DETAILED ACTION
The action is responsive to amendment filed on 8/13/2026.
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In view of the amendments filed, the objections and rejections are being updated accordingly.
Double Patenting
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
In response to the arguments, it is submitted that the rejections are maintained, and the reason is set forth in the rejection, see updated mappings below for detail.
Rejections Under Section 101 Claim objections
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered.
In response to the arguments, it is submitted that as stated by the Applicant “Claim 1 is directed to a system that is configured to estimate an abnormal return for an event which allows an investor to estimate risk and potentially identify counter positions”, such process of estimate an abnormal return could be done mentally with gathered data with data (e.g. risk, counter positions) evaluations since an abnormal return is merely a type of information being estimated, and estimation can be performed mentally. .
Aso, as previously stated, the limitation of “displaying the average difference” appear to recite insignificant extra-solution activities at Step 2A Prong Two, and also would be well-understood, routine, and conventional at Step 2B. This is nothing more than data maintaining and data outputting and hence fails to integrate the judicial exception into practical application according to Prong Two in Step 2A of the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance because the claimed elements or their combination do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, the rejections are maintained for the pending claims, and the reason is set forth in the updated rejection below.
Rejections Under Section 103
Applicant’s arguments--which are primary directed to the newly added limitation of “each event date of the first set of event dates correspond to a date of an event of the first event type”-- have been fully considered.
In response to the arguments, it is submitted that the newly added limitation is directed to non-functional descriptive material that describes each event date is related (i.e. correspond) to a date of an event type of the first event, yet the date of an event of the first event type does not impact the functionality of the claimed steps. All claimed steps (i.e. obtaining, determining, storing, displaying) are being performed the same regardless of whether each event date of the first set of event dates is corresponding to a date of an event of the first event type or not. Non-functional descriptive material does not necessary carry any patentable weight because the subjective interpretation of the data material does not patentably distinguish the claimed invention.
Also it is submitted that the cited limitation is properly addressed at least by the cited reference Wootten discloses based on each event date is corresponding to a date of an event as indicated by the glide path map, such as a market event date with severe loss is corresponding to a date represented by a respective time of the event of an event risk type over a period of time, as shown in glide path map of Fig 3 ([0014], [0030], [0032], [0071] Fig 2-3).
Also, it is submitted that all limitations recited in the amended claim 1 are proper addressed, and the reason is set forth in the updated rejection; see the rejection below for detail.
Furthermore, it is submitted that all limitations in claims--including those not specifically addressed in the Applicant’s remarks--are properly addressed. The reason is set forth in the rejections; see below for detail.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,907,189 (Appl. No. 16/987,756).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to similar invention with similar limitations as demonstrated in the table below:
Claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,907,189 recite similar to limitations as claims 11-20. Hence claims 1-10 are being used as representative for demonstration in the table below.
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 11,907,189
A system comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to perform,
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the memory further stores a historical performance database including a plurality of security identifiers and values associated with dates of each of the plurality of security identifiers.
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the memory further stores an event database including the set of event types and, for each event type of the set of event types, a set of event dates.
in response to receiving user input including a first event type of a set of event types and a security identifier,
obtaining, based on the first event type, a first set of event dates, each event date of the first set of event dates corresponding to a date of an event of the first event type,
for each event date of the first set of event dates,
obtaining an event value on the event date of the security identifier,
obtaining a related date to the event date, the related date being within a date range of the event date,
obtaining a value on the related date of the security identifier,
determining a difference value, the difference value being a difference between the event value on the event date of the security identifier and the value on the related date of the security identifier, and
storing the difference value in a set of difference values,
calculating an average difference of the set of difference values, and
displaying, on a user device, the average difference and an event indicator corresponding to the first event type.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further caused to perform:
obtaining a beginning value of the security identifier and an end value of the security identifier over a threshold period to calculate a normal return;
calculating the normal return as the end value less the beginning value;
determining an additional return value as the normal return less the average difference; and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero, displaying, on the user device, the additional return value.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the system is further caused to perform: in response to the additional return value being zero, displaying an indication on the user device that the additional return value is equal to the normal return.
