Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
2. Claims 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without the applicant discussing an incoming video image signal without with the Office does not see how a static display device, an apparatus change a voltage value applied to a power line, without the ability to measure a grayscale voltage change (i.e. “load”) by frame how can a change in the current applied to the pixels be measured or change , which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976).
The applicant claims “a timing controller for controlling the power generator so that a voltage rising time of the first driving power is changed in response to a differential voltage value corresponding to a difference between a voltage of the first driving power of a previous frame and a voltage of the first driving power of a current frame and in response to a differential current value corresponding to a difference between the global current value and a maximum current value to flow to the pixels in response to a load of the display”. The claim does not identify what the specification includes in that the grayscale analyzer 1422 may extract a peak grayscale (PG) from the input data (Din) of one frame. Here, the peak grayscale (PG) may mean the highest grayscale among the input data (Din) included in one frame. Without data being received so that the greyscale can be measured then no load changed is measured to change the current. Without data being inputted there is no voltage rising time as no time periods are established by frame. The applicant must enable its invention fully or eliminated excess claim language not supported as a static display device does not produce an image without receiving an image to control.
If the applicant is discussing the functions of a device, it must do so in a manner which incorporates the embodiments as described in the applicants’ specifications and drawings. Claims 2-18 and 20 depend on claims 1 and 19 and as such suffer from the same deficiencies. Appropriate correction is required
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4. Claim 1 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The Office does not understand how as the applicant claims “a timing controller for controlling the power generator so that a voltage rising time of the first driving power is changed in response to a differential voltage value corresponding to a difference between a voltage of the first driving power of a previous frame and a voltage of the first driving power of a current frame and in response to a differential current value corresponding to a difference between the global current value and a maximum current value to flow to the pixels in response to a load of the display”.
The applicant states at [0075] the timing controller 140 may control the voltage of the first driving power (VDD) on a frame basis corresponding to the load and peak grayscale of the pixels (PX). The load of the display would include more than the “load” of the pixels. The claim does not discuss any “frame”, time periods in which a voltage is rising or how a difference in voltage is being determined without any frames of data included in the claim.
The Office is confused about the meaning of the following sentence “a timing controller for controlling the power generator so that a voltage rising time of the first driving power is changed in response to a differential voltage value corresponding to a difference between a voltage of the first driving power of a previous frame and a voltage of the first driving power of a current frame and in response to a differential current value corresponding to a difference between the global current value and a maximum current value to flow to the pixels in response to a load of the display”. It appears that “… the global current value and a maximum current value to flow to the pixels in response to a load of the display”. Does the applicant mean that the voltage rising due in response to a load change of the next frame compared to the previous frame? Or did the applicant write a run on sentence by not using pixels and in response to a load? Even if the applicant corrects the claim so that video frames of data are being received by the invention from which the brightness of the image is controlled the language of the limitation would have to be corrected as to what is causing the rising time and how many variables can control the mage displayed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
5. Claim 1 and 19 recites the limitation a previous frame and a voltage of the first driving power of a current frame. Claim 4 recites the limitation “analyzing peak grayscale and the load on a frame basis using input data” there is no antecedent basis for “peak grayscale”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim as there is no video data being received by frames. Appropriate correction is required
Allowable Subject Matter
6. Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As the claim is presently present the representative closest prior art is Pyun et al., US Patent Application (20220309985), which alone, or in combination, does not provide a teaching, a suggestion or a motivation that could be found either in the art or within the skill of one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify or combine the prior art to disclose the cited claim limitations above and more specifically “a third lookup table for storing the maximum current value corresponding to the load; and a fourth lookup table for storing time/voltage information comprising time information at which the first driving power is risen, and voltage information at which the first driving power is risen” of the claimed invention. Claims 7-12; depend from claim 6 and as such the claims would be in position for allowance.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5 and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pyun et al., US Patent Application (20220309985), hereinafter “Pyun”.
