DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on the parent application PCT/CN2023/134042 dated 11/24/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05/08/2025 and 02/02/2026, are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and Claims 1-16 in the reply filed on 03/12/2026 is acknowledged. Claims 17 - 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 03/12/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the protrusions (label missing), protruding line, first protruding line, second protruding line, and third protruding line must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: The labels are partially or completely missing in FIGS. 7, 8(a), 9(a), 9(b), 10(a), 10(b), 11, 12(a), 12(b), 13(a), 13(b), 13(c), 18(a), 18(b), 19(a), 19(b), 20, 21, 22(a), 22(b), 23(a), 23(b). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: w, w1, w2. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 introduces “a small-width linear structure” then in the same clause recites “wherein the method for preparing a linear structure” The terminology is inconsistent for the same element. Then, claim 2 recites “a linear structure” although the linear structure was previously introduced in claim 1.
Applicant is advised to review the remaining claims for such informalities and appropriate correction is required.
The limitations of the method steps in claim 13 are recited as “G1(1), G1(2), G1(3), G2(1), G2(2), G2(3).” These limitations should be written as “step G1(1), step G1(2), step G1(3), step G2(1), step G2(2), step G2(3).” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites “ the first protruding line”, “the second protruding line”, and “the central line”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites “the material” in line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 6, 7, and 15 recites “the height of protrusions”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “the front electrode layer” in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 16 recites “the buffer layer” in line 14. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The term “small-width” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “small-width” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “linear structure” in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term appearing in “small-width”
The term “large enough” in claim 6 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large enough” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “height of the protrusions” in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term appearing in “large enough”.
The term “close to” in claim 13 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “position of P2 and side of the grid line G2” in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term appearing in “close to”.
The term “improved surface structure” in claims 11 and 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “improved surface structure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “front electrode” in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term appearing in “improved surface structure”.
The term “large-area” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “large-area” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “thin-film solar cell” in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term appearing in “large-area”.
The term “far” in claim 16 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “far” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation “a metal grid line G2 on the surface of the front electrode layer” in the claim has been rendered indefinite by the use of the term appearing in “far”.
Claim 11 recites “a method for preparing metal grid lines based on an improved surface structure of a front electrode based on the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1” is unclear due to the successive use of “based on” and the use of the relative term “improved surface structure”. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets this as “a method for preparing metal grid lines on a front electrode layer based on the method of preparing a linear structure according to claim 1”
Claim 12 recites “wherein the metal grid lines include a metal grid line G1 perpendicular to a P1 line, a P2 line and a P3 line and a metal grid line G2 parallel to and above the P2 line”. It is unclear if the “metal grid line G1” is only perpendicular to the P1 line, or if “metal grid line G1” is perpendicular to two lines selected from P1, P2, P3, and G2, or if “metal grid line G1” is perpendicular some other combination of these. Further, it is unclear how G1 is simultaneously perpendicular to P2 while also “parallel to and above the P2 line”. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets this as “a metal grid line G1 is parallel to a metal grid line G2; a P1 line is parallel to a P2 line and also parallel to a P3 line; each of the the P1 line, P2 line, and P3 line are perpendicular to the metal grid line G1 and the metal grid line G2”.
Claim 15 recites “A method for optimizing the aspect ratio of metal grid lines based on the method for preparing metal grid lines based on an improved surface structure of a front electrode according to claim 11” is unclear due to the successive use of “based on” and the use of the relative term “improved surface structure”. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner interprets this as “a method for optimizing the aspect ratio of metal grid lines on a front electrode layer based on the method of preparing grid lines according to claim 11”
Claims 11 – 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 11 recites “A method for preparing metal grid tines based on an improved surface structure of a front electrode based on the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1”. Claim 15 recites “A method for preparing a thin-film solar cell based on the method for preparing metal grid lines according to claim 11”. Claim 16 recites “A method for preparing a thin-film solar cell based on the method for preparing metal grid lines according to claim 11”.
The limitation "based on the method" as used in claims 11, 15, and 16 is not a proper dependent preamble because it does not require all the limitations of the parent claim.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1- 7 and 9 - 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being
unpatentable over Kim (KR102128295B1; hereinafter Kim) in view of Sasaki (JP2012079769A; hereinafter Sasaki).
