DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jeong et al. US 2022/0301478.
Regarding claim 1, Jeong teaches a display device (See Abstract, ¶49, and Figs 1-5), a display panel (display panel 100, See ¶49), a narrow pixel (a narrow pixel 160b) that includes a first light emitting unit (a 1st light emitting member, see ¶49) and a wide pixel (a wide pixel 160a) that includes a second light emitting unit (a 2nd light emitting member, See ¶49, Fig 17);
at least one channel (multiple data lines 1710, see ¶50, and ¶217) disposed on the display panel (160), the at least one channel (1710) configured to provide a driving signal (See ¶217) to the narrow pixel (the narrow pixel 160b) and the wide pixel (the wide pixel 16a),
wherein the first light emitting unit (see ¶30, and ¶68, Figs 2B, 3B) includes a (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit (left G sub-pixel, see ¶78) and a (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (right G sub-pixel, See ¶78) are adjacent (adjacent, see ¶78) to each other in a first direction (D1 direction, see Fig 1, ¶49), and
wherein the at least one channel includes a narrow channel which provides a first driving signal to the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (See ¶87, and Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 2, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the wide pixel is configured to emit light in a normal mode, and the narrow pixel is configured to emit light in a privacy mode (See ¶80-¶81).
Regarding claim 3, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first driving signal has a constant value in the privacy mode (data off voltage in a narrow viewing angle mode, see ¶ 85).
Regarding claim 4, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the second light emitting unit includes a (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit adjacent to the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit emits light, based on a second driving signal that is different from the first driving signal. (Figs 3AB showed green sub pixel of PWVA adjacent green sub pixel of PNVA in a second direction intersecting the first direction, Figs 4AB showed based on a second driving signal that is different from the first driving signal.)
Regarding claim 5, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the second light emitting unit includes a (2_3)th sub-light emitting unit adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit in the first direction, and wherein the at least one channel includes a wide channel which provides the second driving signal to the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (2_3)th sub-light emitting unit. (Figs 3AB showed left green sub pixel adjacent right green sub pixel, Figs 4AB showed at least one data lines included a wide data line provides driving signal to left green sub pixel adjacent right green sub pixel).
Regarding claim 9, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a data driver (500) configured to supply a data signal to the display panel (see ¶72, Fig 1), wherein the at least one channel (DL1 to DL8) is a data line (DL1) extending from the data driver (500, Fig 3B) .
Regarding claim 10, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the narrow pixel (PNVA) and the wide pixel (PWVA) is arranged in a second direction (D2) intersecting the first direction (D1).
Regarding claim 11, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit emit light of a first color (the left and right green pixels, Fig 3B).
Regrading claim 12, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the narrow pixel includes a (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit and a (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit, which are adjacent to each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit emits light of a second color that is different from the first color, and the (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit emits light of a third color that is different from the first color and the second color. (See ¶65, Figs 3AB).
Regarding claim 13, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein, in a plan view, the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit each have a rectangular shape, and the (1_2)th sub- light emitting unit and the (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit each have a rhombic shape. (See ¶65, Figs 3AB).
Regarding claim 14, Jeong teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein, in a plan view, an area of the (1_4)th sub- light emitting unit is wider than an area of the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit, and the area of the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit is wider than an area of each of the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit. (See ¶65, ¶77-¶78, Figs 3AB).
Regarding claim 18, Jeong teaches a display system (¶97-¶102, Figs 7-8), comprising: a processor (1010, ¶98); and a display device (1060)configured to display an image based on input image data provided from the processor (1010), wherein the display device (1060) includes:
a display panel (display panel 100, See ¶49), a narrow pixel (a narrow pixel 160b) that includes a first light emitting unit (a 1st light emitting member, see ¶49) and a wide pixel (a wide pixel 160a) that includes a second light emitting unit (a 2nd light emitting member, See ¶49, Fig 17);
at least one channel (multiple data lines 1710, see ¶50, and ¶217) disposed on the display panel (160), the at least one channel (1710) configured to provide a driving signal (See ¶217) to the narrow pixel (the narrow pixel 160b) and the wide pixel (the wide pixel 16a),
wherein the first light emitting unit (see ¶30, and ¶68, Figs 2B, 3B) includes a (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit (left G sub-pixel, see ¶78) and a (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (right G sub-pixel, See ¶78) are adjacent (adjacent, see ¶78) to each other in a first direction (D1 direction, see Fig 1, ¶49), and
wherein the at least one channel includes a narrow channel which provides a first driving signal to the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (See ¶87, and Fig 3B).
