DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: “71a and 71b (fig. 9A)”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Interpretation
If claim limitations in this application that use the word "means" (or "step"), they are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, if claim limitations in this application that do not use the word "means" (or "step"), they are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, line 2, the limitation, “a hydraulic power assembly tool” lacks clear antecedent basis because it is unclear whether this power assembly is referring to a power assembly as claimed in claim 1 or to a different power assembly.
Regarding claim 5, line 3, the limitation, “a handle” lacks clear antecedent basis because it is unclear whether this handle is referring to a handle as claimed in claim 1, line 1 or to a different handle. The disclosure discloses the tensioning tool has only one handle.
Regarding claim 6, there is no antecedent basis for each of the limitations, “the buckle member” and “the crimper” in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sikora et al. (hereinafter “Sikora” (US 2014/0007781A1).
Regarding claim 1, Sikora discloses a hand-held strap tensioning tool (see the drawing) comprising:
a handle (see a portion between a trigger (35) and the battery (18) in fig. 1),
a strap tensioning tool assembly (50) operatively coupled (via a coupling tool 25) to the handle (fig. 1), the strap tensioning tool assembly configured to perform one or more strap tensioning operations (see para. 55), and
a power assembly (16 and 18) operatively coupled to both the handle and the strap tensioning tool assembly (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, the hand-held tensioning tool of claim 1, wherein the power assembly includes a power drill (16) configured to drive the strap tensioning tool assembly (50) and a power source (18) configured to power the power drill (16) (para. 48), the power source (18) including one or more of a battery (see “battery pack 18” in para. 47-48), electricity from a power grid, a fuel cell-based system, compressed air, or an internal combustion engine.
Regarding claim 3, the hand-held tensioning tool of claim 2, wherein the power drill (16) includes the handle (see a portion between a trigger (35) and the battery (18) in fig. 1), a trigger (35), and a gear driven rotary motor (fig. 12 and see para. 48, which discloses the drill 16 can be Milwaukee drill, which inherently includes a gear driven rotary motor) configured to rotate a drive screw (105), and the strap tensioning tool assembly includes an elongate housing (1 or 101) extending from the power drill (16) (fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 4, the claim is allowed because the prior art of record, considered alone or combination, neither anticipated nor renders obvious “a carriage including a threaded lumen in which the screw drive is positioned, the carriage including a strap chamber configured to receive and maintain a free end portion of the strap therein, the strap chamber including one or more springs positioned on a first portion of an inner surface of the strap chamber, the one or more springs configured to force a wedge member against a second portion of the inner surface of the strap chamber with the free end portion of the strap therebetween”, in combination with all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 5-6 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2019/0276171A1, US 9,085,070, US 8,561,531, and WO 2015/162171 A1 disclose hand held strap tensioning tools, each connected to a power drill.
DE 30 51 122 C2 and EP 0007164 A1 disclose hand held strapping tools, each having a hydraulic power assembly, a handle, and crimping jaws. None of them discloses a base frame upon which a hydraulic ratchet, hydraulic hose fittings, a solenoid, a handle, and a power source are secured thereto.
JIMMY T. NGUYEN
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/JIMMY T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3725