Kim: FIG. 1
Sasaki: FIG. 18
Regarding Claim 1, Kim discloses: a method for preparing a small-width linear structure (a method for forming a fine line pattern having a width of less than 20 μm) on the upper surface of a target layer (substrate 100), FIG. 1 reproduced above, [0001].
Kim discloses: wherein the method comprises the steps of:
acquiring the preset positions of both sides of the linear structure (predetermined conductive pattern 300) on the upper surface of the target layer (substrate 100), which are denoted as a first side position and a second side position (predetermined boundaries on the left and right side of the conductive pattern 300), FIG. 1, [0068];
Kim FIG. 1, [0068] discloses forming the micro-barriers 200 for partitioning a predetermined conductive pattern 300 through the partition forming step. The micro-barriers 200 are formed in a portion other than the predetermined conductive pattern 300, and a conductive liquid is inkjet printed in the area partitioned by the micro-barriers 200. This indicates the preset positions of both sides of the linear structure 300 on the upper surface of target layer 100 are acquired.
forming a protruding line at at least one side position by producing a plurality of protrusions at intervals along the side length direction (line corresponding to the boundary formed by the plurality of protrusions micro barriers 200 spaced apart in X direction as shown in FIG. 1) at at least one of the first side position and the second side position (predetermined boundaries on the left and right side of the conductive pattern 300) of the upper surface of the target layer (substrate 100); FIG. 1, [0058], [0068].
Kim FIG. 1, [0058] discloses the barrier rib forming step is a step of forming micro barrier ribs for partitioning a predetermined conductive pattern by inkjet printing a quick-drying liquid on the substrate 100, indicating forming a protruding line at at least one side position by producing a plurality of protrusions 200 along the side length direction (X direction).
applying a liquid-type linear structure material (conductive ink in the form of a composite of Ag, Cu, Au, Pt, CNT, AgNW, Graphene, Graphene Oxide, conductive polymer, or such materials, [0067]), to one side of the protruding line for deposition to obtain a linear structure (conductive pattern 300) confined to one side by the protruding line, FIG. 1, [0068].
Kim FIG. 1, [0068] discloses forming the protrusions micro-barriers 200 for partitioning a predetermined conductive pattern 300 through the partition forming step, that is, the micro-barriers are formed in a portion other than the predetermined conductive pattern, and a conductive liquid is inkjet printed in the area partitioned by the micro-barriers. In other words, the conductive liquid is inkjet printed between the micro-barriers formed in a portion other than the predetermined conductive pattern. Thereby the method involves applying a liquid type linear structure material to one side of the protruding line for deposition to obtain a linear structure confined to one side of the protruding line.
Kim does not disclose “applied to the process of preparing a thin-film photovoltaic module, and the layer stack comprising at least two layers.”
In a similar art, Sasaki discloses a method for preparing a small-width linear structure (method of forming a grid electrode portion 5a having a width of 50 to 400 μm, FIG. 18 reproduced above, [0031], [0035]) on the upper surface of a target layer (upper electrode layer 4) of a layer stack (stack including lower electrode layer 2, photoconversion layer 4, and upper electrode layer 4, [0014], [0015]), applied to the process of preparing a thin-film photovoltaic module (manufacturing process of the CIGS photoelectric conversion device 20, [0020], [0060]), and the layer stack comprising at least two layers (stack including lower electrode layer 2, photoconversion layer 4, and upper electrode layer 4, [0014], [0015]).
Sasaki discloses that a method as taught minimizes the amount of light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method in order to minimize the light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity as disclosed by Sasaki [0035].
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: wherein when a plurality of protrusions (micro barriers 200) are produced at intervals along the side length direction (plurality of micro barriers 200 shown spaced apart in the X direction in FIG. 1) at the first side position and second side position (predetermined boundaries on the left and right side of the conductive pattern 300) of the upper surface of the target layer (100) respectively to form a first protruding line and a second protruding line (lines corresponding to the boundaries formed by the plurality of the micro barriers 200 to the left and the right sides of the conductive pattern 300), FIG. 1, [0068].
applying a liquid-type linear structure material (conductive ink includes Ag, Cu, Au, Pt, CNT, AgNW, graphene, graphene oxide, conductive polymer, [0071]) between the first protruding line and the second protruding line for deposition to obtain a linear structure (300) confined between the first protruding line and the second protruding line, i.e. a linear structure confined bilaterally FIG. 1, [0068], [0070];
Kim FIG. 1, [0068] discloses forming the micro-barriers 200 for partitioning a predetermined conductive pattern 300 through the partition forming step, that is, the micro-barriers are formed in a portion other than the predetermined conductive pattern, and a conductive liquid is inkjet printed in the area partitioned by the micro-barriers. In other words, the conductive liquid is inkjet printed between the micro-barriers formed in a portion other than the predetermined conductive pattern.
