DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pyun (US 2021/0012705).
Regarding Claim 1 (Original), Pyun teaches a display device comprising:
a display unit [fig. 1 @110] including pixels [fig. 1 @PX];
a power supply [fig. 1 @160] configured to generate a gamma power voltage, based on a power control signal [¶0055, “The power supply unit 160 may receive the adjusted power control signal C_AVDD2 and generate the gamma power voltage AVDD based on the adjusted power control signal C_AVDD2”];
a gamma voltage generator [fig. 1 @170] configured to generate gamma voltages, based on a gamma control signal [¶0099, "The gamma voltage generator 170 may generate the gamma voltages GAMMAS based on the gamma power voltage AVDD and the gamma control signal C_GAMMAS1”]; and
a data driver [figs. 1 and 3 @130] configured to generate a data voltage [¶0048, “the data driver 130 may generate a data signal corresponding to a grayscale value included in the image data DATA2 using gamma voltages GAMMAS. Here, the gamma voltages GAMMAS may be provided from the gamma voltage generator 170”] corresponding to a grayscale value included in image data [¶0049, “The timing controller 140 may receive input image data DATA1 and … generate the image data DATA2 by converting the input image data DATA1”], using the gamma voltages, and provide the data voltage [fig. 3 @DATA] to the pixels [fig. 3 @110], wherein
a voltage level [¶0129, “The method of FIG. 8 may determine the target voltage level of the gamma power voltage AVDD based on the maximum voltage level of the data signal DATA (S830)”] of the gamma power voltage [fig. 1 @AVDD] varies according to a luminance [max data voltage; image data luminance is directly related to pixel data voltage by the pixel emission characteristic illustrated in fig. 6, variations in maximum data voltage correspond to changes in display image data brightness as illustrated by fig. 6, luminance is construed equivalent to brightness] of an input image corresponding to the image data [¶0125, “the method of FIG. 8 may extract the maximum voltage level of the data signal DATA (S820)”].
Regarding Claim 2 (Original), Pyun teaches the display device of Claim 1, wherein
the voltage level of the gamma power voltage becomes lower as the luminance [construed max data voltage becomes lower] of the input image becomes lower [¶0104, “As described with reference to FIGS. 3 to 5B, the timing controller 140 may adjust or update the power control signal C_AVDD1 (or gamma power voltage AVDD), the gamma control signal C_GAMMAS1 (or gamma voltages GAMMAS), the first gamma voltage GAMMA1, and the lookup table C_LUT1 based on the maximum voltage level of the data signal DATA. Accordingly, the gamma power voltage AVDD may be reduced and the power consumption of the display device 100 may be reduced”].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae (US 2021/0295782) in view of Pyun. All reference is to Bae unless otherwise indicated.
Regarding Claim 11 (Original), Bae teaches a method of driving a display device, the method comprising:
receiving, from a timing controller,
black data voltage information [fig. 9 @Black Grayscale Voltage, ¶011, “the source driver 211 of the electronic device 101 may be configured to maintain a uniform black grayscale voltage regardless of a luminance. The black grayscale, voltage may be the source voltage at gray level 0. The black grayscale voltage may be the same value as the maximum value of the source voltage”] and
white data voltage information [fig. 9 @White Grayscale Voltage] on a luminance of an input image [¶0117, “the source driver 211 of the electronic device 101 may set a white grayscale voltage according to the luminance in units of frames. The white grayscale voltage may be the source voltage at gray level 255. The white grayscale voltage may be the same as the minimum value of the source voltage”];
calculating [fig. 9 illustrates determining source voltage based on black and white grayscale voltages] a source voltage level, based on the received black data voltage information, the received white data voltage information
Bae does not teach receiving a lookup table from the timing controller that includes selection values mapped to corresponding grayscales; calculating a data voltage level among the selection values mapped to one of the grayscales of the input image, wherein irrespective of variations in the luminance of the input image, the selection value corresponding to a same grayscale value remains unchanged
Pyun teaches receiving a lookup table from the timing controller that includes selection values mapped to corresponding grayscales [¶0053, the storage 150 may store the lookup table. The lookup table may include a relationship between grayscale values and gray voltages included in the image data DATA2 (or input image data DATA2) … The lookup table may be provided to the data driver 130 through the timing controller 140, and the data driver 130 may generate a data signal corresponding to the grayscale value based on the lookup table (or selection value)”];
calculating a data voltage level among the selection values mapped to one of the grayscales of the input image [¶0053], wherein
irrespective of variations in the luminance of the input image, the selection value corresponding to a same grayscale value remains unchanged [the lookup table requires only the grayscale vale to determine the data voltage]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of using a lookup table that generates data voltages using grayscale values from the input data signal, as taught by Pyun, into the driving method taught by Bae in order to correct for changes in display luminance by adjusting the maximum data voltage then using a lookup table to determine the display voltage vales based on the input data grayscale values.
