CTNF 19/210,882 CTNF 82478 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. 07-30-03-h AIA Claim Interpretation Patentable weight is given to data stored on a computer-readable medium when there exists a functional relationship between the data and its associated substrate. MPEP 2111.05 III. For example, if a claim is drawn to a computer-readable medium containing programming, a functional relationship exists if the programming “performs some function with respect to the computer with which it is associated.” Id . However, if the claim recites that the computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists and the information or data is not given patentable weight. Id . Claim 20 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing a bitstream which is generated by steps outlined in the claim. These steps are not actively performed by an intended computer, and the bitstream is not a form of programming that causes functions to be performed by an intended computer. This shows that the computer-readable medium merely serves as support for the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the steps/elements that describe the generation of the bitstream and intended computer system. Therefore, those claim elements are not given patentable weight. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA Claim (s) 1-7, 9-10, 12, and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li et al. (US 20240137540 A1) . Re claim 1 , Li discloses a method for video processing, comprising: determining, for a conversion between a current video block of a video and a bitstream of the video, affine motion compensation information of the current video block (Li: Fig. 11, step S1110; Fig. 12, step S1210; paragraph [0096], CPMVs for an affine block); preforming a refinement process on the affine motion compensation information based on at least one sample previously coded to obtain refined affine motion compensation information (Li: Fig. 11, steps S1120-S1150; Fig. 12, steps S1220-S1250; paragraph [0096], template matching refinement); and performing the conversion based on the refined affine motion compensation information (Li: Fig. 11, step S1160; Fig. 12, step S1260). Re claim 2 , Li discloses wherein the affine motion compensation information comprises at least one of: a control point motion vector of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0100], affine block can include first control point; paragraph [0110], initial first CPMV can be determined for the first control point), a motion vector of a subblock of the current video block, or an affine parameter for an affine coding mode, and/or wherein the at least one sample comprises at least one of: samples in a first template of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0109]), or samples in a second template of a reference block of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0110], initial first CPMV can indicate an initial reference template), and/or wherein at least one of the first template or the second template comprises a reconstructed region, and samples in the reconstructed region is used to refine a control point motion vector of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0110]). Re claim 3 , Li discloses that performing the refinement process comprises: determining a unified template associated with the current video block (Li: paragraph [0096], current template associated with first control point of a current block determined); determining a template matching cost of the unified template (Li: paragraph [0096], costs can indicate differences between each of the plurality of candidate reference templates and the current template of the first control point); and performing the refinement process based on the template matching cost (Li: paragraph [0096], reference template can be determined, or selected, from the plurality of candidate reference templates for the current template associated with the first control point based on TM costs), wherein a motion vector shift value is determined based on the template matching cost (Li: paragraph [0096], a first CPMV can be determined based on the determined (or selected) reference template, where the first CPMV can indicate an offset between the determined reference template in the reference picture and the current template associated with the first control point). Re claim 4 , Li discloses that a template of the current video block comprises samples of at least one of: a luma component (Li: paragraph [0075], luma), or a chroma component (Li: paragraph [0075], chroma), and/or wherein a template of the current video block comprises at least a partial of pixels in a region. Re claim 5 , Li discloses that performing the refinement process comprises: performing a control point motion vector refinement process on at least one affine candidate of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0116]); and determining an affine candidate list of the current video block by adding the at least one refined affine candidate into the affine candidate list (Li: paragraph [0118]). Re claim 6 , Li discloses determining an affine candidate list of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0090]); and wherein performing the refinement process comprises: performing a control point motion vector refinement process on at least one affine candidate in the affine candidate list (Li: paragraph [0096]), wherein the control point motion vector refinement process is performed on an affine candidate with an index (Li: paragraph [0088], search method can be applied to a merge candidate indicated by a merge index). Re claim 7 , Li discloses determining a first affine candidate list of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0118]); and