DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4-8, 10-13, and 16-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12049301. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same structural limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-8, 10-12, and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kruk (US PgPub #2015/0107957).
For Claim 1, figures 1-4 of Kruck ‘957 disclose a system comprising: a control lever (201) for controlling operation of a device; a first actuator (209) coupled to the control lever via a rod (202), wherein the first actuator is configured to control the control lever in a first operation mode of the device; and a second actuator (210) coupled to the control lever vias the rod and a resettable frangible link (205 and 208), wherein the second actuator is configured to control the control lever in a second operation mode of the device.
For Claim 2, figures 1-4 of Kruck ‘957 disclose that the resettable frangible link includes a magnetic coupling having a first half and a second half to couple the second actuator to the control lever via the rod.
For Claim 6, figures 1-4 of Kruck ‘957 disclose that the control lever controls operation of the device using a bell crank movement.
For Claim 7, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose that wherein during autonomous operation mode of the device, the second actuator is used to control the control lever of the device, and wherein during manual operation mode of the device, the first actuator is used by an operator to control the control lever of the device, and wherein the manual operation mode is entered by the rod receiving the applied force by the first actuator causing the resettable frangible link to separate the second actuator from the rod.
For Claim 8, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose that the resettable frangible link enables separation of coupling of the second actuator from the control lever at any rotational orientation of the control lever with respect to the device.
For Claim 10, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose that the first actuator is permanently attached to the control lever via the rod.
For Claim 11, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose that the first and second actuator each have an ability for independent control of the control lever, wherein based on the applied force to the rod by the first actuator, the first actuator overrides the second actuator.
For Claim 12, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose that the resettable frangible link includes a mechanically frangible control rod (205 and 208) to couple the second actuator to the control lever via the rod.
For Claim 14, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose that the resettable frangible link includes a magnetic coupling having a first half (205) and a second half (208) to couple the second actuator (210) to the control lever via the rod (202), and the first half and the second half of the magnetic coupling are configurable to be realigned causing a magnetic attachment of the first and second half in order to reattach the second actuator to the rod for reentering the autonomous operation mode of the engine.
For Claim 15, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose that the resettable frangible link includes an electromagnet, and the system further comprises: a control system coupled to the electro-magnet for controlling a magnetic attraction force of the electro-magnet.
For Claim 16, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose that the control system alters the magnetic attraction force based on an operating condition of the device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruk (US PgPub #2015/0107957) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bissey (US Patent #5277024).
For Claims 5 and 9, while Kruk ‘957 discloses the control lever controlling vehicle movement is it silent about the signal going to the throttle of an engine. However, figures 1-2 of Bissey ‘024 teaches that it is known to use a clutch system to control the throttle control of and aircraft engine between pilot control and computer control. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kruk ‘957 with using a clutch mechanism for engine throttle control as taught by Bissey ‘024. The motivation to do so would be to safely control an aircraft engine.
Claim(s) 3 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruk (US PgPub #2015/0107957).
For Claim 3, while Kruk ‘957 teaches using electromagnets or a physical coupling, it is silent about it being a permanent magnet. However, it is well known in the art to use either magnets or electromagnets as a coupling mechanism, magnets providing a simpler construction. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kruk ‘957 by using a permanent magnet. The motivation to do so would be to provide a less complicated clutch system that does not require electricity.
For Claim 17, while figure 4 and paragraph [0031] Kruk ‘957 disclose detecting a mechanical jam, erratic response, responses outside an acceptable range of accuracy, or any other type of fault such that the control system can alter the magnetic attraction forces of the system, it is silent about a specific angle detection. The Examiner holds that detecting an angle is well within normal knowledge of someone of ordinary skill in the art. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Kruk ‘957 with an angle detection to as to determine when the clutch is offset in order to tighten or release a coupling connection.
Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kruk (US PgPub #2015/0107957) in view of Bissey (US Patent #5277024).
For Claims 18-19, figures 1-4 of Kruk ‘957 disclose a system comprising: a control lever (201) for controlling operation of a device; a first actuator (209) coupled to the control lever via a rod (202); and a resettable frangible link (205 and 208) coupling a second actuator (210) to the control lever via the rod, wherein the resettable frangible link enables separation of coupling of the second actuator from the control lever based on an applied force to the rod by the first actuator, wherein during autonomous operation mode of the device, the second actuator is used to control the control lever of the engine, wherein during manual operation mode of the device, the first actuator is used by an operator to control the control lever of the device, and wherein manual operation mode is entered by the rod receiving the applied force by the first actuator causing the resettable frangible link to separate the second actuator from the rod.
While Kruk ‘957 discloses the control lever controlling vehicle movement is it silent about the signal going to the throttle of an engine. However, figures 1-2 of Bissey ‘024 teaches that it is known to use a clutch system to control the throttle control of and aircraft engine between pilot control and computer control. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kruk ‘957 with using a clutch mechanism for engine throttle control as taught by Bissey ‘024. The motivation to do so would be to safely control an aircraft engine.
For Claim 20, while Kruk ‘957 discloses the control lever controlling vehicle movement is it silent about the signal going to the throttle of an engine. However, figures 1-2 of Bissey ‘024 teaches that it is known to use a clutch system to control the throttle control of and aircraft engine between pilot control and computer control. Therefore it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify Kruk ‘957 with using a clutch mechanism for engine throttle control as taught by Bissey ‘024. The motivation to do so would be to safely control an aircraft engine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/PHILIP J BONZELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642 6/3/2026