DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
This Office action is in response to the application filed 5/13/2025.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 8/12/2025 complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
A. improper punctuation: at line 3 of claim 14 that the proper punctuation should be a semicolon instead of a colon,
B. missing punctuation: the term “tip in” should be --tip-in --
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Valeri et al., US 2021/0370967 hereinafter “Valeri”.
Claim 1. Valeri teaches a method for a drivetrain system having a first prime mover for supplying torque to a first axle and a second prime mover for supplying torque to a second axle, comprising:
during a first driving mode and a tip-out condition ([0035] describes this element as such—“ high-performance powertrain operating modes, such as Sport, Off Road, Rock Climb, etc., may each have a distinct set of relatively aggressive tuning coefficients to provide a more intense driving experience. If a driver selects Eco or Tour modes, for example, a set of base tuning coefficients for the selected mode will be retrieved and loaded to ensure that the driver feedback cues are relatively subtle and, optionally, minimize the number of order sets and/or sound files used to reduce the complexity and level of the sound enhancement. When a driver chooses Sport or Off Road modes, in contrast, more audible content may be included in the tuning selection, which may be played at higher levels so as to become more noticeable at lower vehicle speeds and acceleration conditions.”);
distributing a negative torque demand non-equally between the first prime mover and the second prime mover, wherein only one of the first prime mover and the second prime mover traverses a zero torque point ([0029]—read on this element as such—“ When a traction motor transitions from exerting a positive torque to exerting a negative torque, for example, the gears in the transmission, differential, transaxle, or transfer case may separate at a zero torque transition point. Then, after passing through the zero torque point, the gears again make contact to transfer torque. Such clearance is generally necessary to accommodate build variation and thermal expansion of powertrain components”).
Claim 2. Valeri teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the first driving mode is a sport mode ([0034]—“… high-performance powertrain operating modes, such as Sport….”).
Claim 3. Valeri teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the first and second prime movers are electric motors ([0036]—“… the powertrain's electric traction motor(s)…”).
Claim 4. Valeri teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein out of the first and second prime movers, the prime mover with a greatest torque generating capacity remains positive and the prime mover with a lower torque generating capacity traverses the zero torque point ([0029] describes this element as such—“When a traction motor transitions from exerting a positive torque to exerting a negative torque, for example, the gears in the transmission, differential, transaxle, or transfer case may separate at a zero torque transition point. Then, after passing through the zero torque point, the gears again make contact to transfer torque. Such clearance is generally necessary to accommodate build variation and thermal expansion of powertrain components”).
Claim 5. Valeri teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches, wherein the first prime mover traverses the zero torque point and wherein the second prime mover remains providing a positive torque ([0029] and [0034] reads on this element as such—“ When a traction motor transitions from exerting a positive torque to exerting a negative torque, for example, the gears in the transmission, differential, transaxle, or transfer case may separate at a zero torque transition point. Then, after passing through the zero torque point, the gears again make contact to transfer torque. Such clearance is generally necessary to accommodate build variation and thermal expansion of powertrain components…. current motor torque accrued within the vehicle powertrain. In this regard, processor-executable instructions provided at input data block 217 cause a vehicle controller, such as programmable ECU 25 of FIG. 1, to actively monitor an accrual of torque that has been produced by the powertrain's electric traction motor(s) and temporarily stored within the driveline for use in one or more impending vehicle maneuvers associated with the selected powertrain operating mode. Real-time output torque accrual may be derived from sensor data received from a potential energy (torque) sensor, such as an axle-shaft or motor-shaft mounted rotational transducer over the vehicle's CAN communications bus.”).
Claim 6. Valeri teaches the method of claim 5 and teaches, further comprising, responsive to a tip-in condition, providing a faster torque response from the second prime mover already providing positive torque ([0004] describes this element as such—“HEV powertrains, for example, may be equipped with an electric motor generator unit (MGU) that operates in a “cranking mode” to provide a starting function to the internal combustion engine, a “launch mode” for electrically dominated vehicle launches from stop or idle, a “boost mode” to supplement engine output as the vehicle accelerates quickly during a dynamic vehicle maneuver, and a “regenerative mode” for recapturing braking energy by operating the MGU in a generator mode to recharge the battery pack.”).