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the system is further caused to perform:
determining a corresponding average difference for each day of the date range related to each event date of the first set of event dates;
storing the corresponding average difference for each day of the date range in a set of average differences;
identifying a value indicating a largest change from the set of average differences;
determining the additional return value as the normal return less the value; and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero, displaying, on the user device, the additional return value.
5. The system of claim 4 wherein the date range corresponds to the first event type.
6. The system of claim 4 wherein the date range includes a pre-event date range and a post- event date range.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein the security identifier includes: (i) a stock; (ii) an option; or (iii) an exchanged-traded fund.
8. The system of claim 1 wherein: the memory stores a user parameter database including a set of security identifiers corresponding to a user of the user device, and the security identifier is a security identifier of the set of security identifiers.
9. The system of claim 1 wherein the first event type includes: (i) a change in commodity value; (ii) a change in interest rate value; or (iii) an occurrence of a natural disaster.
10. The system of claim 1 wherein receiving the user input includes:
receiving an indication of a user logging in to an account;
identifying the security identifier as a security included in a corresponding user portfolio; and
identifying the first event type as a preset event type.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the average difference of the set of difference values is weighted based on a time between the related date and an event date of the first set of event dates.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further caused to perform, calculating a hypothetical return for the security identifier in response to a hypothetical event of the first event type; receiving a user input of a hypothetical portfolio position; estimating an impact of the hypothetical portfolio position on the hypothetical return.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further caused to perform, receiving an event prediction from a user, the event prediction including an instruction to execute a trade in response to the event prediction occurring.
1. A system comprising:
at least one processor and a memory coupled to the at least one processor,
wherein the memory stores, a historical performance database including values associated with dates and corresponding to security identifiers;
an event database including a set of event types and, for each event type of the set of event types, a set of event dates, wherein the event types include market events; and
instructions that when executed by the at least one processor, in response to receiving user input, cause the system to perform
identifying, from the user input, a first event type and a first security identifier;
obtaining, based on the first event type, a first set of event dates from the event database;
for each event date of the first set of event dates,
obtaining, from the historical performance database, an event value on the event date of the first security identifier;
obtaining a related date to the event date, the related date being within a date range of the event date;
obtaining, from the historical performance database, a value on the related date of the first security identifier;
determining a difference value, the difference value being a difference between the event value on the event date of the first security identifier and the value on the related date of the first security identifier; and
storing the difference value in a set of difference values;
calculating an average difference of the set of difference values; and
displaying, on a user device, the average difference and an event indicator corresponding to the first event type.
2. The system of claim 1 wherein the instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to perform:
obtaining, from the historical performance database, a beginning value of the first security identifier and an end value of the first security identifier;
calculating a normal difference as the end value less the beginning value;
determining an additional return value as the normal difference less the average difference; and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero, displaying, on the user device, the additional return value.
3. The system of claim 2 wherein the instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to perform: in response to the additional return value being zero, displaying an indication on the user device that the additional return value is equal to the normal difference.
4. The system of claim 2 wherein the instructions that when executed by the at least one processor cause the system to perform:
determining a corresponding average difference for each day of the date range related to each event date of the first set of event dates;
storing the corresponding average difference for each day of the date range in a set of average differences;
identifying a value indicating a largest change from the set of average differences;
determining the additional return value as the normal difference less the value; and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero, displaying, on the user device, the additional return value.
5. The system of claim 4 wherein the date range corresponds to the first event type.
6. The system of claim 4 wherein the date range includes a pre-event date range and a post-event date range.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein the first security identifier includes: (i) a stock; (ii) an option; or (iii) an exchanged-traded fund.
8. The system of claim 1 wherein: the memory stores a user parameter database including a set of security identifiers corresponding to a user of the user device, and the first security identifier includes each security identifier of the set of security identifiers.
9. The system of claim 1 wherein the event type includes: (i) a change in commodity value; (ii) a change in interest rate value; or (iii) an occurrence of a natural disaster.
