DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The following is a Final Office Action.
In response to Examiner's communication of 6/24/2026, Applicant responded on 9/24/2026. Amended claim 1, 11, 17, 20.
Claims 1-20 are pending in this application and have been examined.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 9/24/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of US Application 18364380 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded. The provisional double patenting rejection is hereby withdrawn.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's amendments to claims 20 are sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections set forth in the previous action. However, Applicant’s amendments to claim 11 are not sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 112 rejections set forth in the previous action.
Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 11, 17, 20 are not sufficient to overcome the 35 USC 101 rejections set forth in the previous action.
Applicant's amendments to claims 1, 11, 17, 20 are not sufficient to overcome the prior art rejections set forth in the previous action.
Response to Arguments – 35 USC § 101
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits, “…Applicant respectfully submits that claims 1 and 11 as amended include elements that amount to significantly more than the asserted judicial exception for at least the reason that the claims are directed to an improvement in technology beyond computer functionality. As set forth in MPEP § 2106.05(a)(II), improvements in technology beyond computer functionality may demonstrate patent eligibility. For example, in McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games America, Inc., the court relied on the specification's explanation of how the claimed rules enabled the automation of specific animation tasks that previously could not be automated as the basis for the decision was that the claims were directed to an improvement in computer animation, and thus did not recite a concept similar to previously identified abstract ideas. McRO, Inc. v. Bandai Namco Games Am. Inc., 15:1080, slip op. at 21-22, 24, (Fed. Cir. 2016)...Applicant's claimed invention improves upon conventional approaches of evaluating training performance by executing specific steps, at a computing system, to automatically evaluate a training performance of a training subject against a competency framework. Applicant's specification, par. [0002]. The competency framework can include soft skills to be demonstrated by the training subject, in addition to hard skills performed during a training performance in a training environment. In the preexisting method, soft skills are evaluated by instructor observation during the training performance, and it can be difficult to objectively assess and/or provide information with traceability between actions performed by the training subject and the competency framework. Further, similar training performances can receive differing evaluations across different instructors. Id., pars. [0003], [0016]. The application discloses utilizing computer-implemented behavioral elicitation events (BEEs) to automate the evaluation of a training performance of a training subject against the competency framework. The computer-implemented approach can be used to store and display information regarding the training performance. The information can be used as evidence to support how the training subject demonstrated various competencies during the training performance, and can be used for instructional purposes as well as tailoring training scenarios for a training subject…These specific steps of the claimed invention thus include automatically evaluating a training subject's performance based upon observable behaviors corresponding to training subject competencies in the competency framework, and provide a distinct improvement over the existing methods of evaluating a training subject against a competency framework at least by providing data on the training performance to help an instructor objectively assess soft skill competencies, providing detailed evidence for use when asserting the proficiency of the training subject, and providing traceability between elicited actions and specified competencies in a competency framework. Id., par. [0049]… The claims therefore represent an improvement in the technology of evaluating a training performance of a training subject by providing a method of automating the evaluation of the training performance of the training subject. Applicant respectfully submits that at least these elements of the claims integrate the asserted exception into a practical application, and therefore respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claims 1 and 11, and dependent claims 2-10 and 12-16….Claim 17 as amended recites elements relating to automated evaluation of a training performance, which cannot practically be performed in the human mind, and therefore does not recite a mental process. MPEP § 2106.04(a)(2)(III). Applicant therefore respectfully requests withdrawal of the rejection of claim 17, and dependent claims 18-20.…..” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Unlike McRO, which necessarily roots in computing technologies, the present claims, by Applicant’s own admission, recite and direct to, …evaluating a training subject (i.e. human) by observing the training subject (i.e. human) during a training performance pose several problems.