DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Korean parent Application No. KR10-2024-0092285 filed on July 12, 2024.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 12, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9, 10 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kwak et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2014/0049464 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Kwak discloses a display device (Figs. 1-22, Abstract, Summary, generally) comprising:
a display panel comprising pixels in a display area having a folding area (Fig. 19, display, #110; See next Figs. 2-6, Detailed Description, [0104-0138], “Specifically, the driver 112 may apply driving voltages to a plurality of pixels constituting the display panel 113… The flexible display apparatus 100 may be bent by applying an external pressure. The bending may include general bending, folding, rolling, and the like. The general bending means a state in which the flexible display apparatus is bent. The folding means a state in which the flexible display apparatus is folded.”);
a data driver configured to provide data signals to the pixels (Fig. 19, image processor, #133; Detailed Description, [0227-0230]); and
a main driver (Fig. 19, main CPU, #132; Detailed Description, [0226-0230]) configured to:
correct image data based on a structural deformation amount of the folding area (Figs. 22-27, S2230, Detailed Description, [0255-0277], “When it is determined that flexible display apparatus is folded in operation S2220 at operation S2220-Y, the flexible display apparatus edits the content to be edited displayed in the first split screen according to the editing condition displayed in the second split screen at operation S2230. The method will be described later with reference to the accompanying drawings.”);
provide the corrected image data to the data driver (Detailed Description, [0226-0230], “The main CPU 132 controls the image processor 133 to construct a content reproduction screen according to a command included in the content reproduction program.”; See next Detailed Description, [02552-0278], inter alia, “Subsequently, when a folding and a folding releasing manipulation is performed, the web page 251 displayed in the original screen may be displayed in one of screens split on the basis of a folding line, and a main web page 252 may be displayed in the other split screen.”);
control driving timing of the data driver (Detailed Description, [0226-0230], “The image processor 133 may include a decoder, renderer, a scaler, and the like. Thus, the image processor 133 performs decoding on stored content, performs rendering on decoded content data to construct a frame, and performs scaling on the frame so that a size of the constructed frame matches a screen size of the display 110. The image processor 133 provides the processed frame to the display 110 to be displayed.”; frames inherently involves timing of driving of the image);
divide the display area into the folding area, a first flat display area, and a second flat display area (Figs. 22-27, Detailed Description, [0255-0277], “When it is determined that flexible display apparatus is folded in operation S2220 at operation S2220-Y, the flexible display apparatus edits the content to be edited displayed in the first split screen according to the editing condition displayed in the second split screen at operation S2230. The method will be described later with reference to the accompanying drawings.”; See also Detailed Description, [0170], “he folding region is divided into two folding regions on the basis of a folding line. The folding line may be referred to as a line connecting points having the largest resistance values in the folding region.”);
align the image data (Figs. 22-27, Detailed Description, [0255-0277], inter alia, “Further, when the region in which the previous web page 262 is displayed is folded in half, the previous web page 262 originally displayed on the basis of the folding line and a previous web page 263 which is a web page prior to the previous web page 262 may be displayed….Subsequently, when a folding and a folding releasing manipulation is performed, image content 271 displayed in the left screen may be added to a content entry 272-1 of the message creation screen 272 displayed in the right screen.”); and
provide the image data to the data driver (Detailed Description, [0226-0230], “The main CPU 132 controls the image processor 133 to construct a content reproduction screen according to a command included in the content reproduction program….the network interface 134 is configured to be connected to external apparatuses through a network. When a web browser program is executed, the main CPU 132 accesses a web server through the network interface 134. When web page data is received from the web server, the main CPU 132 controls the image processor 133 to construct a web page screen and displays the constructed web page screen in the display 110”).
Regarding claim 2, Kwak discloses wherein the main driver is further configured to:
divide the display area into the folding area, a first folding peripheral area, a second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, and the second flat display area (See Detailed Description, [0255-0278], particularly Fig. 24 and elements #242/243 are peripheral areas); and
generate the corrected image data by correcting the image data corresponding to at least one of the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, the second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, or the second flat display area based on the structural deformation amount of the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, or the second folding peripheral area (See Detailed Description, [0255-0278], “As illustrated in FIG. 24, it is assumed that the flexible display apparatus 100 is folded in half in a state in which original content 241 provided through a specific program is displayed on one region of a screen of the flexible display apparatus 100. Here, program elements 241 and 242 provided through the specific program may be displayed together with the original content.”; See also Figs. 28-29).
