DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments to the claims filed 5/20/2026 were received and have been entered.
Claims 1, 7 and 18 have been amended.
Claims 7-8 and 15-17 are allowed.
Claims 1-6, 9-14 and 18-20 are rejected.
The amended claims 1 and 18 are not patentably distinct from the Jeong rejection of record. The rejection is maintained. The applicant's reply has not overcome the Jeong rejection of record for the updated reasons:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. US 2022/0301478.
Regarding claim 1 (updated), Jeong teaches a display device (See Abstract, ¶49, and Fig 3B), a display panel (display panel 100, See ¶49), a narrow pixel (a narrow pixel 160b) that includes a first light emitting unit (a 1st light emitting member, see ¶49) and a wide pixel (a wide pixel 160a) that includes a second light emitting unit (a 2nd light emitting member, See ¶49);
at least one channel (multiple data lines DL1, DL2…DL8, see Figs 3B, 4B, ¶50, ¶217) disposed on the display panel (100), the at least one channel (DL1, DL2) configured to provide a driving signal (See ¶34, and See also ¶88) to the narrow pixel (the narrow pixel 160b) and the wide pixel (the wide pixel 160a),
wherein the first light emitting unit (see ¶30, ¶68, Fig 3B) includes a (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and a (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit are adjacent to each other in a first direction (Fig 3B and ¶78 explained a repeat pattern has a left G sub-pixel and a right G sub-pixel are adjacent and connected by GL1 in a horizontal direction D1),
a (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit and a (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit, which are adjacent to each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Fig 3B explained the repeat pattern has a B sub-pixel and a R sub-pixel are adjacent and connected by DL3 in a vertical direction D2);
wherein the at least one channel includes a narrow channel which provides a first driving signal to the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (See ¶34, ¶88, and Fig 4B explained at least DL2, DL4 control the left G sub-pixel and the right G sub-pixel are turned on);
the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit and a (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit not receiving the first driving signal, the narrow channel extending primarily in the second direction. (See¶34, ¶88, and Fig 4B explained at least DL1, DL3 controls the B sub-pixel and the R sub-pixel are turned off).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the wide pixel is configured to emit light in a normal mode, and the narrow pixel is configured to emit light in a privacy mode (See ¶80-¶81).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first driving signal has a constant value in the privacy mode (data off voltage in a narrow viewing angle mode, see ¶ 85).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the second light emitting unit includes a (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit adjacent to the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit emits light, based on a second driving signal that is different from the first driving signal. (Figs 3AB showed green sub pixel of PWVA adjacent green sub pixel of PNVA in a second direction intersecting the first direction, Figs 4AB showed based on a second driving signal that is different from the first driving signal.)
Regarding claim 5, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the second light emitting unit includes a (2_3)th sub-light emitting unit adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit in the first direction, and wherein the at least one channel includes a wide channel which provides the second driving signal to the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (2_3)th sub-light emitting unit. (Figs 3AB showed left green sub pixel adjacent right green sub pixel, Figs 4AB showed at least one data lines included a wide data line provides driving signal to left green sub pixel adjacent right green sub pixel).
Regarding claim 9, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a data driver (500) configured to supply a data signal to the display panel (see ¶72, Fig 1), wherein the at least one channel (DL1 to DL8) is a data line (DL1) extending from the data driver (500, Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the narrow pixel (PNVA) and the wide pixel (PWVA) is arranged in a second direction (D2) intersecting the first direction (D1).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit emit light of a first color (the left and right green pixels, Fig 3B).
Regrading claim 12, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the narrow pixel includes a (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit and a (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit, which are adjacent to each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit emits light of a second color that is different from the first color, and the (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit emits light of a third color that is different from the first color and the second color. (See ¶65, Figs 3AB).
Regarding claim 13, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein, in a plan view, the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit each have a rectangular shape, and the (1_2)th sub- light emitting unit and the (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit each have a rhombic shape. (See ¶65, Figs 3AB).
Regarding claim 14, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein, in a plan view, an area of the (1_4)th sub- light emitting unit is wider than an area of the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit, and the area of the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit is wider than an area of each of the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit. (See ¶65, ¶77-¶78, Figs 3AB).
Regarding claim 18 (Updated), Jeong teaches a display system (¶97-¶102, Figs 7-8), comprising: a processor (1010, ¶98); and a display device (1060)configured to display an image based on input image data provided from the processor (1010), wherein the display device (1060) includes:
a display panel (display panel 100, See ¶49), a narrow pixel (a narrow pixel 160b) that includes a first light emitting unit (a 1st light emitting member, see ¶49) and a wide pixel (a wide pixel 160a) that includes a second light emitting unit (a 2nd light emitting member, See ¶49, Fig 17);
at least one channel (multiple data lines DL1, DL2…DL8, see Figs 3B, 4B, ¶50, ¶217) disposed on the display panel (100), the at least one channel (DL1, DL2) configured to provide a driving signal (See ¶34, and see also ¶88) to the narrow pixel (the narrow pixel 160b) and the wide pixel (the wide pixel 16a),
wherein the first light emitting unit (see ¶30, and ¶68, Fig 3B) includes a (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and a (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit are adjacent to each other in a first direction, and emit light of first color (Fig 3B and ¶78 explained repeat pattern a left G sub-pixel and a right G sub-pixel are adjacent and connected by GL1 in a horizontal direction D1, See ¶34, ¶88 and Fig 4B explained both left and right G sub-pixels emit green color),
a (1 2)th sub-light emitting unit and a (1 4)th sub-light emitting unit, which are adjacent to each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction (Fig 3B explained repeat pattern a B sub-pixel and a R sub-pixel are adjacent and connected by DL3 in a vertical direction D2);
wherein the at least one channel includes a first narrow channel which provides a first driving signal to both the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (See ¶34, ¶88 and Fig 4B explained at least one DL2, DL4 control the left G sub-pixel and the right G sub-pixel are turned on).
Regarding claim 19, Jeong teaches the display system of claim 18, wherein the wide pixel is configured to emit light in a normal mode, and the narrow pixel is configured to emit light in a privacy mode. (See ¶80-¶81).
Regarding claim 20, Jeong teaches the display system of claim 19, wherein the first driving signal has a constant value in the privacy mode (data off voltage in a narrow viewing angle mode, see ¶ 85).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lee et al. US 2022/0149255.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong teaches everything as applied to claim 5 above, except for a pixel circuit layer disposed on the substrate, the pixel circuit layer including at least one transistor; and a display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer, the display element layer including the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit, and wherein the pixel circuit layer includes a conductive terminal which electrically connects the at least one transistor to an anode of any one of the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit.
Lee teaches a base layer BSL, a pixel circuit layer PCL, at least one transistor, the display element layer DPL disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL. See ¶82-¶83,
a contact hole CH3 is electrically connected the at least one transistor T1 to an anode EL1 of any one of the first light emitting element LD1 and the second light emitting element LD2. See Lee ¶ 118, ¶ 148, and Fig 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement a base layer BSL, a pixel circuit layer PCL, at least one transistor, the display element layer DPL disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL, a contact hole CH3 is electrically connected the at least one transistor T1 to an anode EL1 of any one of the first light emitting element LD1 and the second light emitting element LD2, as Lee teaches, to modify the display device of Jeong. The motivation for doing so would minimize short-circuit defects even if a residue of an electrode occurs on a bank. (Lee ¶ 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8, and 15-17 are allowed.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628