…provide data on the training performance to help an instructor (i.e. human) objectively assess soft skill competencies and increase consistency of inter-rater reliability over evaluations by observation of the instructor (i.e. human)… provide detailed evidence for use when asserting the proficiency of a training subject (i.e. human) performing the training performance… evaluation of the training performance in a more objective, reliable, and traceable manner than by observations of instructors (i.e. human)…soft skills are evaluated by instructor (i.e. human) observation during the training performance …evidence to support how the training subject (i.e. human) demonstrated various competencies during the training performance, and can be used for instructional purposes as well as tailoring training scenarios for a training subject (i.e. human) …evaluating a training subject's (i.e. human) performance based upon observable behaviors corresponding to training subject (i.e. human) competencies… providing data on the training performance to help an instructor (i.e. human) objectively assess soft skill competencies, providing detailed evidence for use when asserting the proficiency of the training subject (i.e. human), and providing traceability between elicited actions and specified competencies… evaluating a training performance of a training subject (i.e. human) by providing a method of automating the evaluation of the training performance of the training subject (i.e. human) …, which is a problem directed to a mental process (i.e. human instructor observing and training human pilot actions and behaviors with training scenarios and learning simulations) and organizing human activities (i.e. h human instructor observing and training human pilot actions and behaviors with training scenarios and learning simulations), as established in Step 2A Prong 1. This problem does not specifically arise in the realm of computer technology, but rather, this problem existed and was addressed long before the advent of computers. Thus, the claims do not recite a technical improvement to a technical problem or necessarily roots in computing technologies. The alleged solutions are solutions directed to solving abstract ideas, which are still abstract ideas. Additionally, pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, as an ordered combination, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea, and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components. Further, these additional elements generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment, namely the environment of a computer flight simulator, performing extra solution activities. Therefore, as a whole, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application in Step 2A Prong 2 or amount to significantly more under Step 2B.
Further, unlike McRO, Applicant’s specification admits the claims are indeed directed to mental processes and organizing human activities, [0017] Accordingly, examples are disclosed that relate to utilizing computer- implemented (i.e. apply it) behavioral elicitation events (BEEs) to automate the evaluation of a training performance of a training subject (i.e. humans evaluating humans) against a competency framework. A BEE is an event that elicits (i.e. organizing) particular behaviors (i.e. human activities) out of the training subject (i.e. human) to demonstrate specified soft skill competencies (i.e. human skills) in the competency framework. The training performance is performed by the training subject in a training environment that simulates a physical environment. Example training environments are a fixed training device (FTD) flight simulator, a full motion simulator (FMS) flight simulator, and a virtual training environment (i.e. apply it). As described in more detail below, the disclosed examples utilize a BEE database (i.e. apply it.) comprising a plurality of BEEs to evaluate the training performance. Each BEE of the plurality of BEEs comprises one or more triggers, one or more elicited actions, and one or more observable behaviors, as discussed in more detail with reference to FIG. 2. The disclosed examples receive simulation state updates from the training environment, and determine a set of active BEEs based on the simulation state update by querying the BEE database. The simulation state update indicates a change in a simulation state of the training environment.
Additionally, unlike McRO, “…flight simulator…”, in [0017][0020], under the broadest reasonable interpretation can be interpreted to be simulations with human hands or simulations to be performed with pen and paper or model aircrafts, thus do not root in computing technologies and do not integrate the recited abstract ideas into a practical application or amount to significantly more. And, flight training device (FTD), full flight simulator, in [0017][0020], have long existed before the advent of computers, used for organizing human behavior, such as “…for use in training pilots…”, do not root in computing technologies and do not integrate the recited abstract ideas into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
Even novel and newly discovered judicial exceptions are still exceptions, despite their novelty. July 2015 Update, p. 3; see SAP America Inc. v. Investpic, LLC, No. 2017-2081, slip op. at 2 (Fed Cir. May 15, 2018).
Simply reciting specific limitations that narrow the abstract idea does not make an abstract idea non-abstract. 79 Fed. Reg. 74631; buySAFE Inc. v. Google, Inc., 765 F.3d 1350, 1355 (2014); see SAP America at p. 12. As discussed in SAP America, no matter how much of an advance the claims recite, when “the advance lies entirely in the realm of abstract ideas, with no plausibly alleged innovation in the non-abstract application realm,” “[a]n advance of that nature is ineligible for patenting.” Id. at p. 3.
