DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 05/18/2025, 12/22/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1(1) as anticipated by Yamada (US 2015/0117890) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Yamada (US 2015/0117890) in view of Aoyagi (US 2023/0391108).
Regarding claim 1, Yamada teaches an image formation system (fig.1) comprising:
an image forming apparatus (64,63,61 fig.1) that forms an image on an upward facing side of a sheet (P) and then conveys the sheet externally from the image forming apparatus;
a sheet conveyance device (conveyance device in fig.1) that receives the sheet conveyed from the image forming apparatus and that comprises a first mechanism (in fig.1, conveyance mechanism in the transport path above the nip b/n 64,63 of transport path 21,23 towards 101b) that conveys the received sheet, without turning the sheet over, to eject the sheet from the sheet conveyance device, and a second mechanism (in fig.1, conveyance mechanism in the transport path from DP below 42 transport path 22 towards the bottom 42) that conveys the received sheet back toward the image forming apparatus without turning the sheet over; and
a controller (fig.3) that includes a processor and, in forming images on a front side and a back side of the sheet upon execution of a control program by the processor (paragraphs 0033,0034,0038,0039,0045,0047), conducts sheet conveyance in either one of:
a first conveyance manner (fig.1 for instance a double sided printing being performed) to allow the image forming apparatus to form an image of an N-th page (where N is an odd number) on the upward facing front side of the sheet (for instance front side of page 1 of a double sided printing in fig.1) and then form an image of an (N+1)-th page on the upward facing back side of the sheet (for instance page 2 which is back side of page 1 of in the double sided printing in fig.1) after being turned over and conveyed back to the image forming apparatus, and allow the sheet, with the front side (i.e. the front side of page 1 of the double sided printing in fig.1) having the image of the N-th page facing downward, to be conveyed from the image forming apparatus to the sheet conveyance device and ejected through the first mechanism (in fig.1, conveyance mechanism in the transport path above the nip b/n 64,63 of transport path 21,23 towards 101b) from the sheet conveyance device (ejected to tray 101b fig.1); and
a second conveyance manner (fig.1 for instance a double sided printing being performed) to allow the image forming apparatus to form the image of the (N+1)-th page on the upward facing front side of the sheet (for instance front side of page 2 of a double sided printing in fig.1) and then form the image of the N-th page on the upward facing back side of the sheet (for instance page 1 which is back side of page 2 of in the double sided printing in fig.1) after being turned over and conveyed back to the image forming apparatus, and allow the sheet, with the back side having the image of the N-th page facing upward, to be conveyed from the image forming apparatus to the sheet conveyance device and ejected through the first mechanism (in fig.1, conveyance mechanism in the transport path above the nip b/n 64,63 of transport path 21,23 towards 101b) from the sheet conveyance device (ejected to tray 101b fig.1).
Yamada teaches all the structures and controllers capable of printing the claimed odd and even numbered pages (figs.1-3). But, in case applicant argued that Yamada does not explicitly mention printing on odd and even pages.
However, Aoyagi teaches similar printing system (figs.1,2) including printing odd and even pages in a double-sided printing process (figs.3-12;paragraph 0029).
Therefore, in the alternatives, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, as of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to choose printing odd or even pages in certain order in the printing system of Yamada based on the teachings of Aoyagi for instance to improve print speed and better arrange sequentially numbered printed pages.
Regarding claim 2, Yamada as alternatively modified by Aoyagi further teaches further comprising a communication device (8 fig.1-3 Yamada; figs.1 Aoyagi) that communicates with an information processing device, wherein when the communication device receives print target data representing images of a plurality of pages, the controller rearranges the images represented by the print target data from an original order of printing indicated by the print target data to a reverse order of printing reverse to the original order and allows the image forming apparatus to form the images on the front sides and back sides of the sheets in the reverse order of printing (fig.1-3 Yamada; figs.1,5-12 Aoyagi).
Regarding claim 3, Yamada as alternatively modified by Aoyagi further teaches
further comprising an operation device that accepts an input of a user's instruction, wherein when an instruction to eject the sheet face-down is input to the operation device, the controller conducts the sheet conveyance in the first conveyance manner, and when an instruction to eject the sheet face-up is input to the operation device, the controller conducts the sheet conveyance in the second conveyance manner (fig.1 Yamada; figs.5-12 Aoyagi).
Regarding claim 4, Yamada as alternatively modified by Aoyagi further teaches wherein the image forming apparatus forms the image on the sheet using an ink-jet system (paragraph 0025 Aoyagi teaches the use of inkjet and electrographic printing systems).
Regarding claim 5, Yamada as alternatively modified by Aoyagi further teaches wherein the sheet conveyance device further comprises a third mechanism that turns the received sheet over and ejects the turned-over sheet from the sheet conveyance device (bottom 42,41, and/or upper 43 fig.1 Yamada; figs.2,5-12 Aoyagi).
Regarding claim 6, Yamada as alternatively modified by Aoyagi further teaches further comprising a sheet feeder that turns over the sheet conveyed via the second mechanism from the image forming apparatus and then returns the sheet to the image forming apparatus.
Conclusion
/HENOK D LEGESSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853