Kim FIG. 1, [0070] discloses as the conductive ink dries, the conductive component contained in the conductive ink forms a conductive pattern, and the micro-barriers can be utilized as an insulating function to insulate between conductive patterns that must be electrically insulated.
Therefore, the method includes applying a liquid-type linear structure material between the first protruding line and the second protruding line for deposition to obtain a linear structure confined between the first protruding line and the second protruding line, i.e. a linear structure confined bilaterally.
or when a plurality of protrusions is produced at intervals along the side length direction at one confined side position among the first side position and second side position of the upper surface of the target layer to form a third protruding line, applying a liquid-type linear structure material to one side of the third protruding line for deposition to obtain a linear structure confined to the one side by the third protruding line.
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: wherein the interval between two adjacent protrusions on the same protruding line (spacing between two adjacent micro barriers 200 along the line corresponding to the their boundary in the X direction) is small enough, so as to prevent the linear structure material (conductive ink) from overflowing from one side of the protruding line to the other side of the protruding line during deposition [0069], the interval between two adjacent protrusions on the same protruding line is less than 10 microns (the conductive pattern has a width of 5 µm to 20 µm, [0071]).
Kim FIG. 1, [0069] discloses the micro barriers 200 confines the conductive ink such that the ink deposited flows onto the region between them, indicating prevention of the conductive material from overflowing across the protruding line during deposition.
Kim [0071] discloses by printing conductive ink between micro-barriers formed to have a width of 5 µm to 20 µm to form a conductive pattern, the width of the conductive pattern can be formed to be 5 um to 20 um, indicating the interval between the two adjacent protrusions may be less than 10 microns.
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
Kim discloses:
wherein when the linear structure is confined bilaterally, the protrusions of the first protruding line and the protrusions of the second protruding line are asymmetrical along the central line between the first protruding line and the second protruding line,
or
when the linear structure (300) is confined bilaterally, the protrusions (200) of the first protruding line and the protrusions (200) of the second protruding line (lines corresponding to the boundaries formed by the plurality of the micro barriers 200 to the left and the right sides of the conductive pattern 300) are symmetrical along the central line between the first protruding line and the second protruding line, FIG. 1, [0068].
Kim FIG. 1, [0068] discloses micro barriers 200 partitioning predetermined conductive pattern 300, with conductive liquid printed between them. As shown in FIG. 1 the micro barriers 200 are symmetrically arranged along a central line between the first protruding line and the second protruding line.
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: wherein the interval between two adjacent protrusions (200) on the same protruding line is consistent, FIG. 1, [0087].
Kim FIG. 1, [0087] discloses the micro barriers 200 are formed in a repeated pattern, indicating the interval between adjacent protrusions on the same protruding line is consistent.
or the interval between two adjacent protrusions on the same protruding line is inconsistent.
Regarding Claim 6, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: wherein the height of the protrusions (200) is large enough, so as to prevent the material (conductive ink) for the formation of the linear structure (300) from overflowing from the protrusions during the formation of the linear structure (300), FIG. 1, [0025], [0069].
Kim [0025] discloses increasing the height of the micro barrier by repeated inkjet printing, and [0069] discloses the conductive ink is confined to flow between the micro barriers, indicating the height of the protrusions is large enough to prevent the material to overflow from the protrusions.
Kim discloses: the height of the protrusions (200) is determined based on the property parameters of the material (conductive ink) for the formation of the linear structure (300), the property parameters of the material for the formation of the linear structure at least include the amount, viscosity and surface tension of the material, [0025], [0061], [0069].
Kim [0025], [0061], [0069] discloses increasing the height of the micro barriers by repeated inkjet printing; and using hydrophobic micro barriers to confine conductive ink between the barriers, and the viscosity of the conductive ink affects the lateral spreading. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to determine the micro barrier height based on the amount, viscosity, and the surface tension of the conductive material to prevent overflow.
Regarding Claim 7, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 6.
Kim discloses: wherein the height of the protrusions (200) is greater than 100 nanometers, [0025], [0069].
