DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . Pursuant to communications filed on 12 May 2025, this is a First Action Non-Final Rejection on the Merits. Claims 1-20 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 26 February 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-15 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anvari (US 2006/0149418 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Anvari teaches a robotic system comprising:
a table (Figures 1-4a, table 10; at least as in paragraph 0019-0021, specifically regarding “operating bed or table 10”);
an arm base (Figures 1-4a, base station(s) 16) physically coupled with the table (Figures 1-4a; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “Each of the arms 12 is releasably secured to a respective base station 16 which can travel along a track system 18 positioned at the side of the table 10. It is noted that the base stations 16 are securely mounted to the track system 18, such that the base stations 16 can be remotely controlled by a console 20,34 via hand controllers 332 (see FIG. 4) to reposition the base stations 16 at various locations along the rails of the track system 18 (as specified by an operator 22 of the console 20,34)”);
a robotic arm (Figures 1-4a, arm(s) 12) physically coupled with the arm base, the robotic arm configured to support and move a tool (Figures 3-4a, tool(s) 123) (Figures 1-4a; at least as in paragraphs 0019-0021, 0023 and 0025-0027, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “Each of the arms 12 is releasably secured to a respective base station 16 which can travel along a track system 18 positioned at the side of the table 10. It is noted that the base stations 16 are securely mounted to the track system 18, such that the base stations 16 can be remotely controlled by a console 20,34 via hand controllers 332 (see FIG. 4) to reposition the base stations 16 at various locations along the rails of the track system 18 (as specified by an operator 22 of the console 20,34)”);
an actuator system (Figure 4a, positioner mechanism, actuator(s) 114; at least as in paragraphs 0021-0022, 0025 and 0034, specifically as in at least paragraph 0021, wherein “Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means”, and further as in at least paragraph 0022, wherein “the table 10 can also have table actuators 114 to provide for automated positioning/orientation of the table top 118”); and
one or more processors (Figures 4-4c, controller unit 35) comprising circuitry, the one or more processors communicatively coupled to the robotic system (Figures 4-4c & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021 and 0032-0036, specifically as in at least paragraph 0035, wherein “the consoles 20, 34 interact with a controller unit 35 to coordinate operation of the various arms 12”), the one or more processors configured to:
receive input data, the input data comprising: procedure data, equipment data, pose data, operator data, obstacle data, patient data, or port data (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022, 0026 and 0032-0036, specifically at least as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the software 200 uses the user interface 302 for providing operator 22 input to the software 200 and associated managers 202,204,208,210,212,216... The database manager 210 provides for such as but not limited to persistence and access of image data to/from an image database 206, data related to the functioning/set-up of various elements of the robotic system 112 (e.g. arms 12, base station 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, actuators 114, and various position/orientation sensor data, and for providing data as needed to the position and orientation manager 204. The control manager 208, in cooperation with the hand controllers 332 and position/orientation information, provides for monitoring the operation of the arms 12, base stations 16, actuators 114, imaging equipment (e.g. camera 110), and tools 123. The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure. The dynamic configuration can be automatic, semi-automatic, and/or manual operator 22 intervention. A display manager 216 of the software 200 coordinates/renders the calculated position/orientation information and the patient/tool images on the display 334 (see FIG. 4) of the user interface 302, as directed by the operator 22”);
determine a desired position or orientation using the input data, the desired position or orientation being of a part of the robotic system selected from the group consisting of: a portion of the table or a portion of the arm base (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022 and 0032-0036, at least as in paragraph 0021, wherein, “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204” and further as in at least paragraph 0034, wherein “The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure.”); and
operate the actuator system to move the part of the robotic system toward the desired position or orientation (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022 and 0032-0036, at least as in paragraph 0019, wherein “it is recognised that the selectable position capability of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 adds another motion degree-of-freedom to each arm 12 that can be used by a controller unit 35 (see FIG. 4) to increase the workspace of the arm 12 and/or maintain the distal arm 12 position/orientation while moving the arm 12 out of the way of other arms 12 or another device 38”, and further as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the software 200 uses the user interface 302 for providing operator 22 input to the software 200 and associated managers 202,204,208,210,212,216... The database manager 210 provides for such as but not limited to persistence and access of image data to/from an image database 206, data related to the functioning/set-up of various elements of the robotic system 112 (e.g. arms 12, base station 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, actuators 114, and various position/orientation sensor data, and for providing data as needed to the position and orientation manager 204. The control manager 208, in cooperation with the hand controllers 332 and position/orientation information, provides for monitoring the operation of the arms 12, base stations 16, actuators 114, imaging equipment (e.g. camera 110), and tools 123. The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure. The dynamic configuration can be automatic, semi-automatic, and/or manual operator 22 intervention. A display manager 216 of the software 200 coordinates/renders the calculated position/orientation information and the patient/tool images on the display 334 (see FIG. 4) of the user interface 302, as directed by the operator 22”).
