DETAILED ACTION
It would be of great assistance to the Office if all incoming papers pertaining to a filed application carried the following items:
1. Application number (checked for accuracy, including series code and serial no.).
2. Group art unit number (copied from most recent Office communication).
3. Filing date.
4. Name of the examiner who prepared the most recent Office action.
5. Title of invention.
6. Confirmation number (See MPEP § 503).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawase et al. (US 2005/0285811) in view of Bang et al. (US 2015/0262331), Jin et al. (US 2013/0002572) and Lee (US 2016/0172623).
As to claim 1, Kawase discloses a display device comprising:
a first display panel (display panel 12 of fig. 3);
and a second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3), wherein
the first display panel (display panel 12 of fig. 3) comprises a first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3) and a light-transmitting region (transmission section 124 of fig. 3) adjacent to the first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3), wherein
the second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3) comprises a second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3),
wherein
the light-transmitting region (mission section 124 of fig.3) at one end of the first display panel (left end of display panel 12 of fig. 3) overlaps with a display surface side (display surface side of fig. 3) of the second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3);
but fails to disclose:
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and wherein
the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses a display device comprising multiple display panels (panels 111 and 112 of fig. 13 [0108]), wherein the first display panel (111 of fig. 13) and the second display panel (112 of fig. 12) are flexible (the first display 111 and the second display 112 are provided as the flexible panels [0108]); wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely (as shown in fig. 13, panels 111 and 112 are curved concavely with respect to the USER of fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawase and the teachings of Bang, such that the display panels were flexible and concavely provided as disclosed by Bang, with motivation to provide the user with the image having higher quality (Bang [0111]).
Kawase in view of Bang fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
wherein the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and wherein
the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jin discloses a display device comprising:
a support (housing 160 of fig. 15);
a display panel is over the support (the flexible display panel 100 is maintained by the frame or housing 160 [0112]);
wherein the surface of the support comprises a concave surface (the flexible display panel 100 is attached to a top surface of a front case 161 of the housing 160 [0114]; wherein as shown in fig. 15, the top surface of a front case 161 is concave), and wherein
the display panel is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support (as shown in figs 5 and 16, the display panel 100 is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support 161 of figs, 15 and 16, where in the flexible display panel having its concave curved shape maintained by various support units [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawase in view of Bang and the teachings of Jin, such that a support was provided as disclosed by Jim, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel were positioned over the support and the first display panel and the second display panel were curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, with motivation to provide the user with an improved sense of grip or beauty (Jin [0116]).
Kawase in view of Bang and Jin fails to disclose that the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a flexible display panel comprising a support (support layer 108 of fig. 3A) and a display panel (pixels of fig. 3A) is curved along one end of the support (flexible display 100 is curved along one end of the support [0053], fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawase in view of Bang and Jin and the teachings of Lee, such that the second display panel was made to be curved along one end of the support as disclosed by Lee, with motivation to reduce the size of an inactive area (Lee [0007 – 0008]).
As to claim 2 (dependent on 1), Kawase discloses the display device, wherein
the first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3) comprises a first plurality of organic electroluminescent elements (organic electroluminescent (EL) display apparatus [0038]), and wherein
the second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3) comprises a second plurality of organic electroluminescent elements (organic electroluminescent (EL) display apparatus [0038]).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawase in view of Bang, Jin, Lee and Rothkopf et al. (US 2013/0044215).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 1), Kawase discloses the display device, wherein
the second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3) comprises a light-blocking region (non-displaying section 113 of fig. 3, the non-displaying section 113 is formed at an outer peripheral section of the display section 112 [0035]) adjacent to the second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3), wherein
the first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3) and the light-blocking region (non-displaying section 113 to the right of display section 112 of fig. 3) overlap to each other (fig. 3), but Kawase in view of Bang, Jin and Lee does not explicitly disclose that the light-blocking region comprises a flexible printed circuit and a driver circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Rothkopf discloses a display device comprising a flexible display (flexible display 108 of fig. 2) and a light-blocking region (region of 202 of fig. 2B) comprises a flexible printed circuit and a driver circuit (comprising electric module 202 of fig. 2 including a flexible printed circuit board with a driver [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of Kawase in view of Bang, Jin and Lee and teachings of Rothkopf such that a flexible printed circuit board was provided as disclosed by Rothkopf, with motivation to provide components that are flexible in nature and resistant to fatigue (Rothkopf [0030]).