Regarding claim 1 Pyun teaches a display device comprising: a display comprising pixels connected to a first power line, to a second power line, to scan lines, and to data lines The display panel 100 may include a plurality of gate lines GL, a plurality of data lines DL, and pixels P electrically connected to the gate lines GL and the data lines DL, [Pyun para 0052] the power supply voltage generator 600 may generate a low power supply voltage, and output the low power supply voltage to the pixel P. [Pyun para 0065]; The power supply voltage generator 600 may generate the power supply voltage ELVDD, and output the power supply voltage ELVDD to the display panel 100. [Pyun para 0079]; a current sensor for sensing a global current value flowing to the pixels the power supply voltage generator 600 may sense the power supply current IEL applied to the display panel 100 [Pyun para 0079]; a power generator for supplying a first driving power to the first power line, and a second driving power to the second power line the power supply voltage generator 600 [Pyun para 0065]; and a timing controller the driving controller 200 may include a net power control setter 230. In such an embodiment, the net power control setter 230 may determine the scale factor SF[N+1] for adjusting the gray scale of the (N+1).sup.th frame data based on the load LD[N] of the N.sup.th frame data IMG[N] and the net power control reference value. [Pyun para 0102] for controlling the power generator so that a voltage rising time of the first driving power is changed in response to a differential voltage value the voltage code generation block 630 may output the power supply voltage code ECODE corresponding to a type of the voltage drop signal SVD and an activation start time of the voltage drop signal SVD among a plurality of power supply voltage codes ECODE stored in the voltage code lookup table VC LUT. [Pyun para 0085] corresponding to a difference between a voltage of the first driving power of a previous frame and a voltage of the first driving power of a current frame, The voltage code generation block 630 may receive the vertical start signal from the driving controller 200. The vertical start signal STV may be a signal representing the start of the N.sup.th frame. The voltage code generation block 630 may calculate the activation start time of the voltage drop signal SVD based on the vertical start signal. [Pyun para 0085] and in response to a differential current value corresponding to a difference between the global current value and a maximum current value to flow to the pixels in response to a load of the display. The current sensing block 620 may sense the power supply current IEL, and generate a voltage drop signal SVD based on the current level of the power supply current IEL and a reference current lookup table IR LUT. The current sensing block 620 may receive the power supply current IEL from the power supply voltage generation block 610. The current sensing block 620 may receive a reference current from the reference current lookup table IR LUT. The current sensing block 620 may compare the power supply current IEL with the reference current. The current sensing block 620 may output the voltage drop signal SVD with an activation level when the power supply current IEL is greater than the reference current. [Pyun para 0080]
Regarding claim 2 Pyun teaches claim 1 in addition Pyun teaches wherein the timing controller is configured to control the power generator so that the voltage of the first driving power is risen When the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD drops or rises based on the analog voltage AVOLT, the current level of the power supply current IEL flowing in the display panel 100 may vary. [Pyun para 0085] in a step-wave form in response to the differential voltage value having a value that is greater than or equal to a first threshold value and the differential current value having a value that is greater than or equal to a second threshold value. a fourth time point T4, the current sensing block 620 may sense that the power supply current IEL is smaller than the second reference current IR2. … may increase the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD. When the power supply voltage ELVDD rises at the fourth time point T4, [Pyun para 0096] fifth time point T5, the current sensing block 620 may sense that the power supply current IEL is smaller than the first reference current IR1. … may increase the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD. [Pyun para 0097]
Regarding claim 4 Pyun teaches claim 1 in addition Pyun teaches wherein the timing controller comprises: an analyzer for analyzing peak grayscale and the load on a frame basis using input data The load sum calculator 210 may receive N.sup.th frame data IMG[N] to calculate a sum LS[N] of all gray scales of the N.sup.th frame data IMG[N]. In one embodiment, for example, the load sum calculator 210 may divide the display panel 100 into a plurality of blocks to calculate a sum of gray scales of each of the blocks. The load sum calculator 210 may sum up sums of the gray scales of the blocks to calculate the sum LS[N] of all gray scales of the N.sup.th frame data IMG[N]. Here, N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2. [Pyun para 0069]; a voltage determiner for determining a voltage value of the first driving power on the frame basis in response to