0DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated September 29, 2026 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. A copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over corresponding claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,436,771. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the reference patent anticipate those of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 12,217,060 by Spadini et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Spadini”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 12, taking claim 1 as representative, Spadini discloses:
a shift/logical circuit of a processor-based device, configured to perform a shift operation and a subsequent logical operation in a single processor clock cycle, wherein the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation correspond to one or more instructions to perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation (Spadini discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, an execution circuit, which discloses a shift/logical circuit. The circuit is configured to perform a first operation followed by a second operation. As disclosed at Figure 8 and related description, the first operation can be a bitwise shift and the second operation can be an AND operation. As disclosed at col. 2, lines 34-42, two instructions to implement a simple function can be implemented in a single cycle.).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, taking claim 2 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the shift/logical circuit is configured to perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation in the single processor clock cycle responsive to an instruction processing circuit of the processor-based device detecting the one or more instructions in an instruction stream (Spadini discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, a pair detector circuit that detects the instructions).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, taking claim 3 as representative, Spadini discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the instruction processing circuit is configured to detect the one or more instructions by being configured to identify a shift instruction and a subsequent logical instruction that is adjacent to the shift instruction in the instruction stream (Spadini discloses, at col. 12, lines 25-29, the instructions are consecutive.).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, taking claim 4 as representative, Spadini discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the instruction processing circuit is configured to detect the one or more instructions by being configured to: determine that a first destination register of the shift instruction and a second destination register of the subsequent logical instruction are the same (Spadini discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, the destination of the first instruction and the second instruction is the same.); and
determine that the first destination register of the shift instruction is a source register for the subsequent logical instruction (Spadini discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, the destination of the first instruction is a source for the second instruction.).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, taking claim 8 as representative, Spadini discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
perform the shift operation by being configured to perform a right shift operation using a barrel shifter circuit of the shift/logical circuit (Spadini discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, using barrel shifters in the context of division, which discloses right shifting.).
Regarding claim 10, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter (Spadini discloses, at Figure 13 and related description, a computer.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadini in view of US Publication No. 2005/0198474 by Nancekievill et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Nancekievill”).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, taking claim 5 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the instruction processing circuit is configured to detect the one or more instructions by being configured to identify a logical instruction …shift operation (Spadini discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, a pair detector circuit that detects logical and shift instructions.).
Spadini does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned shift operation is embedded.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Nancekievill discloses:
an embedded shift operation (Nancekievill discloses, at Figure 2A and related description, a bit field extraction instruction that includes a shift operation, which discloses an embedded shift.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spadini to include embedded shifts, as disclosed by Nancekievill because such “operations enable a wide range of useful data manipulation operations.” See Nancekievill, ¶ [0007].
Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadini.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, taking claim 6 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation in the single processor clock cycle by being configured to apply a logical AND mask to a final …stage of the shift/logical circuit (Spadini discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, applying masking after performing an operation, which discloses applying a logical AND mask to a final stage of the shift/logical circuit.).
Spadini does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned final stage is a final multiplexer stage.
However, Spadini discloses, e.g., at Figure 3 and related description, barrel shifters and multiplexers. It would have been obvious to implement the shift operations using a barrel shifter comprised of multiplexers because such circuitry is well-known to enable fast data manipulation.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, taking claim 7 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation in the single processor clock cycle by being configured to apply …[a logical] circuit following a final … stage of the shift/logical circuit.
Spadini does not explicitly disclose the logical circuit is OR/XOR and the aforementioned final stage is a final multiplexer stage.
However, Spadini discloses, e.g., at Figure 4 and related description, OR/XOR circuitry. It would have been obvious to use OR/XOR circuitry because OR and XOR are fundamental logic operations that can be useful in enabling a wide range of logical operations.
