DETAILED ACTION
This is a final office action on the merits. The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (the Office) has received claims 1 -20 in application 19/208373.
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are amended.
Claims 1-20 are pending and have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Response to Claim Interpretation
Applicant's arguments filed 5/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant’s arguments regarding the interpretation of “sensitive action” have been considered but are not persuasive of patentability. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, a “sensitive action” is reasonably understood as an action for which additional or heightened authentication may be required. Applicant’s specification at ¶0050-0051 identifies examples including person-to-person payments, wire transfers, money transfer, transactions exceeding a particular amount, and certain account related changes. These disclosures are presented as examples, using language such as “may include” and therefore do not limit the claims exclusively.
Moreover, the amended independent claims now require that the selected action comprise “a transaction or a financial account related-activity.” The prior art identifies a specific transaction or financial account related activity as the claimed action which are consistent with the interpretation provided by the Applicant in the examples of ¶ 0050-0051.
Response to USC 102 and 103
Applicant's arguments filed 5/06/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Rule does not disclose the claimed “selection of an action” because Rule’s selected filed is merely a form field and not itself a transaction or financial account related activity. In view of the amendment, the rejection has been updated to add US10510074B1 in which teaches a user selecting items or services for purchase as a part of a transaction, with the transaction initiated in the mobile application and associated with a transaction identifier. The new prior art reference in combination with the previous prior art of record provides the amended requirement that the selected action comprise a transaction or financial account related activity.
Applicant further argues that Rule does not disclose communicating the selected action to a backend computer program. US10510074B1 has been added to teach that the mobile merchant application sends transaction information, including the transaction identifier, to backend components, and ultimately processes that same transaction using the transaction identifier.
Applicant also argues that the prior art does not disclose a backend determination that the action is a “sensitive action.” Ting supplies this feature. Ting’s policies include contextual factors such as time, location, resource, and workflow conditions. Thus, Ting teaches the concept of determining that a requested operation requires heightened or additional authentication before access or performance is permitted.
Please see updated action presented below.
Claim Interpretation
Please refer to MPEP §2111 - “Claim Interpretation; Broadest Reasonable Interpretation”. Claims must be given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the specification. Claims 1, 2, 3, 9, 10, 11, 15, 16, and 17 mentions the phrase “sensitive action” in which is defined in applicant’s specification ¶ 0050-0055. In ¶ 0052, “sensitive action” broadly described as “Other types of sensitive actions may be included as is necessary and/or desired”, therefore, the claim will be interpreted as such.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rule (US20200242588A1) in view of Rule (US10510074B1), hereinafter Rule(2).
Regarding Claim 8. Rule teaches:
receiving, by the mobile application and from the backend computer program, a notification to display an instruction to present a wireless-enabled device to the mobile electronic device;
Rule - the account application 113…on the mobile device 110 may output a notification 304 specifying to tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device 110 (¶ 0044).
displaying, by the mobile application, the instruction;
Rule - the account application 113…on the mobile device 110 may output a notification 304 specifying to tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device 110 (¶ 0044).
wirelessly receiving, by the mobile application, device information from a wireless-enabled device;
Rule - The contactless card 101 may then transmit the encrypted data (e.g., the encrypted customer ID 109) to the account application 113 of the mobile device 110 (e.g., via an NFC connection, Bluetooth connection, etc.) (¶ 0026).
communicating, by the mobile application, the device information to the backend computer program; and
Rule - prompt the user to tap a contactless card (¶ 0020). The account application 113 of the mobile device 110 may then transmit the encrypted customer ID (¶ 0037).
Rule does not teach, however, Rule(2) discloses:
A method, comprising: receiving, by a mobile application executed by a mobile electronic device, a selection of an action to execute, wherein the action comprises a transaction or a financial account related-activity;
Rule(2) - using a merchant application executing on a computing device, a user may select one or more items for purchase (Column 1, lines 59 and 60).
communicating, by the mobile application, the action to a backend computer program executed by a backend electronic device;
Rule(2) - the merchant application 113 may transmit an indication of the transaction ID 116 and the selected and/or removed items to the merchant server 150) (Column 8, lines 58-60).
receiving, by the mobile application, a notification from the backend computer program based on execution of the action.
Rule(2) - the merchant server 150 may transmit a payment confirmation to the merchant application 113 on the mobile device (Column 9, lines 48 and 49).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile application and contactless-card verification workflow of Rule with the mobile application receiving a user selected purchase transaction of Rule(2) because do so will securely authorize and complete mobile financial transaction thereby improving transaction security.
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rule in view of Rule(2) and in further view of Ting (US20070186106A1).