Claim 7. The method of claim 6 and teaches, further comprising transitioning the first prime mover through a lash zone after providing the faster torque response from the second prime mover ([0029] reads on this element as such—“Transitions between operating modes of HEV and FEV powertrain systems may produce clunks (i.e., audible noises) and jerks (e.g., physical lurches) as slack—resulting from driveline lash in the gear train—is taken out of the driveline, and torque-transmitting components within the driveline impact one another. “Driveline lash” refers to the clearance or play between the rotational positions of driveline components, such as slack between transmission splines, interleafed gearing teeth, etc. When a traction motor transitions from exerting a positive torque to exerting a negative torque, for example, the gears in the transmission, differential, transaxle, or transfer case may separate at a zero torque transition point. Then, after passing through the zero torque point, the gears again make contact to transfer torque. Such clearance is generally necessary to accommodate build variation and thermal expansion of powertrain components.”).
Claim 8. Valeri teaches the method of claim 7 and teaches, further comprising after the second prime mover transitions through the lash region, ramping the first and second prime movers to a desired torque split distribution ([0014] describes this element as such—“ An increasing audible impulse cue provided by the vehicle's audio system indicates a ramp-up of EV propulsion system torque. The alert creates an audible representation of power status that essentially creates sound when none would otherwise exist because the vehicle is stationary. An increasing tactile cue applied by a haptic system to driver interfaces indicates a ramp-up of EV propulsion system torque.”).
Claim 9. Valeri teaches the method of claim 1 and teaches further, wherein the first axle is a front axle and the second axle is a rear axle and wherein the front axle and the rear axle are independent of one another ([0029] describes this element as such—“then, after passing through the zero torque point, the gears again make contact to transfer torque. Such clearance is generally necessary to accommodate build variation and thermal expansion of powertrain components”).
Claim 10. Valeri teaches method for a drivetrain system having a first prime mover for supplying a torque to a first axle and a second prime mover for supplying a torque to a second axle, comprising:
during a first driving mode and a tip-out condition, distributing a total negative torque demand non-equally between the first prime mover and the second prime mover, wherein only one of the first prime mover and the second prime mover traverses a lash zone ([0029]—read on this element as such—“When a traction motor transitions from exerting a positive torque to exerting a negative torque, for example, the gears in the transmission, differential, transaxle, or transfer case may separate at a zero torque transition point. Then, after passing through the zero torque point, the gears again make contact to transfer torque. Such clearance is generally necessary to accommodate build variation and thermal expansion of powertrain components”); and
during a second driving mode and the tip-out condition, distributing the total negative torque demand between the first prime mover and the second prime mover, wherein both the first prime mover and the second prime mover traverse the lash zone and provide negative torque ([0034] describes a scenario that reads on this element as such—“Tuning selection may involve reading the selected operating mode and concurrently leading appropriate tuning coefficients and vehicle speed (RPM) data to identify feedback cue parameters from dedicated torque-based tone, gain, and pitch tables, as will be described in further detail below. The tuning selection may utilize a continuous stream of torque data from an axle/motor torque sensor via an in-vehicle CAN bus to continuously change driver feedback audio output from sets of tones and sound file playback.”).
Claim 11. Valeri teach method of claim 10 and further teaches, wherein the total negative torque demand is low pass filtered and rate-limited wheel torque demand ([0033] describes a scenario that reads on this element as such—“Once the powertrain operating mode is selected, method 200 continues to data input block 205 to determine a current, real-time vehicle speed of the subject vehicle. Real-time vehicle speed may be derived from sensor data received from a vehicle speed sensor (VS S), such as a transaxle output sensor or a wheel speed sensor, over a controller area network (CAN) communications bus. At decision block 207, the method 200 determines whether or not the real-time vehicle speed is at or about zero (e.g., 0±10 mph).”).