Spadini also discloses, e.g., at Figure 3 and related description, barrel shifters and multiplexers. It would have been obvious to implement the shift operations using a barrel shifter comprised of multiplexers because such circuitry is well-known to enable fast data manipulation.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadini in view of US Patent No. 4,829,460 by Ito (hereinafter referred to as “Ito”).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, taking claim 9 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the shift/logical circuit is configured to perform the shift operation by being configured to perform a …shift operation using a barrel shifter circuit of the shift/logical circuit (Spadini discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, using barrel shifters.).
Spadini does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned shift is a left shift and performing the left shift by reversing an input value; performing, using the barrel shifter circuit of the shift/logical circuit, a right shift operation on the input value; and reverse the result of the right shift operation.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., bit manipulation) Ito discloses:
performing a left shift by reversing, shifting right, then reversing (Ito discloses, at col. 2, lines 7-48, reversing input data, shifting right, and reversing the shifted data to perform the equivalent left shift.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spadini to include the shifting mechanism of Ito in order to provide relatively small and fast circuitry for bit manipulation. See Ito, col. 1, lines 30-47.
Response to Arguments
On page 6 of the response filed September 29, 2026 (“response”), the Applicant argues, “The Office Action on page 5 rejects claims 1-20 on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over corresponding claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,436,771. Applicant will submit a terminal disclaimer upon the indication that claims 1-20 are otherwise allowable.”
The Applicant’s remarks are essentially a request to hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance, which is improper. MPEP § 804.1(B)(1) states, “A complete response to a nonstatutory double patenting (NSDP) rejection is either a reply by applicant showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference claims, or the filing of a terminal disclaimer in accordance…. Such a response is required even when the nonstatutory double patenting rejection is provisional. As filing a terminal disclaimer, or filing a showing that the claims subject to the rejection are patentably distinct from the reference application’s claims, is necessary for further consideration of the rejection of the claims, such a filing should not be held in abeyance. Only compliance with objections or requirements as to form not necessary for further consideration of the claims may be held in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated. Replies with an omission should be treated as provided in MPEP § 714.03. Therefore, an application must not be allowed unless the required compliant terminal disclaimer(s) is/are filed and/or the withdrawal of the nonstatutory double patenting rejection(s) is made of record by the examiner.” In the interest of compact prosecution, the Examiner will consider the Applicant’s reply as adequate, rather than requiring a complete reply at this point.
On pages 6-7 of the response the Applicant argues, “The Office Action on page 6 rejects claims 1-4, 8, 10-15, and 19 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 12,217,060 B1 to Spadini et al. (hereinafter "Spadini"). In order to reject a claim under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1), the Office Action must show that "the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention." Applicant respectfully traverses this rejection for at least the reasons set forth below. Applicant respectfully notes at the outset that Spadini does not qualify as prior art under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1). The Office Action on page 2 acknowledges that the present Application claims priority to U.S. Application No. 18/400,294, filed December 29, 2023. Spadini, however, issued on February 4, 2025, and issued as a "B 1" patent, indicating that no publication of the underlying application preceded issuance. Applicant further respectfully notes that the Notice of References Cited accompanying the Office Action identifies Spadini only as "US-12217060-B1," with a date of "2025-02-04," and the record contains no earlier publication of Spadini. Applicant respectfully submits that Spadini therefore was not "patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention," as 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) requires, and respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection on this basis alone.”
The Examiner thanks the Applicant for pointing out this typographical error. The correct section of 35 U.S.C. 102 under which the claims are anticipated is § 102(a)(2), rather than § 102(a)(1). The Examiner has made the correction above.