Regarding claim 3, Kwak further discloses wherein the main driver comprises:
a block data aligner configured to divide the display area into the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, the second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, and the second flat display area, and configured to divide and align the corrected image data at least every frame into block data (Detailed Description, [0142-0168], “The method of defining and dividing the folding region and folding line is the same as the method of defining and dividing the bending region and the bending line”; See also Detailed Description. [0286-0290] and Figs. 32-33);
a deformation calculator configured to count a number of folding times and folding duration of the display panel, and configured to calculate structural deformation amount information for the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, or the second folding peripheral area (Detailed Description, [0072], “The controller 130 may perform different functions according to a location of a bending region, a degree of bending, a bending direction, bending speed, the number of bending, and the like. “);
a compensation data detector configured to detect compensation data corresponding to the structural deformation amount information (See Figs. 19-27, particular Fig. 22, and Detailed Description, [0255-0278], “] When it is determined that flexible display apparatus is folded in operation S2220 at operation S2220-Y, the flexible display apparatus edits the content to be edited displayed in the first split screen according to the editing condition displayed in the second split screen at operation S2230. The method will be described later with reference to the accompanying drawings.”); and
a data corrector configured to calculate, using a calculation formula, the block data according to the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, the second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, and the second flat display area with the compensation data, and configured to generate the image data (Figs. 19-27; Detailed Description, [0226-0230], “The image processor 133 may include a decoder, renderer, a scaler, and the like. Thus, the image processor 133 performs decoding on stored content, performs rendering on decoded content data to construct a frame, and performs scaling on the frame so that a size of the constructed frame matches a screen size of the display 110. The image processor 133 provides the processed frame to the display 110 to be displayed.”).
Regarding claim 4, Kwak further discloses wherein the main driver comprises:
a frame data aligner configured to align the image data at least every frame, and configured to provide the image data to the block data aligner (Detailed Description, [0226-0230]);
a compensation data storage configured to store the compensation data according to the structural deformation amount as one or more experimental values (Detailed Description, [0202-0225], “he storage unit 140 may store a variety of programs or data related to an operation of the flexible display apparatus 100, setting information set by the user, system operating software, a variety of application programs, information for functions corresponding content of a user' manipulation, and the like.”; Fig. 18-27, storage unit, #140);
an image display checker configured to check whether an image is displayed in a folding state, and configured to output an image display signal or an image non-display signal (Detailed Description, [0243], Fig. 18-27; sensor, #120); and
a correction data aligner configured to combine the corrected image data to generate, and configured to output the corrected image data at least every frame (Detailed Description, [0226-0230]).
Regarding claim 5, Kwak discloses wherein the block data aligner is configured to divide the display area into the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, the second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, and the second flat display area, according to area information (Detailed Description, [0142-0168], “The method of defining and dividing the folding region and folding line is the same as the method of defining and dividing the bending region and the bending line”; See also Detailed Description. [0286-0290] and Figs. 32-33).
Regarding claim 6, Kwak wherein the deformation calculator is configured to count the number of the folding times and the folding duration, is configured to calculate the structural deformation amount information based on the number of the folding times and the folding duration, and is configured to provide the structural deformation amount information to the compensation data detector (Detailed Description, [0072], “The controller 130 may perform different functions according to a location of a bending region, a degree of bending, a bending direction, bending speed, the number of bending, and the like. “).
Regarding claim 9, Kwak discloses wherein, when an image is displayed in a folding state of the display panel, the compensation data detector is configured to detect the compensation data according to the structural deformation amount information calculated by the deformation calculator, and is configured to provide the compensation data to the data corrector (See Figs. 19-27, particular Fig. 22, and Detailed Description, [0255-0278], “] When it is determined that flexible display apparatus is folded in operation S2220 at operation S2220-Y, the flexible display apparatus edits the content to be edited displayed in the first split screen according to the editing condition displayed in the second split screen at operation S2230. The method will be described later with reference to the accompanying drawings.”), and
wherein the data corrector is configured to calculate the compensation data with the block data using the calculation formula, and is configured to generate the corrected image data (Figs. 19-27; Detailed Description, [0226-0230], “The image processor 133 may include a decoder, renderer, a scaler, and the like. Thus, the image processor 133 performs decoding on stored content, performs rendering on decoded content data to construct a frame, and performs scaling on the frame so that a size of the constructed frame matches a screen size of the display 110. The image processor 133 provides the processed frame to the display 110 to be displayed.”)..
