Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/09/2025 is being
considered by the examiner. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37
CFR 1.97.
Claim Interpretation
The claims 1, 8 and 9 in this application are given their broadest reasonable
interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification
as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable
interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is
limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked.
three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
for “means” that is a generic placeholder (also called a nonce term or a nonstructural
term having no specific structural meaning) for performing the claimed
function;
language, typically, but not always linked by the transition word “for” (e.g.,
“means for”) or another linking word or phrase, such as “configured to” or “so
that”; and
structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
rebuttable presumption that the claim limitation is to be treated in accordance with 35
U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim
limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites sufficient structure, material, or
acts to entirely perform the recited function.
presumption that the claim limitation is not to be treated in accordance with 35 U.S.C.
112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. The presumption that the claim
limitation is not interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph, is rebutted when the claim limitation recites function without reciting
sufficient structure, material or acts to entirely perform the recited function.
being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph,
except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this
application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under
35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise
indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word
“means, “but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder
that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform
the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
• “generation unit” and “control unit” in claim 1-9
Examiner notes that the specification does disclose in paragraph [0020] that
“the generation unit is configured to generate the communication signal by inverting a signal level each time the time period based on the plurality of count values elapses” and in paragraph [0025] that “The communication system 100 includes an electronic control unit (ECU) 10 as a control unit, and at least one ICs 21 and 22 as a communication partner 20”. The above suggests that “generation unit” and “control unit” have sufficient structure in specification and in Fig 1.
This/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA
35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed
function, and equivalents thereof. If applicant does not intend to have this/these
limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth
paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being
interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by
reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient
showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed
function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35
U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.’
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being
anticipated by Vreeland et al. (US 20150236869 A1) hereinafter Vreeland.
Regarding claim 1, Vreeland teaches A communication system for a control unit to transmit a communication signal including an address identifying at least one communication partner to the at least one communication partner, the system comprising: (See Fig 1 and 7, paragraph [0080], illustrates communication 700 between controller 20 acting as a master and slave communication partner using point-to-point protocol which may include address)
a memory that is provided in the control unit and stores a setting value for generating the communication signal; and (See Fig 1 and 9, paragraph [0068] and [0086], illustrates sensors or communications partners may store sensor data measurements or setting values in internal memory or registers)
a generation unit that is provided in the control unit and configured to generate the communication signal according to the setting value stored in the memory, (See Fig 1 and 4, paragraph [0068] and [0069], illustrates a signal transmission 171 is generated from the controller 20 to sensors or communication partners where at 210 storing or latching sensor data and at 214 rising edge stored sensor data are transmitted)
wherein the setting value includes a plurality of count values for defining a time period, and (See Fig 1 and 7, paragraph [0081], illustrates each sensor or communication partner may have a unique count value of pulses determining unique duration or time period)
the generation unit is configured to generate the communication signal by inverting a signal level each time the time period based on the plurality of count values elapses. (See Fig 1 and 14, paragraph [0101] and [0102], illustrates controller 20 can send a reset command or signal 1402 which maybe high or low when count values reaches or exceeds number of sensors active. In other words, reset command is inverted once the count value elapses)
Regarding claim 3, Vreeland teaches The communication system according to claim 2, further comprising a direct memory access controller configured to sequentially read the plurality of count values included in the setting value from the memory, and set the count value in the timer circuit. (See Fig 2 and 4, paragraph [0070], illustrates each sensor or communication partner 14a-14N responds in turn (sequentially) based on a previously configured order with SENT signals providing stored sensor data which may include count values in memory or register)
Regarding claim 4, Vreeland teaches The communication
system according to claim 1, wherein in the control unit, the plurality of count values are counted in sequence by a repetitive process that is repeatedly executed at a constant control cycle, and (See Fig 1 and 4, paragraph [0070] and [0071] and [0071], illustrates previously configured order stored in the EEPROM is used with serial signal transmission sequentially from sensors or communication partners where each sensor may have unique count values)
by the repetitive process, the generation unit is configured to generate the communication signal by inverting the signal level in response to completion of counting, among the plurality of count values, a count value that is a count target. (See Fig 1 and 14, paragraph [0101] and [0102], illustrates controller 20 can send a reset command or signal 1402 which maybe high or low when count values reaches or exceeds number of sensors active. In other words, reset command is inverted once the count value elapses)