On pages 7-8 of the response the Applicant argues, “Independent claims 11 and 12 include recitations corresponding to the above-emphasized recitation of claim 1. Accordingly, the arguments presented below in support of the patentability of claim 1 apply to claims 11 and 12 as well. In rejecting claim 1, the Office Action on page 6 cites Figure 5 and the related description of Spadini as disclosing an execution circuit that discloses a "shift/logical circuit," and Figure 8 and the related description as disclosing that the first operation can be a bitwise shift and the second operation can be an AND operation. The Office Action on page 6 further cites column 2, lines 34- 42 of Spadini as disclosing that "two instructions to implement a simple function can be implemented in a single cycle." Applicant respectfully submits that the cited passage discloses no such thing. Rather, the cited portion of Spadini describes a drawback of executing a pair of instructions without fusing them, stating that "[u]sing a pair (or more) of instructions to implement an operation that could be done with one instruction can cause technical problems that reduce processor performance in multiple ways," that "execution of two instructions may increase the latency, or number of clock cycles used, to implement an operation," and that "[a]n increase in latency may particularly result if one or both of the two instructions implements a simple operation that can be done in a single cycle." Spadini, col. 2, 11. 34-42. Applicant respectfully notes that the "single cycle" referred to in this passage is a cycle in which each of one or both of the two unfused instructions can perform "a simple operation," and not a single cycle in which a "shift operation" and a "subsequent logical operation" are both performed.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Spadini explicitly discloses, at col. 2, lines 32-42, that simple operations can be performed in a single cycle. Spadini also explicitly discloses fusing a shift and subsequent logical operation into a single instruction. See, e.g., col. 16, line 60-col. 17, line 8. The question is whether the resulting fused instruction operation constitutes a simple operation that is performed in a single cycle. The Examiner maintains that is the case. Spadini discloses that it is when simple operations are implemented using multiple instructions that an opportunity for improved efficiency through fusion is present. That Spadini chooses a shift instruction followed by logical operation instruction as a pair of instructions to fuse is evidence that the pair represents a simple operation. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 8 of the response the Applicant argues, “Applicant further respectfully submits that the embodiment of Figures 5 and 8 of Spadini relied upon by the Office Action does not disclose performing a "shift operation" and a "subsequent logical operation" in a "single processor clock cycle." Spadini describes that embodiment as employing an "operation circuit 512" that performs an operation "Op 1" and a separate "masking circuit 514" that is "configured to mask a portion of the result of operation circuit 512," and states that "masking circuit 514 can be implemented in the forwarding network of the processor in some embodiments, between the execution and write stages of the execution pipeline." Spadini, col. 13, 11. 16-36. Applicant further respectfully notes that Spadini characterizes the benefit of such fused execution only in qualified terms, stating that "[f]usion of the instruction pair therefore may reduce latency as well as providing the other resource savings associated with having one instruction operation rather than two dispatched from MDR circuit 506." Spadini, col. 13, 11. 43-46. Applicant respectfully submits that a disclosure that latency "may" be reduced does not disclose the performance of a "shift operation" and a "subsequent logical operation" within a "single processor clock cycle," as claim 1 requires.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As indicated above, Spadini discloses fusing a shift instruction with a subsequent logical operation instruction. Spadini also discloses that when a simple operation that can be performed in a single cycle is performed by two or more instructions, fusing the instructions into single instruction improves efficiency. This disclosure indicates that the shift/logical operation is a simple operation. If it were a complex operation, then fusion would not be performed. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 8 of the response the Applicant argues, “Applicant further respectfully notes that, where Spadini intends to describe an operation performed in a single cycle, it says so expressly, but does so only with respect to an unrelated embodiment directed to division and remainder generation, stating that "[i]n some embodiments, remainder generation by conversion circuit 304 is performed in a single cycle." Spadini, col. 8, 11. 33-36. Applicant respectfully submits that this disclosure concerns the "divider circuit 302" and "conversion circuit 304" of Figure 3, and neither discloses nor relates to the performance of a "shift operation" and a "subsequent logical operation" in a "single processor clock cycle." Applicant's review of Spadini did not locate any disclosure of a "shift operation" and a "subsequent logical operation" being performed in a "single processor clock cycle."”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, Spadini discloses that simple operations can be performed in a single cycle, not just remainder generation. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On pages 8-9 of the response the Applicant argues, “Applicant also respectfully submits that the recitation of "a single processor clock cycle" in claim 1 is not inherently disclosed by Spadini. Applicant respectfully notes that Spadini expressly cautions that not all implementations of its embodiments will necessarily manifest any or all of the potential advantages described therein, and states that "[g]iven the existence of possible factors external to this disclosure, it is expressly intended that any potential advantages described herein are not to be construed as claim limitations that must be met to demonstrate infringement." Spadini, col. 25, 11. 