10. The system of claim 1
wherein receiving the user input includes: receiving an indication of a user logging in to an account;
identifying the first security identifier as a security included in a corresponding user portfolio; and
identifying the first event type as a preset event type.
As demonstrated by the mappings in the table above, U.S. Patent No 11,907,189 discloses or renders obvious all the features of the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-15 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,324 (Appl. No. 18,410,445).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because both are directed to similar invention with similar limitations as demonstrated in the table below:
Instant Application
U.S. Patent No. 12,321,324
A system comprising:
a memory configured to store instructions; and at least one processor configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to perform,
in response to receiving user input including a first event type of a set of event types and a security identifier,
obtaining, based on the first event type, a first set of event dates, each event date of the first set of event dates corresponding to a date of an event of the first event type,
13. The system of claim 1, wherein the memory further stores an event database including the set of event types and, for each event type of the set of event types, a set of event dates.
for each event date of the first set of event dates,
obtaining an event value on the event date of the security identifier,
obtaining a related date to the event date, the related date being within a date range of the event date,
12. The system of claim 1, wherein the memory further stores a historical performance database including a plurality of security identifiers and values associated with dates of each of the plurality of security identifiers.
obtaining a value on the related date of the security identifier,
determining a difference value, the difference value being a difference between the event value on the event date of the security identifier and the value on the related date of the security identifier, and
storing the difference value in a set of difference values,
calculating an average difference of the set of difference values, and
displaying, on a user device, the average difference and an event indicator corresponding to the first event type.
2. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further caused to perform:
obtaining a beginning value of the security identifier and an end value of the security identifier over a threshold period to calculate a normal return;
calculating the normal return as the end value less the beginning value;
determining an additional return value as the normal return less the average difference; and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero,
displaying, on the user device, the additional return value.
3. The system of claim 2, wherein the system is further caused to perform: in response to the additional return value being zero, displaying an indication on the user device that the additional return value is equal to the normal return.
4. The system of claim 2, wherein the system is further caused to perform:
determining a corresponding average difference for each day of the date range related to each event date of the first set of event dates;
storing the corresponding average difference for each day of the date range in a set of average differences;
identifying a value indicating a largest change from the set of average differences;
determining the additional return value as the normal return less the value; and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero,
displaying, on the user device, the additional return value.
5. The system of claim 4 wherein the date range corresponds to the first event type.
6. The system of claim 4 wherein the date range includes a pre-event date range and a post- event date range.
7. The system of claim 1 wherein the security identifier includes: (i) a stock; (ii) an option; or (iii) an exchanged-traded fund.
8. The system of claim 1 wherein: the memory stores a user parameter database including a set of security identifiers corresponding to a user of the user device, and the security identifier is a security identifier of the set of security identifiers.
9. The system of claim 1 wherein the first event type includes: (i) a change in commodity value; (ii) a change in interest rate value; or (iii) an occurrence of a natural disaster.
10. The system of claim 1 wherein receiving the user input includes:
receiving an indication of a user logging in to an account;
identifying the security identifier as a security included in a corresponding user portfolio; and
identifying the first event type as a preset event type.
11. The system of claim 1, wherein the average difference of the set of difference values is weighted based on a time between the related date and an event date of the first set of event dates.
14. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further caused to perform, calculating a hypothetical return for the security identifier in response to a hypothetical event of the first event type; receiving a user input of a hypothetical portfolio position; estimating an impact of the hypothetical portfolio position on the hypothetical return.
15. The system of claim 1, wherein the system is further caused to perform, receiving an event prediction from a user, the event prediction including an instruction to execute a trade in response to the event prediction occurring.