Kim [0025], [0069] discloses increasing the height of the micro barriers 200 by repeated inkjet printing and confining the conductive ink between the micro barriers. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the micro barrier of height greater than 100nm to confine the conductive ink between the micro barriers and prevent overflow.
Regarding Claim 9, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: wherein the method for applying the liquid-type linear structure material (conductive ink) includes, but is not limited to, inkjet printing, aerosol jetting, screen printing and dispensing (inkjet printing, [0068]).
Regarding Claim 10, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses an application of the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
Kim discloses: comprising application in the single-pass and/or multi-pass application of a liquid-type linear structure material (conductive ink), [0081].
Kim [0081] discloses inkjet printing is performed repeatedly by first inkjet printing a conductive liquid between micro-barriers formed in a part other than a predetermined conductive pattern, drying the result, and then second inkjet printing a conductive liquid and drying the result. Therefore, a multi-pass application is performed.
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses a method for preparing metal grid lines (Sasaki: method of method of forming a grid electrode portion 5a, [0031]) based on an improved surface structure of a front electrode (Sasaki: upper electrode layer 4) based on the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the target layer is a front electrode layer, and the multiple layers under the target layer include a buffer/i-layer, an absorber layer, a back electrode layer, and a substrate, and the linear structure consists of metal grid lines located on the upper surface of the front electrode layer.”
Sasaki discloses: wherein the target layer is a front electrode layer (upper electrode layer 4), and the multiple layers under the target layer include a buffer/i-layer (buffer layer 32), an absorber layer (light absorption layer 31), a back electrode layer (lower electrode layer 2), and a substrate (substrate 1), and the linear structure consists of metal grid lines (grid electrode portion 5a) located on the upper surface of the front electrode layer (upper electrode layer 4), FIG. 18, [0014], [0017], [0033].
Sasaki discloses that a method as taught minimizes the amount of light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method in order to minimize the light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity as disclosed by Sasaki [0035].
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing metal grid lines according to claim 11.
Kim does not disclose “wherein the metal grid lines include a metal grid line G1 perpendicular to a P1 line, a P2 line and a P3 line and a metal grid line G2 parallel to and above the P2 line.”
Sasaki discloses: wherein the metal grid lines include a metal grid line G1 (5a) perpendicular to a P1 line (P1), a P2 line (P2) and a P3 line (P3) and a metal grid line G2 (5bA) parallel to and above the P2 line (P2), FIG. 18, [0037], [0039], [0103].
Sasaki discloses that a method as taught minimizes the amount of light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method in order to minimize the light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity as disclosed by Sasaki [0035].
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing metal grid lines (Sasaki: 5a, 5bA) according to claim 12.
The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses: wherein the method for preparing the metal grid line G1 (Sasaki: 5a, FIG. 18, [0031]) comprises:
G1(1) acquiring the preset positions (Kim: predetermined boundaries of conductive pattern 300, FIG. 1, [0068]) of the two sides of the metal grid line G1 on the surface of the front electrode (Sasaki: grid line 5a on the surface of front electrode 4, FIG. 18, [0031]), which are denoted as a first side preset position and a second side preset position (Kim: predetermined boundaries on the left and right side of the pattern 300);
G1(2) producing a plurality of protrusions at intervals along the side length direction (Kim: micro barriers 200 spaced apart along the X direction) at the first side preset position and the second side preset position (Kim: predetermined boundaries on the left and right side of the conductive pattern 300) respectively to form a first protruding line and a second protruding line (Kim: lines corresponding to the boundary formed by the plurality of micro barriers 200 spaced to the left and right side of the conductive pattern 300), Kim: FIG. 1, [0068].
G1(3) applying a liquid-type metallic grid line material (Kim: conductive ink) between the first protruding line and the second protruding line (Kim: lines corresponding to the boundary formed by the plurality of micro barriers 200 spaced to the left and right side of the conductive pattern 300), for deposition to obtain the metal grid line G1 (Sasaki: 5a) confined between the first protruding line and the second protruding line, Kim: FIG. 1, [0068];
The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses: the method for preparing the metal grid line G2 (Sasaki: 5bA, FIG. 18, [0103]) comprises:
G2(1) acquiring the position of the side of the P2 line close to the P3 line on the surface of the front electrode, which is denoted as a third side position, Sasaki: FIG. 18, [0039], [0102];
Sasaki [0039] discloses a P2 line extending from the upper surface of upper electrode layer 4 and [0102] discloses a P3 line formed from the upper surface of upper electrode layer 4. As shown in FIG. 18, P2 has a side positioned close to P3, thereby acquiring the position of the side of the P2 line close to the P3 line on the surface of the front electrode, which is denoted as a third side position.