the peak grayscale and the load The load sum calculator 210 may receive N.sup.th frame data IMG[N] to calculate a sum LS[N] of all gray scales of the N.sup.th frame data IMG[N]. In one embodiment, for example, the load sum calculator 210 may divide the display panel 100 into a plurality of blocks to calculate a sum of gray scales of each of the blocks. The load sum calculator 210 may sum up sums of the gray scales of the blocks to calculate the sum LS[N] of all gray scales of the N.sup.th frame data IMG[N]. Here, N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2. [Pyun para 0070]; a voltage comparer for receiving the voltage of the first driving power of the previous frame and the voltage of the first driving power of the current frame from the voltage determiner to generate the differential voltage value a delay of one frame may occur in order for the net power control setter 230 to determine the scale factor SF[N+1]. Therefore, the net power control setter 230 may generate the scale factor SF[N+1] applied to the (N+1).sup.th frame data IMG[N+1] based on the N.sup.th frame data IMG[N]. [Pyun para 0075]; a current comparer for generating the differential current value by comparing the maximum current value with the global current value At a first time point T1, the current sensing block 620 may sense that the power supply current IEL is greater than the first reference current IR1. [Pyun para 0093]; a voltage controller for generating an enable signal based on the differential voltage value and the differential current value the voltage code generation block 630 with the activation level. The voltage code generation block 630 may output the power supply voltage code ECODE based on the first voltage drop signal SVD1 and the first time point T1. [Pyun para 0093];; and a code value generator configured to generate a voltage code so that the voltage of the first driving power is risen stepwise in response to the enable signal. The power supply voltage DAC block 640 may output the analog voltage AVOLT corresponding to the power supply voltage code ECODE to the power supply voltage generation block 610. The power supply voltage generation block 610 may decrease the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD based on the analog voltage AVOLT. When the power supply voltage ELVDD drops at the first time point T1, a slope of the power supply current IEL may vary. [Pyun para 0093]
Regarding claim 5 Pyun teaches claim 4 in addition Pyun teaches wherein the power generator is configured to generate the first driving power in response to the voltage code. the power supply voltage generator 600 may include a power supply voltage generation block 610, a current sensing block 620, a voltage code generation block 630 Pyun para 0079]
Regarding claim 13 Pyun teaches a method of driving a display device comprising pixels configured to emit light in response to an amount of current flowing from a first driving power to a second driving power via a light-emitting element, the display panel 100 may include a plurality of gate lines GL, a plurality of data lines DL, and pixels P electrically connected to the gate lines GL and the data lines DL, [Pyun para 0052] the power supply voltage generator 600 may generate a low power supply voltage, and output the low power supply voltage to the pixel P. [Pyun para 0065]; The power supply voltage generator 600 may generate the power supply voltage ELVDD, and output the power supply voltage ELVDD to the display panel 100. [Pyun para 0079] the method comprising: generating a differential voltage value between a first voltage of the first driving power of a current frame and a second voltage of the first driving power of a previous frame the driving controller 200 may include a net power control setter 230. In such an embodiment, the net power control setter 230 may determine the scale factor SF[N+1] for adjusting the gray scale of the (N+1).sup.th frame data based on the load LD[N] of the N.sup.th frame data IMG[N] and the net power control reference value. [Pyun para 0102]; generating a differential current value between a maximum current value to flow to a display in response to a load of the display and an actual current flowing to the display The current sensing block 620 may sense the power supply current IEL, and generate a voltage drop signal SVD based on the current level of the power supply current IEL and a reference current lookup table IR LUT. The current sensing block 620 may receive the power supply current IEL from the power supply voltage generation block 610. The current sensing block 620 may receive a reference current from the reference current lookup table IR LUT. The current sensing block 620 may compare the power supply current IEL with the reference current. The current sensing block 620 may output the voltage drop signal SVD with an activation level when the power supply current IEL is greater than the reference current. [Pyun para 0080]; and controlling a rising time of the first driving power in response to the differential voltage value and the differential current value. the voltage code generation block 630 may output the power supply voltage code ECODE corresponding to a type of the voltage drop signal SVD and an activation start time of the voltage drop signal SVD among a plurality of power supply voltage codes ECODE stored in the voltage code lookup table VC LUT. [Pyun para 0085].