Claims can recite a mental process even if they are claimed as being performed on a computer. The Supreme Court recognized this in Benson, determining that a mathematical algorithm for converting binary coded decimal to pure binary within a computer’s shift register was an abstract idea. The Court concluded that the algorithm could be performed purely mentally even though the claimed procedures “can be carried out in existing computers long in use, no new machinery being necessary.” 409 U.S at 67, 175 USPQ at 675. See also Mortgage Grader, 811 F.3d at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699 (concluding that concept of “anonymous loan shopping” recited in a computer system claim is an abstract idea because it could be “performed by humans without a computer”).
An example of a case in which a computer was used as a tool to perform a mental process is Mortgage Grader, 811 F.3d. at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699. The patentee in Mortgage Grader claimed a computer-implemented system for enabling borrowers to anonymously shop for loan packages offered by a plurality of lenders, comprising a database that stores loan package data from the lenders, and a computer system providing an interface and a grading module. The interface prompts a borrower to enter personal information, which the grading module uses to calculate the borrower’s credit grading, and allows the borrower to identify and compare loan packages in the database using the credit grading. 811 F.3d. at 1318, 117 USPQ2d at 1695. The Federal Circuit determined that these claims were directed to the concept of “anonymous loan shopping”, which was a concept that could be “performed by humans without a computer.” 811 F.3d. at 1324, 117 USPQ2d at 1699. Another example is Berkheimer v. HP, Inc., 881 F.3d 1360, 125 USPQ2d 1649 (Fed. Cir. 2018), in which the patentee claimed methods for parsing and evaluating data using a computer processing system. The Federal Circuit determined that these claims were directed to mental processes of parsing and comparing data, because the steps were recited at a high level of generality and merely used computers as a tool to perform the processes. 881 F.3d at 1366, 125 USPQ2d at 1652-53.
TLI Communications provides an example of a claim invoking computers and other machinery merely as a tool to perform an existing process. The court stated that the claims describe steps of recording, administration and archiving of digital images, and found them to be directed to the abstract idea of classifying and storing digital images in an organized manner. 823 F.3d at 612, 118 USPQ2d at 1747. The court then turned to the additional elements of performing these functions using a telephone unit and a server and noted that these elements were being used in their ordinary capacity (i.e., the telephone unit is used to make calls and operate as a digital camera including compressing images and transmitting those images, and the server simply receives data, extracts classification information from the received data, and stores the digital images based on the extracted information). 823 F.3d at 612-13, 118 USPQ2d at 1747-48. In other words, the claims invoked the telephone unit and server merely as tools to execute the abstract idea. Thus, the court found that the additional elements did not add significantly more to the abstract idea because they were simply applying the abstract idea on a telephone network without any recitation of details of how to carry out the abstract idea.
Examples that the courts have indicated may not be sufficient to show an improvement in computer-functionality:
ii. Accelerating a process of analyzing audit log data when the increased speed comes solely from the capabilities of a general-purpose computer, FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
iii. Mere automation of manual processes, such as using a generic computer to process an application for financing a purchase, Credit Acceptance Corp. v. Westlake Services, 859 F.3d 1044, 1055, 123 USPQ2d 1100, 1108-09 (Fed. Cir. 2017)
Other examples where the courts have found the additional elements to be mere instructions to apply an exception, because they do no more than merely invoke computers or machinery as a tool to perform an existing process include:
i. A commonplace business method or mathematical algorithm being applied on a general purpose computer, Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. V. CLS Bank Int’l, 573 U.S. 208, 223, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1983 (2014); Gottschalk v. Benson, 409 U.S. 63, 64, 175 USPQ 673, 674 (1972); Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc., 793 F.3d 1306, 1334, 115 USPQ2d 1681, 1701 (Fed. Cir. 2015);
iii. A process for monitoring audit log data that is executed on a general-purpose computer where the increased speed in the process comes solely from the capabilities of the general-purpose computer, FairWarning IP, LLC v. Iatric Sys., 839 F.3d 1089, 1095, 120 USPQ2d 1293, 1296 (Fed. Cir. 2016);
v. Requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer, Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank (USA), 792 F.3d 1363, 1370-71, 115 USPQ2d 1636, 1642 (Fed. Cir. 2015)
Response to Arguments – Prior Art
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