1. A non-transitory computer readable medium storing computer readable instructions, which when executed by at least one processor of a system,
in response to receiving user input, cause the system to perform,
identifying, from the user input, a first event type and a first security identifier;
obtaining, based on the first event type, a first set of event dates from an event database;
for each event date of the first set of event dates,
obtaining, from a historical performance database, an event value on the event date of the first security identifier,
obtaining a related date to the event date, the related date being within a date range of the event date,
obtaining, from the historical performance database, a value on the related date of the first security identifier,
determining a difference value, the difference value being a difference between the event value on the event date of the first security identifier and the value on the related date of the first security identifier, and
storing the difference value in a set of difference values;
calculating an average difference of the set of difference values; and
displaying, on a user device, the average difference and an event indicator corresponding to the first event type.
2. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1 wherein the system is further caused to perform:
obtaining, from the historical performance database, a beginning value of the first security identifier and an end value of the first security identifier;
calculating a normal difference as the end value less the beginning value;
determining an additional return value as the normal difference less the average difference; and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero,
displaying, on the user device, the additional return value.
3. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 2 wherein the system is further caused to perform: in response to the additional return value being zero, displaying an indication on the user device that the additional return value is equal to the normal difference.
4. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 2 wherein the system is further caused to perform:
determining a corresponding average difference for each day of the date range related to each event date of the first set of event dates;
storing the corresponding average difference for each day of the date range in a set of average differences;
identifying a value indicating a largest change from the set of average differences;
determining the additional return value as the normal difference less the value; and in response to the additional return value being nonzero,
displaying, on the user device, the additional return value.
5. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 4 wherein the date range corresponds to the first event type.
6. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 4 wherein the date range includes a pre-event date range and a post-event date range.
7. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1 wherein the first security identifier includes: (i) a stock; (ii) an option; or (iii) an exchanged-traded fund.
8. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1 wherein: a user parameter database includes a set of security identifiers corresponding to a user of the user device, and the first security identifier includes each security identifier of the set of security identifiers.
9. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1 wherein the first event type includes: (i) a change in commodity value; (ii) a change in interest rate value; or (iii) an occurrence of a natural disaster.
10. The non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 1 wherein receiving the user input includes:
receiving an indication of a user logging in to an account;
identifying the first security identifier as a security included in a corresponding user portfolio; and
identifying the first event type as a preset event type.
As demonstrated by the mappings in the table above, U.S. Patent No 12,321,324 discloses or renders obvious all the features of the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claim 1 recites mental processes in the limitations of “obtaining event dates, an event value, a related date, a value on the related date”, “determining a difference value”, and “calculating an average difference”. Each of those could be done mentally based on gathered information. Mental processes are directed to one of the abstract ideas groups as set forth by Prong One in Step 2A of the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance.
In addition, the limitations of “storing the difference value” and “displaying the average difference” appear to recite insignificant extra-solution activities at Step 2A Prong Two, and also would be well-understood, routine, and conventional at Step 2B. This is nothing more than data maintaining and data outputting.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Additional elements (e.g. event types, security identifier, event date, event value, different value, average difference) are directed to types of information materials, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception, such that the claims are more than a drafting effort design to monopolize exception, because the claimed steps could be performed in a same manner to achieve the same outcome with other types of information other than the ones being used in the claims.
Hence, the claims do not include additional elements or the combination of the elements are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception and fail to integrate the judicial exception into practical application according to Prong Two in Step 2A of the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance because the claimed elements or their combination do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Further, in view of Step 2B of the 2019 Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance, it is determined that the computing elements (such as memory, processor, user device) in the claims amount to no more than usage of a generic computing system having a generic computing components, which fails to provide an inventive concept or significantly more than abstract idea because the elements do not necessary improve the functional of a computing system or an improvement to a technical field since network computing is well known.
