DETAILED ACTION
Application Status
Claims 1-8 are pending and have been examined in this application.
This communication is the first action on the merits.
As of the date of this action, an information disclosure statement (IDS) has been filed on 5/16/2025 and reviewed by the Examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Optical axis 50A introduced in paragraph 37, and reflection position 41A introduced in paragraph 37. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Optical axis 50A, and reflection position 41A are introduced in paragraph 37 of the specification but do not appear to be shown in the figures.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states “the guide portion including a half mirror”, it is not clear to the examiner how a half mirror differs from other mirrors or what additional limitations are imparted on the mirror by being a half mirror. Based on the applicant’s disclosure it appears that a half mirror is a mirror that can both reflect a laser and allow a camera to see through the mirror and the limitation will be examined in this manner. Claims 3-6 also use the term “half mirror”.
Claims 2, and 7-8 are rejected due to their respective dependencies on claims rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xiao (CN 117837574A).
Regarding claim 1, Xiao teaches a mobile removal device configured to irradiate, with a laser beam, a hindrance capable of inhibiting plant growth, the mobile removal device comprising: a camera (31) configured to capture a ground (31 as seen in figure 1); a laser oscillator (41) configured to output the laser beam (The last paragraph of page 6 of the provided translation); a controller configured to detect the hindrance on the ground based on a captured image taken by the camera and to irradiate the hindrance with the laser beam (The last paragraph of page 6-the first paragraph of page 7, and Paragraphs 3-8 of page 9 of the provided translation); and a guide portion (51, 52, and 53) configured to guide the laser beam output by the laser oscillator (41, 51, 52, 53, and the dashed line as seen in figure 1, and the second to last paragraph of page 8 of the provided translation), the guide portion including a half mirror (51, and the second to last paragraph of page 8 of the provided translation), and the camera being configured to capture the ground through the half mirror (31, and 51 as seen in figure 1, and the second to last paragraph of page 8 of the provided translation).
Regarding claim 2, Xiao teaches the mobile removal device according to claim 1, further comprising an illuminator configured to illuminate an imaging range of the camera (The first paragraph of page 4 of the provided translation).
Regarding claim 4, Xiao teaches the mobile removal device according to claim 1, wherein a reflection position of the laser beam on the half mirror is on or close to an optical axis of the camera (31, 51, and the dashed lines as seen in figure 1).
Regarding claim 8, Xiao teaches the mobile removal device according to claim 1, wherein the hindrance is an undesirable plant (The abstract of the provided translation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 5, and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (CN 117837574A) in view of Bhanu et al. (PGPub #2020/0072809).
Regarding claim 3, Xiao teaches the mobile removal device according to claim 1, wherein the half mirror is configured to finally reflect the laser beam output by the laser oscillator (51, and the dashed line as seen in figure 1, and the second to last paragraph of page 8 of the provided translation), but does not explicitly teach that the camera is provided with a wide-angle lens.
However, Bhanu does teach that the camera is provided with a wide-angle lens (Paragraph 38). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the camera have a wide-angle lens because Xiao and Bhanu are both mobile plant systems that use cameras to monitor the fields the systems are moving through. The motivation for having the camera have a wide-angle lens is that it allows the camera to view a larger portion of the field to help it more easily spot weeds that need to be destroyed.
Regarding claim 5, Xiao as modified by Bhanu teaches the mobile removal device according to claim 3, wherein the half mirror is located below the camera (31, and 51 as seen in figure 1 of Xiao).
Regarding claim 6, Xiao as modified by Bhanu teaches the mobile removal device according to claim 5, wherein the half mirror is configured to reflect the laser beam to the ground located below (51, and the dashed line as seen in figure 1 of Xiao), the laser beam being laterally incident (41, 51, and the dashed line as seen in figure 1 of Xiao, as can be seen there is a lateral component of the laser when it reaches the half mirror).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiao (CN 117837574A) in view of Jasko et al. (PGPub #2023/0413800).
Regarding claim 7, Xiao teaches the mobile removal device according to claim 1, but does not explicitly teach that the laser beam is visible light. However, Jasko does teach that the laser beam is visible light (Paragraph 43). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the laser be visible light because Xiao and Jasko are both weed killing systems that use lasers. The motivation for having the laser be visible light is that it allows the laser to be in a wavelength that allows it to easily kill undesired weeds.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM L GMOSER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647