DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-11 are pending in Instant Application.
Priority
Examiner acknowledges Applicant’s claim to priority benefits of JP2022-184387 filed 11/17/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 05/14/2025 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered if signed and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerschbaum et al, “hereinafter Kerschbaum” (U.S. Patent Application: 20130010950) in view of HIRANO et al., “hereinafter HIRANO” (U.S. Patent Application: 20190190713).
As per Claim 1, Kerschbaum discloses an information management method implemented by a computer for managing information associated with each of a plurality of transactors constituting a supply chain (Kerschbaum, Para.34, an enterprise uses a supply chain to transform and move a product or service from one or more suppliers (entities, partners or companies) to a customer. The supply chain is a system that can involve various organizations and people inside and outside of the enterprise.), the method comprising
preparing a secret key and a public key based on homomorphic encryption (Kerschbaum, Para.31, a Bloom filter can be encrypted using homomorphic, public key encryption, such that only the private-key holder (i.e., the entity that encrypted the Bloom filer) can access the data stored in the Bloom filter, Para.63, generate the private key sk={p, q} and the public key pk={n=pq, v}.);
sharing the public key by the plurality of transactors (Kerschbaum, Para.35, As the product makes its way through the supply chain, the enterprise may move the product between various suppliers. The suppliers can share product related data along the supply chain. However, the suppliers may want to maintain the confidentiality of information related to the product movement and transformation as the enterprise moves the product between suppliers.);
acquiring acquisition encryption information encrypted using the public key by an upstream transactor that is a transactor in a previous process that supplies a delivery item (Kerschbaum, Para.38, an entity (e.g., entities 114, 116, 118, 120) can be a company, partner, organization or supplier located in a supply chain 122. For example, entity 114 is located before entity 116 in the supply chain 122. Entity 118 is located before entity 120 in the supply chain 122. The supply chain 122 manufactures item 104. The item 104 along with any additional components can be introduced to each entity in the supply chain 122 during the manufacturing process. In the example of FIG. 1, the finished item will be output by entity 120 for subsequent delivery to a customer, Para.55, a set (e.g., a client set and/or a server set) is added to a respective Bloom filter, and the Bloom filter can be encrypted using homomorphic, public key encryption. Example homomorphic encryption can include Goldwasser Micali (GM) encryption and Boneh, Goh, Nissim (BGN) encryption.);
preparing generation encryption information obtained by encrypting, using the public key, item-related information related to a process executed on the delivery item (Kerschbaum, Para.39, A unique identification number can be stored on the RFID tag 124 for the item 104. Each entity along the supply chain 122 can generate and associate entity-specific data with the item 104 as it is manufactured, or otherwise processed by the respective entity, Para.109, a Bloom filter can be generated and elements of the first set can be added to the Bloom filter using the Add operation. The Bloom filter is encrypted to provide an encrypted Bloom filter (306). In some implementations, each bit of the Bloom filter is encrypted. In some implementations, the Bloom filter is encrypted using GM encryption. In some implementations, the Bloom filter is encrypted using BGN encryption. The encrypted Bloom filter, among other data, is transmitted (308). In the example context of FIG. 3, the encrypted Bloom filter can be transmitted from a computing device of the client to a computing device of the server over a network.); and
setting a secure computation result to provision information provided to a downstream transactor that is a transactor in a next process that provides a shipping item (Kerschbaum, Para.41. As an item i progresses through the supply chain, it can be handled by a number of different suppliers s. In some implementations, a supply chain includes a plurality of items, where each item has a unique identifier, and a plurality of suppliers, where each supplier has a unique identifier. Let I={i.sub.0, . . . , i.sub.n} represent a set of items and S={s.sub.0, . . . , s.sub.m} represent a set of suppliers. As an example, FIG. 2 illustrates a set of items 210, I={i.sub.1, i.sub.2, i.sub.3}, and a set of suppliers 212, S={s.sub.1, s.sub.2, s.sub.3, s.sub.4, s.sub.5}., Para.42, sets 210 of suppliers S.sub.1, S.sub.2, and S.sub.3 that handle items i.sub.1, i.sub.2, and i.sub.3, respectively. Before a first supplier ships the item to a second supplier, the first supplier adds the second supplier to the data structure d.sub.S. In some examples, the transport of d.sub.S can be of an electronic form and included within a network message (e.g., an advanced shipping notification) that accompanies the item as it moves through the supply chain.), wherein the secure computation result is obtained by secure computation using the acquisition encryption information and the generation encryption information (Kerschbaum, Para.62, GM encryption is used to encrypt bits of the Bloom filter. GM encryption is a public-key, semantically-secure…, homomorphic encryption scheme, Para.63, GM encryption is semantically-secure (IND-CPA), i.e., one cannot infer from the ciphertext and the public key whether it is a specific plaintext.).
however, Kerschbaum does not explicitly disclose acquiring acquisition encryption information encrypted using the public key.