Dependent claim 2 further recites an additional mental process in a limitation of “obtaining a beginning value and an end value of the security identifier over a threshold period…”, “calculate the normal return”, “determine an additional return value” which could be performed mentally based on the gathered information. The additional limitation of “…displaying…the addental return value” appear to recite insignificant extra-solution activity and is nothing more than data outputting. Also, the additional elements (e.g. beginning value, end value, threshold period, normal return) are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claim 3 further recites an insignificant extra-solution activity of “…displaying an indication…” that is nothing more than data outputting. Also, the additional elements (e.g. an indication) are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claim 4 further recites an additional mental process in a limitation of “determining a correspond average difference.”, “identifying a value indicating a largest change”, “determining the additional return value” which correspond to generate an output based on gathered data information, which could be performed mentally based on the gathered information. The additional limitations of “storing the corresponding average difference” “displaying the additional return value” appear to recite insignificant extra-solution activities and is nothing more than data maintaining and data outputting. Also, the additional elements (e.g. a corresponding average difference, a value indicate a largest change) are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 5-7, 9 and 11 each further recites additional elements (e.g. data range, pre-event data range, a stock, an option, an exchanged-traded fund, weight, time) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claims 8 and 12-13 each further limitations involving usage of a generic computing component of memory performing an insignificant extra-solution activity of storing different database (i.e. a user parameter database, a historical performance database, and an event database), which is directed to a generic function of a memory since it is well known that the memory is being used to store data materials. Hence, the claimed limitations fail to provide an inventive concept or significantly more than abstract idea. Also, the additional elements (e.g. a set of security identifiers, a plurality of security identifiers, the set of event types, a set of event dates) in the limitations are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claim 10 further recites an additional mental process in a limitation of “identifying the security identifier” and “identifying the first event type” which could be performed mentally based on the gathered information and data evaluation. The additional limitation of “receiving an indication of a user logging in….” appear to recite insignificant extra-solution activity and is nothing more than data gathering. Also, the additional elements (e.g. account, user portfolio) are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claim 14 further recites an additional mental process in a limitations of “calculating a hypothetical return…estimating an impact… ” and “identifying the first event type” which could be performed mentally based on the gathered information and data evaluation. The additional limitation of “receiving a user input ….” appear to recite insignificant extra-solution activity and is nothing more than data gathering. Also, the additional elements (e.g. hypothetical return, hypothetical event) are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Dependent claim 15 further recites an additional limitation of “receiving an event prediction from a user ….” appear to recite insignificant extra-solution activity and is nothing more than data gathering. Also, the additional elements (e.g. event prediction, instruction) are directed to types of information materials that are being manipulated, which do not impose a meaningful limit on the judicial exception.
Thus, for at least the reasoning above, the pending claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wootton et al (Pub No. US 2016/0063631, hereinafter Wootton) in view of Weber et al (Pub No. US 2015/0348193, hereinafter Weber).
Wootton and Weber are cited in the previous office action.
With respect to claim 1, Wootton discloses a system (abstract) comprising:
a memory configured (Fig 1) to store instructions; and
at least one processor (Fig 1) configured to execute the instructions to cause the system to perform, in response to receiving user input including a first event type of a set of event types and a security identifier ([0016-0017], Fig 2: receive user input with an investment portfolio information including information of at least one event type of a set of event types as further described in [0030] & [0034], and a security identifier as set forth by the assets that include stocks, bunds funds each has a respective security identifier in the portfolio as further described in [0025]),
obtaining, based on the first event type, a first set of event dates ([0018-0019]: obtain a first set of event dates as historical information is being obtained that covers a time period with respect to the event dates, such as dates of a year or other times with different events of the portfolio), each event date of the first set of event dates corresponding to a date of an event of the first event type (the limitation is directed to non-functional descriptive material that describes each event date is related to a date of an event of the first event, which does not impact the functionality of the claimed steps as all steps are being performed the same regardless of whether each event date of the first set of event dates corresponding to a date of an event of the first event type or not; [0014], [0030-0033], [0071], Fig 2-3: each event date is corresponding to a date of an event as indicated by the glide path map, such as a market event date with severe loss is corresponding to a date of the event of an event risk type represented by a respective time),
for each event date of the first set of event dates,
obtaining an event value on the event date of the security identifier ([0014]: obtain a event value, which a merely a type of data as the historical performance values are being obtain for each security identifier for each asset for each date to determine the portfolio growth, as further described in the [0034] & [0059]),
obtaining a related date to the event date, the related date being within a date range of the event date ([0019]]: obtain a date range represented by a time period of the event date, as further described in [0060]),
obtaining a value on the related date of the security identifier ([0019]]: obtain a value on the related date of the security as the historical investment information is being obtained, as further described in [0039], [0045], [0062]).