Regarding claim 2, Anvari further teaches wherein: the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the table; the portion of the table comprises a surface of the table; and operating the actuator system to move the part of the robotic system comprises: driving the actuator system to move the surface of the table relative to a base of the table (Figure 3; at least as in paragraph 0022, wherein “the table 10 can also have table actuators 114 to provide for automated positioning/orientation of the table top 118, such as but not limited to top 118 tilting and/or top 118 segmentation”).
Regarding claim 3, Anvari further teaches wherein: the arm base is physically coupled to a rail (Figures 1-3, track system 18) of the table (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraph 0019, wherein “It is noted that the base stations 16 are securely mounted to the track system 18, such that the base stations 16 can be remotely controlled by a console 20,34 via hand controllers 332 (see FIG. 4) to reposition the base stations 16 at various locations along the rails of the track system 18 (as specified by an operator 22 of the console 20,34)”).
Regarding claim 4, Anvari further teaches wherein: the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the arm base, and operating the actuator system to move the part of the robotic system comprises: driving the actuator system to move the arm base along the rail (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, wherein “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204 (see FIG. 7). The base stations 16 can be releasably secured in selected positions along the track system 18, so as to provide a stable and secure base from which to operate the attached arms 12. Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means”).
Regarding claim 5, Anvari further teaches wherein driving the actuator system to move the arm base along the rail comprises: operating the actuator system to cause the robotic arm to back drive the arm base (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, wherein “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204 (see FIG. 7). The base stations 16 can be releasably secured in selected positions along the track system 18, so as to provide a stable and secure base from which to operate the attached arms 12. Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means…sensors 106 (see FIG. 4) provide position/orientation information of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 as feedback to the manager 204, so as to help guide the operator 22 during surgery”).
Regarding claim 6, Anvari further teaches wherein the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the arm base, and wherein the one or more processors are further configured to: determine that a position or orientation of a distal portion of the robotic arm is maintained while driving the actuator system to move the portion of the arm base (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 & 0021, wherein “it is recognised that the selectable position capability of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 adds another motion degree-of-freedom to each arm 12 that can be used by a controller unit 35 (see FIG. 4) to increase the workspace of the arm 12 and/or maintain the distal arm 12 position/orientation while moving the arm 12 out of the way of other arms 12 or another device 38”).
Regarding claim 7, Anvari further teaches wherein: the input data comprises the obstacle data, and the obstacle data includes a location of an end of the rail (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 & 0021, wherein “The base stations 16 can be releasably secured in selected positions along the track system 18, so as to provide a stable and secure base from which to operate the attached arms 12. Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means, as is known in the art, or can be accomplished manually as desired. In either case (actuated or manual), sensors 106 (see FIG. 4) provide position/orientation information of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 as feedback to the manager 204, so as to help guide the operator 22 during surgery. The position sensors 106 also provide data to the controller computer 130 to facilitate automatic potential collision detection and avoidance between arms 12”).
Regarding claim 10, Anvari further teaches wherein the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the arm base, and wherein operating the actuator system to move the part of the robotic system comprises: driving the actuator system to cause the robotic arm to back drive the arm base (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, wherein “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204 (see FIG. 7). The base stations 16 can be releasably secured in selected positions along the track system 18, so as to provide a stable and secure base from which to operate the attached arms 12. Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means…sensors 106 (see FIG. 4) provide position/orientation information of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 as feedback to the manager 204, so as to help guide the operator 22 during surgery”).