HIRANO discloses sharing the public key (HIRANO, Para.61, The encryption device 400 acquires data to be encrypted, and encrypts the acquired data with the user public key. The encryption device 400 then transmits the encrypted data as encryption data to the administration device 700. The encryption device 400 is a device which encrypts the data and generates ciphertext (hereinafter referred to as encryption data) by using the master public key or the user public key and saves the encryption data in the administration device 700.).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teachings as in Kerschbaum with the teachings as in HIRANO. The motivation for doing so would have been for implementing the encryption system wherein the user key generation device generates the user public key and the user secret key by using only the master public key without using the master secret key. Also, the arithmetic operation unit of the administration device acquires the procedure of operation using data as the arithmetic procedure, and selects encryption data which has been encrypted from the data to be used for the arithmetic procedure, from the data save unit. Furthermore, the arithmetic operation unit of the administration device performs homomorphic operation on the encryption data based on the arithmetic procedure and outputs the encryption operation result. The master decryption device then acquires the encryption operation result, and decrypts the encryption operation result with the master secret key. Thus, an encryption system with efficient processing capability while reducing operation cost and save cost can be provided. (HIRANO, Para.61,).
With respect to Claim 10, 11 are substantially similar to Claim 1 and are rejected in the same manner, the same art and reasoning applying.
As per Claim 2, Kerschbaum in view of HIRANO discloses the information management method according to claim 1, wherein the sharing the public key further includes:
preparing by a different a transactor, as the secret key and the public key, a first secret key and a first public key and a second secret key and a second public key (Kerschbaum, Para.41, FIG. 2, a directed graph 200 depicts an example supply chain. Vertices 202 represent suppliers, and the edges 204 represent transportation links between suppliers. In order to check the integrity of a supply chain, while disclosing no information except the validity of operations performed on the supply chain, a generic model for item-level tracking in supply chains can be used. As an item i progresses through the supply chain, it can be handled by a number of different suppliers s. In some implementations, a supply chain includes a plurality of items, where each item has a unique identifier, and a plurality of suppliers, where each supplier has a unique identifier. Let I={i.sub.0, . . . , i.sub.n} represent a set of items and S={s.sub.0, . . . , s.sub.m} represent a set of suppliers. As an example, FIG. 2 illustrates a set of items 210, I={i.sub.1, i.sub.2, i.sub.3}, and a set of suppliers 212, S={s.sub.1, s.sub.2, s.sub.3, s.sub.4, s.sub.5}.); providing by a key holder that is a transactor that holds the first secret key, the first public key to the upstream transactor, and acquiring the second public key from the downstream transactor; by the key holder, preparing acquisition clear text information obtained by decrypting the acquisition encryption information using the first secret key (Kerschbaum, Para.31, a Bloom filter can be encrypted using homomorphic, public key encryption, such that only the private-key holder (i.e., the entity that encrypted the Bloom filer) can access the data stored in the Bloom filter. In order for the encrypted Bloom filter to be useful in applications, the public-key holder can add elements to the Bloom filter without interaction (e.g., decrypting and re-encrypting the Bloom filer), and the public-key holder can verify the inclusion or exclusion of an element within the encrypted Bloom filter, also without interaction. To achieve this, specific zero-knowledge proofs (ZKPs) are implemented.); encrypting, using the second public key, a clear text computation result obtained by a computation using the acquisition clear text information and the item-related information related to a process executed by the key holder on the delivery item (Kerschbaum, Para.18, the first encrypted return set is generated by the service provider based on the first encrypted Bloom filter and a second encrypted Bloom filter, the second encrypted Bloom filter being provided to the service provider by an entity, the entity being an owner of the second set.); and adding an encryption computation result that has been encrypted to the provision information (Kerschbaum, Para.9, The goal of an oblivious SP (as opposed to a TTP in the ideal model) is to compute one or more encrypted return sets without learning any information about the inputs or the intersection (including its size). In OPSI, the client submits its encrypted Bloom filter E(b) for its set {c.sub.1, . . . , c.sub.v}, and the server also submits an encrypted Bloom filter E(b.sub.i') for its set {s.sub.1, . . . , s.sub.w}.).
As per Claim 3, Kerschbaum in view of HIRANO discloses the information management method according to claim 2, further comprising: by a supervisor supervising the supply chain, decrypting the secure computation result using a master secret key different from the secret key held by the transactor (Kerschbaum, Para.66, In order to decrypt an expanded ciphertext .tau., each element D(.sigma..sub.i)=e.sub.i can be decrypted. If e.sub.i=0 for i=1, . . . , u, then the final plaintext is x=1; otherwise, x=0. There is then a 2.sup.-u probability that it is falsely decrypted as 1, since for an expanded ciphertext .sigma. of x=0, the plaintexts e.sub.i are randomly distributed in {0,1}.sup.u.).