G2(2) producing a plurality of protrusions at intervals along the side length direction (Kim: micro barriers 200 spaced apart in the X direction, FIG. 1, [0068]) at the third side position (Sasaki: third side position of P2 line facing P3, FIG. 18, [0102]) to form a third protruding line (Kim: line corresponding to the boundary formed by the micro barriers 200 along the third side); and
G2(3) applying a liquid-type metallic grid line material in the P2 line for deposition (Kim: inkjet deposition of conductive ink, [0068]) to obtain the metal grid line G2 (Sasaki: 5bA), with the side of the metal grid line G2 close to the P3 line (Sasaki: 5bA facing P3, FIG. 18, [0102]), being confined by the third protruding line (Kim: line corresponding to the boundary formed by the micro barriers 200 along the third side).
Sasaki discloses that a method as taught minimizes the amount of light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method in order to minimize the light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity as disclosed by Sasaki [0035].
Regarding Claim 14, (Original) The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing metal grid lines according to claim 11.
Sasaki discloses: wherein the material of the metal grid lines (5a and 5bA) includes, but is not limited to, metallic ink and dielectric ink (printing a metal paste in which a metal powder such as Ag, [0070]).
Sasaki discloses that a method as taught enables formation of metal grid lines comprised of known materials having desired conductive properties [0070]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method in order to form metal grid lines comprised of known materials having desired conductive properties as disclosed by Sasaki [0070].
Regarding Claim 15, (Original) The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses a method for optimizing the aspect ratio of metal grid lines (Sasaki: method of method of forming a grid lines 5a, 5bA, [0031], [0103]) the method for preparing metal grid lines based on an improved surface structure of a front electrode (Sasaki: upper electrode layer 4) according to claim 11, comprising:
by controlling the distance between a first protruding line and a second protruding line, the height of protrusions and the amount of metal grid line material, controlling the deposition width and thickness of metal grid lines, so as to control and optimize the aspect ratio of the metal grid lines, Kim: [0069], [0082], [0089], Sasaki: [0031], [0103].
Kim [0069] discloses controlling the distance between the micro barriers 200 to define and confine the conductive pattern; [0087] discloses controlling the height of the protrusions and [0082] discloses the among to the conductive material deposited to control the thickness of the 300. Sasaki [0031], [0103] discloses the conductive pattern as metal grid lines 5a and 5bA. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to control the distance between a first protruding line and a second protruding line, the height of protrusions, and the amount of metal grid line material to control the width and thickness, to optimize the aspect ratio.
Regarding Claim 16, (Currently amended) The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses a method for preparing a thin-film solar cell (Sasaki: photoelectric conversion device 20) based on the method for preparing metal grid lines according to claim 11, comprising the steps of:
Sasaki discloses: sequentially making a substrate (1), a back electrode layer (2), an absorber layer (31), a buffer/i-layer (32) and a front electrode layer (4) of a thin-film solar cell (20), FIG. 18, [0061], [0062].
or sequentially making a substrate, a front electrode layer, a buffer/i-layer, an absorber layer and a back electrode layer of a thin-film solar cell;
Sasaki discloses: after the back electrode layer (2) is made, arranging a P1 line (P1) on the back electrode layer (2), FIG. 18, [0061];
after the buffer/i-layer (32) is made, arranging a P2 line (P2) on the absorber layer (31) and the buffer/i-layer (32), FIG. 18, [0069];
after the front electrode layer (4) is made, arranging a P3 line (P3) on the front electrode layer (4); FIG. 18, [0102];
and carrying out the division and series connection of the large-area thin-film solar cell by means of the P 1 line, the P2 line and the P3 line; FIG. 18, [0034], [0037], [0039], [0081].
