Detailed Action
Response to Amendment
2. The Amendment filed on 04/29/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 14, 15 and 19 have been amended. Claims 2 and 20 have been canceled. Claims 1 and 3-19 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1, 3, 8-10, 12, 16-17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1).
Regarding claim 1, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12; Figs. 1 and 11 are reproduced below for references) discloses a display device (display device DSP) comprising:
a window (cover window CM; [0041]);
a display module (display module including display panel PNL and backlight unit BL; [0036]) disposed under the window (cover window CM), and including a first area (area A1) corresponding to a display surface, a second area (bending area BA or A2) bent with respect to a bending axis (an imaginary axis in X-direction around which cover layer 23 is being bent) and a third area (area A3) facing the first area;
a flexible circuit film (flexible circuit film 25; [0040]) coupled to the third area (area A3) of the display module and disposed under the display module (Fig. 2);
a driving chip (drive IC chip 24; [0040]) disposed on the third area (area A3) of the display module; and
a cover film (cover layer 23; [0040], [0044], and [0049]-[0050]) bent along the second area of the display module (e.g., Fig. 11) and covering a portion of the flexible circuit film (flexible circuit film 25), the driving chip (drive IC chip 24), and the second and third areas (bending area BA and area A3) of the display module,
wherein a plurality of slits is defined in the cover film in correspondence to the bending area of the display module (take Figs. 11-12 as an example, cover layer 23 comprising a plurality of long and narrow cuts CC corresponding to the bending area BA, [0077]-[0078]; take Figs. 3-4 as another example, cover layer 23 comprising a plurality of long and narrow cuts GR corresponding to the edges of the bending area BA, [0052]-[0053]).
Regarding claim 3, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the plurality of slits (groove structures CC or GR) extends in parallel to the bending axis (imaginary axis in X-direction around which cover layer 23 is being bent).
Regarding claim 8, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and 11-12; Fig. 12 is reproduced for reference) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the cover film (cover layer 23) includes: a first part having a first thickness (first part P1); and a second part having a second thickness (second part P2) which is smaller than the first thickness (Fig. 12 and [0079]).
Regarding claim 9, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and 11-12; Fig. 12 is reproduced for reference) discloses the display device of claim 8, wherein the second part (second part P2) is coupled in correspondence to the second area (bending area BA) of the display module.
Regarding claim 10, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 1, wherein the cover film (cover layer 23) includes: a first cover insulating layer (insulating layer 23c; [0049]); an intermediate layer (intermediate layer 23b; [0049]) disposed on the first cover insulating layer (insulating layer 23c); and a second cover insulating layer (insulating layer 23a; [0049]) disposed on the intermediate layer (intermediate layer 23b).
Regarding claim 12, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the intermediate layer includes a conductive material (conductive intermediate layer 23b; [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 1, further comprising: an optical film (polarizer PL2) disposed between the window (cover window CM) and the display module (LC panel); and an adhesive film (adhesive AD) disposed between the optical film (polarizer PL2) and the window (cover window CM).
Regarding claim 17, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 16, wherein the optical film (polarizer PL2) and the adhesive film (adhesive AD) are spaced apart from the cover film (cover layer 23) in a plan view (Figs. 3-4 and 11-12).
Regarding claim 19, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12; Figs. 1 and 11 are reproduced on page 5 for references) discloses an electronic device comprising a display device (display device DSP), the display device comprising:
a window (cover window CM; [0041]);
a display module (display module including display panel PNL and backlight unit BL; [0036]) disposed under the window (cover window CM), and including a first area (area A1) corresponding to a display surface, a second area (bending area BA or A2) bent with respect to a bending axis (an imaginary axis in X-direction around which cover layer 23 is being bent) and a third area (area A3) facing the first area;
a flexible circuit film (flexible circuit film 25; [0040]) coupled to the third area (area A3) of the display module and disposed under the display module (Fig. 2);
a driving chip (drive IC chip 24; [0040]) disposed on the third area (area A3) of the display module (Figs. 1-2 and 3-4 and 11-12); and
a cover film (cover layer 23; [0040], [0044], and [0049]-[0050]) bent along the second area (bending area BA or A2) of the display module and covering a portion of the flexible circuit film (flexible circuit film 25), the driving chip (drive IC chip 24), and the second and third areas (bending area BA and area A3) of the display module,
wherein a plurality of slits is defined in the cover film in correspondence to the bending area of the display module (take Figs. 11-12 as an example, cover layer 23 comprising a plurality of long and narrow cuts CC corresponding to the bending area BA, [0077]-[0078]; take Figs. 3-4 as another example, cover layer 23 comprising a plurality of long and narrow cuts GR corresponding to the edges of the bending area BA, [0052]-[0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 4-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) in view of SHYU (US 20170294495 A1).