Regarding Claim 1. Rule teaches:
causing, by the computer program, the mobile application to display an instruction to present a wireless-enabled device to the mobile electronic device;
Rule - notification 206 instructs the user to tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device 110 (¶ 0041). the account application 113…on the mobile device 110 may output a notification 304 specifying to tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device 110 (¶ 0044).
receiving, by the computer program and from the mobile application, device information that was received wirelessly from the wireless-enabled device;
Rule - The contactless card 101 may then transmit the encrypted data (e.g., the encrypted customer ID 109) to the account application 113 of the mobile device 110 (e.g., via an NFC connection, Bluetooth connection, etc.) (¶ 0026). contactless card 101 further includes an indication of the counter value 104 along with the encrypted data (¶ 0074).
validating, by the computer program, the device information; and
Rule - the server 120 verifies the encrypted customer ID…”and” a match of the customer ID values verifies the encrypted data received from the contactless card (¶ 0038). the management application 123 may validate the data received from the contactless card 101 at block 545. For example, the management application 123 may compare the customer identifier 107 to a customer identifier for the associated account in the account data 124, and validate the data based on a match (¶ 0075).
Rule does not teach, however Rule(2) discloses:
A method, comprising: receiving, by a computer program executed by an electronic device and from a mobile application executed by a mobile electronic device, an action selected by a user, wherein the action comprises a transaction or a financial account related-activity;
Rule(2) - using a merchant application executing on a computing device, a user may select one or more items for purchase (Column 1, lines 59 and 60).
executing, by the computer program, the sensitive action in response to the device information being validated.
Rule(2) - the merchant server 150 processes the transaction associated with the transaction ID 116) (Column 9, lines 35 and 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile application and contactless-card verification workflow of Rule with the mobile application receiving a user selected purchase transaction of Rule(2) because do so will securely authorize and complete mobile financial transaction thereby improving transaction security.
The combination of Rule and Rule(2) does not disclose, however Ting discloses:
determining, by the computer program, that the action is a sensitive action;
Ting - rules can include time-based access rules (e.g., a user cannot access a certain resource during non-business hours), location-based access rules…and/or resource-based rule (¶ 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile application and contactless-card verification workflow of Rule and the mobile application receiving a user selected purchase transaction of Rule(2) with the policy-based authentication determination of Ting because do so reduces the risk of unauthorized transactions while avoiding unnecessary additional authentication for transactions not meeting the applicable security criteria.
Regarding Claims 2, 10, and 16. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The method of claims 1 and 9 and the system of claim 15, wherein the action is determined to be the sensitive action based on a time of day and/or a location of the mobile electronic device.
Ting - The policy may also include individual rules related to different types of biometric authentication, password presentation, time-of-day, day-of-week, concurrent application usage and physical location restrictions (¶ 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile application and contactless-card verification workflow of Rule and the mobile application receiving a user selected purchase transaction of Rule(2) with the policy-based authentication determination of Ting because do so reduces the risk of unauthorized transactions while avoiding unnecessary additional authentication for transactions not meeting the applicable security criteria.
Regarding Claims 3, 11, and 17. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The method of claims 1 and 9 and the system of claim 15, wherein the action is determined to be the sensitive action based on a type of action.
Ting - Other rules and policies can include time-based rules (e.g., multiple criteria required during non-business hours), workflow-based rules (e.g., different policies for different applications or portions thereof) as well as combinations of rules (¶ 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile application and contactless-card verification workflow of Rule and the mobile application receiving a user selected purchase transaction of Rule(2) with the policy-based authentication determination of Ting because do so reduces the risk of unauthorized transactions while avoiding unnecessary additional authentication for transactions not meeting the applicable security criteria.
Regarding Claims 4, 12, and 18. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The method of claims 1 and 8 and the system of claim 15, wherein the wireless-enabled device comprises a wireless-enabled financial instrument, and the device information comprises information stored by a chip on the wireless-enabled financial instrument.
Rule - tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device (¶ 0025).
Regarding Claims 5, 14, and 20. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The method of claims 1 and 8 and the system of claim 15, wherein the device information is received by near field communication.
Rule - the contactless card 101 may transmit the encrypted data to the account application 113 of the mobile device 110, e.g., using NFC (¶ 0074).
Regarding Claims 6. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the computer program, a timestamp with the device information.
Rule - the contactless card 101 transmits the counter value 104 with the encrypted data (¶ 0026).
Regarding Claims 7. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The method of claim 1, further comprising: communicating, by the computer program, a notification to the mobile application that the action was executed.