As per Claim 4, Kerschbaum in view of HIRANO discloses the information management method according to claim 1, wherein the sharing the public key further includes:
preparing the secret key and the public key by a supervisor that supervises the supply chain (Kerschbaum, Para.38, an entity (e.g., entities 114, 116, 118, 120) can be a company, partner, organization or supplier located in a supply chain 122. For example, entity 114 is located before entity 116 in the supply chain 122. Entity 118 is located before entity 120 in the supply chain 122. The supply chain 122 manufactures item 104. The item 104 along with any additional components can be introduced to each entity in the supply chain 122 during the manufacturing process. In the example of FIG. 1, the finished item will be output by entity 120 for subsequent delivery to a customer.); by the supervisor, acquiring the secure computation result associated with a supply item supplied by the supply chain (Kerschbaum, Para.45, a data structure d.sub.I can be provided, which includes the set I.sub.S of items 208 that have been handled by supplier s. Thus, d.sub.I is maintained at one supplier. Each time a supplier handles an item i, the supplier adds the item i to the data structure d.sub.I. Once one or more data structures d.sub.I are provided, many simple, efficient checks can be performed on the supply chain process that transports item i.); and acquiring a decryption computation result obtained by decrypting the secure computation using the secret key (Kerschbaum, Para.120, A second data set is encrypted (310). For example, the server can include the second set of elements (e.g., s={s.sub.1, . . . , s.sub.w}). In some implementations, the second set is encrypted using GM encryption. In some implementations, the second set is encrypted using BGN encryption. An encrypted return set is determined (312). For example, the server can perform the Test operation and the SYY technique, as discussed herein, to generate the encrypted return set. An example encrypted return set can include E.sup.l(s.sub.1'), . . . , E.sup.l(s.sub.w'). The encrypted return set is transmitted (314). In the example context of FIG. 3, the encrypted return set can be transmitted from a computing device of the server to a computing device of the client over a network. The encrypted return set is received (e.g., at the client) (316). The encrypted return set is decrypted to provide a return set (318). The intersection of the first set and the second set is determined based on the return set (302).).
As per Claim 5, Kerschbaum in view of HIRANO discloses the information management method according to claim 1, further comprising detecting that an unauthorized process has been executed in the secure computation (Kerschbaum, Para.48, a plurality of parties can be defined for configuring the security properties of the data structure. In some examples, an authority can be defined. The authority controls the data structure and can be the manufacturer of an item or even an independent organization, such as an industry association. In some examples, a supplier can be defined. The supplier can add elements to a set and compare, for example, a set S.sub.i against a black list S.sub.bl or a set I.sub.s.sub.i, to I.sub.s.sub.2; thus, the supplier participates in the supply chain by handling goods and verifying the integrity of the supply chain.).
As per Claim 6, Kerschbaum in view of HIRANO discloses the information management method according to claim 1, wherein the sharing the public key includes providing the public key acquired from the downstream transactor to at least one of the upstream transactor (Kerschbaum, Para.12, encryption includes generating a public key, private key pair based on a number of hash functions of the first Bloom filter. In some implementations, encryption of the first Bloom filter is achieved using the public key, Para.55, a set (e.g., a client set and/or a server set) is added to a respective Bloom filter, and the Bloom filter can be encrypted using homomorphic, public key encryption. Example homomorphic encryption can include Goldwasser Micali (GM) encryption and Boneh, Goh, Nissim (BGN) encryption., Para.35, As the product makes its way through the supply chain, the enterprise may move the product between various suppliers. The suppliers can share product related data along the supply chain. However, the suppliers may want to maintain the confidentiality of information related to the product movement and transformation as the enterprise moves the product between suppliers. This is particularly relevant in an ad hoc supply chain with dynamically changing suppliers. The enterprise can determine the trade-off between the need to share information along the supply chain and the non-proliferation of confidential information to competitors or others outside of the supply chain. Sharing information between suppliers along the supply chain can result in each supplier providing additional services that benefit the manufacture of the product. The sharing of information can also result in manufacturing process optimizations and improvements resulting in reduced manufacturing costs.).
As per Claim 9, Kerschbaum in view of HIRANO discloses the information management method according to claim 1, wherein the sharing the public key includes preparing the secret key and the public key based on fully homomorphic encryption (Kerschbaum, Para.03, a first set, the first set including a plurality of elements, adding, using a computing device, elements of the first set to a first Bloom filter, the first Bloom filter including a plurality of bits, and encrypting, using the computing device, each bit of the plurality of bits of the first Bloom filter to provide a first encrypted Bloom filter, encrypting being achieved using homomorphic, public key encryption, Para.31. a Bloom filter can be encrypted using homomorphic, public key encryption, such that only the private-key holder (i.e., the entity that encrypted the Bloom filer) can access the data stored in the Bloom filter. In order for the encrypted Bloom filter to be useful in applications, the public-key holder can add elements to the Bloom filter without interaction (e.g., decrypting and re-encrypting the Bloom filer), and the public-key holder can verify the inclusion or exclusion of an element within the encrypted Bloom filter).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7, 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/NORMIN ABEDIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2449