Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 13-16, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JEONG (US 20200185641 A1) in view of UM (US 20180090702 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JEONG discloses a display device (e.g., Fig. 3; display device 100) comprising:
a window (Fig. 3 and [0071]; cover window 145);
a display panel (Fig. 3 and [0064]; display panel including thin film transistor arrays 110, light emitting elements 112, and encapsulation layer 113) disposed under the window (cover window 145), and including a first area (area 101 and 102) corresponding to a display surface, a second area (bending area 103) bent with respect to a bending axis (an imaginary axis around which cover layer 200 is being bent) and a third area (area 104) facing the first area;
a flexible circuit film (Fig. 3 and [0092]; flexible circuit board 136) coupled to the third area (area 104) of the display panel and disposed under the display panel (Fig. 3);
a driving chip (Fig. 3 and [0054]; drive IC chip 137) disposed on the third area (area 104) of the display panel; and
a cover film (Fig. 3 and [0069]; cover layer 200) bent along the second area (bending area 103) of the display panel and covering the second and third areas (area 103 and area 104) of the display panel,
wherein a plurality of slits is defined in the cover film in correspondence to the bending area of the display panel (Figs. 3, 5-6, and 11 and [0079]-[0080]; cover layer 200 comprising a plurality of groove structures 250 corresponding to the bending area 103);
the display panel includes: a first surface including a portion facing the window in the first area; and a second surface opposite to the first surface, and the driving chip is mounted on the first surface of the display panel (Fig. 3; drive IC chip 137 is mounted on a first surface of the display panel).
JEONG does not disclose the cover film covering a portion of the flexible circuit film and the driving chip. However, UM discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel (e.g., Figs. 1 and 13-14) including a first area (area 1A) corresponding to a display surface, a second area (bending area BA) bent with respect to a bending axis (bending axis BAX) and a third area (area 2A) facing the first area; a flexible circuit film (flexible circuit board 820) coupled to the third area (area 2A) of the display panel and disposed under the display panel (Figs. 13-14); a driving chip (driving circuit chip 810) disposed on the third area (area 2A) of the display panel (Figs. 13-14); and a cover film (cover layer 600) bent along the second area (bending area 103) of the display panel and covering a portion of the flexible circuit film (flexible circuit board 820), the driving chip (driving circuit chip 810), and the second and third areas (area BA and area 2A) of the display panel (Figs. 13-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cover layer as taught from UM to the display device of JEONG to protect the electronic circuits from external impact and ambient moisture. In addition, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JEONG to the bending cover layer of the display device of UM, which would reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
Regarding claim 3, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 1, JEONG discloses wherein the plurality of slits extends in parallel to the bending axis (Figs. 3 and 5 and [0079]; a plurality of groove structures 250 extends in parallel to the bending axis).
Regarding claim 8, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 1, JEONG discloses wherein the cover film includes: a first part having a first thickness; and a second part having a second thickness which is smaller than the first thickness (Figs. 3, 5, and 9-11; cover layer 200 including a first structure having a first thickness and a second structure having a second thickness smaller than the first thickness).
Regarding claim 9, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 8, JEONG discloses wherein the second part is coupled in correspondence to the second area of the display panel (Figs. 3, 5, and 9-11; the second structure of the cover layer 200 is coupled in correspondence to the bending area 103).
Regarding claim 10, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 8, JEONG (Figs. 3, 5-6, and 8-11) discloses wherein the cover film (Fig. 4; cover layer 200) includes: a first cover insulating layer (insulating layer 220); an intermediate layer (intermediate layer 230 or 240) disposed on the first cover insulating layer (insulating layer 220); and a second cover insulating layer (insulating layer 240 or 270) disposed on the intermediate layer (intermediate layer 230 or 240).
Regarding claim 13, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 8, JEONG (Figs. 3, 5-6, and 8-11) discloses wherein the cover film includes: a first part having a first thickness (first part P1); and a second part having a second thickness (second part P2) which is smaller than the first thickness (Fig. 9), and wherein the intermediate layer (intermediate layer 230) does not overlap the second part (second part P2).
