liDETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 13-14, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajec et al. (US. Pub. No. 2013/0232452, hereinafter “Krajec”).
As to claim 1, Krajec discloses a method [abstract] comprising:
at a device having a display [figure 1, computer 1 having a display], one or more processors [figure 1, 138], and non-transitory memory [figure 1, memory 140]:
displaying, on the display, a plurality of nodes associated with a respective plurality of
operations [figures 1 and 13, display on the user interface a plurality of nodes (i.e., nodes 102-120) with a respective plurality of operations (library A, library B, Core process), paragraph 66, Groupings may reflect different shared characteristics of the objects. For example, nodes may be grouped by library, code module, or other group, and such a grouping may assist a developer in understanding program flow. In another example, nodes may be grouped by memory consumption, where those nodes representing compute elements that consume large amounts of data are grouped together, or where compute elements that reference specific groups of memory objects are grouped together. In another example, processes or functions that operate on a specific process scheduler may be shown as groups. In still another example, nodes that may be related to a memory domain may be grouped.];
displaying a node group representation including a boundary surrounding a node group
including a subset of the plurality of nodes [figures 1 and 11, display a node group representation including a boundary (as shown in figure 11, 1118 user interface) surrounding a node group including a subset of plurality of nodes 102, 108]; and
in response to a determination that at least one node excluded from the node group is
inside the boundary [figure 1, determine that at least one node 104 excluded from the node group 102, 108 is inside the boundary (user interface boundary), display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes 102, 108 in a first manner 120 (forward slashed lines), and display node 104 in a second manner (backward slashed lines) different from the first manner], displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in a first manner and displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in a second manner different than the first manner.
Krajec discloses multiple embodiments, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the embodiment shown in figure 1 by adding the interface boundary as shown in the embodiment of figure 11, in order to allow a user to browse and view the various datasets easily (paragraph 75).
As to claim 2, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising determining the node group by:
detecting a first user input selecting the subset of the plurality of nodes [paragraph 3, A user may be able to select individual nodes, edges, or other elements, then cause the tracer to change what data may be collected. The user may be able to select individual nodes, edges, or groups of elements on the graph, then perform updates to the tracer using the selected elements]; and
detecting a second user input grouping the subset of the plurality of nodes [paragraph 3, The selection mechanisms may include clicking and dragging a window to select nodes that may be related, as well as selecting from a legend or other grouping, paragraph 66, Groupings may reflect different shared characteristics of the objects. For example, nodes may be grouped by library, code module, or other group, and such a grouping may assist a developer in understanding program flow. In another example, nodes may be grouped by memory consumption, where those nodes representing compute elements that consume large amounts of data are grouped together, or where compute elements that reference specific groups of memory objects are grouped together. In another example, processes or functions that operate on a specific process scheduler may be shown as groups. In still another example, nodes that may be related to a memory domain may be grouped].
As to claim 3, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in the first
manner includes displaying a border of each of the subset of the plurality of nodes in the first
manner [figure 7, display each of the subset of 718 in the first manner includes displaying a border of each of the subset of 718 in solid line]; and
displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second manner
includes displaying a border of the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second
manner [figure 7, display the at least one node excluded from the node group 712 in the second manner includes displaying a border 712 in dashed line].
As to claim 4, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in the first
manner includes displaying an interior of each of the subset of the plurality of nodes in the first
manner [figure 1, determine that at least one node 104 excluded from the node group 102, 108 is inside the boundary (user interface boundary), display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes 102, 108 in a first manner 120 (forward slashed lines)]; and
displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second manner
includes displaying an interior of the at least one node excluded from the node group in the
second manner [figure 1, display node 104 in a second manner (backward slashed lines) different from the first manner].
As to claim 6, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in the first
manner includes displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group with
a solid line [figure 7, display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes 718 with a solid line]; and
displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second manner
includes displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group with a dashed line [figure 7, display the at least one node 712 excluded from the node group with a dashed line].
