DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The instant application claims priority to U.S. Application 18/400,294 (now US Patent 12,436,771), filed December 29, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Applicant's submission of the Information Disclosure Statement dated August 6, 2025 is acknowledged by the Examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. A copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed and dated by the Examiner is attached to the instant office action.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: means for performing in claim 11—limited to shift/logical circuit 126 disclosed at Figure 1 and related description.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over corresponding claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,436,771. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in the reference patent anticipate those of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 8, 10-15, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 12,217,060 by Spadini et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Spadini”).
Regarding claims 1, 11, and 12, taking claim 1 as representative, Spadini discloses:
a shift/logical circuit of a processor-based device, configured to perform a shift operation and a subsequent logical operation in a single processor clock cycle, wherein the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation correspond to one or more instructions to perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation (Spadini discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, an execution circuit, which discloses a shift/logical circuit. The circuit is configured to perform a first operation followed by a second operation. As disclosed at Figure 8 and related description, the first operation can be a bitwise shift and the second operation can be an AND operation. As disclosed at col. 2, lines 34-42, two instructions to implement a simple function can be implemented in a single cycle.).
Regarding claims 2 and 13, taking claim 2 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the shift/logical circuit is configured to perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation in the single processor clock cycle responsive to an instruction processing circuit of the processor-based device detecting the one or more instructions in an instruction stream (Spadini discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, a pair detector circuit that detects the instructions).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, taking claim 3 as representative, Spadini discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the instruction processing circuit is configured to detect the one or more instructions by being configured to identify a shift instruction and a subsequent logical instruction that is adjacent to the shift instruction in the instruction stream (Spadini discloses, at col. 12, lines 25-29, the instructions are consecutive.).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, taking claim 4 as representative, Spadini discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the instruction processing circuit is configured to detect the one or more instructions by being configured to: determine that a first destination register of the shift instruction and a second destination register of the subsequent logical instruction are the same (Spadini discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, the destination of the first instruction and the second instruction is the same.); and
determine that the first destination register of the shift instruction is a source register for the subsequent logical instruction (Spadini discloses, at Figure 8 and related description, the destination of the first instruction is a source for the second instruction.).
Regarding claims 8 and 19, taking claim 8 as representative, Spadini discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
perform the shift operation by being configured to perform a right shift operation using a barrel shifter circuit of the shift/logical circuit (Spadini discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, using barrel shifters in the context of division, which discloses right shifting.).
Regarding claim 10, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
integrated into a device selected from the group consisting of: a set top box; an entertainment unit; a navigation device; a communications device; a fixed location data unit; a mobile location data unit; a global positioning system (GPS) device; a mobile phone; a cellular phone; a smart phone; a session initiation protocol (SIP) phone; a tablet; a phablet; a server; a computer; a portable computer; a mobile computing device; a wearable computing device; a desktop computer; a personal digital assistant (PDA); a monitor; a computer monitor; a television; a tuner; a radio; a satellite radio; a music player; a digital music player; a portable music player; a digital video player; a video player; a digital video disc (DVD) player; a portable digital video player; an automobile; a vehicle component; avionics systems; a drone; and a multicopter (Spadini discloses, at Figure 13 and related description, a computer.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadini in view of US Publication No. 2005/0198474 by Nancekievill et al. (hereinafter referred to as “Nancekievill”).
Regarding claims 5 and 16, taking claim 5 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the instruction processing circuit is configured to detect the one or more instructions by being configured to identify a logical instruction …shift operation (Spadini discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, a pair detector circuit that detects logical and shift instructions.).
Spadini does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned shift operation is embedded.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., processing) Nancekievill discloses:
an embedded shift operation (Nancekievill discloses, at Figure 2A and related description, a bit field extraction instruction that includes a shift operation, which discloses an embedded shift.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spadini to include embedded shifts, as disclosed by Nancekievill because such “operations enable a wide range of useful data manipulation operations.” See Nancekievill, ¶ [0007].
Claims 6, 7, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadini.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, taking claim 6 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation in the single processor clock cycle by being configured to apply a logical AND mask to a final …stage of the shift/logical circuit (Spadini discloses, at Figure 5 and related description, applying masking after performing an operation, which discloses applying a logical AND mask to a final stage of the shift/logical circuit.).
Spadini does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned final stage is a final multiplexer stage.
However, Spadini discloses, e.g., at Figure 3 and related description, barrel shifters and multiplexers. It would have been obvious to implement the shift operations using a barrel shifter comprised of multiplexers because such circuitry is well-known to enable fast data manipulation.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, taking claim 7 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
perform the shift operation and the subsequent logical operation in the single processor clock cycle by being configured to apply …[a logical] circuit following a final … stage of the shift/logical circuit.
Spadini does not explicitly disclose the logical circuit is OR/XOR and the aforementioned final stage is a final multiplexer stage.
However, Spadini discloses, e.g., at Figure 4 and related description, OR/XOR circuitry. It would have been obvious to use OR/XOR circuitry because OR and XOR are fundamental logic operations that can be useful in enabling a wide range of logical operations.
Spadini also discloses, e.g., at Figure 3 and related description, barrel shifters and multiplexers. It would have been obvious to implement the shift operations using a barrel shifter comprised of multiplexers because such circuitry is well-known to enable fast data manipulation.
Claims 9 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Spadini in view of US Patent No. 4,829,460 by Ito (hereinafter referred to as “Ito”).
Regarding claims 9 and 20, taking claim 9 as representative, Spadini, as modified, discloses the elements of claim 1, as discussed above. Spadini also discloses:
the shift/logical circuit is configured to perform the shift operation by being configured to perform a …shift operation using a barrel shifter circuit of the shift/logical circuit (Spadini discloses, at Figure 3 and related description, using barrel shifters.).
Spadini does not explicitly disclose the aforementioned shift is a left shift and performing the left shift by reversing an input value; performing, using the barrel shifter circuit of the shift/logical circuit, a right shift operation on the input value; and reverse the result of the right shift operation.
However, in the same field of endeavor (e.g., bit manipulation) Ito discloses:
performing a left shift by reversing, shifting right, then reversing (Ito discloses, at col. 2, lines 7-48, reversing input data, shifting right, and reversing the shifted data to perform the equivalent left shift.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spadini to include the shifting mechanism of Ito in order to provide relatively small and fast circuitry for bit manipulation. See Ito, col. 1, lines 30-47.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
US 5729482 by Worrell discloses left shifting and right shifting, single cycle rotate and mask.
US 20140040604 by Ould discloses masked packed rotate.
US 4569016 by Hao discloses single cycle rotate and insert with mask (AND operation).
US 20190065145 by Robinson discloses barrel shifting, right, left, and reverse.
US 5265259 by Satou discloses barrel shifting, right, left, and reverse.
US 20180129498 by Levison discloses fusion.
US 5805913 by Guttag discloses shift and mask.
/SHAWN DOMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183