Regarding claim 11, Anvari teaches a method of operating a robotic system comprising (i) a table (Figures 1-4a, table 10; at least as in paragraph 0019-0021, specifically regarding “operating bed or table 10”), (ii) an arm base (Figures 1-4a, base station(s) 16) physically coupled with the table (Figures 1-4a; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “Each of the arms 12 is releasably secured to a respective base station 16 which can travel along a track system 18 positioned at the side of the table 10. It is noted that the base stations 16 are securely mounted to the track system 18, such that the base stations 16 can be remotely controlled by a console 20,34 via hand controllers 332 (see FIG. 4) to reposition the base stations 16 at various locations along the rails of the track system 18 (as specified by an operator 22 of the console 20,34)”), (iii) a robotic arm (Figures 1-4a, arm(s) 12) physically coupled with the arm base, the robotic arm configured to support and move a tool (Figures 3-4a, tool(s) 123) (Figures 1-4a; at least as in paragraphs 0019-0021, 0023 and 0025-0027, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “Each of the arms 12 is releasably secured to a respective base station 16 which can travel along a track system 18 positioned at the side of the table 10. It is noted that the base stations 16 are securely mounted to the track system 18, such that the base stations 16 can be remotely controlled by a console 20,34 via hand controllers 332 (see FIG. 4) to reposition the base stations 16 at various locations along the rails of the track system 18 (as specified by an operator 22 of the console 20,34)”), (iv) an actuator system (Figure 4a, positioner mechanism, actuator(s) 114; at least as in paragraphs 0021-0022, 0025 and 0034, specifically as in at least paragraph 0021, wherein “Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means”, and further as in at least paragraph 0022, wherein “the table 10 can also have table actuators 114 to provide for automated positioning/orientation of the table top 118”), and (v) one or more processors comprising circuitry (Figures 4-4c, controller unit 35), the method comprising:
receiving, via the one or more processors, input data, the input data comprising: procedure data, equipment data, pose data, operator data, obstacle data, patient data, or port data (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022, 0026 and 0032-0036, specifically at least as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the software 200 uses the user interface 302 for providing operator 22 input to the software 200 and associated managers 202,204,208,210,212,216... The database manager 210 provides for such as but not limited to persistence and access of image data to/from an image database 206, data related to the functioning/set-up of various elements of the robotic system 112 (e.g. arms 12, base station 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, actuators 114, and various position/orientation sensor data, and for providing data as needed to the position and orientation manager 204. The control manager 208, in cooperation with the hand controllers 332 and position/orientation information, provides for monitoring the operation of the arms 12, base stations 16, actuators 114, imaging equipment (e.g. camera 110), and tools 123. The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure. The dynamic configuration can be automatic, semi-automatic, and/or manual operator 22 intervention. A display manager 216 of the software 200 coordinates/renders the calculated position/orientation information and the patient/tool images on the display 334 (see FIG. 4) of the user interface 302, as directed by the operator 22”);
determining, via the one or more processors, a desired position or orientation using the input data, the desired position or orientation being of a part of the robotic system selected from the group consisting of: a portion of the table or a portion of the arm base (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022 and 0032-0036, at least as in paragraph 0021, wherein, “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204” and further as in at least paragraph 0034, wherein “The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure.”); and
operating, via the one or more processors, the actuator system to move the part of the robotic system toward the desired position or orientation (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022 and 0032-0036, at least as in paragraph 0019, wherein “it is recognised that the selectable position capability of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 adds another motion degree-of-freedom to each arm 12 that can be used by a controller unit 35 (see FIG. 4) to increase the workspace of the arm 12 and/or maintain the distal arm 12 position/orientation while moving the arm 12 out of the way of other arms 12 or another device 38”, and further as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the software 200 uses the user interface 302 for providing operator 22 input to the software 200 and associated managers 202,204,208,210,212,216... The database manager 210 provides for such as but not limited to persistence and access of image data to/from an image database 206, data related to the functioning/set-up of various elements of the robotic system 112 (e.g. arms 12, base station 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, actuators 114, and various position/orientation sensor data, and for providing data as needed to the position and orientation manager 204. The control manager 208, in cooperation with the hand controllers 332 and position/orientation information, provides for monitoring the operation of the arms 12, base stations 16, actuators 114, imaging equipment (e.g. camera 110), and tools 123. The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure. The dynamic configuration can be automatic, semi-automatic, and/or manual operator 22 intervention. A display manager 216 of the software 200 coordinates/renders the calculated position/orientation information and the patient/tool images on the display 334 (see FIG. 4) of the user interface 302, as directed by the operator 22”).