Regarding claim 4, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 3, UOGISHI (Figs. 15-16) further discloses wherein a plurality of groove structures (groove structures GRD) is arranged in a first direction (X direction) which is parallel to the bending axis (bending axis BX) and a second direction (Y direction) which crosses the first direction (X direction). The examiner further cites SHYU as a reference. SHYU (Figs. 7 and 9-13; Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses a display device, wherein a plurality of slits is defined in a cover film in correspondence to the bending area of the display module (Fig. 9; slit structures 14EF; [0038]), wherein the plurality of slits (slit structures 14EF) is arranged in a first direction (X direction) which is parallel to the bending axis (Figs. 7 and 9; bending axis 16; [0033]) and a second direction (Y direction) which crosses the first direction (X direction). Both UOGISHI ([0103]) and SHYU ([0038]-[0039]) discloses the groove structure may have different shapes including circular shapes and slit shapes, therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of SHYU to the display device of UOGISHI because it has been held that a change in a part shape of an invention in a way that does not modify the operation of the device is merely a design choice and involves only routine skill in the art. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display.
Regarding claim 5, UOGISHI in view of SHYU discloses the display device of claim 4, SHYU (Figs. 7 and 9; Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein the plurality of slits includes: a plurality of first slits disposed in a first row (first row of slit structures 14EF1) which is parallel to the first direction (X direction); and a plurality of second slits disposed in a second row (second row of slit structures 14EF2) which is adjacent to the first row, and wherein a first center line (first center line C1) which passes through centers of the plurality of first slits (first row of slit structures 14EF1) in parallel to the second direction (Y direction) is spaced apart from a second center line (second center line C2) which passes through centers of the plurality of second slits (second row of slit structures 14EF2) in parallel to the second direction (Y direction), in the first direction (Fig. 9).
Regarding claim 6, UOGISHI in view of SHYU discloses the display device of claim 5, SHYU (Figs. 7 and 9; Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein adjacent two first slits of the plurality of first slits are spaced apart from each other by a first interval in the first direction (Fig. 9 and [0038]; first interval X2), and adjacent two second slits of the plurality of second slits are spaced apart from each other by a second interval in the first direction (Fig. 9 and [0038]; second interval X2).
Regarding claim 7, UOGISHI in view of SHYU discloses the display device of claim 6, SHYU (Figs. 7 and 9; Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein the second interval is smaller than or equal to the first interval (Fig. 9 and [0038]; first interval = second interval).
Regarding claim 11, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 3, UOGISHI (Figs. 13-14) further discloses wherein at least one of the first and second cover insulating layers includes mesh fabric (Fig. 14 and [0049]; insulating layer 23a including mesh fabric). As another reference, SHYU (e.g., Fig. 20) discloses wherein at least one of the first and second cover insulating layers includes mesh fabric (Fig. 20 and [0044]; mesh fabric). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of SHYU to the display device of UOGISHI. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display.
7. Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) in view of JEONG (US 20200185641 A1).