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 in view of Kawase and Jin and Lee.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086
A display device comprising:
a support;
a first display panel over the support;
and a second display panel over the support, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, and wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support and wherein
the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
A display device comprising:
a support
having a curved surface;
a first display panel over the support;
and a second display panel over the support, wherein
each of the first display panel and the second display panel comprises a first part and a second part, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the first part is configured to display an image, wherein
the second part is configured to transmit visible light, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved along the curved surface of the support to overlap with each other, wherein
the first part of the first display panel overlaps with the second part of the second display panel, and wherein
the first part of the second display panel overlaps with the second part of the first display panel.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it fails to disclose that the light-transmitting region is adjacent to the first display region and that the support comprises a concave surface and the panels are curved along the concave surface, wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Kawase discloses a display device comprising the first display panel (display panel 12 of fig. 3) comprises a first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3) and a light-transmitting region (transmission section 124 of fig. 3) adjacent to the first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 and the teachings of Kawase such that the light-transmitting region was adjacent to the first display region as disclosed by Kawase, with motivation to provide a display apparatus employing a plurality of display means capable of reducing a non-displaying region with a simple configuration (Kawase [0010]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 in view of Kawase does not explicitly disclose that the surface of the support comprises a concave surface and the panels are curved along the concave surface, wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jin discloses a display device comprising:
a support (housing 160 of fig. 15); wherein the surface of the support comprises a concave surface (the flexible display panel 100 is attached to a top surface of a front case 161 of the housing 160 [0114]; wherein as shown in fig. 15, the top surface of a front case 161 is concave), and wherein
the display panel is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support (as shown in figs 5 and 16, the display panel 100 is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support 161 of figs, 15 and 16, where in the flexible display panel having its concave curved shape maintained by various support units [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 in view of Kawase and the teachings of Jin, such that a support was provided as disclosed by Jim, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel were positioned over the support and the first display panel and the second display panel were curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, with motivation to provide the user with an improved sense of grip or beauty (Jin [0116]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 in view of Kawase and Jin does not explicitly disclose that the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a flexible display panel comprising a support (support layer 108 of fig. 3A) and a display panel (pixels of fig. 3A) is curved along one end of the support (flexible display 100 is curved along one end of the support [0053], fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 in view of Kawase and Jin and the teachings of Lee, such that the second display panel was made to be curved along one end of the support as disclosed by Lee, with motivation to reduce the size of an inactive area (Lee [0007 – 0008]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 in view of Kawase, Jin and Lee.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 9,940,086 in view of Kawase, Jin and Lee.
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235 in view of Bang and Jin and Lee.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235
A display device comprising:
a support;
a first display panel over the support;
and a second display panel over the support, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, and wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
A display device comprising:
a first display panel; and
a second display panel, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a first light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region and a second light-transmitting region adjacent to the second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are joined to form a ring so that
the first light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region and the second light-transmitting region at one end of the second display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the first display region, and wherein
the display device is in the form of a cylinder.
