DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are presented for examination
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4-6, and 9-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vishal (US Patent Application 20180004838) in the view of Mchael (US Patent Application 20150220308).
As per claim 1, Vishal a method [400, fig. 4] comprising:
receiving, through an application configuration manager executed by one or more processors, a property update request for a property [0016, 0030, fig. 4 step 405, quest form the client to download a data entity. For example, the provided expanded set of data entities may be provided based on an initial request from the application to the development platform to provide specified data].
determining, by the adaptive configuration manager, authentication and authorization of the property update request [0026, 0031, fig. 5, as pointed out, the request is received and authenticated. For example, the authentication request is received together with an initial data request for the mobile application. The requests are received from a user interface of the mobile application to determine authentication for consuming data services provided through the development platform].
Vishal does not teach determining, by the adaptive configuration manager, if a registered application programming interface ("API") associated with the property is active;
determining, by the adaptive configuration manager through a call to an adaptive case management application operatively connected to a registration database, if the property associated with the property update is registered;
updating, by the adaptive configuration manager, a property value of the property in a property database operatively connected to the adaptive configuration manager;
refreshing, by the adaptive configuration manager, the property in the client application.
However, Miller teaches determining, by the adaptive configuration manager, if a registered application programming interface ("API") associated with the property is active [0039-0040, 0071, state information of the device and the application can be identified. For example, the framework provides a deployment service to allow the discovery, registration and activation of all the extensible components, such as application logic, device drivers and north bound web endpoints. The framework defines deployment unit formats, provides validation, lookup, versioning control and other suitable functions. Applications components can be packaged as deployment units and can be installed and activated in a running instance.
determining, by the adaptive configuration manager through a call to an adaptive case management application operatively connected to a registration database, if the property associated with the property update is registered [0098, 0169, service update and stored in the database. For example, deployment service can register the discovery driver through discovery service 136, can check feature licenses through license service 132, can obtain resource definitions and device drivers through resource service 620 and can perform other suitable functions. The task and workflow definitions are then provided to task manager 530, which performs task management for the tasks associated with the application].
updating, by the adaptive configuration manager, a property value of the property in a property database operatively connected to the adaptive configuration manager [0169, update data to the database. For example, the workflow engine can process the updated definition and store the new definition with a new version (version 2) in the database].
refreshing, by the adaptive configuration manager, the property in the client application [0190, as pointed out when the resource or configuration is updated, the driver can be refreshed for restarted. For example, driver bundles which depend on the resource model can receive a refresh (stop/start) event when the resource model bundle is removed due to their dependency on the resource model classes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Vishal to include the method of Michael in order to allow the updating of the property and perform refresh of the configuration. Doing so will enable software component to update dynamically without the need to restart the whole system.
As per claim 2, Vishal teaches the property update request is initiated by a server providing an update to a type of application that includes the client application [0016, as pointed out the request is received at the client from the server. For example, the requests that may be received at the client UI 120 may be requests for initial data download. The initial data download requests may be requests for expanded data related to a defined data entity].
As per claim 4, Visha does not teach teaches the determination that the registered API is active by a state change in the registered API captured by the adaptive configuration manager.
However, Michael teaches the determination that the registered API is active by a state change in the registered API captured by the adaptive configuration manager [0114, as pointed out, the system management software then needs to be periodically upgraded to expose new queries or APIs to catch up with changes, otherwise, it will be outdated quickly].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Vishal to include the method of Michael to perform API changes of configuration.
As per claim 5, Vishal does not teach the determination that the registered API is active by a periodic check performed by the adaptive configuration manager invoking the API's endpoint.
However, Michael teaches the determination that the registered API is active by a periodic check performed by the adaptive configuration manager invoking the API's endpoint [0098, 0114, check feature licenses in order to perform configuration update].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Vishal to include the method of Michael to perform API changes of configuration.
As per claim 6, Vishal does not teach property value is a feature flag that the adaptive configuration manager updates without restarting the client application.
However ,Michael teaches property value is a feature flag that the adaptive configuration manager updates without restarting the client application [0018, configuration update without restarting the system].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Vishal to include the method of Michael to allow the application to be updated without restarting the application or system.
