Claims 1-20 are currently under review.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 16, 2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5 and 14 (and their dependents claims 6-9 and 15-19) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claim limitations indicate “first input value” however fails to mention if the first input value corresponds to the Nth frame or the (N+1)th frame. Therefore it is unclear which frame the first input value belongs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 10, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jun (Pub. No.: US 2023/0114963 A1).
With respect to Claim 1, Jun discloses a controller (figs. 1 & 3, item 20; ¶28) comprising: an input image data reception circuit (fig. 3, item 110 receives image data RGB and comprises an input image data reception circuit; ¶42, “the on-pixel ratio generator 110 may generate an on-pixel ratio information. The on-pixel ratio information may include an average picture level APL and a weighted average picture level WAPL, as be described later”) configured to receive input image data including a grayscale value of a pixel; a representative value calculation circuit (fig. 3, item 110 comprises a representative value calculation circuit; ¶46; ¶48; ¶50) configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio from the received input image data; a weighting calculation circuit (fig. 3, items 120, 130, and 140: weighting calculation circuit; ¶63; ¶67) configured to calculate a weighting corresponding to the input image data based on the calculated on-pixel ratio; and an image data output circuit (fig. 3, item 150 and 160; ¶68; ¶69) configured to output image data generated by multiplying the input image data by the calculated weighting.
With respect to Claim 10, Jun discloses a display device (fig. 1, item 1; ¶25) comprising: a display panel (fig. 1, item 10; ¶26) on which a plurality of pixels are located; a data driver (fig. 1, item 40) configured to receive image data and supply data signals to data lines connected to the plurality of pixels based on the received image data (¶30); and a controller (figs. 1 & 3, item 20; ¶28) configured to receive input image data, to calculate an on-pixel ratio from the received input image data (fig. 3, item 110 receives image data RGB and comprises an input image data reception circuit; ¶42, “the on-pixel ratio generator 110 may generate an on-pixel ratio information. The on-pixel ratio information may include an average picture level APL and a weighted average picture level WAPL, as be described later”), to calculate a weighting corresponding to the input image data based on the calculated on-pixel ratio (¶63; ¶67), and to output image data generated by multiplying the input image data by the calculated weighting (¶68; ¶69).
With respect to Claim 20, Jun discloses an electronic device (fig. 1, item 1; ¶25) comprising: a processor (fig. 3, item 160 comprises a saturation processor 163 of fig. 10; ¶93; ¶96-97) configured to output an input image data; a display panel (fig. 1, item 10; ¶26) on which a plurality of pixels are located; a data driver (fig. 1, item 40) configured to receive image data and supply data signals to data lines connected to the plurality of pixels based on the received image data (¶30); and a controller (figs. 1 & 3, item 20; ¶28) configured to receive input image data, to calculate an on-pixel ratio from the received input image data (fig. 3, item 110 receives image data RGB and comprises an input image data reception circuit; ¶42, “the on-pixel ratio generator 110 may generate an on-pixel ratio information. The on-pixel ratio information may include an average picture level APL and a weighted average picture level WAPL, as be described later”), to calculate a weighting corresponding to the input image data based on the calculated on-pixel ratio (¶63; ¶67), and to output image data generated by multiplying the input image data by the calculated weighting (¶68; ¶69).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jun as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of Byun et al. (Pub. No.: US 2023/0237967 A1) hereinafter referred to as Byun.
With respect to Claim 2, claim 1 is incorporated, Jun does not mention wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96; ¶99).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Jun to execute the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 3, claim 2 is incorporated, Jun does not mention wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the weighting calculation circuit is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame); wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the weighting calculation circuit is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96; ¶99).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Jun to execute the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the weighting calculation circuit is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 4, claim 2 is incorporated, Jun does not mention wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the input image data reception circuit is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)th frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame); wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame (¶98; ¶100).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the controller of Jun to execute the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the representative value calculation circuit is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 11, claim 10 is incorporated, Jun does not mention wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Jun such that controller executes the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 12, claim 11 is incorporated, Jun does not mention wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame); wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96; ¶99).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Jun such that controller executes the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being the same as the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate 1 as a weighting corresponding to the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
With respect to Claim 13, claim 11 is incorporated, Jun does not mention wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame.
Byun teaches an electronic device (fig. 20, item 300) comprising: a processor (fig. 20, item 310; ¶124) and a memory (fig. 20, item 320); wherein the processor executes one or more steps in an over-driving method; obtaining an average brightness level (fig. 3, item S10; ¶53); determining a weighting corresponding to input image data based on the average brightness level (fig. 11, item S50; fig. 14, items S51-S53; fig. 15; third gain coefficient ~ weighting; ¶76; ¶84; ¶96; ¶99); and outputting image data by multiplying the input image data by the determined weighting (¶56; ¶99; ¶104); wherein the controller is configured to receive input image data of an Nth frame (N is an integer of 1 or more) and input image data of an (N+1)t frame and to determine whether or not the received input image data of the Nth frame is the same as the received input image data of the (N+1)th frame (¶96-101; current frame: (N+1)th frame; previous frame: Nth frame); wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame (¶98; ¶100).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the display device of Jun such that controller executes the steps of the over-driving method of Byun, such that the average brightness level corresponds to the on-pixel ratio resulting in wherein, based on the input image data of the Nth frame being different from the input image data of the (N+1)th frame, the controller is configured to calculate an on-pixel ratio of the Nth frame and an on-pixel ratio of the (N+1)th frame, so as to improve a response speed without any frame memory, has low requirements for hardware resources, can reduce hardware costs, and can avoid side effects of over-drive, and effectively improve display quality (¶50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pai et al (Pub. No.: US 2020/0193924 A1) see figure 3
DesJardins (Patent Number: 5,448,302) see fig. 7, items 14’ and 72
/DONNA V Bocar/ Examiner, Art Unit 2621