Claim 1 of differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, and wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses a display device comprising multiple display panels (panels 111 and 112 of fig. 13 [0108]), wherein the first display panel (111 of fig. 13) and the second display panel (112 of fig. 12) are flexible (the first display 111 and the second display 112 are provided as the flexible panels [0108]); wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely (as shown in fig. 13, panels 111 and 112 are curved concavely with respect to the USER of fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235 and the teachings of Bang, such that the display panels were flexible and concavely provided as disclosed by Bang, with motivation to provide the user with the image having higher quality (Bang [0111]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235 in view of Bang fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
wherein the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jin discloses a display device comprising:
a support (housing 160 of fig. 15);
a display panel is over the support (the flexible display panel 100 is maintained by the frame or housing 160 [0112]);
wherein the support comprises a concave surface (the flexible display panel 100 is attached to a top surface of a front case 161 of the housing 160 [0114]; wherein as shown in fig. 15, the top surface of a front case 161 is concave), and wherein
the display panel is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support (as shown in figs 5 and 16, the display panel 100 is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support 161 of figs, 15 and 16, where in the flexible display panel having its concave curved shape maintained by various support units [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235 in view of Bang and the teachings of Jin, such that a support was provided as disclosed by Jim, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel were positioned over the support and the first display panel and the second display panel were curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, with motivation to provide the user with an improved sense of grip or beauty (Jin [0116]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235 in view of Bang and Jin does not explicitly disclose that the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a flexible display panel comprising a support (support layer 108 of fig. 3A) and a display panel (pixels of fig. 3A) is curved along one end of the support (flexible display 100 is curved along one end of the support [0053], fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235 in view of Bang and Jin and the teachings of Lee, such that the second display panel was made to be curved along one end of the support as disclosed by Lee, with motivation to reduce the size of an inactive area (Lee [0007 – 0008]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235 in view of Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,198,235 in view of Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, 4 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 in view of Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211
A display device comprising:
a support;
a first display panel over the support;
and a second display panel over the support, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, and wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
A display device comprising:
a first display panel; and
a second display panel, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a first light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region and a second light-transmitting region adjacent to the second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are joined to form a ring so that
the first light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region and the second light-transmitting region at one end of the second display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the first display region, wherein
the display device is in the form of a cylinder, and wherein
the display surface side of the first display region and the display surface side of the second display region face inward
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses a display device comprising multiple display panels (panels 111 and 112 of fig. 13 [0108]), wherein the first display panel (111 of fig. 13) and the second display panel (112 of fig. 12) are flexible (the first display 111 and the second display 112 are provided as the flexible panels [0108]); wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely (as shown in fig. 13, panels 111 and 112 are curved concavely with respect to the USER of fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 and the teachings of Bang, such that the display panels were flexible and concavely provided as disclosed by Bang, with motivation to provide the user with the image having higher quality (Bang [0111]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 in view of Bang fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
wherein the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jin discloses a display device comprising:
a support (housing 160 of fig. 15);
a display panel is over the support (the flexible display panel 100 is maintained by the frame or housing 160 [0112]);
wherein the surface of the support comprises a concave surface (the flexible display panel 100 is attached to a top surface of a front case 161 of the housing 160 [0114]; wherein as shown in fig. 15, the top surface of a front case 161 is concave), and wherein