Regarding claim 14, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 13, JEONG (Figs. 3, 5-6, and 8-11) discloses wherein the second part (second part P2) is coupled in correspondence to the second area (bending area 103) of the display panel(e.g., Fig. 9 reproduced).
Regarding claim 15, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 13, JEONG (Figs. 3, 5-6, and 8-11) discloses the display device further comprising: a bending protection layer (flexible substrate layer 110) disposed between the bending area (bending area 103) of the display module and the cover film (cover film 200).
Regarding claim 16, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 8, JEONG (Figs. 3, 5-6, and 8-11) discloses the display device further comprising: an optical film (polarizer 230) disposed between the window (cover window 145) and the display panel (display panel); and an adhesive film (adhesive 141) disposed between the optical film (polarizer 230) and the window (cover window 145).
Regarding claim 19, JEONG discloses an electronic device comprising a display device (e.g., Fig. 3; display device 100), the display device comprising:
a window (Fig. 3 and [0071]; cover window 145);
a display panel (Fig. 3 and [0064]; display panel including thin film transistor arrays 110, light emitting elements 112, and encapsulation layer 113) disposed under the window (cover window 145), and including a first area (area 101 and 102) corresponding to a display surface, a second area (bending area 103) bent with respect to a bending axis (an imaginary axis around which cover layer 200 is being bent) and a third area (area 104) facing the first area;
a flexible circuit film (Fig. 3 and [0092]; flexible circuit board 136) coupled to the third area (area 104) of the display panel and disposed under the display panel (Fig. 3);
a driving chip (Fig. 3 and [0054]; drive IC chip 137) disposed on the third area (area 104) of the display panel; and
a cover film (Fig. 3 and [0069]; cover layer 200) bent along the second area (bending area 103) of the display panel and covering the second and third areas (area 103 and area 104) of the display panel,
wherein a plurality of slits is defined in the cover film in correspondence to the bending area of the display panel (Figs. 3, 5-6, and 11 and [0079]-[0080]; cover layer 200 comprising a plurality of groove structures 250 corresponding to the bending area 103);
the display panel includes: a first surface including a portion facing the window in the first area; and a second surface opposite to the first surface, and the driving chip is mounted on the first surface of the display panel (Fig. 3; drive IC chip 137 is mounted on a first surface of the display panel).
JEONG does not disclose the cover film covering a portion of the flexible circuit film and the driving chip. However, UM discloses a display device, comprising: a display panel (e.g., Figs. 1 and 13-14) including a first area (area 1A) corresponding to a display surface, a second area (bending area BA) bent with respect to a bending axis (bending axis BAX) and a third area (area 2A) facing the first area; a flexible circuit film (flexible circuit board 820) coupled to the third area (area 2A) of the display panel and disposed under the display panel (Figs. 13-14); a driving chip (driving circuit chip 810) disposed on the third area (area 2A) of the display panel (Figs. 13-14); and a cover film (cover layer 600) bent along the second area (bending area 103) of the display panel and covering a portion of the flexible circuit film (flexible circuit board 820), the driving chip (driving circuit chip 810), and the second and third areas (area BA and area 2A) of the display panel (Figs. 13-14). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cover layer as taught from UM to the display device of JEONG to protect the electronic circuits from external impact and ambient moisture. In addition, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from JEONG to the bending cover layer of the display device of UM, which would reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
5. Claims 4-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JEONG (US 20200185641 A1) in view of UM (US 20180090702 A1) and further in view of SHYU (US 20170294495 A1).
Regarding claim 4, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 3, JEONG (e.g., Fig. 5) discloses wherein a plurality of groove structures (groove structures 250) is arranged in a first direction (X direction) which is parallel to the bending axis (Figs. 3 and 11; bending axis) and a second direction (Y direction) which crosses the first direction (X direction). The examiner further cites SHYU as a reference. SHYU (Figs. 7 and 9-13; Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses a display device, wherein a plurality of slits is defined in a cover film in correspondence to the bending area of the display panel (Fig. 9; slit structures 14EF; [0038]), wherein the plurality of slits (slit structures 14EF) is arranged in a first direction (X direction) which is parallel to the bending axis (Figs. 7 and 9; bending axis 16; [0033]) and a second direction (Y direction) which crosses the first direction (X direction). Both UOGISHI ([0103]) and SHYU ([0038]-[0039]) discloses the groove structure may have different shapes including circular shapes and slit shapes, therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of SHYU to the display device of JEONG in view of UM because it has been held that a change in a part shape of an invention in a way that does not modify the operation of the device is merely a design choice and involves only routine skill in the art. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display.