As to claim 7, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in the first
manner includes displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group with
a first color [figure 8B, display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes 814 with a first color (dark color)];
displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second manner
includes displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group with a second color [figure 8B, display the at least one node 820 excluded from the node group with a second color (light color)];
and
the first color is different than the second color [figure 8B, first color and second color are different, paragraph 68, the grouping may be applied to the various nodes by changing the color, shape, or other visual element].
As to claim 8, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in the first
manner includes displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group with
a first line width [figure 9B, display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes 920 with a first line width];
displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second manner
includes displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group with a second line
width [figure 9B, display the at least one node 918 excluded from the node group with a second line width]; and
the first line width is different than the second line width [figure 9B, first line width and second line width are different, paragraph 63, the edges may display characteristics using thickness, color, and other visual elements].
As to claim 9, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, wherein:
displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in the first
manner includes displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group with
a first transparency [figure 8B, display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes 814 with a first transparency (highlighted), paragraph 151, the selected items 812 and 814 may be illustrated as highlighted];
displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second manner
includes displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group with a second
transparency [figure 8B, display the at least one node 820 with a second transparency (not highlighted), paragraph 151, the selected items 812 and 814 may be illustrated as highlighted while the remaining portions of the force directed graph may be illustrated as not highlighted]; and
the first transparency is different than the second transparency [figure 8B, the first transparency of 814 is different than the second transparency of 820, paragraph 151, Some embodiments may display non highlighted elements using transparency, color schemes such as greyed-out colors, or other visual cues. Some embodiments may display highlighted elements using brighter or more vibrant colors, different color pallets, boldness, or other visual cues].
As to claim 13, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the node group representation further includes a group name and a group descriptor [figure 1, a group name Library A or B, and descriptor Group by, paragraphs 65-66].
As to claim 14, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the node group representation further includes a group icon [figure 1, group icon 120-124].
As to claim 17, Krajec discloses a device [figure 1, server computer] comprising:
a display [figure 1, display to display force directed graph 100];
non-transitory memory [paragraph 55, Computer storage media includes, but is not limited to, RAM, ROM, EEPROM, flash memory or other memory technology, CD-ROM, digital versatile disks (DVD) or other optical storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to store the desired information and which can accessed by an instruction execution system]; and
one or more processors [paragraph 30, some functional languages may pass messages between processes that may execute on a single processor or across several processors within a single device, paragraph 64, The compute elements may be processes, threads, processors, devices, or other elements that may pass messages to other elements] to:
display, on the display, a plurality of nodes associated with a respective plurality of operations [figures 1 and 13, display on the user interface a plurality of nodes (i.e., nodes 102-120) with a respective plurality of operations (library A, library B, Core process), paragraph 66, Groupings may reflect different shared characteristics of the objects. For example, nodes may be grouped by library, code module, or other group, and such a grouping may assist a developer in understanding program flow. In another example, nodes may be grouped by memory consumption, where those nodes representing compute elements that consume large amounts of data are grouped together, or where compute elements that reference specific groups of memory objects are grouped together. In another example, processes or functions that operate on a specific process scheduler may be shown as groups. In still another example, nodes that may be related to a memory domain may be grouped.];
display a node group representation including a boundary surrounding a node group including a subset of the plurality of nodes [figures 1 and 11, display a node group representation including a boundary (as shown in figure 11, 1118 user interface) surrounding a node group including a subset of plurality of nodes 102, 108]; and
in response to a determination that at least one node excluded from the node group is inside the boundary [figure 1, determine that at least one node 104 excluded from the node group 102, 108 is inside the boundary (user interface boundary), display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes 102, 108 in a first manner 120 (forward slashed lines), and display node 104 in a second manner (backward slashed lines) different from the first manner], display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in a first manner and displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in a second manner different than the first manner.
Krajec discloses multiple embodiments, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the embodiment shown in figure 1 by adding the interface boundary as shown in the embodiment of figure 11, in order to allow a user to browse and view the various datasets easily (paragraph 75).