determining a difference value, the difference value being a difference between the event value on the event date of the security identifier and the value on the related date of the security identifier ([0018-0019]: determine a difference value, such as a gain or loss value, or a return value that indicate the difference between the event value and the value on the related date of the portfolio over a period of time, as further described in [0044], ), and
storing the difference value in a set of difference values ([0018]: store the difference value in a set of different values at least as the losses, gains and returns are being stored and tracked in the historical index, as further described in [0049], [0060]),
calculating an average difference ([0019]: calculate an average difference as indicated by the historical return as further described in [0042], or by an average loss as described in [0054]), and
displaying, on a user device, the average difference and an event indicator corresponding to the first event type ([0022-0023], Fig 3: display an average, event identifier via displaying a glide path map presentation with interactive elements for difference types of information, as further described in [0065-0067]).
Wootton does not explicitly disclose calculating an average difference of the set of difference values.
However, Weber discloses calculating an average difference of the set of difference values ([0085]: calculate an average difference of the differences of the set of difference represented by an average return or an average return as further described in [0098]).
Since both Wootton and Weber are from the same field of endeavor because both are directed to data management via perform analysis operations, which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify and combine their teachings by incorporate the average difference calculation of Weber into Wootton for data calculation and presentation as claimed. The motivation to combine is to provide a dynamic and multi-facet data management to user (Wootton, [0003]; Weber, [0002]).
With respect to claim 2, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein the system is further caused to perform: obtaining a beginning value of the security identifier and an end value of the security identifier over a threshold period to calculate a normal return (Wootton, [0019], [0049]; Weber, [0011], [0014]: obtaining beginning value and end value to calculate the return corresponding the normal return, gain or loss value);
calculating the normal return as the end value less the beginning value (Wootton, [0049], [0049]; Weber, [0011], [0014]: calculated the normal return);
determining an additional return value as the normal return less the average difference (Wootton, [0039], [0049]; Weber, [0014], [0075], [0083]: determine additional value, which is merely additional data material with respect to the normal return with additional information); and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero, displaying, on the user device, the additional return value (Wootton, [0021], [0067], Fig 3; Weber, [0099-0100]: display the additional return information).
With respect to claim 3, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses
wherein the system is further caused to perform: in response to the additional return value being zero, displaying an indication on the user device that the additional return value is equal to the normal return (Wootton, [0021], [0067], Fig 3; Weber, [0099-0100]: display the additional return information indicating the return value is equal and/or different with the differences indicated).
With respect to claim 4, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein the system is further caused to perform:
determining a corresponding average difference for each day of the date range related to each event date of the first set of event dates (Wootton, [0018-0019], [0067], Fig 3; Weber, [0097-0098]: determine a average difference for a date range);
storing the corresponding average difference for each day of the date range in a set of average differences (Wootton, [0021], [0067], Fig 3; Weber, [0099-0100]: store the difference for at least calculate the return);
identifying a value indicating a largest change from the set of average differences (Wootton, [0039], [0049]; Weber, [0098-0100], [0104]: identifying a values indicating a largest change in view of the values);
determining the additional return value as the normal return less the value (Wootton, [0039], [0049]; Weber, [0014], [0075], [0083]: determine additional value, which is merely additional data material with respect to the normal return with additional information); and
in response to the additional return value being nonzero, displaying, on the user device, the additional return value (Wootton, [0021], [0067], Fig 3; Weber, [0099-0100]: display the additional return information).
With respect to claim 5, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses
wherein the date range corresponds to the first event type (Wootton, [0018-0019], [0067], Fig 3; Weber, [0097-0098]: the date range or period is corresponding to a type of event).
With respect to claim 6, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein the date range includes a pre-event date range and a post- event date range (Wootton, [0014], [0018-0019], Fig 3; Weber, [0097-0098]: the date range or period include a historic period that include before and after the event).