the display panel is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support (as shown in figs 5 and 16, the display panel 100 is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support 161 of figs, 15 and 16, where in the flexible display panel having its concave curved shape maintained by various support units [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 in view of Bang and the teachings of Jin, such that a support was provided as disclosed by Jim, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel were positioned over the support and the first display panel and the second display panel were curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, with motivation to provide the user with an improved sense of grip or beauty (Jin [0116]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 in view of Bang and Jin does not explicitly disclose that the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a flexible display panel comprising a support (support layer 108 of fig. 3A) and a display panel (pixels of fig. 3A) is curved along one end of the support (flexible display 100 is curved along one end of the support [0053], fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 in view of Bang and Jin and the teachings of Lee, such that the second display panel was made to be curved along one end of the support as disclosed by Lee, with motivation to reduce the size of an inactive area (Lee [0007 – 0008]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 in view of Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 10,572,211 in view of Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase, Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204
A display device comprising:
a support;
a first display panel over the support;
and a second display panel over the support, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
A display device comprising:
a display panel; and
a protective substrate, wherein
the display panel comprises a display region and a light-transmitting region at one end of the display panel, wherein the light-transmitting region is adjacent to the display region, wherein
the display panel comprises a light-blocking region adjacent to the display region, wherein
the light-blocking region comprises a flexible printed circuit and a driver circuit, wherein the display panel is flexible, wherein
the display panel is curved to form a ring so that the light-transmitting region overlaps with a display surface side of the display region, wherein the protective substrate is provided on a surface opposite to the display surface side of the display panel, wherein
the light-blocking region is curved along the protective substrate toward the other surface of the protective substrate, wherein
the display device is in the form of a cylinder, and
wherein the display surface side of the display region faces inward.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it fails to disclose:
a support;
a second display panel over the support;
the second display panel comprises a second display region;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Kawase discloses a display device comprising a second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3), wherein
the first display panel (display panel 12 of fig. 3) comprises a first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3) and a light-transmitting region (transmission section 124 of fig. 3) adjacent to the first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3), wherein
the second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3) comprises a second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3),
wherein
the light-transmitting region (mission section 124 of fig.3) at one end of the first display panel (left end of display panel 12 of fig. 3) overlaps with a display surface side (display surface side of fig. 3) of the second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 and the teachings of Kawase such that first and second displays overlapped as disclosed by Kawase, with motivation to provide a display apparatus employing a plurality of display means capable of reducing a non-displaying region with a simple configuration (Kawase [0010]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase fails to disclose:
a support;
a second display panel over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses a display device comprising multiple display panels (panels 111 and 112 of fig. 13 [0108]), wherein the first display panel (111 of fig. 13) and the second display panel (112 of fig. 12) are flexible (the first display 111 and the second display 112 are provided as the flexible panels [0108]); wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely (as shown in fig. 13, panels 111 and 112 are curved concavely with respect to the USER of fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase and the teachings of Bang, such that the display panels were flexible and concavely provided as disclosed by Bang, with motivation to provide the user with the image having higher quality (Bang [0111]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase and Bang fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
wherein the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jin discloses a display device comprising:
a support (housing 160 of fig. 15);
a display panel is over the support (the flexible display panel 100 is maintained by the frame or housing 160 [0112]);
wherein the surface of the support comprises a concave surface (the flexible display panel 100 is attached to a top surface of a front case 161 of the housing 160 [0114]; wherein as shown in fig. 15, the top surface of a front case 161 is concave), and wherein
the display panel is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support (as shown in figs 5 and 16, the display panel 100 is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support 161 of figs, 15 and 16, where in the flexible display panel having its concave curved shape maintained by various support units [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase and Bang and the teachings of Jin, such that a support was provided as disclosed by Jim, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel were positioned over the support and the first display panel and the second display panel were curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, with motivation to provide the user with an improved sense of grip or beauty (Jin [0116]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin does not explicitly disclose that the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a flexible display panel comprising a support (support layer 108 of fig. 3A) and a display panel (pixels of fig. 3A) is curved along one end of the support (flexible display 100 is curved along one end of the support [0053], fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin and the teachings of Lee, such that the second display panel was made to be curved along one end of the support as disclosed by Lee, with motivation to reduce the size of an inactive area (Lee [0007 – 0008]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase, Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,093,204 in view of Kawase, Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claims 1 – 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 and 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase, Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724
