DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/12/2025 and 4/24/2026 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 6, 9, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rangwala (US 2016/0318511 A1).
For claims 1, 6 and 10, Rangwala discloses a vehicle control system for a subject vehicle comprising: a group of sensors configured to: sense a distance between the subject vehicle and a rear vehicle traveling on a rear side relative to the subject vehicle and a vehicle speed of the rear vehicle; a distance between the subject vehicle and an oncoming vehicle traveling in a neighbouring lane to a driving lane of the subject vehicle and a vehicle speed of the oncoming vehicle (Para. 0003, 0028, 0040, where group of sensors monitoring the situations, distances and locations of other vehicles and objects); and
a lateral localization of the subject vehicle in the driving lane (Para. 0037, where lateral positions of the vehicles are being monitored and modified); and a processor, by executing a program stored in a non-transitory storage medium, configured to process (i) the distance between the subject vehicle and the rear vehicle and the vehicle speed of the rear vehicle sensed by the group of sensors (Para. 0003, 0028, 0040), (ii) the distance between the subject vehicle and the oncoming vehicle and the vehicle speed of the oncoming vehicle sensed by the group of sensors (Para. 0038, 0048, where the locations and speed of the surrounding objects are monitored), and (iii) the lateral localization of the subject vehicle sensed by the group of sensors for generating an output signal to reduce a vehicle speed of the subject vehicle or steer the subject vehicle to a side of the driving lane of the subject vehicle such that the rear vehicle passes the subject vehicle while avoiding a collision between the subject vehicle and the rear vehicle (Para. 0037, 0038, where the vehicle adjusting the speed and/or lateral position in order to prevent the overtaking vehicle to collide with the upcoming vehicle).
For claim 2, Rangwala discloses the method for controlling the subject vehicle according to claim 1, wherein determining the driving situation of the subject vehicle includes determining the vehicle speed of the subject vehicle and/or a position of the subject vehicle in a driving lane in which the subject vehicle is traveling (Para. 0030, 0035, 0037, 0038, where the speed and positions associated with the subject vehicle are monitored).
For claim 9, Rangwala discloses the vehicle control system for the subject vehicle according claim 6, wherein the processing means is configured to consider a length of the subject vehicle (Para. 0050, where the length of the truck, which is the subject vehicle is considered in the control operation).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
For claim(s) 3 and 7, Rangwala discloses determining a vehicle speed of the rear vehicle, a distance between the rear vehicle and the subject vehicle, a vehicle speed of an oncoming vehicle as the oncoming traffic and a distance between the oncoming vehicle and the subject vehicle (Para. 0035, 0038, 0048), but does not teach, describe and/or suggest all the limitations as presented in the claim including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as a whole and specifically determining a time to collision between the oncoming vehicle and the rear vehicle based on the vehicle speed of the rear vehicle, the distance between the rear vehicle and the subject vehicle, the vehicle speed of the oncoming vehicle, and the distance between the oncoming vehicle and the subject vehicle; determining a driving distance of the subject vehicle to a collision point between the oncoming vehicle and the rear vehicle based on the time to collision between the oncoming vehicle and the rear vehicle, the vehicle speed of the rear vehicle, and the vehicle speed of the oncoming vehicle; and determining a time to collision of the subject vehicle to the collision point between the oncoming vehicle and the rear vehicle based on the driving distance of the subject vehicle to the collision point between the oncoming vehicle and the rear vehicle and the vehicle speed of the subject vehicle.
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 8 depend(s) on claims 3 and 7 respectively, requiring all the depended limitations/features would also be allowable.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(US 2013/0060401 A1) Hahne discloses vehicle overtaking scenario where the vehicles coordinate to avoid collision between oncoming and overtaking vehicles.
/SZE-HON KONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657