Regarding claim 10, Kwak discloses wherein, when an image is not displayed in a folding state of the display panel, the compensation data detector is configured to detect the compensation data according to the structural deformation amount information calculated by the deformation calculator, and is configured to provide the compensation data to the data corrector (See Figs. 19-27, particular Fig. 22, and Detailed Description, [0255-0278], “] When it is determined that flexible display apparatus is folded in operation S2220 at operation S2220-Y, the flexible display apparatus edits the content to be edited displayed in the first split screen according to the editing condition displayed in the second split screen at operation S2230. The method will be described later with reference to the accompanying drawings.”; Examiner’s note—applies to both image being displayed or not displayed), and
wherein the data corrector is configured to calculate the block data with the compensation data using the calculation formula, and is configured to generate the corrected image data (Figs. 19-27; Detailed Description, [0226-0230], “The image processor 133 may include a decoder, renderer, a scaler, and the like. Thus, the image processor 133 performs decoding on stored content, performs rendering on decoded content data to construct a frame, and performs scaling on the frame so that a size of the constructed frame matches a screen size of the display 110. The image processor 133 provides the processed frame to the display 110 to be displayed.”).
Regarding claim 14, Kwak discloses a display device (Figs. 1-22, Abstract, Summary, generally) comprising:
a display panel comprising pixels in a display area having a folding area (Fig. 19, display, #110; See next Figs. 2-6, Detailed Description, [0104-0138], “Specifically, the driver 112 may apply driving voltages to a plurality of pixels constituting the display panel 113… The flexible display apparatus 100 may be bent by applying an external pressure. The bending may include general bending, folding, rolling, and the like. The general bending means a state in which the flexible display apparatus is bent. The folding means a state in which the flexible display apparatus is folded.”);
a data driver configured to provide data signals to the pixels (Fig. 19, image processor, #133; Detailed Description, [0227-0230]); and
a gate driver configured to provide gate signals to the pixels (See Figs. 1-18 generally, driver, #112, Detailed Description, [0105], “The controller 130 applies an electrical signal to a gate of each transistor to allow a pixel cell connected to the transistor to emit light.”; it also is inherent a display device would have a gate driver to the pixels)
a touch sensor on a front surface of the display panel for detecting a user touch (Fig. 1-5, Detailed Description, [0063][0180], sensor, #120; See also Figs. 18 touch sensor, #121);
a touch driver configured to detect a touch position and a touch movement position for a touch-sensing area of the touch sensor, and configured to generate touch coordinate data (Figs. 1-18, controller, #130; Detailed Description, [0198], “The sensor 120 may also detect a manipulation in which the user touches a screen of the display 110 in addition to the bending.. Therefore, when the user touches the screen, upper and lower plates at the touched point are in contact with each other and an electrical signal is transferred to the controller 130. The controller 130 recognizes the touched point using a coordinate of the electrode to which the electrical signal is transferred. The touch sensing method has been known in various cited references, and thus specific description thereof will be omitted.”); and
a main driver (Fig. 19, main CPU, #132; Detailed Description, [0226-0230]) configured to:
control driving timing of the data driver (Detailed Description, [0226-0230], “The image processor 133 may include a decoder, renderer, a scaler, and the like. Thus, the image processor 133 performs decoding on stored content, performs rendering on decoded content data to construct a frame, and performs scaling on the frame so that a size of the constructed frame matches a screen size of the display 110. The image processor 133 provides the processed frame to the display 110 to be displayed.”; frames inherently involves timing of driving of the image);
divide the display area into the folding area, a first folding peripheral area, a second folding peripheral area, a first flat display area, and a second flat display area (See Detailed Description, [0255-0278], particularly Fig. 24 and elements #242/243 are peripheral areas);
generate corrected image data by correcting externally supplied image data corresponding to at least one of the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, the second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, or the second flat display area according to a structural deformation amount of the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, or the second folding peripheral area (See Detailed Description, [0255-0278], “As illustrated in FIG. 24, it is assumed that the flexible display apparatus 100 is folded in half in a state in which original content 241 provided through a specific program is displayed on one region of a screen of the flexible display apparatus 100. Here, program elements 241 and 242 provided through the specific program may be displayed together with the original content.”; See also Figs. 28-29); and
provide the corrected image data to the data driver (Detailed Description, [0226-0230], “The main CPU 132 controls the image processor 133 to construct a content reproduction screen according to a command included in the content reproduction program….the network interface 134 is configured to be connected to external apparatuses through a network. When a web browser program is executed, the main CPU 132 accesses a web server through the network interface 134. When web page data is received from the web server, the main CPU 132 controls the image processor 133 to construct a web page screen and displays the constructed web page screen in the display 110”).