Regarding claim 19, Jeong teaches the display system of claim 18, wherein the wide pixel is configured to emit light in a normal mode, and the narrow pixel is configured to emit light in a privacy mode. (See ¶80-¶81).
Regarding claim 20, Jeong teaches the display system of claim 19, wherein the first driving signal has a constant value in the privacy mode (data off voltage in a narrow viewing angle mode, see ¶ 85).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lee et al. US 2022/0149255.
Regarding claim 6, Jeong teaches everything as applied to claim 5 above, except for a pixel circuit layer disposed on the substrate, the pixel circuit layer including at least one transistor; and a display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer, the display element layer including the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit, and wherein the pixel circuit layer includes a conductive terminal which electrically connects the at least one transistor to an anode of any one of the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit.
Lee teaches a base layer BSL, a pixel circuit layer PCL, at least one transistor, the display element layer DPL disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL. See ¶82-¶83,
a contact hole CH3 is electrically connected the at least one transistor T1 to an anode EL1 of any one of the first light emitting element LD1 and the second light emitting element LD2. See Lee ¶ 118, ¶ 148, and Fig 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement a base layer BSL, a pixel circuit layer PCL, at least one transistor, the display element layer DPL disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL, a contact hole CH3 is electrically connected the at least one transistor T1 to an anode EL1 of any one of the first light emitting element LD1 and the second light emitting element LD2, as Lee teaches, to modify the display device of Jeong. The motivation for doing so would minimize short-circuit defects even if a residue of an electrode occurs on a bank. (Lee ¶ 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-14 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu et al. US 2023/0126522.
Regarding claim 1, Wu teaches a display device (See Abstract, ¶49, and Figs 1, 2, and 17), a display panel (display panel 160, See ¶49, and Figs 1, 2, and 17). Figure 17 and ¶ 49 of Wu illustrated a narrow pixel (a narrow pixel 160b) that includes a first light emitting unit (a 1st light emitting member, see ¶49) and a wide pixel (a wide pixel 160a) that includes a second light emitting unit (a 2nd light emitting member, See ¶49, Fig 17);
at least one channel (multiple data lines 1710, see ¶50, and ¶217) disposed on the display panel (160), the at least one channel (1710) configured to provide a driving signal (See ¶217) to the narrow pixel (the narrow pixel 160b) and the wide pixel (the wide pixel 16a),
wherein the first light emitting unit (the 1st light emitting member, ¶49) includes a (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit (162Ga, see ¶67) and a (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (162Gb, See ¶67) are adjacent (adjacent, see ¶138) to each other in a first direction (direction, see ¶ 65), and
wherein the at least one channel includes a narrow channel which provides a first driving signal to the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (See ¶60, ¶217, and Fig 17).
Regarding claim 2, Wu teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the wide pixel is configured to emit light in a normal mode, and the narrow pixel is configured to emit light in a privacy mode (private mode, see ¶49).
Regarding claim 3, Wu teaches the display device of claim 2, wherein the first driving signal has a constant value (see ¶62) in the privacy mode (private mode, ¶ 92).
Regarding claim 4, Wu teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the second light emitting unit includes a (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit adjacent to the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit emits light, based on a second driving signal that is different from the first driving signal. (Par. 65 and Fig 2A explained second type pixel 160a has sub pixel 161Ga adjacent to sub pixel 1612Gb in a second direction intersecting the first direction Par. 146-150 shows based on a second driving signal that is different from the first driving signal ).
Regarding claim 5, Wu teaches the display device of claim 4, wherein the second light emitting unit includes a (2_3)th sub-light emitting unit adjacent to the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit in the first direction, and wherein the at least one channel includes a wide channel which provides the second driving signal to the (2_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (2_3)th sub-light emitting unit. (Par. 65 and Fig 2A explained the second type pixel 160a has sub pixel 161Gb adjacent to sub pixel 1612Ga in the first direction Par. 146-150 shows the signal lines drive the wide viewing angle to the sub pixel 161Gb and the sub pixel 1612Ga ).
Regarding claim 9, Wu teaches the display device of claim 1, further comprising a data driver configured to supply a data signal to the display panel, wherein the at least one channel is a data line extending from the data driver. (See ¶220).
