DETAILED ACTION
In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Priority
2. Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Disposition of the Claims
3. The instant application was effectively filed on November 1, 2023, wherein claims 1-11 are currently pending and 12-20 are withdrawn from consideration as drawn to non-elected claims without traverse as disclosed in response to election/restriction requirement dated 04/08/2026.
Double Patenting
4. Claims 1-11 of present application No. 19206016 are rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, 10-12 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,247 B1 in view of Jeong et al. US PG-PUB 20140022187 A1 (hereinafter Jeong).
claims 1-7, 10-12 and 14 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,247 B1 fails to disclose “a pen comprising an RLC resonance circuit” and “wherein a magnetic field generated from the first connection line and the first sensing electrodes or from a first group electrode of the first sensing electrodes and a second group electrode of the first sensing electrodes charges the RLC resonance circuit of the pen” as recited in Claims 1-2 of present application No. 19206016.
However, in the same field of touch display, Jeong teaches a pen comprising an RLC resonance circuit (Para. [0084]-[0085]; passive stylus pen (not shown), in which a resonance circuit is provided and in the resonance circuit provided in the passive stylus pen as an RLC complex circuit),
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,247 B1 with the teachings as taught by Jeong, in order to hold a resonance frequency for a substantially uniform time to sense the contact position of the stylus pen Jeong-(Para. [0084]-[0085]).
Jeong also further teaches wherein a magnetic field generated from the first connection line and the first sensing electrodes or from a first group electrode of the first sensing electrodes and a second group electrode of the first sensing electrodes charges the RLC resonance circuit of the pen (Para. [0059], [0083]-[0085]; the first and second groups of coils 610 and 630 are selected to induce electromagnetism and to generate an electronic wave and A passive stylus pen (not shown), in which a resonance circuit is provided, is resonated by the electronic wave).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,299,247 B1 with the teachings as taught by Jeong, in order to hold a resonance frequency for a substantially uniform time to sense the contact position of the stylus pen Jeong-(Para. [0084]-[0085]).
This is an obviousness-type double patenting.
Claim Comparison Table #1
Claims of Present Application No. 19206016
Claims of Patent No. 12,299,247 B1
1. An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a main region and a peripheral region; and a pen comprising an RLC resonance circuit, wherein the sensor layer comprises: electrodes in the main region, and comprising: first sensing electrodes extending in a first direction; second sensing electrodes extending in a second direction crossing the first direction; first electrodes extending in the first direction, respectively overlapping the first sensing electrodes, and each of the first electrodes comprising a first end and a second end; and second electrodes extending in the second direction, and respectively overlapping the second sensing electrodes; a connection line in the peripheral region, and comprising: a first connection line connecting between the second end of each of at least two first electrodes of the first electrodes and a first pad; and a second connection line connecting between the first end of each of the at least two first electrodes and a second pad, wherein the second connection line comprises a first portion having a first line width and a second portion having a second line width, and wherein the first line width is different from the second line width.
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein a magnetic field generated from the first connection line and the first sensing electrodes or from a first group electrode of the first sensing electrodes and a second group electrode of the first sensing electrodes charges the RLC resonance circuit of the pen.
3. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second connection line comprises: a first line portion connected to the first end of each of the at least two first electrodes and facing the first pad in the first direction; a second line portion extending from the first line portion; and a third line portion extending from the first line portion, wherein the second line portion and the third line portion are facing each other in the second direction, and wherein at least one of the second line portion or the third line portion comprises the first portion and the second portion.
4. The electronic device of claim 3, wherein a resistance of the second line portion is less than a resistance of one of the first electrodes.
5. The electronic device of claim 3, wherein a resistance of the second line portion is substantially same to a resistance of the at least two first electrodes.
6. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the connection line further comprises: third connection lines in the peripheral region, and respectively connected to the first sensing electrodes; a first-first connection line connected to one of the second sensing electrodes; a first-second connection line connected to another one of the second sensing electrodes; a second-first connection line connected to first group electrodes of the second electrodes, and one of the first group electrodes overlapping the one of the second sensing electrodes; and a second-second connection line connected to second group electrodes of the second electrodes, and one of the second group electrodes overlapping the another one of the second sensing electrodes.
7. The electronic device of claim 6, wherein the first-second connection line is disposed between the second-first connection line and the main region in the second direction, and wherein the second-second connection line is disposed between the first-first connection line and the main region in the second direction.
8. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor layer further comprises a first insulating layer and a second insulating layer overlapping the main region and the peripheral region, wherein each of the first sensing electrodes comprises a first split electrode and a second split electrode that are above the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and that are spaced apart from each other in the second direction, and wherein each of the second sensing electrodes comprises sensing patterns above the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and bridge patterns between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and connected to the sensing patterns.
9. The electronic device of claim 8, the second connection line comprises a first layer portion between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and a second layer portion above the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and connected to the first layer portion.
10. The electronic device of claim 9, wherein the first layer portion has a larger line width than the second layer portion, the first layer portion has a larger line width than the first connection line.
11. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer in a first mode for sensing a touch input, or in a second mode for sensing an input of the pen.
1. An electronic device comprising: a sensor layer comprising a main region and a peripheral region, and comprising: electrodes in the main region, and comprising: first sensing electrodes extending in a first direction; second sensing electrodes extending in a second direction crossing the first direction; first electrodes extending in the first direction, respectively overlapping the first sensing electrodes, and each of the first electrodes comprising a first end and a second end; and second electrodes extending in the second direction, and respectively overlapping the second sensing electrodes; a connection line in the peripheral region, and comprising: a first connection line connecting between the second end of each of at least two first electrodes of the first electrodes and a first pad; and a second connection line connecting between the first end of each of the at least two first electrodes and a second pad, wherein the second connection line comprises a first portion having a first line width and a second portion having a second line width, wherein the first line width is larger than the second line width, wherein a first signal is applied to the first connection line when a second signal is applied to the second connection line at a first time, and wherein the first signal has a first phase and the second signal has a second phase opposite to the first phase.
2. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the second connection line comprises: a first line portion connected to the first end of each of the at least two first electrodes and facing the first pad in the first direction; a second line portion extending from the first line portion; and a third line portion extending from the first line portion, wherein the second line portion and the third line portion are facing each other in the second direction, and wherein at least one of the second line portion or the third line portion comprises the first portion and the second portion.
3. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein a resistance of the second line portion is less than a resistance of one of the first electrodes.
4. The electronic device of claim 2, wherein a resistance of the second line portion is substantially same to a resistance of the at least two first electrodes.
5. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the connection line further comprises: third connection lines in the peripheral region, and respectively connected to the first sensing electrodes; a first-first connection line connected to one of the second sensing electrodes; a first-second connection line connected to another one of the second sensing electrodes; a second-first connection line connected to first group electrodes of the second electrodes, and one of the first group electrodes overlapping the one of the second sensing electrodes; and a second-second connection line connected to second group electrodes of the second electrodes, and one of the second group electrodes overlapping the another one of the second sensing electrodes.
6. The electronic device of claim 5, wherein the first-second connection line is disposed between the second-first connection line and the main region in the second direction, and wherein the second-second connection line is disposed between the first-first connection line and the main region in the second direction.
7. The electronic device of claim 1, wherein the sensor layer further comprises a first insulating layer and a second insulating layer overlapping the main region and the peripheral region, wherein each of the first sensing electrodes comprises a first split electrode and a second split electrode that are above the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and that are spaced apart from each other in the second direction, and wherein each of the second sensing electrodes comprises sensing patterns above the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and bridge patterns between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and connected to the sensing patterns.
10. The electronic device of claim 7, the second connection line comprises a first layer portion between the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and a second layer portion above the first insulating layer and the second insulating layer, and connected to the first layer portion.
11. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein
the first layer portion has a larger line width
than the second layer portion.
12. The electronic device of claim 10, wherein the first layer portion has a larger line width than the first connection line.