Rule - Doing so allows the user to manually enter the expiration date and CVV to the corresponding form fields while the notification remains in view. In some embodiments, the account application 113 and/or the autofill service 114 may also copy the expiration date, billing address, and/or the CVV to the clipboard 116, allowing the expiration date, billing address, and/or the CVV to be pasted to the corresponding form fields (¶ 0035).
Regarding Claim 9. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The method of claim 8, wherein the backend computer program is configured to determine that the action is a sensitive action.
Ting - rules can include time-based access rules (e.g., a user cannot access a certain resource during non-business hours), location-based access rules…and/or resource-based rule (¶ 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile application and contactless-card verification workflow of Rule and the mobile application receiving a user selected purchase transaction of Rule(2) with the policy-based authentication determination of Ting because do so reduces the risk of unauthorized transactions while avoiding unnecessary additional authentication for transactions not meeting the applicable security criteria.
Regarding Claim 13. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The method of claim 8, further comprising: communicating, by the mobile application and to the backend computer program, a timestamp with the device information.
Rule - the contactless card 101 transmits the counter value 104 with the encrypted data (¶ 0026).
Regarding Claim 15. Rule teaches:
A system, comprising: a mobile electronic device executing a mobile application; and
Rule - The application may transmit…to a server (¶ 0012).
a backend computer program executed by a backend electronic device;
Rule - The application may then receive, from a server, verification of the encrypted data, the server to decrypt the encrypted data based on the cryptographic algorithm (¶ 0003).
the backend computer program is configured to send a notification to the mobile application to display an instruction to present a wireless-enabled device to the mobile electronic device;
Rule - notification 206 instructs the user to tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device 110 (¶ 0041). the account application 113…on the mobile device 110 may output a notification 304 specifying to tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device 110 (¶ 0044).
the mobile application is configured to present the instruction;
Rule - notification 206 instructs the user to tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device 110 (¶ 0041). the account application 113…on the mobile device 110 may output a notification 304 specifying to tap the contactless card 101 to the mobile device 110 (¶ 0044).
the mobile application is configured to wirelessly receive device information from a wireless-enabled device and to communicate the device information to the backend computer program;
Rule - The contactless card 101 may then transmit the encrypted data (e.g., the encrypted customer ID 109) to the account application 113 of the mobile device 110 (e.g., via an NFC connection, Bluetooth connection, etc.) (¶ 0026). contactless card 101 further includes an indication of the counter value 104 along with the encrypted data (¶ 0074).
the backend computer program is configured to validate the device information; and
Rule - the server 120 verifies the encrypted customer ID…”and” a match of the customer ID values verifies the encrypted data received from the contactless card (¶ 0038). the management application 123 may validate the data received from the contactless card 101 at block 545. For example, the management application 123 may compare the customer identifier 107 to a customer identifier for the associated account in the account data 124, and validate the data based on a match (¶ 0075).
Rule does not teach, however Rule(2) discloses:
wherein: the mobile application is configured to receive a selection of an action to execute and to communicate the action to the backend computer program, wherein the action comprises a transaction or a financial account related-activity;
Rule(2) - using a merchant application executing on a computing device, a user may select one or more items for purchase (Column 1, lines 59 and 60).
the backend computer program is configured to execute the sensitive action in response to the device information being validated.
Rule(2) - the merchant server 150 processes the transaction associated with the transaction ID 116) (Column 9, lines 35 and 36).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile application and contactless-card verification workflow of Rule and the mobile application receiving a user selected purchase transaction of Rule(2) with the policy-based authentication determination of Ting because do so reduces the risk of unauthorized transactions while avoiding unnecessary additional authentication for transactions not meeting the applicable security criteria.
The combination of Rule and Rule(2) does not disclose, however Ting discloses:
the backend computer program is configured to determine that the action is a sensitive action;
Ting - rules can include time-based access rules (e.g., a user cannot access a certain resource during non-business hours), location-based access rules…and/or resource-based rule (¶ 0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the mobile application and contactless-card verification workflow of Rule and the mobile application receiving a user selected purchase transaction of Rule(2) with the policy-based authentication determination of Ting because do so reduces the risk of unauthorized transactions while avoiding unnecessary additional authentication for transactions not meeting the applicable security criteria.
Regarding Claim 9. The combination of Rule, Rule(2), and Ting further discloses:
The system of claim 15, wherein the mobile application is configured to communicate a timestamp with the device information to the backend computer program.
Rule - the contactless card 101 transmits the counter value 104 with the encrypted data (¶ 0026).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.C.S./Examiner, Art Unit 3698
/PATRICK MCATEE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3698