Regarding claim 15, this is met by the rejection to claim 2.
Regarding claim 16, Kwak disclose an electronic device comprising a display device (Figs. 1-40, Abstract, Summary, generally) comprising the elements of claim 1. Thus, claim 16 is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwak in view of Bhageria et al., United States Patent Application Publication No. US 2017/0358252 A1.
Regarding claim 7, Kwak discloses every element of claim 7 and further discloses
wherein the compensation data corresponds to the structural deformation amount information (See Figs. 19-27, particular Fig. 22, and Detailed Description, [0255-0278], “When it is determined that flexible display apparatus is folded in operation S2220 at operation S2220-Y, the flexible display apparatus edits the content to be edited displayed in the first split screen according to the editing condition displayed in the second split screen at operation S2230. The method will be described later with reference to the accompanying drawings.”).
Kwak does not disclose wherein the compensation data comprises compensation grayscale values or compensation luminance values for the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, the second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, or the second flat display area.
Bhageria, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a display (Figs. 1-5, generally) wherein the compensation data comprises compensation grayscale values or compensation luminance values for the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, the second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, or the second flat display area (Detailed Description, [0034-0041], “Similarly, illumination sensors (Sensors 132) installed on display 130 may track the direction, intensity and amount of light on display 130. The illumination sensors may allow bend recommendation program 124 to determine the direction of the incoming light as well as the direction of the reflected light. Therefore, based on the exemplary sensors 132, bend recommendation program 124 may determine if the incoming light is reflecting off display 130's surface towards the user's eye…Bend recommendation program 124, may adjust the color contrast of display 130 to improve readability of content. For example, bend recommendation program 124 may determine an appropriate color contrast to display content on display 130. Based on sensors 132, bend recommendation program 124 may determine a content specific contrast to improve readability on display 130. For example, content may be displayed in dark portion with appropriate color contrast for text based on ambient and incoming light, in relation to the user's viewing angle.”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary in the art to have modified the compensation algorithm of Kwak to include the teachings of Bhageria in such a way to provide wherein the compensation data comprises compensation grayscale values or compensation luminance values for the folding area, the first folding peripheral area, the second folding peripheral area, the first flat display area, or the second flat display area. The motivation to combine these arts is to improve display quality based on lighting conditions for readability (See Bhageria, Detailed Description, [0041]). The fact that Kwak and Bhageria both disclose foldable display devices, makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 8, Kwak in combination with Bhageria discloses every element of claim 7 and
Bhageria further discloses wherein the compensation grayscale values or the compensation luminance values are stored in a gradually variable form proportional to the structural deformation amount (Bhageria, Detailed Description, [0034-0041], “Bend recommendation program 124 may realign content on the transparent flexible display, based upon a detected bend in the display, if the bend obstructs or covers a portion of content. In an exemplary embodiment, content may be re-aligned, shifted, and/or adjusted on display 130, adapting to the bend or curvature of the device to enable easy readability of content on display 130.”).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to have combined the references in the manner and rationale of claim 7.
Regrading claim 11, Kwak discloses every element of claim 3 but does not explicitly disclose
wherein the main driver further comprises:
a luminance/color temperature data input configured to detect luminance information or color temperature information of the display panel using a luminance sensor, and is configured to generate luminance data or color temperature data corresponding to the luminance information or the color temperature information; and
a compensation data modulator configured to extract an offset value inversely proportional to the luminance information or the color temperature information, and configured to modulate the compensation data using the offset value.