14. The electronic device of claim 1, further comprising a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer in a first mode for sensing a touch input, or in a second mode for sensing a pen input.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1-2 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US PG-PUB 20220147216 (hereinafter Huang) in view of Seong et al. US PG.PUB 20170024060 A1 (hereinafter Seong) and further in view of Jeong et al. US PG-PUB 20140022187 A1 (hereinafter Jeong).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches An electronic device (fig. 1 and Para. [0027]; electronic device 100) comprising: a sensor layer comprising a main region and a peripheral region (Fig. 1; working area 110 and peripheral area 110b and 110c); and wherein the sensor layer comprises: electrodes in the main region (Fig. 1; Rx and Tx), and comprising: first sensing electrodes extending in a first direction (Para. [0028]; The first electrodes Tx are disposed in the working area 110a, are structurally separated from each other, and are arranged along a second direction d2. The first direction d1 and the second direction d2 are interlaced); second sensing electrodes extending in a second direction crossing the first direction (Para. [0031]; The second electrodes Rx are disposed in the working area 110a, are structurally separated from each other, and are arranged along the first direction d1); first electrodes extending in the first direction, respectively overlapping the first sensing electrodes (Fig. 1; sensing pads 122), and each of the first electrodes comprising a first end and a second end (Fig. 1; sensing pads 122 has two ends); and second electrodes extending in the second direction, and respectively overlapping the second sensing electrodes (Fig. 1; sensing pads 142); a connection line in the peripheral region (Fig. 1; peripheral wiring 124, 144), and comprising: a first connection line connecting between the second end of each of at least two first electrodes of the first electrodes and a first pad (Fig. 1; first peripheral wiring 124); and a second connection line connecting between the first end of each of the at least two first electrodes and a second pad (Fig. 1; second peripheral wiring 144),
Additionally, although Huang teaches as disclosed in Para. [0043]; the thicknesses of the first peripheral wiring 124 and the second peripheral wiring 144 of each peripheral wiring pair P are different. For example, in the embodiment, a thickness T1 of the first peripheral wiring 124 belonging to the first conductive layer 120 may be greater than a thickness T2 of the second peripheral wiring 144 belonging to the second conductive layer 140,
Huang fails to explicitly disclose the difference in thickness is with respect to the line width and a pen comprising an RLC resonance circuit,
However, in the same field of touch display, Seong teaches wherein the second connection line comprises a first portion having a first line width and a second portion having a second line width, and wherein the first line width is different from the second line width (Fig. 9 and Para. [0092]; the plurality of second wire lines 335 may be formed to have mutually different widths).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang with the teachings as taught by Seong, in order to allow the entire wiring to uniformly have a resistance values.
Huang as modified by Seong fails to further disclose a pen comprising an RLC resonance circuit,
However, in the same field of touch display, Jeong teaches a pen comprising an RLC resonance circuit (Para. [0084]-[0085]; passive stylus pen (not shown), in which a resonance circuit is provided and in the resonance circuit provided in the passive stylus pen as an RLC complex circuit),
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang as modified with Seong with the teachings as taught by Jeong, in order to hold a resonance frequency for a substantially uniform time to sense the contact position of the stylus pen Jeong-(Para. [0084]-[0085]).
Regarding claim 2, Huang as modified by Seong and Jeong teaches The electronic device of claim 1, Jeong further teaches wherein a magnetic field generated from the first connection line and the first sensing electrodes or from a first group electrode of the first sensing electrodes and a second group electrode of the first sensing electrodes charges the RLC resonance circuit of the pen (Para. [0059], [0083]-[0085]; the first and second groups of coils 610 and 630 are selected to induce electromagnetism and to generate an electronic wave and A passive stylus pen (not shown), in which a resonance circuit is provided, is resonated by the electronic wave).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang as modified with Seong with the teachings as taught by Jeong, in order to hold a resonance frequency for a substantially uniform time to sense the contact position of the stylus pen Jeong-(Para. [0084]-[0085]).
Claim 11 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Huang et al. US PG-PUB 20220147216 (hereinafter Huang) in view of Seong et al. US PG.PUB 20170024060 A1 (hereinafter Seong) and Jeong et al. US PG-PUB 20140022187 A1 (hereinafter Jeong) and further in view of SEO et al. US PG-PUB 20210405819 A1 (hereinafter SEO).
Regarding claim 11, Huang as modified by Seong and Jeong teaches The electronic device of claim 1, Huang as modified by Seong and Jeong fails to disclose further comprising a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer in a first mode for sensing a touch input, or in a second mode for sensing an input of the pen.
In same field of touch sensing, SEO teaches a sensor driver configured to drive the sensor layer in a first mode for sensing a touch input, or in a second mode for sensing an input of the pen (Fig. 4 and Para. [0097]-[0102]; first mode for sensing finger 3000 and second mode corresponds input from stylus pen 2000).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Huang as modified with Seong and Jeong with the teachings as taught by SEO, in order to detect touch inputs.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims as well as overcoming rejection under double patenting as detail above.
Conclusion
/AMY ONYEKABA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628