Regarding Claim 17 (Original), Bae teaches an electronic device, comprising:
a processor [fig. 3 @320] to provide input image data [fig. 3 @VIDEO]; and
a display device [fig. 1 @100] to display an image based on the input image data, the display device comprising:
a display unit [fig. 3 @215] including pixels [¶0053];
a timing controller [fig. 3 @360]; and a data driver [fig. 3 @300] configured to:
receive black data voltage information [fig. 9 @Black Grayscale Voltage, ¶011, “the source driver 211 of the electronic device 101 may be configured to maintain a uniform black grayscale voltage regardless of a luminance. The black grayscale, voltage may be the source voltage at gray level 0. The black grayscale voltage may be the same value as the maximum value of the source voltage”] and
receive white data voltage information [fig. 9 @White Grayscale Voltage] on a luminance of an input image [¶0117, “the source driver 211 of the electronic device 101 may set a white grayscale voltage according to the luminance in units of frames. The white grayscale voltage may be the source voltage at gray level 255. The white grayscale voltage may be the same as the minimum value of the source voltage”],
calculate [fig. 9 illustrates determining source voltage based on black and white grayscale voltages] a source voltage level, based on the received black data voltage information, the received white data voltage information
Bae does not teach receive a lookup table from the timing controller including selection values corresponding to respective grayscales; and calculate a data voltage level based a selection value from the lookup table corresponding to a grayscale in the input image
Pyun teaches receiving a lookup table from the timing controller that includes selection values mapped to corresponding grayscales [¶0053, the storage 150 may store the lookup table. The lookup table may include a relationship between grayscale values and gray voltages included in the image data DATA2 (or input image data DATA2) … The lookup table may be provided to the data driver 130 through the timing controller 140, and the data driver 130 may generate a data signal corresponding to the grayscale value based on the lookup table (or selection value)”];
calculating a data voltage level among the selection values mapped to one of the grayscales of the input image [¶0053]
Before the application was filed it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the concept of using a lookup table that generates data voltages using grayscale values from the input data signal, as taught by Pyun, into the driving method taught by Bae in order to correct for changes in display luminance by adjusting the maximum data voltage then using a lookup table to determine the display voltage vales based on the input data grayscale values.
Regarding Claim 15 (Original), Bae in view of Pyun teaches the method of Claim 11, wherein
the display device includes a power supply [Pyun: fig. 3 @160] configured to generate a gamma power voltage [Pyun: fig. 3 @AVDD], based on a power control signal generated by the timing controller [Pyun: ¶0099, "The gamma voltage generator 170 may generate the gamma voltages GAMMAS based on the gamma power voltage AVDD and the gamma control signal C_GAMMAS1”], and wherein
a voltage level of the gamma power voltage varies according to the luminance [construed as equivalent to the maximum voltage level of the data signal] of the input image [Byun: fig. 8 @830].
Regarding Claim 16 (Original), Bae in view of Pyun teaches the method of Claim 15, wherein
the voltage level of the gamma power voltage becomes lower as the luminance [Pyun: construed max data voltage becomes lower] of the input image becomes lower [Pyun: ¶0104, “As described with reference to FIGS. 3 to 5B, the timing controller 140 may adjust or update the power control signal C_AVDD1 (or gamma power voltage AVDD), the gamma control signal C_GAMMAS1 (or gamma voltages GAMMAS), the first gamma voltage GAMMA1, and the lookup table C_LUT1 based on the maximum voltage level of the data signal DATA. Accordingly, the gamma power voltage AVDD may be reduced and the power consumption of the display device 100 may be reduced”].
Regarding Claim 18 (Original), Bae in view of Pyun teaches the electronic device of Claim 17, wherein
the data driver calculates a data voltage based on the data voltage level and applies the data voltage to a data line connected to the pixels [¶0047, “The data driver 130 may generate data signals (or data voltages) based on image data DATA2 and data control signal DCS provided from the timing controller 140 and provide the data signals to the display unit 110 (or pixel PX)”].
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to Douglas Wilson whose telephone number is (571)272-5640. The Examiner can normally be reached 1100-1800 EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Patrick Edouard can be reached at 571-272-7603. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Douglas Wilson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2622