Regarding claim 12, Anvari further teaches wherein: the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the table; the portion of the table comprises a surface of the table; and operating the actuator system to move the part of the robotic system comprises: driving the actuator system to move the surface of the table relative to a base of the table (Figure 3; at least as in paragraph 0022, wherein “the table 10 can also have table actuators 114 to provide for automated positioning/orientation of the table top 118, such as but not limited to top 118 tilting and/or top 118 segmentation”).
Regarding claim 13, Anvari further teaches wherein: the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the arm base; the arm base is physically coupled to a rail of the table; and operating the actuator system to move the portion of the arm base comprises: driving the actuator system to move the arm base along the rail (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, wherein “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204 (see FIG. 7). The base stations 16 can be releasably secured in selected positions along the track system 18, so as to provide a stable and secure base from which to operate the attached arms 12. Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means…sensors 106 (see FIG. 4) provide position/orientation information of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 as feedback to the manager 204, so as to help guide the operator 22 during surgery”).
Regarding claim 14, Anvari further teaches wherein: the input data comprises the obstacle data, and the obstacle data includes a location of an end of the rail (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 & 0021, wherein “The base stations 16 can be releasably secured in selected positions along the track system 18, so as to provide a stable and secure base from which to operate the attached arms 12. Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means, as is known in the art, or can be accomplished manually as desired. In either case (actuated or manual), sensors 106 (see FIG. 4) provide position/orientation information of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 as feedback to the manager 204, so as to help guide the operator 22 during surgery. The position sensors 106 also provide data to the controller computer 130 to facilitate automatic potential collision detection and avoidance between arms 12”).
Regarding claim 15, Anvari further teaches wherein the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the arm base, and wherein the method further comprises: determining, via the one or more processors, that a position or orientation of a distal portion of the robotic arm is maintained while driving the actuator system to move the portion of the arm base (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 & 0021, wherein “it is recognised that the selectable position capability of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 adds another motion degree-of-freedom to each arm 12 that can be used by a controller unit 35 (see FIG. 4) to increase the workspace of the arm 12 and/or maintain the distal arm 12 position/orientation while moving the arm 12 out of the way of other arms 12 or another device 38”).
Regarding claim 18, Anvari further teaches wherein the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the arm base, and wherein operating the actuator system to move the part of the robotic system comprises: driving the actuator system to cause the robotic arm to back drive the arm base (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, wherein “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204 (see FIG. 7). The base stations 16 can be releasably secured in selected positions along the track system 18, so as to provide a stable and secure base from which to operate the attached arms 12. Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means…sensors 106 (see FIG. 4) provide position/orientation information of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 as feedback to the manager 204, so as to help guide the operator 22 during surgery”).
