (to be explained later), a coupling device EK (to be explained later) with a coupling optic KO on the main axis HA of the device, and an emission filter arrangement with an emission filter EF that can be optionally inserted into the detection beam path).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthold et al. (EP 3614130 A1) in view of Mita et al. (JP S61265557 A).
Regarding claim 9, Berthold teaches the deflection element (KO) (see figure 2). However, Berthold fails to explicitly teach wherein the deflection element has an opening for passage of electromagnetic radiation.
However, Mita teaches wherein the deflection element (3) has an opening (31/33) for passage of electromagnetic radiation (see figures 1(a) and 1(c), mirror 3 having light-transmitting region 31 which can be an opening 33).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berthold to incorporate the teachings of Mita to further provide an opening through the deflection element in order to allow light to pass through unobstructed to a detector, while maintaining a compact arrangement.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthold et al. (EP 3614130 A1) in view of Mita et al. (JP S61265557 A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Enomoto et al. (USPGPub 20230150870 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Berthold as modified by Mita teaches wherein the deflection element (Berthold KO | Mita 3) comprises an opening (Mita 31/33) (Mita, see figures 1(a) and 1(c)). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein an end face of an optical waveguide or a fiber is arranged in a region of the opening.
However, Enomoto teaches wherein an end face of an optical waveguide or a fiber is arranged in a region of the opening (21) (see figure 1, mirror 20 having side opening 21; and ¶39, the flat reflection mirror 20 and the guide member 30 have a guide hole 30a through which the coated fiber passes, and the flat reflection mirror 20 has an output-side opening 21 of the guide hole 30a. The coated fiber passes through from an input-side opening 31 of the guide hole 30a to the output-side opening 21 provided in the flat reflection mirror 20).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Berthold and Mita to incorporate the teachings of Enomoto to further include an optical fiber in the opening as this is merely another means of passing light, and in addition, optical fibers experience low signal attenuation.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthold et al. (EP 3614130 A1) in view of Mita et al. (JP S61265557 A) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Endo (JP 2001015414 A).
Regarding claim 11, Berthold as modified by Mita teaches wherein the deflection element (Berthold KO | Mita 3) comprises an opening (Mita 31/33) (Mita, see figures 1(a) and 1(c)). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein a light guide rod is arranged in a region of the opening.
However, Endo teaches wherein a light guide rod (56) is arranged in a region of the opening (92a) (see figure 7, mirror 92 having an opening 92a in which a light guide rod 56 is disposed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Berthold and Mita to incorporate the teachings of Endo to further include a light guide rod in the opening as this is merely another means of passing light, and in addition, light guide rods experience low signal attenuation.
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthold et al. (EP 3614130 A1) in view of Bugge (USPGPub 20100290032 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Berthold teaches the device as claimed in claim 1, wherein the at least one detector (DET/DET2) is arranged on a side of the observation region provided for the material sample (MP1) which faces away from the deflection element (KO) (see figures 1 and 2, DET2 disposed below measuring position MP1 (i.e. material sample) on the side away from deflection element KO). However, Berthold fails to explicitly teach wherein an optical element for focusing the electromagnetic radiation emanating from the material sample is arranged over the at least one detector.
However, Bugge teaches wherein an optical element (16) for focusing the electromagnetic radiation emanating from the material sample (10a-10c) is arranged over the at least one detector (15) (see figures 1 and 2, detector 15 located below objects 10a-10c, opposite the rotating mirror 12 (i.e. deflection element), having a lens 16; and ¶58, An improvement of this can be seen in FIG. 2, which uses a collector lens 16 (refractive or diffractive lens) which means that the detector can be arranged at its focal point).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Berthold to incorporate the teachings of Bugge to further include a focusing element in order to focus light onto the detector, providing a strong detection signal.
Regarding claim 13, Berthold as modified by Bugge teaches the device as claimed in claim 12, wherein a detector (Berthold DET/DET2 | Bugge 15) is arranged in a region of a focus of the optical element (Bugge 16) (Bugge, ¶58, An improvement of this can be seen in FIG. 2, which uses a collector lens 16 (refractive or diffractive lens) which means that the detector can be arranged at its focal point).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Berthold et al. (EP 3614130 A1) in view of Bugge (USPGPub 20100290032 A1) as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Cyr et al. (USPGPub 20040196459 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Berthold as modified by Bugge teaches the focus of the optical element (Bugge 16) (Bugge, see figures 1 and 2). However, the combination fails to explicitly teach wherein an end face of an optical waveguide is arranged in the region of the focus of the optical element.
However, Cyr teaches wherein an end face (12) of an optical waveguide (14) is arranged in the region of the focus of the optical element (26) (see figure 1, lens assembly 26 (i.e. optical element) focusing light into optical fiber 14 via input face 12).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Berthold and Bugge to incorporate the teachings of Cyr to further include an optical fiber in the focus region as this is merely another means of passing light that provides low signal attenuation, and in addition, allows flexibility in the detector placement.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Calcoen et al. (USPGPub 20190369307 A1): Calcoen teaches a mirror element (80/82) with an opening (83) therethrough (see figure 7).
Disch (EP 3321658 B1): Disch teaches an optical measuring device having a verification and calibration filter wheel (50), with descriptions on why a filter has a calibration and verification function (see figure 1; and ¶24, Since the absorption of such filters is known, the desired control can be achieved).
Balthasar et al. (USPGPub 20160252461 A1): Balthasar teaches an optical inspection device with a rotating deflection element (151) and multiple light sources (101/102) and a detector (131) (see figures 1 and 2).
Osgood et al. (U.S. Patent No. 6355934 B1): Osgood teaches an imaging scanner having a mirror (40) having an opening (43) (see figure 1).
Andrash et al. (SU 1333243 A3): Andrash teaches a spectrophotometer having two light sources (2) selectively transmitted to a sample (10) having a rotating mirror (5) with detection elements (9/12) (see figure).
/ERIN R GARBER/Examiner, Art Unit 2878