Regarding claim 5, Vreeland teaches The communication
system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication partner includes a plurality of communication partners, (See Fig 1, paragraph [0046], illustrates communication control system may include plurality of sensors or communication partners)
the control unit is configured to transmit, to the plurality of communication partners, the communication signal including the address identifying the communication partner, (See Fig 1 and 7, paragraph [0080], illustrates controller 20 may act as master and select a sensor acting as slave or communication partner to transmit communication signal SENT which includes address)
the memory stores a plurality of setting values corresponding to the plurality of communication partners, and (See Fig 1, 2 and 4, paragraph [0070], illustrates sensors or communication partners 14a-14N stores sensor data at falling edge in latch 86 which is similar to memory)
the generation unit is configured to select, among the plurality of setting values, a setting value corresponding to, among the plurality of communication partners, a communication partner with which communication is performed. (See Fig 1 and 6A, paragraph [0078], illustrates controller 20 may select a sensor or communication partner which sends SENT message to trigger one of the selected sensors 14a-14N to respond by sending its data in a SENT message 336)
Regarding claim 6, Vreeland teaches The communication
system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one communication partner is a sensor device configured to detect a predetermined physical quantity, and (See Fig 1, paragraph [0039], illustrates communication system 10 includes sensors 14a-14N configured to sense a parameter associated with an article 18 that may be controlled by a control module 12)
the control unit is used to acquire a sensor signal from the sensor device identified by the address included in the communication signal. (See Fig 1, paragraph [0039], illustrates system controller 20 receives sensor data which may include address from sensors 14a-14N in response to a trigger signal 24)
Regarding claim 7, Vreeland teaches The communication system according to claim 1, wherein the communication system is applied to communication between the control unit of an electric power steering system in a vehicle and a plurality of sensor devices. (See Fig 1, paragraph [0042], illustrates the control module 12 may be a vehicle power steering module, in which case the article 18 may be a magnet associated with the steering unit and sensors 14a-14N are used to sense data from magnetic unit)
Regarding claim 8, Vreeland teaches A communication method for a control unit to transmit a communication signal including an address identifying at least one communication partner to the at least one communication partner, the method comprising: (See Fig 1 and 7, paragraph [0038] and [0080], illustrates a method for sending data and communication 700 between controller 20 acting as a master and slave communication partner using point-to-point protocol which may include address)
reading a setting value stored in a memory of the control unit for generating the communication signal; and (See Fig 1, paragraph [0071], illustrates a read command is used to read sense data generated from sensors and are stored in EEPROM or memory)
causing a generation unit provided in the control unit to generate the communication signal according to the read setting value, (See Fig 1 and 4, paragraph [0068] and [0069], illustrates a signal transmission 171 is generated from the controller 20 to sensors or communication partners where at 210 storing or latching sensor data and at 214 rising edge stored sensor data are transmitted)
wherein the setting value includes a plurality of count values for defining a time period, and (See Fig 1 and 7, paragraph [0081], illustrates each sensor or communication partner may have a unique count value of pulses determining unique duration or time period)
the generation unit is configured to generate the communication signal by inverting a signal level each time the time period based on the plurality of count values elapses. (See Fig 1 and 14, paragraph [0101] and [0102], illustrates controller 20 can send a reset command or signal 1402 which maybe high or low when count values reaches or exceeds number of sensors active. In other words, reset command is inverted once the count value elapses)
Regarding claim 9, Vreeland teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a program executed by at least one processor (See Fig 1, paragraph [0043], illustrates Engine Control Unit (ECU) that includes a processor 30 for controlling various aspects of vehicle safety and operation)
for a control unit to transmit a communication signal including an address identifying at least one communication partner to the at least one communication partner, (See Fig 1 and 7, paragraph [0038] and [0080], illustrates a method for sending data and communication 700 between controller 20 acting as a master and slave communication partner using point-to-point protocol which may include address)
the program causing the at least one processor to: read a setting value stored in a memory of the control unit for generating the communication signal; and (See Fig 1, paragraph [0071], illustrates a read command is used to read sense data generated from sensors and are stored in EEPROM or memory)
generate the communication signal according to the read setting value, (See Fig 1 and 4, paragraph [0068] and [0069], illustrates a signal transmission 171 is generated from the controller 20 to sensors or communication partners where at 210 storing or latching sensor data and at 214 rising edge stored sensor data are transmitted)
wherein the setting value includes a plurality of count values for defining a time period, and (See Fig 1 and 7, paragraph [0081], illustrates each sensor or communication partner may have a unique count value of pulses determining unique duration or time period)
the communication signal is generated by inverting a signal level each time the time period based on the plurality of count values elapses. (See Fig 1 and 14, paragraph [0101] and [0102], illustrates controller 20 can send a reset command or signal 1402 which maybe high or low when count values reaches or exceeds number of sensors active. In other words, reset command is inverted once the count value elapses)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Vreeland in view of ITOU et al. (US 20200052874 A1) hereinafter ITOU.