Regarding claim 19, Anvari teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium comprising a plurality of machine-readable instructions which when executed by one or more processors (Figures 4-4c, controller unit 35) associated with a robotic system comprising (i) a table (Figures 1-4a, table 10; at least as in paragraph 0019-0021, specifically regarding “operating bed or table 10”), (ii) an arm base (Figures 1-4a, base station(s) 16) physically coupled with the table (Figures 1-4a; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “Each of the arms 12 is releasably secured to a respective base station 16 which can travel along a track system 18 positioned at the side of the table 10. It is noted that the base stations 16 are securely mounted to the track system 18, such that the base stations 16 can be remotely controlled by a console 20,34 via hand controllers 332 (see FIG. 4) to reposition the base stations 16 at various locations along the rails of the track system 18 (as specified by an operator 22 of the console 20,34)”), (iii) a robotic arm (Figures 1-4a, arm(s) 12) physically coupled with the arm base, the robotic arm configured to support and move a tool (Figures 3-4a, tool(s) 123) (Figures 1-4a; at least as in paragraphs 0019-0021, 0023 and 0025-0027, specifically as in at least paragraph 0019, wherein “Each of the arms 12 is releasably secured to a respective base station 16 which can travel along a track system 18 positioned at the side of the table 10. It is noted that the base stations 16 are securely mounted to the track system 18, such that the base stations 16 can be remotely controlled by a console 20,34 via hand controllers 332 (see FIG. 4) to reposition the base stations 16 at various locations along the rails of the track system 18 (as specified by an operator 22 of the console 20,34)”), and (iv) an actuator system (Figure 4a, positioner mechanism, actuator(s) 114; at least as in paragraphs 0021-0022, 0025 and 0034, specifically as in at least paragraph 0021, wherein “Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means”, and further as in at least paragraph 0022, wherein “the table 10 can also have table actuators 114 to provide for automated positioning/orientation of the table top 118”), are adapted to cause the one or more processors to perform a method comprising:
receiving input data, the input data comprising: procedure data, equipment data, pose data, operator data, obstacle data, patient data, or port data (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022, 0026 and 0032-0036, specifically at least as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the software 200 uses the user interface 302 for providing operator 22 input to the software 200 and associated managers 202,204,208,210,212,216... The database manager 210 provides for such as but not limited to persistence and access of image data to/from an image database 206, data related to the functioning/set-up of various elements of the robotic system 112 (e.g. arms 12, base station 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, actuators 114, and various position/orientation sensor data, and for providing data as needed to the position and orientation manager 204. The control manager 208, in cooperation with the hand controllers 332 and position/orientation information, provides for monitoring the operation of the arms 12, base stations 16, actuators 114, imaging equipment (e.g. camera 110), and tools 123. The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure. The dynamic configuration can be automatic, semi-automatic, and/or manual operator 22 intervention. A display manager 216 of the software 200 coordinates/renders the calculated position/orientation information and the patient/tool images on the display 334 (see FIG. 4) of the user interface 302, as directed by the operator 22”);
determining a desired position or orientation using the input data, the desired position or orientation being of a part of the robotic system selected from the group consisting of: a portion of the table or a portion of the arm base (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022 and 0032-0036, at least as in paragraph 0021, wherein, “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204” and further as in at least paragraph 0034, wherein “The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure.”); and
operating the actuator system to move the part of the robotic system toward the desired position or orientation (Figures 1-4a & 7; at least as in paragraphs 0019, 0021-0022 and 0032-0036, at least as in paragraph 0019, wherein “it is recognised that the selectable position capability of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 adds another motion degree-of-freedom to each arm 12 that can be used by a controller unit 35 (see FIG. 4) to increase the workspace of the arm 12 and/or maintain the distal arm 12 position/orientation while moving the arm 12 out of the way of other arms 12 or another device 38”, and further as in paragraph 0034, wherein “the software 200 uses the user interface 302 for providing operator 22 input to the software 200 and associated managers 202,204,208,210,212,216... The database manager 210 provides for such as but not limited to persistence and access of image data to/from an image database 206, data related to the functioning/set-up of various elements of the robotic system 112 (e.g. arms 12, base station 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, actuators 114, and various position/orientation sensor data, and for providing data as needed to the position and orientation manager 204. The control manager 208, in cooperation with the hand controllers 332 and position/orientation information, provides for monitoring the operation of the arms 12, base stations 16, actuators 114, imaging equipment (e.g. camera 110), and tools 123. The position/orientation manager 204 is responsible for such as but not limited to receiving sensor data from the data manager 210 for calculating the position and orientation of the respective arm 12 components, tools 123, base stations 16, patient 24, and tabletop 118. The calculated position/orientation information is made available to such as but not limited to the actuation of the hand controllers 332, the display manager 216, and the control manager 208. The configuration manager 212 provides for such as but not limited to dynamic configuration of selected arms 12, base stations 16, controllers 320,322,328,330, and the table top 118 comprising the desired robotic system 112 setup for a particular surgical procedure. The dynamic configuration can be automatic, semi-automatic, and/or manual operator 22 intervention. A display manager 216 of the software 200 coordinates/renders the calculated position/orientation information and the patient/tool images on the display 334 (see FIG. 4) of the user interface 302, as directed by the operator 22”).