Regarding claim 10, Wu teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein each of the narrow pixel and the wide pixel is arranged in a second direction intersecting the first direction. (See Fig 17).
Regarding claim 11, Wu teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit emit light of a first color. (Two green sub pixels 162Ga, 162Gb, Fig 2A).
Regarding claim 12, Wu teaches the display device of claim 11, wherein the narrow pixel includes a (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit and a (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit, which are adjacent to each other in a second direction intersecting the first direction, and wherein the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit emits light of a second color that is different from the first color, and the (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit emits light of a third color that is different from the first color and the second color (blue sub pixel 162B adjacent red sub pixel 162R, Fig 2A)
Regarding claim 13, Wu teaches the display device of claim 12, wherein, in a plan view, the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit each have a rectangular shape, and the (1_2)th sub- light emitting unit and the (1_4)th sub-light emitting unit each have a rhombic shape. (See ¶97).
Regarding claim 14, Wu teaches the display device of claim 13, wherein, in a plan view, an area of the (1_4)th sub- light emitting unit is wider than an area of the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit, and the area of the (1_2)th sub-light emitting unit is wider than an area of each of the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit. (See ¶64).
Regarding claim 18, Wu teaches a display system (See Abstract, ¶49, and Figs 1, 2, and 17)), comprising: a processor (150); and a display device (100) configured to display an image based on input image data provided from the processor (150), a display panel (display panel 160, See ¶49, and Figs 1, 2, and 17). Figure 17 and ¶ 49 of Wu illustrated a narrow pixel (a narrow pixel 160b) that includes a first light emitting unit (a 1st light emitting member, see ¶49) and a wide pixel (a wide pixel 160a) that includes a second light emitting unit (a 2nd light emitting member, See ¶49, Fig 17);
at least one channel (multiple data lines 1710, see ¶50, and ¶217) disposed on the display panel (160), the at least one channel (1710) configured to provide a driving signal (See ¶217) to the narrow pixel (the narrow pixel 160b) and the wide pixel (the wide pixel 16a),
wherein the first light emitting unit (the 1st light emitting member, ¶49) includes a (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit (162Ga, see ¶67) and a (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (162Gb, See ¶67) are adjacent (adjacent, see ¶138) to each other in a first direction (direction, see ¶ 65), and
wherein the at least one channel includes a narrow channel which provides a first driving signal to the (1_1)th sub-light emitting unit and the (1_3)th sub-light emitting unit (See ¶60, ¶217, and Fig 17).
Regarding claim 19, Wu teaches the display system of claim 18, wherein the wide pixel is configured to emit light in a normal mode, and the narrow pixel is configured to emit light in a privacy mode (private mode, see ¶49).
Regarding claim 20, Wu teaches the display system of claim 19, wherein the first driving signal has a constant value (see ¶62) in the privacy mode (private mode, ¶92).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu as applied to claim 1 above, in view of Lee et al. US 2022/0149255.
Regarding claim 6, Wu teaches everything as applied to claim 5 above, except for a pixel circuit layer disposed on the substrate, the pixel circuit layer including at least one transistor; and a display element layer disposed on the pixel circuit layer, the display element layer including the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit, and wherein the pixel circuit layer includes a conductive terminal which electrically connects the at least one transistor to an anode of any one of the first light emitting unit and the second light emitting unit.
Lee teaches a base layer BSL, a pixel circuit layer PCL, at least one transistor, the display element layer DPL disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL. See ¶82-¶83,
a contact hole CH3 is electrically connected the at least one transistor T1 to an anode EL1 of any one of the first light emitting element LD1 and the second light emitting element LD2. See Lee ¶ 118, ¶ 148, and Fig 8.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ), to implement a base layer BSL, a pixel circuit layer PCL, at least one transistor, the display element layer DPL disposed on the pixel circuit layer PCL, a contact hole CH3 is electrically connected the at least one transistor T1 to an anode EL1 of any one of the first light emitting element LD1 and the second light emitting element LD2, as Lee teaches, to modify the display device of Wu. The motivation for doing so would minimize short-circuit defects even if a residue of an electrode occurs on a bank. (Lee ¶ 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 15-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
KEVIN M NGUYEN
Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2628
/Kevin M Nguyen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2628 Telephone: (571) 272-7697
Email: kevin.nguyen2@uspto.gov