As to claim 20, A non-transitory memory storing one or more programs [paragraph 55, Computer storage media includes, but is not limited to, RAM, ROM, EEPROM, flash memory or other memory technology, CD-ROM, digital versatile disks (DVD) or other optical storage, magnetic cassettes, magnetic tape, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to store the desired information and which can accessed by an instruction execution system], which, when executed by one or more processors [paragraph 30, some functional languages may pass messages between processes that may execute on a single processor or across several processors within a single device, paragraph 64, The compute elements may be processes, threads, processors, devices, or other elements that may pass messages to other elements] of a device including a display [figure 1, display to display force directed graph 100], cause the device to:
display, on the display, a plurality of nodes associated with a respective plurality of operations [figures 1 and 13, display on the user interface a plurality of nodes (i.e., nodes 102-120) with a respective plurality of operations (library A, library B, Core process), paragraph 66, Groupings may reflect different shared characteristics of the objects. For example, nodes may be grouped by library, code module, or other group, and such a grouping may assist a developer in understanding program flow. In another example, nodes may be grouped by memory consumption, where those nodes representing compute elements that consume large amounts of data are grouped together, or where compute elements that reference specific groups of memory objects are grouped together. In another example, processes or functions that operate on a specific process scheduler may be shown as groups. In still another example, nodes that may be related to a memory domain may be grouped.];
display a node group representation including a boundary surrounding a node group including a subset of the plurality of nodes [figures 1 and 11, display a node group representation including a boundary (as shown in figure 11, 1118 user interface) surrounding a node group including a subset of plurality of nodes 102, 108]; and
in response to a determination that at least one node excluded from the node group is inside the boundary [figure 1, determine that at least one node 104 excluded from the node group 102, 108 is inside the boundary (user interface boundary), display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes 102, 108 in a first manner 120 (forward slashed lines), and display node 104 in a second manner (backward slashed lines) different from the first manner], display each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in a first manner and displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in a second manner different than the first manner.
Krajec discloses multiple embodiments, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the embodiment shown in figure 1 by adding the interface boundary as shown in the embodiment of figure 11, in order to allow a user to browse and view the various datasets easily (paragraph 75).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajec in view of Gilbertson et al. (US. Pub. No. 2021/0319603, hereinafter “Gilbertson”).
As to claim 5, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1.
Krajec doesn’t disclose wherein displaying each of the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group in the first manner includes displaying text of each of the subset of the plurality of nodes in the first manner; and
displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second manner
includes displaying text of the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second
manner.
Gilbertson teaches wherein displaying each of a subset of a plurality of nodes of the node group in a first manner includes displaying text of each of the subset of the plurality of nodes in the first manner [figure 3, display each of a subset of a plurality of nodes of the node group in a first manner includes display text of each of the subset of the plurality of nodes (shaded nodes) with capital letters]; and
displaying at least one node excluded from the node group in a second manner
includes displaying text of the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second
manner [figure 3, display at least one node excluded from the node group (not shaded nodes) with small letters].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Krajec to display each of a subset of a plurality of nodes of the node group in a first manner includes displaying text of each of the subset of the plurality of nodes in the first manner; and display at least one node excluded from the node group in a second manner includes displaying text of the at least one node excluded from the node group in the second manner, as taught by Gilbertson, in order to arrange directed acyclic graph data for display on a display device (Gilbertson, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajec in view of Cummins et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0116423, hereinafter “Cummins”).
As to claim 10, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1.
Krajec does not expressly disclose in response to a determination that the at least one node excluded from the node group is outside the boundary, displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in the first manner.
Cummins teaches in response to a determination that at least one node excluded from a node group is outside a boundary, displaying the at least one node excluded from the node group in a first manner [figure 4, node 505{511 excluded from a node group 525 is outside a boundary 517B, display 505{511 in a first manner (triangle shape)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Krajec to display the at least one node excluded from the node group in a first manner, as taught by Cummins, in order to graphically represent accessibility between the corresponding remote and local address ranges (Cummins, abstract).