A display device comprising:
a support;
a first display panel over the support;
and a second display panel over the support, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
A display device comprising:
a display panel; and
a protective substrate, wherein
the display panel comprises a display region and a light-transmitting region at one end of the display panel, wherein
the light-transmitting region is adjacent to the display region, wherein
the display panel further comprises a light-blocking region adjacent to the display region, wherein
the light-blocking region comprises a flexible printed circuit and a driver circuit, wherein
the display panel is flexible, wherein the display panel is curved to form a ring so that the light-transmitting region overlaps with a display surface side of the display region, wherein
the protective substrate is provided on a surface opposite to the display surface side of the display panel, wherein
each of the light-transmitting region and a part of the display region extend beyond the protective substrate, wherein
the protective substrate comprises an opening to pass the flexible printed circuit therethrough, wherein the display device is in the form of a cylinder, and wherein
the display surface side of the display region faces inward.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it fails to disclose:
a support;
a second display panel over the support;
the second display panel comprises a second display region;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Kawase discloses a display device comprising a second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3), wherein
the first display panel (display panel 12 of fig. 3) comprises a first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3) and a light-transmitting region (transmission section 124 of fig. 3) adjacent to the first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3), wherein
the second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3) comprises a second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3),
wherein
the light-transmitting region (mission section 124 of fig.3) at one end of the first display panel (left end of display panel 12 of fig. 3) overlaps with a display surface side (display surface side of fig. 3) of the second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 and the teachings of Kawase such that first and second displays overlapped as disclosed by Kawase, with motivation to provide a display apparatus employing a plurality of display means capable of reducing a non-displaying region with a simple configuration (Kawase [0010]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase fails to disclose:
a support;
a second display panel over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, and wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses a display device comprising multiple display panels (panels 111 and 112 of fig. 13 [0108]), wherein the first display panel (111 of fig. 13) and the second display panel (112 of fig. 12) are flexible (the first display 111 and the second display 112 are provided as the flexible panels [0108]); wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely (as shown in fig. 13, panels 111 and 112 are curved concavely with respect to the USER of fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase and the teachings of Bang, such that the display panels were flexible and concavely provided as disclosed by Bang, with motivation to provide the user with the image having higher quality (Bang [0111]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase and Bang fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
wherein the support comprises a concave surface, and wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jin discloses a display device comprising:
a support (housing 160 of fig. 15);
a display panel is over the support (the flexible display panel 100 is maintained by the frame or housing 160 [0112]);
wherein the surface of the support comprises a concave surface (the flexible display panel 100 is attached to a top surface of a front case 161 of the housing 160 [0114]; wherein as shown in fig. 15, the top surface of a front case 161 is concave), and wherein
the display panel is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support (as shown in figs 5 and 16, the display panel 100 is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support 161 of figs, 15 and 16, where in the flexible display panel having its concave curved shape maintained by various support units [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase and Bang and the teachings of Jin, such that a support was provided as disclosed by Jim, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel were positioned over the support and the first display panel and the second display panel were curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, with motivation to provide the user with an improved sense of grip or beauty (Jin [0116]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin does not explicitly disclose that the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a flexible display panel comprising a support (support layer 108 of fig. 3A) and a display panel (pixels of fig. 3A) is curved along one end of the support (flexible display 100 is curved along one end of the support [0053], fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin and the teachings of Lee, such that the second display panel was made to be curved along one end of the support as disclosed by Lee, with motivation to reduce the size of an inactive area (Lee [0007 – 0008]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin.
Claim 3 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,567,724 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin.