Applicant submits, “…Gagnon fails to teach or suggest at least the elements of amended claim 17 of displaying .... an observable behavior display comprising information regarding one or more observable behaviors .... wherein the one or more observable behaviors correspond to training subject competencies in a competency framework. As further described in Applicant's specification, the one or more observable behaviors corresponding to a BEE can "line up to a specified competency in a competency framework", which can be used to evaluate student pilots on core pilot competencies. Applicant's specification, pars. [0003], [0023].Gagnon discloses providing training cursus recommendations by identifying relevant phases in a flight mission performed by a trainee, assessing the ease in flight of the trainee during each phase using an ease in flight algorithm model using psychophysiological parameters, and providing training cursus recommendations based on the ease in flight and the skills required to perform each phase. Gagnon, Abstract. However, Gagnon does not teach or disclose that the assessed ease in flight of the trainee during each phase of the flight corresponds to training subject competencies in a competency framework, and therefore fails to teach at least the elements of amended claim 17 of displaying information regarding the one or more observable behaviors, wherein the one or more observable behaviors correspond to training subject competencies in a competency framework. Applicant therefore respectfully requests the withdrawal of the rejection of claim 17.….” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Gagnon teaches:
displaying on a user interface an observable behavior display comprising information regarding one or more observable behaviors of at least one phase of the flight simulation, the one or more observable behaviors corresponding to a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) that occurs during the flight simulation, wherein the one or more observable behaviors correspond to training subject competencies in a competency framework; and (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0083] FIG. 4 shows a workflow as run by a trainee after a training flight mission in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, wherein as can be seen, after log in through the trainee interface, the trainee may visualize flight data, cursus progression, recommendations, historical data. The trainee may also enter new data to his/her user profile 1068 and/or may check-in for a new flight. [0084] Referring back to FIG. 1 , the instructor interface unit 1062 allows an instructor to easily input and visualize data. Advantageously, and in contrast to prior art solutions, an instructor is involved and full part of the learning process of a trainee. The instructor is provided with a dedicated instructor interface allowing him to easily define and use a list of students, a list of available missions or scenario (names, aircraft type, projected distance), an aircraft, to input cursus parameters 1066, scenario parameters 1067, to define relationship between the cursus parameters and the scenario parameters. In a preferred embodiment, the screen of the instructor interface is similar to the one available for trainees, with additional features allowing the instructor to upload new data. [0085] In an embodiment, the instructor interface allows instructors to have a general view of a cohort via a single dashboard representing every flight for every trainee of a given cohort/promotion. In an embodiment, a set of colors is used to rate the cohort, and allow the instructor to see one student per row, and one flight per column. The color indicates the level of ease in flight achieved by a given trainee, on a given flight, and can be easily compared with the other trainees. [0086] The cursus parameters are defined by the general skills that the trainees need to acquire and practice for a specific procedure. The skills may be clustered into different categories such as Execution skill, Mental skill, Physical skill and Required checklists skill. In the context of flight training, for the engine start procedure, some skills to acquire are for example: skill to start engine; skill to navigate on landing strip; skill for landing; skill for take-off. So, all the skills that a trainee has to practice and test during a session are not specific to a pilot but are common skills for all trainees. This information is then predefined and entered in the system prior to the flights. Indeed, if there are 10 flights planned during a semester, the set of skills to be practiced for these flights are predefined before the beginning of the training sessions. In a preferred embodiment, each skill is associated to one or several abilities, such as for example, the skill “start engine” may be associated to the ability “stress management”, or the skill “navigate on landing strip” may be associated to the ability “decision making”. The person skilled in the art would define any association of skill with ability required for a specific context of use of the system of the invention. [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
displaying on the user interface information regarding one or more elicited actions performed by a trainee for each observable behavior of the one or more observable behaviors. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
wherein the information related to the flight simulation comprises information regarding an automated evaluation of a training performance of the trainee. (in at least [0060] the system is implemented in one or a plurality of computer systems allowing operating a training session in a simulation environment or during a real mission, such as during real flight for example. [0105] As described, the invention solves the problem of individualized training by linking an autonomous and objective evaluation of trainee’s progress to specific skills and abilities to be achieved during training. It is therefore possible to identify skills, and abilities that require additional practice, in greater granularity than is actually feasible. The main advantages of the invention are: an objective evaluation of progress; an automated evaluation of progress; showing trend with historical data; progress is linked with skills; assessment is done during real training exercises (flight or simulator) rather than being theoretical; scenario timeline decomposed into skills and abilities; instructor remains in the loop.)