Regarding claim 14 Pyun teaches claim 13 in addition Pyun teaches wherein the controlling of the rising time of the first driving power comprises: comparing the differential voltage value with a threshold voltage value corresponding to the load; comparing the differential current value with a threshold current value corresponding to the load; and controlling a voltage of the first driving power to be risen stepwise to the first voltage in response to the differential voltage value being greater than the threshold voltage value and the differential current value being greater than the threshold current value. a fourth time point T4, the current sensing block 620 may sense that the power supply current IEL is smaller than the second reference current IR2. … may increase the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD. When the power supply voltage ELVDD rises at the fourth time point T4, [Pyun para 0096] fifth time point T5, the current sensing block 620 may sense that the power supply current IEL is smaller than the first reference current IR1. … may increase the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD. [Pyun para 0097]
Regarding claim 15 Pyun teaches claim 14 in addition Pyun teaches wherein the controlling of the rising time of the first driving power comprises rising the voltage of the first driving power to the first voltage in response to the differential voltage value being less than the threshold voltage value or the differential current value being less than the threshold current value. a fourth time point T4, the current sensing block 620 may sense that the power supply current IEL is smaller than the second reference current IR2. … may increase the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD. When the power supply voltage ELVDD rises at the fourth time point T4, [Pyun para 0096]
Regarding claim 16 Pyun teaches claim 14 in addition Pyun teaches further comprising increasing the threshold voltage value as the load increases. When the power supply current IEL is greater than the third reference current IR3, a third voltage drop signal SVD3 may be output with an activation level. [Pyun para 0083]
Regarding claim 17 Pyun teaches claim 14 in addition Pyun teaches further comprising increasing the threshold current value as the load increases. The current sensing block 620 may output the voltage drop signal SVD with an activation level when the power supply current IEL is greater than the reference current. [Pyun para 0080]
Regarding claim 18 Pyun teaches claim 14 in addition Pyun teaches further comprising rising the voltage of the first driving power stepwise such that the voltage of the first driving power rises by a voltage amount at respective time periods. the voltage code lookup table VC LUT may store drop data of the power supply voltage ELVDD corresponding to the type of the voltage drop signal SVD and the activation start time of the voltage drop signal SVD. As the activation start time of the voltage drop signal SVD becomes earlier, a voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD may drop more. [Pyun para 00876]
Regarding claim 19 Pyun teaches an electronic device comprising: a display panel comprising pixels configured to receive a driving current from a first driving power The display panel 100 may include a plurality of gate lines GL, a plurality of data lines DL, and pixels P electrically connected to the gate lines GL and the data lines DL, [Pyun para 0052] the power supply voltage generator 600 may generate a low power supply voltage, and output the low power supply voltage to the pixel P. [Pyun para 0065]; The power supply voltage generator 600 may generate the power supply voltage ELVDD, and output the power supply voltage ELVDD to the display panel 100. [Pyun para 0079]; a voltage generation circuit configured to generate the first driving power the power supply voltage generator 600 [Pyun para 0065]; and a controller configured to control a rising time When the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD drops or rises based on the analog voltage AVOLT, the current level of the power supply current IEL flowing in the display panel 100 may vary. [Pyun para 0085]of the first driving power in response to a differential voltage value corresponding to a difference between a voltage of the first driving power of a current frame and a voltage of the first driving power of a previous frame the driving controller 200 may include a net power control setter 230. In such an embodiment, the net power control setter 230 may determine the scale factor SF[N+1] for adjusting the gray scale of the (N+1).sup.th frame data based on the load LD[N] of the N.sup.th frame data IMG[N] and the net power control reference value. [Pyun para 0102] and in