Regarding claim 13, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 10, wherein the cover film (cover layer 23) includes: a first part having a first thickness (first part P1); and a second part having a second thickness (second part P1) which is smaller than the first thickness (Fig. 12 and [0079]), but does not disclose wherein the intermediate layer does not overlap the second part. However, Jeong (Figs. 1, 3-5 and 8-10) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by UOGISHI, wherein a plurality of slits (slit structures 250) is defined in a cover film (cover layer 200) in correspondence to a bending area (bending area 103) of the display module (e.g., Figs. 5 and 8-11), wherein the cover film (cover layer 200) includes: a first cover insulating layer (insulating layer 210); an intermediate layer (intermediate layer 230) disposed on the first cover insulating layer (insulating layer 210); and a second cover insulating layer (insulating layer 240) disposed on the intermediate layer (intermediate layer 230). Jeong (e.g., Fig. 9 is reproduced for reference) discloses wherein the cover film includes: a first part having a first thickness (first part P1); and a second part having a second thickness (second part P2) which is smaller than the first thickness (Fig. 9), and wherein the intermediate layer (intermediate layer 230) does not overlap the second part (second part P2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of SHYU to the display device of UOGISHI. The combination and motivation would be to reduce a bend-induced stresses and enhance the flexibility of a display.
Regarding claim 14, UOGISHI in view of JEONG discloses the display device of claim 10, Jeong (Figs. 1, 3-5 and 8-10) discloses wherein the second part (second part P2) is coupled in correspondence to the second area (bending area 103) of the display module (e.g., Fig. 9 reproduced). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of SHYU to the display device of UOGISHI for the same reason above.
Regarding claim 15, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 1, but does not disclose a bending protection layer disposed between the second area of the display module and the cover film. However, Jeong (Figs. 1, 3-5 and 8-10) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by UOGISHI, further comprising: a bending protection layer (flexible substrate layer 110) disposed between the bending area (bending area 103) of the display module and the cover film (cover film 200). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of JEONG to the display device of UOGISHI. The combination and motivation would be to enhance the flexibility of a display.
8. Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over UOGISHI (US 20200077508 A1) in view of JEON (US 20190259965 A1).
Regarding claim 18, UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12) discloses the display device of claim 16, wherein the optical film (polarizer PL2) is spaced apart from the cover film (cover layer 23) in a plan view, but does not disclose wherein the adhesive film overlaps the cover film in the plan view. However, JEON (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 6) discloses a display device similar to that disclosed by UOGISHI, comprising: an optical film (polarizer 130) disposed between the window (cover window 170) and the display module (display panel 120); and an adhesive film (adhesive 160) disposed between the optical film (polarizer 130) and the window (cover window 170). JEON (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 6) further discloses wherein the adhesive film (adhesive 160) overlaps the cover film (cover layer 150) in the plan view JEON (e.g., Figs. 1, 3, and 6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of JEON to the display device of UOGISHI. The combination and motivation would be to enhance the connection and bonding of the cover layer with the display device when the display device is being bent.
Response to Arguments
9. Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
10. Applicant has amended claims 1 and 19. Applicant further argues that the cited references do not disclose the new limitations of amended claims 1 and 19.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments. UOGISHI (Figs. 1-2 and Figs. 3-4 and 11-12; Figs. 1 and 11 are reproduced below for references) discloses a display device (display device DSP) comprising:
a window (cover window CM; [0041]); a display module (display module including display panel PNL and backlight unit BL; [0036]) disposed under the window (cover window CM), and including a first area (area A1) corresponding to a display surface, a second area (bending area BA or A2) bent with respect to a bending axis (an imaginary axis in X-direction around which cover layer 23 is being bent) and a third area (area A3) facing the first area;
a flexible circuit film (flexible circuit film 25; [0040]) coupled to the third area (area A3) of the display module and disposed under the display module (Fig. 2);
a driving chip (drive IC chip 24; [0040]) disposed on the third area (area A3) of the display module; and
a cover film (cover layer 23; [0040], [0044], and [0049]-[0050]) bent along the second area of the display module (e.g., Fig. 11) and covering a portion of the flexible circuit film (flexible circuit film 25), the driving chip (drive IC chip 24), and the second and third areas (bending area BA and area A3) of the display module,
wherein a plurality of slits is defined in the cover film in correspondence to the bending area of the display module (take Figs. 11-12 as an example, cover layer 23 comprising a plurality of long and narrow cuts CC corresponding to the bending area BA, [0077]-[0078]; take Figs. 3-4 as another example, cover layer 23 comprising a plurality of long and narrow cuts GR corresponding to the edges of the bending area BA, [0052]-[0053]).
Therefore, UOGISHI teach the limitations including the new limitations of amended claims 1 and 19.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623