19-22 and 41-45. Applicant respectfully submits that a reference that disclaims the necessary realization of its own asserted latency benefits cannot inherently disclose the "single processor clock cycle" performance recited by claim 1.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As the rejection is not based on inherency, this argument is not dispositive. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 9 of the response the Applicant argues, “Applicant further respectfully submits that dependent claims 8 and 19 are separately patentable over Spadini. Claim 8 recites a "shift/logical circuit" "configured to perform the shift operation by being configured to perform a right shift operation using a barrel shifter circuit of the shift/logical circuit," and claim 19 recites a corresponding operation. In rejecting claim 8, the Office Action on page 7 cites Figure 3 and the related description of Spadini as "using barrel shifters in the context of division, which discloses right shifting." Applicant respectfully notes, however, that the "barrel shifters" of Figure 3 of Spadini are elements of the division circuitry of that figure, and not of the circuit that performs an operation and a subsequent masking operation. Spadini states that "divider circuit 302 includes one or more barrel shifters, one or multiplexers and one or more adder circuits," and that "conversion circuit 304 includes one or more barrel shifters and one or more adder circuits." Spadini, col. 8, 11. 4-5 and 30-32. Applicant further respectfully notes that the execution circuit of the embodiment of Figures 5 and 8 relied upon in rejecting claim 1 is described as comprising only an "operation circuit 512" and a "masking circuit 514," and is not described as comprising a "barrel shifter circuit." Spadini, col. 13, 11. 16-36.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Both the divider circuit and the shift/logical circuit are elements of the came logical component, i.e., execution circuitry 104 in Figure 1. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 9 of the response the Applicant argues, “Applicant further respectfully submits that Spadini does not disclose that the "barrel shifters" of the "divider circuit 302" or the "conversion circuit 304" perform a "right shift operation," and Applicant's review of Spadini did not locate any such disclosure. Applicant respectfully notes that the Manual of Patent Examining Procedure (MPEP) requires that "[a] claim is anticipated only if each and every element as set forth in the claim is found, either expressly or inherently described, in a single prior art reference," and that "[t]he elements must be arranged as required by the claim." MPEP § 2131, citing Verdegaal Bros. v. Union Oil Co. of California, 814 F.2d 628, 2 USPQ2d 1051 (Fed. Cir. 1987), and In re Bond, 910 F.2d 831, 15 USPQ2d 1566 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of claims 8 and 19 instead relies on the "barrel shifters" of the division embodiment of Figure 3 of Spadini to supply an element of a claim whose remaining elements are mapped to the separate operation-and-masking embodiment of Figures 5 and 8, and that Spadini therefore does not disclose a "right shift operation" performed "using a barrel shifter circuit of the shift/logical circuit," as claims 8 and 19 require.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As noted at MPEP § 2112, “The express, implicit, and inherent disclosures of a prior art reference may be relied upon in the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103. "The inherent teaching of a prior art reference, a question of fact, arises both in the context of anticipation and obviousness." In re Napier, 55 F.3d 610, 613, 34 USPQ2d 1782, 1784 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (affirmed a 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection based in part on inherent disclosure in one of the references). See also In re Grasselli, 713 F.2d 731, 739, 218 USPQ 769, 775 (Fed. Cir. 1983). As discussed above, Spadini explicitly discloses performing a shift operation. That the shift operation can be a right shift is implicit, and that the right shift is performed by circuitry capable of performing right shifting is also implicit. Spadini explicitly discloses that the execution circuitry includes a barrel shifter, which is capable of performing right shifting. It is reasonable to interpret that the disclosed components capable of performing an operation perform the operation. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 10 of the response the Applicant argues, “The Office Action on page 8 rejects claims 5 and 16 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Spadini in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2005/0198474 Al to Nancekievill et al. (hereinafter "Nancekievill"). In order to establish prima facie obviousness, "[a]ll words in a claim must be considered" and all limitations must be disclosed by or derived from the prior art. MPEP § 2143.03, In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 165 USPQ 494 (CCPA 1970). Additionally, "there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness" to establish obviousness. KSR Int'l v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418, 82 USPQ.2d 1385, 1396 (2007). Applicant respectfully traverses. As discussed above, Spadini does not teach or suggest all of the features recited by independent claims 1 and 12. Applicant respectfully submits that Nancekievill does not cure the deficiencies of Spadini in this regard, and Applicant respectfully notes that the Office Action does not rely upon Nancekievill for any teaching of performing a "shift operation" and a "subsequent logical operation" in a "single processor clock cycle." Claim 5 depends, directly or indirectly, from claim 1, and claim 16 depends, directly or indirectly, from claim 12, and Applicant respectfully submits that claims 5 and 16 are thus allowable over Spadini and Nancekievill for at least the same foregoing reasons.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The reasons set forth in the remarks and rejections presented above, including those regarding the independent claims, are applicable to these claims.