response to a differential current value corresponding to a difference between a maximum current value to flow to the display panel in response to a load and a current actually flowing to the display panel. The current sensing block 620 may sense the power supply current IEL, and generate a voltage drop signal SVD based on the current level of the power supply current IEL and a reference current lookup table IR LUT. The current sensing block 620 may receive the power supply current IEL from the power supply voltage generation block 610. The current sensing block 620 may receive a reference current from the reference current lookup table IR LUT. The current sensing block 620 may compare the power supply current IEL with the reference current. The current sensing block 620 may output the voltage drop signal SVD with an activation level when the power supply current IEL is greater than the reference current. [Pyun para 0080]
Regarding claim 20 Pyun teaches claim 19 in addition Pyun teaches wherein the controller is configured to control the voltage generation circuit so that the first driving power is risen stepwise in response to the differential voltage value being greater than a first threshold value and the differential current value being greater than a second threshold value. a fourth time point T4, the current sensing block 620 may sense that the power supply current IEL is smaller than the second reference current IR2. … may increase the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD. When the power supply voltage ELVDD rises at the fourth time point T4, [Pyun para 0096] fifth time point T5, the current sensing block 620 may sense that the power supply current IEL is smaller than the first reference current IR1. … may increase the voltage level of the power supply voltage ELVDD. [Pyun para 0097]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun and further in view of Itoi et al., US Patent Application (20240048865), hereinafter “Itoi”
Regarding claim 3 Pyun teaches claim 1 in addition Pyun does not teach but Itoi teaches further comprising a sensing resistor between the first power line and the display, and connected to the current sensor to enable sensing of the global current value. a main power source current detection unit 404. “Resistors 402” is a collective term for resistors 402a to 402c illustrated in FIG. 4A. [Itoi para 0053] This makes it possible to continuously supply power from the power storage device unit 202 to the image sensor 102 preferentially even if the voltage of the power storage device unit 202 drops [Itoi para 0053]
Pyun discloses a display device may include a display panel which displays an image based on a data voltage, a driving controller including a net power control setter which determines a scale factor for adjusting a gray scale of (N+1).sup.th frame data based on a load of N.sup.th frame data and a net power control reference value, where the driving controller generates a data signal based on input image data, and N is a natural number greater than or equal to 2, a data driver which converts the data signal into the data voltage and outputs the data voltage to the display panel, and a power supply voltage generator which senses a power supply current applied to the display panel in an N.sup.th frame and generates a power supply voltage based on a current level of the power supply current.
Itoi discloses an image capturing apparatus includes an image sensor, a power supply circuit, and a power storage device. A charging unit charges the power storage device using power from the power supply circuit. A control unit performs control such that in a first operation state of the image capturing apparatus, power is supplied from the power supply circuit to the image sensor without power being supplied from the power storage device to the image sensor. The control unit further performs control such that in a second operation state of the image capturing apparatus in which a maximum power consumption of the image sensor is higher than in the first operation state, power is supplied from the power supply circuit and the power storage device to the image sensor.
Prior to the effective date of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Pyun and Itoi in the art of controlling a display’s power generation to pixels, frame by frame, based on the load applied by image data and operating the same, as one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable as the combined teachings and technologies were well known in the art. Itoi improves Pyun current sensing system, methods and/or apparatus by using a current sensing resistor in line with the voltage adjustment applied to the display by frame of image data.
Conclusion
/ROBERT J MICHAUD/Examiner, Art Unit 2622