DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR-20150012335A (hereafter KR ‘335).
With respect to claim 1, KR ‘335 teaches a head assembly (110) for mounting conductive balls (B), which mounts the conductive balls in mounting recesses in a mask (30) while being transported with respect to an upper surface of the mask in which the mounting recesses are formed (figures), the head assembly comprising: a head body (figures 2-5, and 7a-f) comprising a first wall member and a second wall member (longitudinal walls of the ball guide unit 110) which are arranged to face each other and extend in parallel to each other (figures 2-5, and 7a-f), a first connection member and a second connection member (transverse walls of the ball guide unit 110) which connect both ends of the first wall member to both ends of the second wall member (figures 2-5, and 7a-f), a central chamber (the inner empty space chamber of 110) formed as an empty space inside by being surrounded by the first wall member, the second wall member, the first connection member, and the second connection member so that the conductive balls stay therein (figures 2-5, and 7a-f), and a cover member (112) covering an upper side of the central chamber (figures 2-5, and 7a-f); a first main nozzle (120/124/126 on the left side of 110) extending along a lengthwise direction of the first wall member on a lower portion of the first wall member so as to eject a compressed gas to a lower side in the central chamber; and a second main nozzle (120/124/126 on the right side of 110) extending along a lengthwise direction of the second wall member on a lower portion of the second wall member so as to eject a compressed gas (sprayed nitrogen gas) to a lower side in the second wall member (figures 2-5 and 7a-f; and the machine translation).
With respect to claim 2, KR ‘335 teaches wherein the first main nozzle is formed to be inclined in a direction closer to the central chamber toward the lower side of the first wall member, and the second main nozzle is formed to be inclined in a direction closer to the central chamber toward the lower portion of the second wall member (figures 2-4 and 7a-f; and the machine translation wherein it is taught that: [t]he gas ejection port 126 may be formed in the horizontal direction, It may be formed slightly downwardly inclined).
With respect to claim 3, KR ‘335 teaches wherein the first main nozzle is formed to be in communication with a lower surface of the first wall member, and the second main nozzle is formed to be in communication with a lower surface of the second wall member (figures 2-4 and 7a-f; and the machine translation).
With respect to claim 4, KR ‘335 teaches wherein the first main nozzle is formed to be in communication with a wall surface of the first wall member toward the central chamber, and the second main nozzle is formed to be in communication with a wall surface of the second wall member toward the central chamber (figures 2-4 and 7a-f; and the machine translation).
With respect to claim 5, KR ‘335 teaches wherein the first main nozzle includes a plurality of first guide recesses arranged in a direction, in which the first wall member extends, so as to guide a ejecting direction of the compressed gas, and the second main nozzle includes a plurality of second guide recesses arranged in a direction, in which the second wall member extends, so as to guide a ejecting direction of the compressed gas (the machine translation wherein it is taught that: [t]he gas jet opening 126 may be formed in a plurality of holes communicating with the diffusion channel 124, or may be formed in a slit shape. It is preferable that the gas ejection openings 126 are arranged symmetrically with respect to the center of the housing 112 in any form).
With respect to claim 6, KR ‘335 teaches wherein the plurality of first guide recesses of the first main nozzle are formed to be inclined so as to proceed in the direction in which the first wall member extends, toward the lower side thereof, and the plurality of second guide recesses of the second main nozzle are formed to be inclined so as to proceed in the direction in which the second wall member extends, toward the lower side thereof (figures 2-4 and 7a-f; and the machine translation wherein it is taught that: [t]he gas ejection port 126 may be formed in the horizontal direction, It may be formed slightly downwardly inclined).
With respect to claim 8, KR ‘335 teaches wherein the plurality of first guide recesses in the first main nozzle and the plurality of second guide recesses of the second main nozzle are formed to be inclined in opposite directions to each other (since the air is directed into the chamber of KR ‘335 the inclined ports would intrinsically be facing in opposite directions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR ‘335 as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Odashima et al. (US 5,279,045) (hereafter Odashima).
With respect to claim 9, KR ‘335 teaches spraying gas from first and second nozzles (see citation above), but does not teach a controller configured to control a pressure of compressed gas supplied to each of the first main nozzle and the second main nozzle.
However, Odashima teaches an air pressure controller (figures 10a-d; column 7, lines 28-48; and column 11, lines 24-39).
At the time of filing the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the air pressure controller of Odashima in the apparatus of KR ‘335 in order to obtain the desired air flow and conductive ball movement.
With respect to claim 10, KR ‘335 teaches wherein the first main nozzle includes a plurality of first guide recesses (holes 126) arranged in a direction, in which the first wall member extends, so as to guide a ejecting direction of the compressed gas, and the second main nozzle includes a plurality of second guide recesses (holes 126) arranged in a direction, in which the second wall member extends, so as to guide a ejecting direction of the compressed gas (the machine translation wherein it is stated that: [t]he gas jet opening 126 may be formed in a plurality of holes communicating with the diffusion channel 124).
With respect to claim 11, KR ‘335 teaches wherein the plurality of first guide recesses of the first main nozzle are formed to be inclined so as to proceed in the direction in which the first wall member extends, toward the lower side thereof, and the plurality of second guide recesses of the second main nozzle are formed to be inclined so as to proceed in the direction in which the second wall member extends, toward the lower side thereof (figures 2-4 and 7a-f; and the machine translation wherein it is taught that: [t]he gas ejection port 126 may be formed in the horizontal direction, It may be formed slightly downwardly inclined).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-16 of U.S. Patent No. 12,325,088B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are generally broader than the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,325,088B2 and thus the instant claims are envisaged by the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,325,088B2.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 12-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims and the obvious double patenting rejection is overcome.
Conclusion
/KILEY S STONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735