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091
A display device comprising:
a support;
a first display panel over the support;
and a second display panel over the support, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
A display device comprising:
a first display panel; and
a second display panel,
wherein the first display panel comprises a first display region and a first light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are joined to form a ring, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the first light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region, wherein
the second display region comprises a first portion and a second portion, wherein the first portion comprises a first plurality of pixels, wherein
the second portion comprises a second plurality of pixels, wherein the first portion is covered with the first display region, and wherein
the width of the first portion is larger than the width of one pixel.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses a display device comprising multiple display panels (panels 111 and 112 of fig. 13 [0108]), wherein the first display panel (111 of fig. 13) and the second display panel (112 of fig. 12) are flexible (the first display 111 and the second display 112 are provided as the flexible panels [0108]); wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely (as shown in fig. 13, panels 111 and 112 are curved concavely with respect to the USER of fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 and the teachings of Bang, such that the display panels were flexible and concavely provided as disclosed by Bang, with motivation to provide the user with the image having higher quality (Bang [0111]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
wherein the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jin discloses a display device comprising:
a support (housing 160 of fig. 15);
a display panel is over the support (the flexible display panel 100 is maintained by the frame or housing 160 [0112]);
wherein the surface of the support comprises a concave surface (the flexible display panel 100 is attached to a top surface of a front case 161 of the housing 160 [0114]; wherein as shown in fig. 15, the top surface of a front case 161 is concave), and wherein
the display panel is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support (as shown in figs 5 and 16, the display panel 100 is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support 161 of figs, 15 and 16, where in the flexible display panel having its concave curved shape maintained by various support units [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang and the teachings of Jin, such that a support was provided as disclosed by Jim, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel were positioned over the support and the first display panel and the second display panel were curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, with motivation to provide the user with an improved sense of grip or beauty (Jin [0116]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang and Jin does not explicitly disclose that the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a flexible display panel comprising a support (support layer 108 of fig. 3A) and a display panel (pixels of fig. 3A) is curved along one end of the support (flexible display 100 is curved along one end of the support [0053], fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang and Jin and the teachings of Lee, such that the second display panel was made to be curved along one end of the support as disclosed by Lee, with motivation to reduce the size of an inactive area (Lee [0007 – 0008]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang and Jin.
Claims 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang, Jin, Lee and Rothkopf et al. (US 2013/0044215).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 1), claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang, Jin and Lee discloses the display device, but fails to disclose
the second display panel comprises a light-blocking region adjacent to the second display region, wherein
the first display region and the light-blocking region overlap to each other, wherein the light-blocking region comprises a flexible printed circuit and a driver circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Rothkopf discloses a display device comprising a flexible display (flexible display 108 of fig. 2) and a light-blocking region (region of 202 of fig. 2B) comprises a flexible printed circuit and a driver circuit (comprising electric module 202 of fig. 2 including a flexible printed circuit board with a driver [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of im 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,922,091 in view of Bang, Jin and Lee and teachings of Rothkopf such that a flexible printed circuit board was provided as disclosed by Rothkopf, with motivation to provide components that are flexible in nature and resistant to fatigue (Rothkopf [0030]).
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase, Bang, Jin and Lee.
Claim 1 of Instant Application
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655
A display device comprising:
a support;
a first display panel over the support;
and a second display panel over the support, wherein
the first display panel comprises a first display region and a light-transmitting region adjacent to the first display region, wherein
the second display panel comprises a second display region, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the light-transmitting region at one end of the first display panel overlaps with a display surface side of the second display region, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
A display device comprising:
a display panel; wherein
the display panel comprises
a display region and a light-transmitting region, wherein
the light-transmitting region is provided at one end of the display panel, wherein
the display region comprises a first portion, a second portion and a third portion, wherein
the first portion comprises a first plurality of pixels, wherein
the second portion comprises a second plurality of pixels, wherein
the third portion comprises a third plurality of pixels, wherein the light-transmitting region is adjacent to the first portion, wherein
the second portion is between the first portion and the third portion, wherein the display panel is flexible, wherein the display panel is curved to form a ring so that the light-transmitting region overlaps with a display surface side of the display region, wherein
the first portion and the third portion overlap each other, wherein the first plurality of pixels and the third plurality of pixels are deviated to each other, and wherein the display panel is configured to add adjustment to a display signal corresponding to an image of the third plurality of pixels.