Claim 12. Valeri teaches the method of claim 10 and further teaches, wherein the total negative torque demand is equal to a sum of a first torque of the first axle and a second torque of the second axle ([0029] teaches negative torque demand).
Claim 13. Valeri teaches the method of claim 10 and further teaches, wherein during the second driving mode and the tip-out condition, the total negative torque demand is distributed equally between the first prime mover and the second prime mover ([0037]-[0068]—describes this element as such—“and associates each output level with a corresponding torque value in a progression of calibrated torque values for the powertrain. Four representative torque-based lookup tables are provided by way of example in FIG. 2: a 1st order set torque-based gain table 231 that correlates vibrational output signal gains of a haptic device with progressively increasing torque buildup values”).
Claims 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowman et al., US 2020/0039503 hereinafter “Bowman”.
Claim 14. Bowman teaches a method for a drivetrain system having a first prime mover for supplying torque to a first axle and a second prime mover for supplying torque to a second axle, comprising:
during a first driving mode and a tip-in condition ([0024] reads on this element as such—“For example, when a driver requests a change in net axle torque, such as by changing a position of the accelerator pedal 26, the controller 24 carries out a method 200 of coordinated lash management to reduce or eliminate displeasing effects (such as abrupt changes in torque or dead zones) that could be associated with either or both axles 12, 14 moving through a predetermined lash zone.”):
providing positive torque from the first prime mover, after the first prime mover reaches a lash torque threshold, controlling the second prime mover to transition through a lash region, and after the second prime mover transitions through the lash region, ramping the first and second prime movers to a desired torque split distribution ([0036] describes this element as such—“The first axle to pass through the lash zone will be the axle with a current torque closer in magnitude to the lash zone, such as the front axle 12 as represented by T.sub.f0 at time to in FIG. 2. In FIG. 2, it is evident that the front axle 12 passes through the lash zone from time t.sub.1 to time t.sub.2, and the rear axle 14 passes through the lash zone from time t.sub.2 to time t.sub.3, immediately following the front axle 12. The time period from time t.sub.0 to time t.sub.1 is the time it takes the front axle torque to reach T.sub.ls, and is determined by the combined torques of the front and rear axles 12, 14 that will maintain the constant rate of change k.sub.2 of net axle torque T.sub.a. Similarly, the time period from time t.sub.3 to time t.sub.4 is determined by the combined torques of the front and rear axles 12, 14 that will maintain the constant rate of change k.sub.2 of net axle torque T.sub.a”).
Claim 15. Bowman teaches the method of claim 14 and further teaches, wherein the second prime mover transitions through the lash region at a first threshold speed ([0035] describes this element as such—“…T.sub.1 is the torque (N-m) of the axle (front axle 12 or rear axle 14) in the lash zone, and t is time (seconds). Accordingly, the rate of change of front axle torque T.sub.f12 during the second segment (from time t.sub.1 to time t.sub.2) is the same as the rate of change of rear axle torque T.sub.r23 during the third segment (from time t.sub.2 to time t.sub.3).”).
Claim 16. Bowman teaches the method of claim 14 and further teaches, wherein prior to the tip in condition, the first prime mover maintains positive torque while the second prime mover provides negative torque ([0036] teaches a scenario that describes this element as such—“The time period from time t.sub.0 to time t.sub.1 is the time it takes the front axle torque to reach T.sub.ls, and is determined by the combined torques of the front and rear axles 12, 14 that will maintain the constant rate of change k.sub.2 of net axle torque T.sub.a. Similarly, the time period from time t.sub.3 to time t.sub.4 is determined by the combined torques of the front and rear axles 12, 14 that will maintain the constant rate of change k.sub.2 of net axle torque T.sub.a.”).
