DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DONG et al. (US 2015/0314584).
Regarding claim 1, DONG teaches a method of separating a ply from a backing comprising contacting a first support 106 to the laminate first surface separate from a corner, contacting a second support 105 to the laminate second side separate from the corner, actuating a corner displacer 140a to bend the corner in opposing directions to bend the layers to separate the laminate at the corner, and displacing the ply and backing to separate a remainder of the laminae (figs. 5A-5B; paras. 29, 33, 34, and 38).
Regarding claim 2, DONG teaches portions of the ply and backing bend on an axis substantially parallel to the first and second surfaces (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, DONG teaches plural cycles (para. 35).
Regarding claim 11, DONG teaches the second support comprises a suction end effector where the effector displaces the laminate and the first support and second support are contacted with the first and second sides held by the end effector (para. 26; fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, DONG teaches a gripper coupled to the first support that displaces separated ply and backing (para. 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DONG.
Regarding claim 3, DONG teaches the ply comprises oriented fibers in a resin (para. 35), but does not explicitly teach the fibers extend in a direction perpendicular to the bending direction. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to bend the ply perpendicular to the fibers in order to the fiber direction because there was a reasonable expectation of producing the same delamination whether perpendicular, parallel, or otherwise oriented (MPEP 2141).
Regarding claim 6, DONG teaches cycles last less than 5 seconds (para. 35), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize a cycle time less than 2 seconds because the ranges overlap (MPEP 2144.05).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DONG as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of HOCKEMEYER et al. (US 10,207,587).
Regarding claim 4, DONG does not teach the backing is attached to the ply via adhesive. HOCKEMEYER teaches another method of oscillating force separation of a ply from a backing, wherein the ply and backing are bonded via an adhesive such that the adhesive bonds break upon separation (col. 3, lines 5-17; col. 4, lines 29-45), where it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize adhesive between the ply and backing of DONG in order to secure the backing to the ply material.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-10 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record does not teach or fairly suggest the corner displacer is a first corner displacer and the system further comprises a second corner displacer, and actuating the corner displacer to displace the corner comprises pivoting the first corner displacer and the second corner displacer relative to at least one of the first support and second support.
Conclusion
/NICKOLAS R HARM/Examiner, Art Unit 1745
/PHILIP C TUCKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1745