Sasaki [0037], [0039] discloses P1 and P2 separation grooves for separating the respective layers into adjacent photoelectric conversion cells, and [0081] discloses P3 provides electrical insulation between adjacent cells. Further [0034] discloses the adjacent photoelectric conversion cells are electrically connected in series by conductor 5. Therefore, Sasaki discloses carrying out the division and series connection of the thin-film solar cell by means of the P1 line, the P2 line and the P3 line;
based on the method for preparing metal grid lines according to claim 11, making a metal grid line G1 (5a) and a metal grid line G2 (5bA) on the surface of the front electrode layer (4) far from the buffer layer (32) respectively, FIG. 18, [0031], [0103].
Sasaki discloses that a method as taught minimizes the amount of light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity [0035]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim’s method in order to minimize the light blocked by the grid while ensuring good conductivity as disclosed by Sasaki [0035].
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kim in view of Sasaki, further in view of Heiss et al. (US20210005764A1; hereinafter Heiss).
Regarding Claim 8, (Currently amended) The combination of Kim and Sasaki discloses the method for preparing a linear structure according to claim 1.
The combination of Kim and Sasaki does not disclose “wherein the method for producing the protrusions comprises: applying a pulsed laser in combination with preset process parameters on the upper surface of the target layer by emitting the pulsed laser from above the target layer, so that the pulsed laser pulses pass through the target layer and reach the interface of two adjacent layers among multiple layers under the target layer, thus melting and evaporating part of the layer material at the interface between the two adjacent layers to form upward protrusions, the preset process parameters of the pulsed laser meet the following condition: the wavelength of the pulsed laser is larger than the optical band gap of the target layer but smaller than the optical band gap of at least one of the multiple layers under the target layer, among the preset process parameters of the pulsed laser, the laser power of the pulsed laser is determined based on the thickness of the target layer and the property parameters of the target layer material, property parameters of the target layer material at least include the hardness, stiffness, tension and adhesion of the material of the front electrode layer.”
In a similar art, Heiss discloses a method for producing a thin-film solar module [0001].
The combination of Kim, Sasaki, and Heiss discloses: wherein the method for producing the protrusions (Kim: micro barriers 200) comprises:
applying a pulsed laser (Heiss: pulsed laser beam, [0023]) in combination with preset process parameters (Heiss: selected energy, pulse duration, wavelength, [0023], [0036]) on the upper surface of the target layer (Heiss: front electrode layer 7, FIG. 2) by emitting the pulsed laser from above the target layer (Heiss: direct irradiation, [0023]),
so that the pulsed laser pulses pass through the target layer and reach the interface of two adjacent layers (Heiss: laser passes through 7 and reaches interface 11, [0023]) among multiple layers under the target layer (Heiss: multiple layers including absorber layer 6, back electrode layer 5, substrate 2 under front electrode layer 7), thus melting and evaporating part of the layer material at the interface (Heiss: vaporization of absorber layer 6) between the two adjacent layers to form upward protrusions (Heiss: vaporization of absorber layer 6 such that front electrode layer bulges, [0023], [0071]), the preset process parameters of the pulsed laser meet the following condition:
the wavelength of the pulsed laser is larger than the optical band gap of the target layer but smaller than the optical band gap of at least one of the multiple layers under the target layer, [0066].
Heiss [0066] discloses the wavelength of the laser pulses was in the range from 400 nm to 1500 nm such that the directly irradiated front electrode layer 7 could be passed through by the laser pulses and the energy of the laser pulses for ablation of the front electrode layer 7 could be absorbed by the absorber layer 6. It would have been obvious to select the wavelength relative to the optical band gaps of the respective layers to achieve the desired transmission and absorption.
among the preset process parameters of the pulsed laser, the laser power of the pulsed laser is determined based on the thickness of the target layer and the property parameters of the target layer material, property parameters of the target layer material at least include the hardness, stiffness, tension and adhesion of the material of the front electrode layer, [0035], [0071].
Heiss [0035], [0071] discloses selecting the energy of the laser pulses such that at least one protrusion of the front electrode layer 7 is produced and the energy of the laser pulses is selected such that the trench depth within the absorber layer 6 is a specified portion of the layer thickness. It would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the process parameters of the pulsed laser based on thickness and property parameters including hardness, stiffness, tension, and adhesion of the front electrode layer in order to obtain the desired properties of the protrusions.
Heiss discloses that a method as taught enables a precise and efficient production of protrusions [0023]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kim and Sasaki’s method in order to improve precision and efficiency as disclosed by Heiss [0023].
Conclusion
/Krishna J. Palaniswamy/
Examiner, Art Unit 2899
/Brent A. Fairbanks/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2899