Regarding claim 5, JEONG in view of UM and further in view of SHYU discloses the display device of claim 4, SHYU (Figs. 7 and 9; Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein the plurality of slits includes: a plurality of first slits disposed in a first row (first row of slit structures 14EF1) which is parallel to the first direction (X direction); and a plurality of second slits disposed in a second row (second row of slit structures 14EF2) which is adjacent to the first row, and wherein a first center line (first center line C1) which passes through centers of the plurality of first slits (first row of slit structures 14EF1) in parallel to the second direction (Y direction) is spaced apart from a second center line (second center line C2) which passes through centers of the plurality of second slits (second row of slit structures 14EF2) in parallel to the second direction (Y direction), in the first direction (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, JEONG in view of UM and further in view of SHYU discloses the display device of claim 5, SHYU (Figs. 7 and 9; Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein adjacent two first slits of the plurality of first slits are spaced apart from each other by a first interval in the first direction (Fig. 9 and [0038]; first interval X2), and adjacent two second slits of the plurality of second slits are spaced apart from each other by a second interval in the first direction (Fig. 9 and [0038]; second interval X2).
Regarding claim 7, JEONG in view of UM and further in view of SHYU discloses the display device of claim 6, SHYU (Figs. 7 and 9; Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein the second interval is smaller than or equal to the first interval (Fig. 9 and [0038]; first interval = second interval).
Regarding claim 11 JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 3 but does not discloses wherein at least one of the first and second cover insulating layers includes mesh fabric. However, SHYU (e.g., Fig. 20) discloses wherein at least one of the first and second cover insulating layers includes mesh fabric (Fig. 20 and [0044]; mesh fabric). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of SHYU to the display device of JEONG in view of UM. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display.
6. Claims 12 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over JEONG (US 20200185641 A1) in view of UM (US 20180090702 A1) and further in view of UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1).
Regarding claim 12, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 10, but does not disclose wherein the intermediate layer includes a conductive material. However, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses a display device, wherein the cover film (cover layer 23) includes: a first cover insulating layer (insulating layer 23c; [0049]); an intermediate layer (intermediate layer 23b; [0049]) disposed on the first cover insulating layer (insulating layer 23c); and a second cover insulating layer (insulating layer 23a; [0049]) disposed on the intermediate layer (intermediate layer 23b), wherein the intermediate layer includes a conductive material (conductive intermediate layer 23b; [0049]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cover layer as taught from UOGISHI to the display device of JEONG in view of UM to protect the electronic circuits and transmit signal from the electronic circuits to the display panel.
Regarding claim 17, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 16, but does not disclose wherein the optical film and the adhesive film are spaced apart from the cover film in a plan view. However, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses a display device, further comprising: an optical film (polarizer PL2) disposed between the window (cover window CM) and the display panel (LC panel); and an adhesive film (adhesive AD) disposed between the optical film (polarizer PL2) and the window (cover window CM), wherein the optical film (polarizer PL2) and the adhesive film (adhesive AD) are spaced apart from the cover film (cover layer 23) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 11-12). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cover layer as taught from UOGISHI to the display device of JEONG in view of UM to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
Regarding claim 18, JEONG in view of UM discloses the display device of claim 16, JEONG (Fig. 3) discloses wherein the adhesive film (adhesive 141) overlaps the cover film (cover film 200) in the plan view, but does not disclose wherein the optical film is spaced apart from the cover film in a plan view. However, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses a display device, wherein the optical film (polarizer PL2) is spaced apart from the cover film (cover layer 23) in a plan view. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the cover layer as taught from UOGISHI to the display device of JEONG in view of UM to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display device.
Response to Arguments
7. Regarding claims 1 and 19, applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection. In view of amendments, the references of JEONG (US 20200185641 A1) and UM (US 20180090702 A1) have been used for new ground rejection.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623