DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ma et al. (WO 2023141971) in view of Lu et al. (WO 2023133765).
Ma et al. teaches a double sided coating deviation correction method for an electrode plate substrate where a first distance is obtained between an edge of a coating region on a first surface of the electrode plate and a reference edge of the substrate, and a second distance is obtained between an edge of a corresponding coating region on a second surface of the electrode plate and the reference edge (see Fig. 1, steps 101-102). Ma et al. further teaches determining coating misalignment from the first and second distances and determining a deviation correction quantity for correcting the relative positions of the coating regions (See Fig. 1, steps 103-105).
Ma et al. fails to teach that a plurality of first distances and a plurality of second distances are obtained by sampling a plurality of times within one sampling period as required by claim 1.
Lu et al. teaches an electrode sheet deviation correction technique where positional information is provided multiple times during a preset period and the measurements are used in determining correction displacement (see page 8 of the translation).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the measurement technique of Ma et al. to include obtaining multiple measurement during the sampling period as taught by Lu et al. One would have been motivated to do so since both are directed to obtaining positional data for correcting displacement where Lu et al. further teaches providing multiple observations is more representative and provides a stable deviation correction.
As to claims 2-4 and 13-15, Ma et al. discloses determining a deviation correction quantity by taking an average of deviation adjustment ranges. Ma et al. teaches an acquisition module for obtaining first and second coating edge distances and processing module for determining coating edge deviation information and the correction amount. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to set the initial deviation correction quantity to a conventional value method and determining a target deviation correction quantity by means of the average value.
As to claim 11, Ma et al. teaches predetermined deviation correction range -0.8 to 0.8 mm (see page 9 of the translation).
As to claim 12, Lu et al. teaches an electrode correction device comprising a processor, memory and program stored in the memory. It would have been obvious to implement the combined double sided coating correction method of Ma et al. and Lu et al. using the processor, memory, and stored program taught by Lu et al. because such modification constitutes predictable use of a known programable controller to perform the disclosed measurement and correction calculations.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-9 and 16-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited prior art fails to teach or suggest determining the correction directly from a detected coating deviation and evaluate the results that would be produced by application of respective correction amounts as use those resulting misalignment values in determining the correction to be applied.
Conclusion
/CACHET I. PROCTOR/
Examiner
Art Unit 1712
/CACHET I PROCTOR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1712