Regarding claim 2, Vreeland teaches communication system with plurality of communication partners sensing data and transmitting data in claim 1. However, Vreeland does not explicitly teach The communication system according to claim 1, further comprising a timer circuit configured to operate to count the plurality of count values in sequence
wherein the generation unit is configured to generate the communication signal by inverting the signal level in response to completion of counting, among the plurality of count values, a count value that is a count target of the timer circuit
On the other hand, ITOU which also relates to communication system with
plurality of communication partners sensing data and transmitting data teaches The communication system according to claim 1, further comprising a timer circuit configured to operate to count the plurality of count values in sequence, (See Fig 7 and 9, paragraph [0089], illustrates receiving unit 700 may work as timer counter circuit to count the count value)
wherein the generation unit is configured to generate the communication signal by inverting the signal level in response to completion of counting, among the plurality of count values, a count value that is a count target of the timer circuit. (See Fig 7 and 9, paragraph [0089], illustrates at step S910 receiving unit 700 reads the time count value of the timer counter and at S915 calculates the number of counts from the initial value setting of the timer counter after the previous fall of the received signal)
Both Vreeland and ITOU relate to communication system with plurality of
communication partners sensing data and transmitting data (see Vreeland, abstract, and see ITOU, abstract, regarding doorbell communication system method).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time the
invention was effectively filed to combine Vreeland with ITOU by incorporating
communication system with plurality of communication partners sensing data and transmitting data, as taught by ITOU, to enable receiving unit 700 to work as timer counter circuit to count the count value and at step S910 receiving unit 700 to read the time count value of the timer counter and at S915 to calculate the number of counts from the initial value setting of the timer counter after the previous fall of the received signal. The combined system of Vreeland – ITOU allows a receiving apparatus to determine that a pulse that falls within an acceptable error range (e.g., ±20%) relative to a predetermined pulse width is a synchronization pulse indicating the starting location of a message, and receives data pulses with reference to the synchronization pulse as mentioned in paragraph [0006]. Therefore, the combination of
Vreeland - ITOU improves communication reliability. See ITOU, paragraph [0006].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to
applicant's disclosure.
a. Cadugan et al. (US 20150236876 A1) teaches a system includes a master component having a communication node; and a plurality of slave components. Each slave component has a bidirectional node. The slave components are configured to each store data in response to a trigger signal received at the bidirectional node from the communication node.
b. Takahashi et al. (US 20230199306 A1) teaches Communication devices and systems are disclosed. In one example, a communication device is configured to communicate with a communication partner device in accordance with a protocol including a first operation and a second operation. The first operation includes identification information of the communication partner device, write-instructing information, identification information of a first storage unit of the communication partner device, and data to be written in the first storage unit. The second operation follows the first operation and includes identification information of the communication partner device, write-instructing information, identification information of a second storage unit of the communication partner device, information indicating a number of the protocols, and a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) code used to detect an error in the protocol. The second storage unit is configured to store the CRC code and the information indicating the number of the protocols.
/S.K.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2132
/HOSAIN T ALAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2132