Bhageria, in a similar field of endeavor, discloses a display device wherein the main driver further comprises:
a luminance/color temperature data input configured to detect luminance information or color temperature information of the display panel using a luminance sensor, and is configured to generate luminance data or color temperature data corresponding to the luminance information or the color temperature information (Figs. 1-5, Detailed Description, [0027-0045], “For example sensors 132 may also include motion sensors, angular position sensors, linear position sensors, gyroscopes, etc. Sensors 132 may be any sensor technology known in the art with the ability to detect and measure external illumination and light, such as photo sensors, illumination sensors, and the like”); and
a compensation data modulator configured to extract an offset value inversely proportional to the luminance information or the color temperature information, and configured to modulate the compensation data using the offset value (Figs. 1-5 feedback module, #134; Detailed Description, [0028-0045], “For example, bend recommendation program 124 may turn the bent portion of display 130 opaque to restrict incoming light, allowing the user to read the content more easily. Bend recommendation program 124 may control the level of transparency of the bent portion of display 130 limiting incoming light. Accordingly, the bent portion of display 130 will be a determined dimmable level of opaque, thus blocking and/or absorbing incoming light. Further, the bent portion may provide a shadow on display 130, further providing improved content readability… Bend recommendation program 124, may adjust the color contrast of display 130 to improve readability of content. For example, bend recommendation program 124 may determine an appropriate color contrast to display content on display 130. Based on sensors 132, bend recommendation program 124 may determine a content specific contrast to improve readability on display 130. For example, content may be displayed in dark portion with appropriate color contrast for text based on ambient and incoming light, in relation to the user's viewing angle”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the main driver of Kwak to include the teachings of Bhageria to provide a luminance/color temperature data input configured to detect luminance information or color temperature information of the display panel using a luminance sensor, and is configured to generate luminance data or color temperature data corresponding to the luminance information or the color temperature information; and a compensation data modulator configured to extract an offset value inversely proportional to the luminance information or the color temperature information, and configured to modulate the compensation data using the offset value. The motivation to combine these arts is to improve display quality based on lighting conditions for readability (See Bhageria, Detailed Description, [0041]). The fact that Kwak and Bhageria both disclose foldable display devices, makes this combination more easily implemented.
Regarding claim 12, Kwak in combination with Bhageria discloses every element of claim 11 and
Bhageria discloses wherein the compensation data modulator is configured to extract the offset value that is inversely proportional to the luminance information, and is configured to modulate the compensation data by calculating the compensation data with the offset value using a calculation formula (Figs. 1-5 feedback module, #134; Detailed Description, [0028-0045], “For example, bend recommendation program 124 may turn the bent portion of display 130 opaque to restrict incoming light, allowing the user to read the content more easily. Bend recommendation program 124 may control the level of transparency of the bent portion of display 130 limiting incoming light. Accordingly, the bent portion of display 130 will be a determined dimmable level of opaque, thus blocking and/or absorbing incoming light. Further, the bent portion may provide a shadow on display 130, further providing improved content readability… Bend recommendation program 124, may adjust the color contrast of display 130 to improve readability of content. For example, bend recommendation program 124 may determine an appropriate color contrast to display content on display 130. Based on sensors 132, bend recommendation program 124 may determine a content specific contrast to improve readability on display 130. For example, content may be displayed in dark portion with appropriate color contrast for text based on ambient and incoming light, in relation to the user's viewing angle.. In an exemplary embodiment, content may be re-aligned, shifted, and/or adjusted on display 130, adapting to the bend or curvature of the device to enable easy readability of content on display 130. Further, bend recommendation program 124 may analyze the current information and content depicted on display 130, including, but not limited to, font, alignment, and images. Thereafter, to accommodate the new effective viewing area of display 130, bend recommendation program 124, may reduce and/or realign any text, images, video, etc.”).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to have combined the references in the manner and rationale of claim 11.
Regarding claim 13, Kwak in combination with Bhageria discloses every element of claim 12 and Kwak further discloses wherein, when an image is displayed in a folding state of the display panel, the compensation data modulator is configured to calculate the compensation data modulated by the compensation data modulator with the block data by the calculation formula (See Kwak, Figs. 19-27, particular Fig. 22, and Detailed Description, [0255-0278], “When it is determined that flexible display apparatus is folded in operation S2220 at operation S2220-Y, the flexible display apparatus edits the content to be edited displayed in the first split screen according to the editing condition displayed in the second split screen at operation S2230. The method will be described later with reference to the accompanying drawings.”; Examiner’s note—applies to both image being displayed or not displayed), and, and
wherein, when no image is displayed in the folding state of the display panel, the compensation data modulator is configured to calculate the modulated compensation data with the block data using the calculation formula (See Figs. 19-27, particular Fig. 22, and Detailed Description, [0255-0278], “] When it is determined that flexible display apparatus is folded in operation S2220 at operation S2220-Y, the flexible display apparatus edits the content to be edited displayed in the first split screen according to the editing condition displayed in the second split screen at operation S2230. The method will be described later with reference to the accompanying drawings.”; Examiner’s note—applies to both image being displayed or not displayed).
Thus, it would have remained obvious to have combined the references in the manner and rationale of claim 12.
Other References
The following references are also cited as pertinent but may not be specifically relied upon within this Action:
Bostick et al. (US 2017/0010689 A1)
Kim et al. (US 2013/0215041 A1)
Conclusion
/KWIN XIE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2626