As to claim 11, Krajec, as modified by Cummins, discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising moving the at least one node excluded from the node group from a first location inside the boundary to a second location outside the boundary [Cummins, paragraph 61, the computing device 200 may be configured to enable a user 202 to use the user interface 230 to select and move, e.g. drag-and-drop, in the map 500 an icon 505 representing a node 105 from a first location in the map 500 within a visual boundary 525 corresponding to an enclave 125, e.g. a first enclave 126 to a second location in the map 500 outside of the visual boundary 525 of the first enclave 126] or from a third location outside the boundary to a fourth location inside the boundary. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 10.
As to claim 12, Krajec, as modified by Cummins, discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising changing a location of the boundary such that the at least one node excluded from the node group changes from being inside the boundary to outside the boundary [Cummins, paragraph 61, the computing device 200 may be configured to enable a user 202 to use the user interface 230 to select and move, e.g. drag-and-drop, in the map 500 an icon 505 representing a node 105 from a first location in the map 500 within a visual boundary 525 corresponding to an enclave 125, e.g. a first enclave 126 to a second location in the map 500 outside of the visual boundary 525 of the first enclave 126] or from being outside the boundary to inside the boundary. In addition, the same rationale is used as in rejection for claim 10.
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajec in view of Gounares et al. (US. Pub. No. 2015/0212928, hereinafter “Gounares ‘928”).
As to claim 15, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1.
Krajec does not expressly disclose detecting user input to trigger an auto-layout function; and
in response to detecting the user input, changing a relative position of the node group
representation and the at least one node excluded from the node group without changing relative positions between the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group.
Gounares ‘928 teaches detecting user input to trigger an auto-layout function [figures 11A-B, detect user input to trigger an auto-layout function by selection 1118 “Combine”]; and
in response to detecting the user input, changing a relative position of a node group representation and at least one node excluded from the node group without changing relative positions between the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group [figures 11A-B, in response to detecting the selection of 1118, change a relative position of the node group (the 4 nodes on the right of 1136) and the at least one node 1114 without changing relative positions between the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Krajec to detect user input to trigger an auto-layout function; and in response to detecting the user input, changing a relative position of the node group representation and the at least one node excluded from the node group without changing relative positions between the subset of the plurality of nodes of the node group, as taught by Gounares ‘928, in order to view, edit and manipulate the code (Gounares ‘928, abstract).
As to claim 18, see the above discussion of claim 15.
Claim(s) 16 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajec in view of Gounares et al. (US. Pub. No. 2016/0283345, hereinafter “Gounares ‘345”).
As to claim 16, Krajec discloses the method of claim 1.
Krajec does not expressly disclose detecting user input to trigger an auto-layout function; and
in response to detecting the user input, changing relative positions between the subset
of the plurality of nodes of the node group without changing a relative position of the node
group representation and the least one node excluded from the node group.
Gounares ‘345 teaches detecting user input to trigger an auto-layout function [figure 1, user selecta tracing origin, paragraph 20, A user interface may display a graphical topology of an application structure from which a tracing origin may be selected. A topology may show functions, libraries, modules, or other components of an application from which a user may select]; and
in response to detecting the user input, changing relative positions between the subset
of a plurality of nodes of a node group without changing a relative position of the node
group representation and least one node excluded from the node group [figure 1, in response to detecting the user selection to change a graphical topology, change relative positions between the subset of a plurality of nodes 110-122 without changing a relative position of the node group and the least one node 106 excluded from the node group].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the method of Krajec to detect user input to trigger an auto-layout function; and in response to detecting the user input, changing relative positions between the subset of a plurality of nodes of a node group without changing a relative position of the node group representation and least one node excluded from the node group, as taught by Gounares ‘345, in order to consolidate or aggregate trace results having the same identifier and may render such data graphically or provide statistics using the identified datasets (Gounares ‘345, abstract).
As to claim 19, see the above discussion of claim 16.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US. Pub. No. 2002/0122047 (Dewa et al.) is considered as pertinent art as seen in figure 12.
US. Pub. No. 2004/0019676 (Iwatsuki et al.) is also considered as pertinent art as seen in figure 2.
/NAN-YING YANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629