Regarding claim 20, Anvari further teaches wherein: the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the table, the portion of the table comprises a surface of the table, and moving the part of the robotic system comprises: driving the actuator system to move the surface of the table relative to a base of the table (Figure 3; at least as in paragraph 0022, wherein “the table 10 can also have table actuators 114 to provide for automated positioning/orientation of the table top 118, such as but not limited to top 118 tilting and/or top 118 segmentation”); or the part of the robotic system comprises the portion of the arm base, the arm base is physically coupled to a rail of the table, and moving the portion of the arm base comprises: driving the actuator system to move the arm base along the rail (Figures 1-3; at least as in paragraphs 0019 and 0021, wherein “The base stations 16 are configured to independently move or otherwise traverse (as identified by reference numeral 102) along the track system 18, so as to enable the console 20,34 to monitor or otherwise direct the placement of the attached arms 12 with respect to the desired quadrant 100 through position/orientation manager 204 (see FIG. 7). The base stations 16 can be releasably secured in selected positions along the track system 18, so as to provide a stable and secure base from which to operate the attached arms 12. Movement of the base stations 16 along the track system 18 can be done via motorized/actuated means…sensors 106 (see FIG. 4) provide position/orientation information of the base stations 16 on the track system 18 as feedback to the manager 204, so as to help guide the operator 22 during surgery”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-9 and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anvari (US 2006/0149418 A1) in view of Sela et al (US 2017/0265943 A1, hereinafter Sela).
The teachings of Anvari have been discussed above.
Regarding claims 8-9 and 16-17, Anvari is silent specifically wherein: “the procedure data includes an extent of a workspace for a procedure to be implemented with the robotic system or a boundary of a workspace for the procedure” (as in claims 8 & 16); and “wherein: the input data comprises the port data, and the port data includes a location of an access port through which the tool is insertable to perform a procedure on a subject” (as in claims 9 & 17). Sela, in the same field of endeavor of surgical robotic systems configured to perform one or more surgical procedures, teaches wherein: “the procedure data includes an extent of a workspace for a procedure to be implemented with the robotic system or a boundary of a workspace for the procedure”; and “wherein: the input data comprises the port data, and the port data includes a location of an access port through which the tool is insertable to perform a procedure on a subject” (at least as in paragraph 0126, wherein “during a surgical procedure, such as a port-base procedure, brain displacement or deformation can be predicted (modeled) with accurate simulation, using information, such as a priori tissue stiffness information, geometric information relating to the introducer and port, a biomechanical model of tissue deformation, (using the skull as a boundary condition) and using pre-operative imaging data. This model is updateable by using real-time imaging information as the introducer is positioned inside of the head, and more accurately, by real-time imaging being performed using data obtained via the in-situ port for obtaining and updating intra-operative data. For instance, real-time ultrasound imaging, being performed on the tip of the port, can detect tissue stiffness inside the brain. This information is useable instead of the a priori predicted stiffness and can provide a better estimate of tissue movement. In addition, ultrasound can be used to identify sulci patterns as the port is being introduced. These sulci patterns can be matched to the pre-operative sulcus patterns; and a deformed pre-operative model can be generated based on this information”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the instant invention to further include with Anvari’s surgical procedure information, Sela’s surgical input information including at least port information and boundary/model information relating to said surgical procedures, since Sela teaches wherein such information provides more efficient operation/control of said surgical system through rapid registrations of the surgical device/tool based on the type of surgical procedure, thereby providing a more robust surgical robotic system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached PTO-892 – Notice of References Cited form. Examiner additionally notes the following prior art references, in the same field of endeavor as the instant invention, and also reads on several of the currently provided claim limitations above;
US 2016/0199142 A1, issued to Griffiths et al, which is directed towards a telesurgical robotic system for performing minimally invasive robotic surgery procedures.
US 2016/0157942 A1, issued to Gombert et al, which is directed towards a surgical robotic system that is provided on one or more rails of a surgical table for performing surgical procedures.
/JONATHAN L SAMPLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3657