Claim 17. Bowman teaches the method of claim 14 and further teaches, wherein the desired torque split distribution is based on at least one of: motor torque capacity, motor temperature, and a control routine ([0028] read on this element as such—“For each magnitude of net axle torque, the controller 24 may have a stored preselected distribution of torque at the front and rear axles 12, 14 to achieve the net axle torque. The stored distribution may be referred to as a preselected torque split, and may be based on one or more engineering parameters that can achieve a desired optimization strategy for the particular vehicle 10. In one non-limiting example, the preselected torque split may be the split of torque that achieves the best efficiencies of the prime movers 18, 22, such as the highest combined motor efficiencies when the prime movers 18, 22 are electric motors, or the highest fuel economy in embodiments when one or both of the prime movers 18, 22 are combustion engines.”).
Claim 18. Bowman teaches the method of claim 14 and further teaches, wherein ramping the first and second prime movers to a desired torque split distribution comprises ramping up a second torque of the second prime mover torque and ramping down a first torque of the first prime mover ([0029] describes this element as such—“In the example of FIG. 2, at the current net axle torque T.sub.0 (i.e., the net axle torque existing when the request for the desired net axle torque is received in step 202), the torque split is current front axle torque T.sub.f0 at the front axle 12 of −100 Nm, and current rear axle torque T.sub.r0 at the rear axle 14 of −200 N-m. After the request 201 for desired net axle torque is received in step 202, the controller 24 continues with step 204 and determines the preselected torque split between the front axle 12 and the rear axle 14 that will result in the desired net axle torque T.sub.4. This preselected torque split may be referred to as the desired front axle torque T.sub.f4 and the desired rear axle torque T.sub.r4. In the example of FIG. 2, at the desired (i.e., requested) net axle torque T.sub.4 of 300 N-m, the preselected torque split is front axle torque T.sub.f4 of 100 N-m and rear axle torque T.sub.r4 of 200 N-m.”).
Claim 19. Bowman teaches the method of claim 14 and further teaches, wherein the lash torque threshold comprises a first threshold torque when the first prime mover is capable of providing both driver demand torque and lash compensation torque during the second prime mover's lash transition ([0024] describes this element as such—“Such an arrangement allows the controller 24 to control the torque provided at each axle 12, 14 independent of one another. For example, when a driver requests a change in net axle torque, such as by changing a position of the accelerator pedal 26, the controller 24 carries out a method 200 of coordinated lash management to reduce or eliminate displeasing effects (such as abrupt changes in torque or dead zones) that could be associated with either or both axles 12, 14 moving through a predetermined lash zone. The controller 24 is equipped in hardware and programmed in software to execute instructions embodying the method 200, an example of which is referenced as a sequence of steps provided in FIG. 3”).
Claim 20. Bowman teaches the method of claim 14 and further teaches, wherein the lash torque threshold comprises a second threshold torque equal to a maximum available torque of the first prime mover when the first prime mover is not capable of providing both driver demand torque and lash compensation torque during the second prime mover's lash transition ([0036]—As is evident in FIG. 2 by the slope of the net axle torque Ta per unit of time being greater than the slope of the individual axle torques versus time in the lash zone, the constant rate of change of net axle torque k.sub.2 is greater than the constant rate of change k.sub.1 of torque at each axle in the lash zone. Under the method 200, the axle passing through the lash zone is able to pass through slowly in order to avoid clunk, while the transition to the desired net axle torque is relatively fast. This is achievable by requiring that each axle 12, 14 pass through the lash zone separately under the method 200 without temporal overlap, and in immediate succession in cases where each axle passes through the lash zone. The first axle to pass through the lash zone will be the axle with a current torque closer in magnitude to the lash zone, such as the front axle 12 as represented by T.sub.f0 at time to in FIG. 2. In FIG. 2, it is evident that the front axle 12 passes through the lash zone from time t.sub.1 to time t.sub.2, and the rear axle 14 passes through the lash zone from time t.sub.2 to time t.sub.3, immediately following the front axle 12.).
Conclusion
/A.D.T/Examiner, Art Unit 3661
/RUSSELL FREJD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3661