determining a second affine candidate list of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0118]), wherein the first affine candidate list is determined without the refinement process (Li: paragraph [0118], indicates lists created before template matching-based CPMV refinement method determined), and/or wherein the second affine candidate list is determined based on the first affine candidate list, wherein determining the second affine candidate list comprises: determining a candidate in the second affine candidate list by performing a control point motion vector refinement process on at least one control point motion vector in the first affine candidate list, and/or wherein the control point motion vector refinement process is based on template matching (Li: paragraph [0118], template matching-based CPMV refinement method), and/or wherein the first affine candidate list is determined based on a candidate reordering process, wherein the candidate reordering process is based on template matching, and/or wherein the second affine candidate list is determined without a candidate reordering process. Re claim 9 , Li discloses wherein preforming the refinement process comprises: performing the refinement process on at least one control point motion vector of an affine candidate of the current video block based on template matching (Li: paragraph [0115]), and wherein performing the conversion comprises: determining, based on the at least one refined control point motion vector, affine motion information for at least one of the current video block or a subblock of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0116]), wherein at least one of an integer precision or a fractional precision is used in the refinement process (Li: paragraph [0114], number of the plurality of search steps can be determined based on a predefined resolution, wherein multiple resolutions are supported), or wherein an integer precision is used in the refinement process, and a fractional precision searching is skipped, or wherein performing a fractional precision searching on the affine candidate is based on a result of an integer precision search, or wherein the factional precision is used in the refinement process, and an interpolation filter is used to determine at least one reference template for at least one motion vector pointing to at least one fractional position, wherein the interpolation filter comprises a simplified interpolation filter, and/or wherein the interpolation filter comprises at least one of: a 2-tap bilinear filter, a 4-tap, 6-tap or 8-tap discrete cosine transform filter, a 4-tap, 6-tap or 8-tap discrete sine transform filter, or a 4-tap, 6-tap or 8-tap Lanczos filter, wherein whether to and/or how to use the method is determined based on the bitstream, or coding information of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0040], Categories of symbols include information used to manage operation), wherein whether to and/or how to use the method is included in at least one of: a sequence parameter set (SPS), a picture parameter set (PPS), a picture header, a slice header, a coding tree unit (CTU), or a coding unit (CU) (Li: paragraph [0040], subgroup parameters), wherein the coding information comprises at least one of: a coding tool applied to the current video block, or a block dimension of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0040], subgroups may correspond to certain sizes of data from the image data, such as tiles, slices, macroblocks, Coding Units (CUs), blocks, Transform Units (TUs), Prediction Units (PUs) and so forth). Re claim 10 , Li discloses that preforming the refinement process comprises: performing the refinement process on motion information of a plurality of control points based on a target motion vector shift value, the target motion vector shift value being a difference between a control point motion vector and a corresponding refined control point motion vector (Li: paragraph [0096]), wherein the method further comprises: traversing a plurality of motion vector shift values in a motion vector shift set, the plurality of motion vector shift value being assigned to at least one control point motion vector of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0096]), wherein traversing a given motion vector shift value of the plurality of motion vector shift values comprises: determining a refined control point motion vector based on the given motion vector shift value and the at least one control point motion vector (Li: paragraph [0096]); determining motion information of at least one boundary subblock associated with the at least one refined control point motion vector (Li: paragraph [0096]); and determining a template matching cost corresponding to the given motion vector shift value based on the motion information (Li: paragraph [0096]); and determining the target motion vector shift value based on a plurality of template matching costs corresponding to the plurality of motion vector shift values (Li: paragraph [0135]). Re claim 12 , Li discloses wherein the refinement process is based on template matching, and the refinement process is applied to at least one of: an affine merge candidate, or an affine advanced motion vector prediction (AMVP), or an affine inter prediction, wherein a motion vector prediction (MVP) of the affine AMVP is refined based on at least one of template matching or decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) (Li: paragraph [0095]), and/or wherein the current video block is affine coded, and a template matching based refinement process is applied to the current video block together with a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) based