With respect to claim 7, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses
wherein the security identifier includes: (i) a stock; (ii) an option; or (iii) an exchanged-traded fund (Wootton, [0014], [0025]; Weber, [0031]: stock, exchange traded fund, option).
With respect to claim 8, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses
wherein: the memory stores a user parameter database including a set of security identifiers corresponding to a user of the user device, and the security identifier is a security identifier of the set of security identifiers (Wootton, [0017-0019], [0025]; Weber, [0032]: the memory store user parameter database represented by portfolio with a set of security identifiers as set fort by the assets with stock, funds, options securities).
With respect to claim 9, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses
wherein the first event type includes: (i) a change in commodity value; (ii) a change in interest rate value; or (iii) an occurrence of a natural disaster (Wootton, [0039-0042]; Weber, [0053]: event includes change in value, interest rate or disaster/risk).
With respect to claim 10, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein receiving the user input includes: receiving an indication of a user logging in to an account (Wootton, [0016-0017]: Weber, [0036], [0039]: receive an indication of user logging in view of portfolio access correspond to an account);
identifying the security identifier as a security included in a corresponding user portfolio (Wootton, [0016], [0025]: Weber, [0016], [0036]: identify the security identifier with a security include in a user portfolio); and
identifying the first event type as a preset event type (Wootton, [0014], [0039-0042]; Weber, [0047]: identify the event type is a known type correspond to a preset event type).
With respect to claim 11, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein the average difference of the set of difference values is weighted based on a time between the related date and an event date of the first set of event dates (Weber, [0059], [0098]: weight is applied to the value based on time factor).
With respect to claim 12, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein the memory further stores a historical performance database including a plurality of security identifiers and values associated with dates of each of the plurality of security identifiers (Wotton, [0017-0018]; Weber, [0017-0018], Fig 9: the memory stores historic time series data correspond to a historical performance database with security identifiers of a portfolio).
With respect to claim 13, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein the memory further stores an event database including the set of event types and, for each event type of the set of event types, a set of event dates (Wotton, [0014], [0039]; Weber, [0053]: the memory stores event data correspond to a database with event types with respect to date).
With respect to claim 14, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein the system is further caused to perform, calculating a hypothetical return for the security identifier in response to a hypothetical event of the first event type (Wotton, [0033], [0067-0068], Fig 3; Weber, [0042], [0058-0059]: hypothetical return as represented by one of the expected outcome in Wotton, or estimation in Weber);
receiving a user input of a hypothetical portfolio position (Wotton, [0023], [0046], Fig 2-3; Weber, [0012], [0042]: receive user input of hypothetical portfolio via glide path map generation, or input for hypothetical portfolio position via estimation such as intra-day value estimation);
estimating an impact of the hypothetical portfolio position on the hypothetical return (Wotton, [0032], [0046], [0063], Fig 3; Weber, [0012], [0042]: estimate an impact of the hypothetical portfolio via glide path map indicating the expected outcome and/or outlook correspond to the estimated impact through Monte Carlo Simulation as described by Wotton, and estimate value disclosed by Weber).
With respect to claim 15, the combined teachings of Wootton and Weber further discloses wherein the system is further caused to perform, receiving an event prediction from a user, the event prediction including an instruction to execute a trade in response to the event prediction occurring (limitation of “the event prediction including an instruction to execute a trade in response to the event prediction occurring” is directed to non-functional descriptive material describe the intended use of the event prediction, which is intended being used for the purpose of execute trade in response to the event predicting occurring. However, no trading is actually being performed; Wotton, [0046], [0069-0071], Fig 2-3; Weber, [0042-0044]: receive user prediction, which include instruction to reallocate asset which involves trade execution as indicated by Weber),
Examiner Note
Examiner has cited particular columns/paragraph and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: the relevant cited prior art Guzman et al (Pub No. US 11,080,789, hereinafter Guzman) discloses a same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, a computer implemented system configured to perform similar operations as the claimed operations, including receive user input, calculate return of assets, and estimate hypothetical return.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE N OWYANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2168