As per claim 9, Vishal does not teach the property value is a configuration setting adjusted by the adaptive configuration manager for different user segments without code changes by switching between feature versions of the client application.
However, Michael teaches the property value is a configuration setting adjusted by the adaptive configuration manager for different user segments without code changes by switching between feature versions of the client application [0071, 0083 specific application components can be updated where specific application can be updated for specific domain].
As per claim 10, Vishal teaches the property value is a connection timeout that the adaptive configuration manager changes without a restart of the client application [0017, custom configuration update with respect to latency].
As per claim 11, Vishal teaches property value is an increase of a logging verbosity for debugging issues in production that the adaptive configuration manager changes without restarting the application [0017, custom configuration update with respect to latency].
As per claim 12, Vishal teaches the property value is a third-party API key that the adaptive configuration manager updates if an external service changes the third-party API key or endpoint [0027, as pointed out, the attributes may include a user identifier (ID) for the user 305, a user globally unique ID, details for the scenario of requesting data, a record identification key, a time stamp for the data exchange, a time stamp for the synchronization of the connection server 370 and the back-end application server 395, etc. For a subsequent request, such as a delta expand request for data received from the application “App_1” 315, the connection server 370 may identify that the request is a request for a delta data associated with some updates on the data at the back-end application server 395].
As per claim 13, Vishal teaches property value is a business rule that the adaptive configuration manager changes without modifying code or restarting services [0018, 0030, as pointed out, the business objects metadata 160 includes business rules and logic for execution of scenarios related to requesting local data from the DB 137].
As per claim 14, Vishal does not teach refreshing occurs by the adaptive configuration storing one or more or each property in a database and exposing the property via the adaptive configuration manager's API.
However, Michael teaches refreshing occurs by the adaptive configuration storing one or more or each property in a database and exposing the property via the adaptive configuration manager's API 0190, as pointed out when the resource or configuration is updated, the driver can be refreshed for restarted. For example, driver bundles which depend on the resource model can receive a refresh (stop/start) event when the resource model bundle is removed due to their dependency on the resource model classes].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Vishal to include the method of Michael in order to allow the updating of the property and perform refresh of the configuration. Doing so will enable software components to update dynamically without the need to restart the whole system.
As per claim 15, Vishal does not teach refreshing is accomplished by a custom-built library being periodically invoked by the adaptive configuration manager's API, wherein the adaptive configuration manager fetches an updated property from updating a current environment with the updated property.
However, Michael teaches teach refreshing is accomplished by a custom-built library being periodically invoked by the adaptive configuration manager's API, wherein the adaptive configuration manager fetches an updated property from updating a current environment with the updated property [0190, when there is a property update, then there is a refresh of the application or driver].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Vishal to include the method of Michael in order to allow the updating of the property and perform refresh of the configuration. Doing so will enable software components to update dynamically without the need to restart the whole system.
Claims 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vishal (US Patent Application 20180004838) in the view of Mchael (US Patent Application 20150220308) in the view of Bram (US Patent Application 20060179058).
As per claim 3, Vishal and Michael do not teach the property update request is initiated by a server monitoring application determining that the property value of the client application exceeds a threshold.
However, Bram teaches the property update request is initiated by a server monitoring application determining that the property value of the client application exceeds a threshold [0111, as pointed out if a rule or threshold is exceeded, the system can disable the configuration update].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the designs of Vishal and Michael to include the method of Bram to allow rule checking when performing configuration update.
As pe claim 8, Vishal and Michael do not teach the adaptive configuration manager changes a threshold of the client application to reduce allowed requests per second. However, Bram teaches the adaptive configuration manager changes a threshold of the client application to reduce allowed requests per second [0100-0101, as pointed out based on threshold counter, adjustment cam be made].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the designs of Vishal and Michael to include the method of Bram to allow rule checking when performing configuration update and use counter threshold to make determination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Srivastava (US 20240078140) teaches application programming interface (API) enabler for update APIS.
Want (US 20090198796) teaches layered architectures for remote dynamic administration of distributed client configuration
/VOLVICK DEROSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2176