refinement process, wherein the template matching based refinement process is applied before or after the DMVR based refinement process (Li: paragraph [0095]), and/or wherein the current video block is affine coded without being applied a decoder side motion vector refinement (DMVR) based refinement process, and a template matching based refinement process is applied to the current video block. Re claim 14 , Li discloses wherein the refinement process on at least one control point motion vector of the current video block is performed iteratively, wherein the current video block is bi-predicted, and wherein a first control point motion vector associated with a first reference list and a second control point motion vector associated with a second reference list are jointly refined, and/or wherein during refining the first control point motion vector, for a searching step, a bi-directional reference template matching is determined based on the first control point motion vector and the second control point motion vector, a template matching cost is determined based on the bi-directional reference template matching to obtain a motion vector shift value (Li: paragraph [0118], bi-prediction; paragraph [0110], offset between the determined reference template in the reference picture and the current template associated with the first control point). Re claim 15 , Li discloses that performing the refinement process comprises: performing a plurality of rounds of the refinement process to a plurality of control point motion vectors of the current video block (Li: paragraph [0114], refinement may include a plurality of search steps), wherein at least a partial of the plurality of control point motion vectors is refined in a round of the plurality of rounds of the refinement process (Li: paragraph [0113], initial first CPMV v0 can be determined for the first control point), wherein at least a partial of the plurality of control point motion vectors is refined in a first round of the plurality of rounds of the refinement process, and a second round of the refinement process is further performed on the at least partial of the refined plurality of control point motion vectors (Li: paragraph [0114], number of the plurality of search steps can be determined based on a predefined resolution, wherein multiple resolutions are supported). Re claim 16 , Li discloses wherein whether to and/or how to refine at least one control point motion vector of the current video block based on template matching is determined based on a prediction direction of the current video block (Li: paragraphs [0117]-[0118]), wherein the current video block is uni-predicted, and the at least one control point motion vector is to be refined based on template matching (Li: paragraph [0117]), or wherein the current video block is bi-predicted, and the at least one control point motion vector is to be refined based on template matching (Li: paragraph [0118]), or wherein the current video block is bi-predicted or uni-predicted, and the at least one control point motion vector is to be refined based on template matching (Li: paragraphs [0117]-[0118]), and/or wherein an affine prediction is used as a hypothesis of the current video block coded with multiple hypothesis prediction (MHP). Re claim 17 , Li discloses that the conversion includes encoding the current video block into the bitstream (Li: paragraph [0005], encoding), or wherein the conversion includes decoding the current video block from the bitstream (Li: paragraph [0005], decoding). Claim 18 recites the corresponding apparatus for implementing the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 18. Additionally, Li discloses that the disclosed computer system can provide functionality as a result of processor(s) (including CPUs, GPUs, FPGA, accelerators, and the like) executing software embodied in one or more tangible, computer-readable media (Li: paragraph [0164]). Accordingly, claim 18 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above. Claim 19 recites the corresponding non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing instructions that cause a processor to perform the method of claim 1. Therefore, arguments analogous to those presented for claim 1 are applicable to claim 19. Additionally, Li discloses that the disclosed computer system can provide functionality as a result of processor(s) (including CPUs, GPUs, FPGA, accelerators, and the like) executing software embodied in one or more tangible, computer-readable media (Li: paragraph [0164]). Accordingly, claim 19 has been analyzed and rejected with respect to claim 1 above. Re claim 20 , Li discloses storing of compressed video on digital media including CD, DVD, memory stick and the like (Li: paragraph [0035]) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 8, 11, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Contact Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY whose telephone number is (571)270-1199. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Friday 9AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Chris Kelley can be reached at (571)272-7331. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /CHRISTOPHER G FINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 2 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 3 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 4 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 5 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 6 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 7 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 8 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 9 Art Unit: 2482 Application/Control Number: 19/210,882 Page 10 Art Unit: 2482