Claims 1-2, 5, 10-11, 14, and 20 have been amended. No claims have been cancelled. Claims 1-20 are currently under review.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, and 20 and their dependents claims 2-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The claim limitations indicate, “wherein the on-pixel ratio corresponds to an average grayscale value of an image corresponding to the input image data and is different from a luminance of the image”. The specification does not mention anything regarding the on-pixel ratio being different from a luminance of the image which is different from paragraph 26 of the specification “the controller may further receive a luminance control signal and may calculate the on-pixel ratio of the (N+1).sup.th frame ”. Therefore the Office will interpret the claim limitations “wherein the on-pixel ratio corresponds to an average grayscale value of an image corresponding to the input image data and is different from a luminance of the image” simply as “wherein the on-pixel ratio corresponds to an average grayscale value of an image corresponding to the input image data”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pyo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2021/0248956 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Pyo discloses a controller (fig. 1, items 11 and 15; fig. 17, item 15c; ¶53, “The grayscale converter 15 may be configured as an integrated chip (IC) integrated with the timing controller 11”; ¶142) comprising: an input image data reception circuit (¶52, “The timing controller 11 may receive input grayscales and control signals for each frame from an external processor. The input grayscales for the frame may be referred to as frame data”; the timing controller comprises an input image data reception circuit) configured to receive input image data of a plurality of consecutive frames including a grayscale value of a pixel (¶52, “The timing controller 11 may receive input grayscales and control signals for each frame”; ¶107-108, first frame data and second frame data); a representative value calculation circuit (fig. 17, item 158; ¶133) configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of each of the consecutive frames from the received input image data (¶133); a weighting calculation circuit (fig. 17, item 159; ¶134) configured to calculate a weighting corresponding to the input image data based on the calculated on-pixel ratio of each of the consecutive frames; and an image data output circuit (fig. 17, items 153 and 154 = image data output circuit; ¶95-96) configured to output image data generated by multiplying the input image data by the calculated weighting, wherein the on-pixel ratio corresponds to an average grayscale value of an image corresponding to the input image data and is different from a luminance of the image (¶133).
With respect to Claim 10, Pyo discloses a display device (fig. 1, item 10; ¶51) comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, item 14; ¶57) on which a plurality of pixels are located; a data driver (fig. 1, item 12; ¶54) configured to receive image data and supply data signals to data lines connected to the plurality of pixels based on the received image data; and a controller (fig. 1, items 11 and 15; fig. 17, item 15c; ¶53, “The grayscale converter 15 may be configured as an integrated chip (IC) integrated with the timing controller 11”; ¶142) configured to receive input image data of a plurality of consecutive frames (¶52, “The timing controller 11 may receive input grayscales and control signals for each frame”; ¶107-108, first frame data and second frame data), to calculate an on-pixel ratio of each of the consecutive frames from the received input image data (¶133), to calculate a weighting corresponding to the input image data based on the calculated on-pixel ratio of each of the consecutive frames (¶134), and to output image data generated by multiplying the input image data by the calculated weighting (¶95-96, via items 153 and 154 of fig. 17), wherein the on-pixel ratio corresponds to an average grayscale value of an image corresponding to the input image data and is different from a luminance of the image (¶133).
With respect to Claim 10, Pyo discloses Pyo discloses an electronic device (fig. 1, item 10; ¶51; a display device is an electronic device) comprising: a processor (¶52, “The timing controller 11 may receive input grayscales and control signals for each frame from an external processor”) configured to output an input image data; a display panel (fig. 1, item 14; ¶57) on which a plurality of pixels are located; a data driver (fig. 1, item 12; ¶54) configured to receive image data and supply data signals to data lines connected to the plurality of pixels based on the received image data; and a controller (fig. 1, items 11 and 15; fig. 17, item 15c; ¶53, “The grayscale converter 15 may be configured as an integrated chip (IC) integrated with the timing controller 11”; ¶142) configured to receive the input image data of a plurality of consecutive frames (¶52, “The timing controller 11 may receive input grayscales and control signals for each frame”; ¶107-108, first frame data and second frame data), to calculate an on-pixel ratio of each of the consecutive frames from the received input image data (¶133), to calculate a weighting corresponding to the input image data based on the calculated on-pixel ratio of each of the consecutive frames (¶134), and to output the image data generated by multiplying the input image data by the calculated weighting (¶95-96, via items 153 and 154 of fig. 17), wherein the on-pixel ratio corresponds to an average grayscale value of an image corresponding to the input image data and is different from a luminance of the image (¶133).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyo as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0237967 A1) hereinafter referred to as Byun.
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Pyo does not mention wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame from among the plurality of consecutive frames and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame from among the plurality of consecutive frames (¶97, current frame and previous frame exist therefore a plurality of consecutive frames exist) and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96; ¶99).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Pyo to execute the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame from among the plurality of consecutive frames and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Pyo does not mention wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the weighting calculation circuit is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame); wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the weighting calculation circuit is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96; ¶99).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Pyo to execute the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the weighting calculation circuit is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated, Pyo does not mention wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame); wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame (¶98; ¶100).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Pyo to execute the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated, Pyo does not mention wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame from among the plurality of consecutive frames and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame from among the plurality of consecutive frames (¶97, current frame and previous frame exist therefore a plurality of consecutive frames exist) and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Pyo such that controller executes the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame from among the plurality of consecutive frames and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Pyo does not mention wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame); wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96; ¶99).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Pyo such that controller executes the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 13, claim 11 is incorporated, Pyo does not mention wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame); wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame (¶98; ¶100).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Pyo such that controller executes the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DONNA V Bocar/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621