On page 11 of the response the Applicant argues, “The Office Action on pages 8-9 rejects claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Spadini. The standards for obviousness are set forth above. Applicant respectfully traverses. As discussed above, Spadini does not disclose or suggest all of the features recited by independent claims 1 and 12. Claims 6 and 7 depend from claim 1, and claims 17 and 18 depend from claim 12, and are thus patentable over Spadini for at least the same foregoing reasons. Applicant further respectfully submits that claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are separately patentable over Spadini for the additional reasons set forth below. Claim 6 recites a "shift/logical circuit" "configured to perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation in the single processor clock cycle by being configured to apply a logical AND mask to a final multiplexer stage of the shift/logical circuit," and claim 17 recites a corresponding operation. In rejecting claim 6, the Office Action on page 9 cites Figure 5 and the related description of Spadini as "applying masking after performing an operation, which discloses applying a logical AND mask to a final stage of the shift/logical circuit." The Office Action on page 9 acknowledges that "Spadini does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned final stage is a final multiplexer stage," but asserts that "[i]t would have been obvious to implement the shift operations using a barrel shifter comprised of multiplexers because such circuitry is well-known to enable fast data manipulation." Applicant respectfully submits that the masking described by Spadini is not applied to any stage of the circuit that performs the operation, but is instead applied to the completed result of that circuit by a separate, downstream circuit. Spadini describes that "[o]peration circuit 512 within execution circuit 510 is configured to perform operation Op l during execution of fused instruction operation 528," that "[m]asking circuit 514 is configured to mask a portion of the result of operation circuit 512," and that "masking circuit 514 can be implemented in the forwarding network of the processor in some embodiments, between the execution and write stages of the execution pipeline." Spadini, col. 13, 11. 16-36. Applicant further respectfully notes that the "masking circuit 514" of Spadini is therefore located after, and may be located entirely outside of, the circuit that performs the operation, which is the opposite of the arrangement recited by claim 6, in which the "logical AND mask" is applied to a "final multiplexer stage" of the "shift/logical circuit" that performs the "shift operation."”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The "final multiplexer stage" of the "shift/logical circuit" that performs the "shift operation" is interpreted as the stage that produces the result. Therefore, the claim is interpreted as applying a logical AND mask to the result produced by the shift operation. This, as noted by the Applicant, is what Spadini discloses. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On pages 11-12 of the response the Applicant argues, “Applicant further respectfully submits that the Office Action provides no reasoning why one of ordinary skill in the art would have applied the "logical AND mask" to a "final multiplexer stage" of a "barrel shifter," rather than by means of the separate downstream "masking circuit 514" that Spadini actually describes. Applicant respectfully notes that the asserted rationale that "barrel shifter" circuitry "is well-known to enable fast data manipulation" is directed only to the implementation of the "shift operation," and says nothing about the placement of the "logical AND mask" that claim 6 requires. Applicant further respectfully notes that the only "barrel shifters" disclosed by Spadini are those of the "divider circuit 302" and the "conversion circuit 304" of the division embodiment of Figure 3, as discussed above. Applicant respectfully submits that the rejection of claims 6 and 17 accordingly lacks the articulated reasoning with rational underpinning required to support a conclusion of obviousness.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, Spadini discloses applying an AND to the final result of the shift, which is what the claims require. The rationale for implementing a shift using the disclosed barrel shifter is also discussed above. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 12 of the response the Applicant argues, “Claim 7 recites a "shift/logical circuit" "configured to perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation in the single processor clock cycle by being configured to apply an OR/XOR circuit following a final multiplexer stage of the shift/logical circuit," and claim 18 recites a corresponding operation. In rejecting claim 7, the Office Action on page 9 acknowledges that "Spadini does not explicitly disclose the logical circuit is OR/XOR and the aforementioned final stage is a final multiplexer stage," but cites Figure 4 and the related description of Spadini as disclosing "OR/XOR circuitry," and asserts that "[i]t would have been obvious to use OR/XOR circuitry because OR and XOR are fundamental logic operations that can be useful in enabling a wide range of logical operations." Applicant respectfully submits that the OR/XOR operations described with respect to Figure 4 of Spadini are not a circuit applied following any "final multiplexer stage," and are not applied to a result of a "shift operation." Applicant respectfully notes that, in Spadini, a logical OR or XOR instruction is instead one permitted type of first instruction in an instruction pair used to build a high-bit-length constant value, for which "an additional criterion is that a source register for first instruction 410 is a zero register." Spadini, col. 9, 11. 39-43. Applicant further respectfully notes that such an instruction pair is executed by a "constant generation circuit 408" that "includes logic configured to perform the operations specified by the corresponding instructions, including, for example, any shifts, negations, OR or XOR operations, address calculations or adds, along with writes to the destination register." Spadini, col. 10, 11. 47-52.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. While the implementation disclosed with regard to Figure 8 discloses masking with a logical AND operation, masking with other logical operators, such as an OR, would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art. Which particular implementation, e.g., AND vs. OR, used would depend on circumstances of the circuit design, and does not represent a patentable distinction. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On pages 12-13 of the response the Applicant argues, “ Applicant further respectfully submits that the constant generation path of Figure 4 of Spadini is incompatible with the "execution circuit 510" of Figure 5 that the Office Action relies upon in rejecting claims 1 and 12. Spadini expressly states with respect to instruction operations executed using the "constant generation circuit 408" that "they are not sent to a reservation station such as RS 227 or RS 232 in FIG. 2 and do not enter the execution pipeline." Spadini, col. 11, ll. 8-10. Applicant respectfully submits that OR/XOR logic that bypasses the execution pipeline altogether cannot be applied "following a final multiplexer stage of the shift/logical circuit," as claims 7 and 18 require, and that the Office Action has not articulated any reasoning why one of ordinary skill in the art would have so arranged it.
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed above, Spadini explicitly discloses a logical operation following a shift, i.e., an AND. Substituting an OR for an AND is well within the skill of a person having ordinary skill in the art and would have been obvious depending on particular circumstances of the implementation. Accordingly, the Applicant’s arguments are deemed unpersuasive.
On page 13 of the response the Applicant argues, “As discussed above, Spadini does not teach or suggest all of the features recited by independent claims 1 and 12. Applicant respectfully submits that Ito does not cure the deficiencies of Spadini in this regard, and Applicant respectfully notes that the Office Action does not rely upon Ito for any teaching of performing a "shift operation" and a "subsequent logical operation" in a "single processor clock cycle." Claims 9 and 20 depend from claims 1 and 12, respectively, and Applicant respectfully submits that claims 9 and 20 are thus allowable over Spadini and Ito for at least the same foregoing reasons.”
Though fully considered, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. The reasons set forth in the remarks and rejections presented above, including those regarding the independent claims, are applicable to these claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAWN DOMAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183