DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauer et al. (J. Therm Spray Tech 26, pp. 1423-33, 2017) in light of Sateesh et al. (Procedia Materials Science 5, pp. 772-779, 2014).
Claims 1 and 3: Mauer teaches an additive manufacturing method of forming a layer of a first material on a surface of a second material (Abst.; p. 1423), comprising the steps of: heating and accelerating an inert gas through a nozzle at supersonic speed (pp. 1423, 1425); inserting particles of the first material into the nozzle and directing the particles toward a turbine to deposit the particles thereon (p. 1423).
Mauer further explains that the particles are an Inconel alloy (Abst.) and that the process is an additive manufacturing process (p. 1423), but fails to expressly teach sintering. Sateesh teaches a process of additively manufacturing a coating of Inconel (Abst.; p. 773) and explains that once the Inconel particles are deposited on the substrate, the particles are sintered using a laser (i.e. claimed a coherent electromagnetic beam from a laser) in order to form the desired layer of Inconel on the substrate surface (Abst.). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, because both Mauer and Sateesh are directed to methods of additive manufacturing of Inconel and because Sateesh explains that sintering allows for the formation of cohesive layers, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have included the laser sintering step of Sateesh in the process of Mauer with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 4: Mauer teaches that the Inconel used for additive manufacturing is Inconel 718 which is suitable for repairing turbine components (p. 1423) but fails to teach Inconel 625. Sateesh also teaches an Inconel suitable for repairing turbines (p. 773) and explains that Inconel 625 is a suitable form of Inconel (Abst.). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected Inconel 625 in Mauer with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauer and Sateesh in light of Liou et al. (US 2015/0360289).
Claim 2: Mauer teaches that the deposition substrate can be metal (p. 1425), but fails to teach a metal with a lower melting point that the Inconel. Liou teaches a process of additive manufacturing Inconel (Abst.; ¶ 0017) and explains that suitable surfaces for depositing include either metals or plastics (i.e. a material with a lower melting point than Inconel) (¶ 0017). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected plastic as the surface for depositing in Mauer with the predictable expectation of success.
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauer and Sateesh in light of Kottilingam et al. (US 2018/0311728).
Claims 5 and 6: Mauer does not discuss the use of a refractive high entropy alloy. Like Mauer, Kottilingam teaches a process of additive manufacturing for turbine components (¶¶ 0001-0002) and explains that suitable materials include Inconel 625 or 718 or alloys including combinations of tungsten, tantalum, niobium and molybdenum (¶ 0013). The simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected WTaNbMo in place of Inconel as the material in Mauer with the predictable expectation of success.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mauer and Sateesh in light of Cheng et al. (US 2015/0130118).
Claim 7: Sateesh fails to teach pulsing the laser. Cheng teaches an additive manufacturing process of sintering metal powder and explains that the laser can be either continuous or pulsed (¶ 0005). Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima facie obvious. MPEP § 2143. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of filing to have selected pulsing the laser with the predictable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A VETERE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712