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 differs from that of claim 1 of Instant Application in that it fails to disclose:
a support;
a second display panel over the support;
the second display panel comprises a second display region;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Kawase discloses a display device comprising a second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3), wherein
the first display panel (display panel 12 of fig. 3) comprises a first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3) and a light-transmitting region (transmission section 124 of fig. 3) adjacent to the first display region (display section 122 of fig. 3), wherein
the second display panel (display panel 11 of fig. 3) comprises a second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3),
wherein
the light-transmitting region (mission section 124 of fig.3) at one end of the first display panel (left end of display panel 12 of fig. 3) overlaps with a display surface side (display surface side of fig. 3) of the second display region (display section 112 of fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 and the teachings of Kawase such that first and second displays overlapped as disclosed by Kawase, with motivation to provide a display apparatus employing a plurality of display means capable of reducing a non-displaying region with a simple configuration (Kawase [0010]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase fails to disclose:
a support;
a second display panel over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are flexible, wherein
the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Bang discloses a display device comprising multiple display panels (panels 111 and 112 of fig. 13 [0108]), wherein the first display panel (111 of fig. 13) and the second display panel (112 of fig. 12) are flexible (the first display 111 and the second display 112 are provided as the flexible panels [0108]); wherein the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely (as shown in fig. 13, panels 111 and 112 are curved concavely with respect to the USER of fig. 13).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase and the teachings of Bang, such that the display panels were flexible and concavely provided as disclosed by Bang, with motivation to provide the user with the image having higher quality (Bang [0111]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase and Bang fails to disclose
a support;
the first display panel and the second display panel are over the support;
wherein the support comprises a concave surface, wherein
the first display panel and the second display panel are curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, and
wherein the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same filed of endeavor, Jin discloses a display device comprising:
a support (housing 160 of fig. 15);
a display panel is over the support (the flexible display panel 100 is maintained by the frame or housing 160 [0112]);
wherein the surface of the support comprises a concave surface (the flexible display panel 100 is attached to a top surface of a front case 161 of the housing 160 [0114]; wherein as shown in fig. 15, the top surface of a front case 161 is concave), and wherein
the display panel is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support (as shown in figs 5 and 16, the display panel 100 is curved concavely along the concave surface of the support 161 of figs, 15 and 16, where in the flexible display panel having its concave curved shape maintained by various support units [0116]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase and Bang and the teachings of Jin, such that a support was provided as disclosed by Jim, wherein the first display panel and the second display panel were positioned over the support and the first display panel and the second display panel were curved concavely along the concave surface of the support, with motivation to provide the user with an improved sense of grip or beauty (Jin [0116]).
Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin does not explicitly disclose that the second display panel is curved along one end of the support.
In the same field of endeavor, Lee discloses a flexible display panel comprising a support (support layer 108 of fig. 3A) and a display panel (pixels of fig. 3A) is curved along one end of the support (flexible display 100 is curved along one end of the support [0053], fig. 3A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin and the teachings of Lee, such that the second display panel was made to be curved along one end of the support as disclosed by Lee, with motivation to reduce the size of an inactive area (Lee [0007 – 0008]).
Claim 2 of Instant Application is similarly rejected over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase, Bang and Jin.
Claims 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase, Bang, Jin and Lee and Rothkopf et al. (US 2013/0044215).
As to claim 3 (dependent on 1), claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase, Bang, Jin and Lee discloses the display device, but fails to disclose
the second display panel comprises a light-blocking region adjacent to the second display region, wherein
the first display region and the light-blocking region overlap to each other, wherein the light-blocking region comprises a flexible printed circuit and a driver circuit.
In the same field of endeavor, Rothkopf discloses a display device comprising a flexible display (flexible display 108 of fig. 2) and a light-blocking region (region of 202 of fig. 2B) comprises a flexible printed circuit and a driver circuit (comprising electric module 202 of fig. 2 including a flexible printed circuit board with a driver [0030]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to combine the teachings of im 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,321,655 in view of Kawase, Bang, Jin and Lee and teachings of Rothkopf such that a flexible printed circuit board was provided as disclosed by Rothkopf, with motivation to provide components that are flexible in nature and resistant to fatigue (Rothkopf [0030]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DMITRIY BOLOTIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623