Applicant submits, “…Kennedy and Peyronnet, alone or in combination, fail to teach or suggest the elements of claims 1 and 11 as amended….Kennedy teaches a learning management system configured to determine, from retrieved roster data, whether a pilot has a scheduled downtime during a flight. The system may retrieve flight data associated with the flight, and determine a training concept associated with the flight, and further select a training exercise associated with the training concept. The system may further send a notification to an electronic device associated with the pilot including an offer to perform the training exercise. Kennedy, Abstract….Kennedy depicts an embodiment of embedded training, which can include mid- fidelity simulation (MFS). Id., par. [0052]. However, Kennedy does not disclose details of the embedded MFS training or a method of evaluating the performance of the trainee. Kennedy merely discloses, at par. [0056], that feedback may be performed via in-situ analytics to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the MFS training scenarios, but fails to teach at least the elements of claim 1 of automatically evaluating a training performance of a training subject by receiving a simulation state update, ... .querying a BEE database to determine, from a plurality of . a set of active BEEsbased upon the simulation state update, each BEE of the plurality of BEEs comprising one or more elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors, .... receiving a plurality of simulation action notifications, for each simulation action notification, determining whether an action represented by the simulation action notification matches an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs..... determining a set ofcompleted . for each completed BEE, storing information regarding the training performance, the information comprising the one or more observable behaviors of the completed BEE, and automatically evaluating the training performance against the competency framework using the information regarding the training performance….Peyronnet fails to cure the deficiencies of Kennedy. Peyronnet discloses a method for assessing technical and non-technical skills of an operator in a training situation on a real or simulated platform. Peyronnet, par. [0049]. With reference to FIG. 1, the method of Peyronnet begins with a step of collecting endogenous data relating to physical manifestations of the operator, and exogenous data relating to the context of the training session on the platform (at 102). Id., par. [0053]. Next, the method comprises correlating the endogenous data and the exogenous data, making it possible to link the obtained endogenous data around one or more exogenous data to generate observable behavior data (at 104). Id., pars. [0063]-[0064]. The method further comprises analyzing the observable behavior data to generate observed behavior measurement indicators (at 106). This analysis "makes it possible to generate a measurement indicator for each observed behavior." Id., [0079]. The method further comprises assessing the behavior of an operator (at 108), assessing a skill of the operator (at 110), displaying the assessment of the skill of the operator (at 112), and storing data and skill assessments (at 114). Id., FIG. 1. Peyronnet thus discloses collecting data and correlating the data to generate observed behavior measurement indicators, which can then be used to assess the behavior of at least one operator…In contrast, claim 1 recites a method of automatically evaluating a training performance by querying a BEE database in response to receiving a simulation state update, and then, based upon simulation action notifications, determining whether an action represented by the simulation action notification matches an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs. Applicant's specification, par. [0029]. Peyronnet thus fails to teach at least the elements of claim 1 of receiving a simulation state update, .... querying a BEE database to determine, from a plurality of BEEs, .... a set of active BEEs based upon the simulation state update, each BEE of the plurality of BEEs comprising one or more elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors ... . receiving a plurality of simulation action notifications, for each simulation action notification, determining whether an action represented by the simulation action notification matches an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs, . . . . determining a set of completed BEEs, .... for each completed BEE, storing information regarding the training performance, the information comprising the one or more observable behaviors of the completed BEE, and automatically evaluating the training performance against the competency framework using the information regarding the training performance….Claim 11 recites a computing system comprising instructions executable by the logic system to perform an automated evaluation of a training performance of a training subject, the instructions being executable to perform similar steps as recited in claim 1. Kennedy and Peyronnet therefore fail to teach at least these elements of claim 11.…” The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Under the broadest reasonable interpretation, Kennedy teaches:
receiving a simulation state update from a computing system of the training environment; (in at least [0025] training modules that could be available, and may be adapted to long-haul flights, include: a simulated Himalaya crossing during a Dubai to Beijing flight, or a drift-down procedures module during the same flight; a North Atlantic Tracks (NAT) refresher training for flights across the Atlantic Ocean; a refresher training on volcanic ash and related procedures for routes over areas with risk for volcanic activity; and polar operations for polar routes. [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight. The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” [0036] In order to determine which training exercises may be applicable to an employee, the learning management system 110 may retrieve regulatory or audit data 142 from the regulatory or audit database 140. The regulatory or audit data 142 may indicate training exercises or concepts that are required for the employee and have not yet been performed. [0053] Once training needs have been identified, at 620, the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630 may be selected and calibrated. For example, the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630 may upload actual data relevant to a trainee. To illustrate, during a flight associated with the trainee, the mid-fidelity simulation training scenario 630 may upload an aircraft position, at 632, and/or upload aircraft systems data, at 634. (i.e. change) An example of using uploaded flight data in mid-fidelity simulation is further described in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 16/275,723, filed on Feb. 14, 2019 and entitled “Mid-Fidelity Simulation Approach and Method for Flight Crew Training and Evaluation,” which has been incorporated by reference herein. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
querying a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) database to determine, from a plurality of BEEs stored in the BEE database, a set of active BEEs based upon the simulation state update, each BEE of the plurality of BEEs comprising one or more elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors; (in at least [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight (i.e. elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors). The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” (i.e. elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors) [0035] The learning management system 110 may select a training exercise 160 that is applicable to the employee. As an illustrative example, the learning management system 110 may retrieve flight data 132 from the flight database 130 for a flight associated with the employee and determine the training concept 168 associated with the flight. The learning management system 110 may select a training exercise 160 that is associated with the training concept 168 from the multiple training exercises 164. (i.e. BEE) [0036] In order to determine which training exercises may be applicable to an employee, the learning management system 110 may retrieve regulatory or audit data 142 from the regulatory or audit database 140. The regulatory or audit data 142 may indicate training exercises or concepts that are required for the employee and have not yet been performed. Based on the regulatory data or audit data 142, the training exercise 160 may be selected. [0037] Selecting the training exercise applicable to the employee may alternatively or additionally include retrieving sample data 152 associated with multiple employees and determining a common training exercise 172 associated with the multiple employees. The training exercise 160 may be the common training exercise 172. Determining the common training exercise 172 associated with multiple employees may include performing an artificial intelligence analysis of a training history associated with the multiple employees using the AI learning model 170. [0052] The learning management system 610 may receive a training browsing history 612, completed training records 614, and data from a crew roster 616. The training browsing history 612 may be associated with multiple trainees and can help the learning management system 610 identify common training topics and scenarios where training might be beneficial. The completed training records 614 may function as a checklist to indicate what training trainees have completed and what training still needs to be completed. (i.e. active BEE) The data from the crew roster 616 may enable the learning management system 610 to identify time periods when trainees may be available for training and to identify training scenarios that may be relevant to the trainee's scheduled flights. The learning management system 610 may correspond to the learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 and may rely on artificial intelligence to identify training needs, at 620. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
receiving a plurality of simulation action notifications from the computing system of the training environment; (in at least [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight. The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” [0038] Once the training exercise 160 has been selected, the learning management system 110 may send a notification 182 to an electronic device 180 associated with the employee. The notification 182 may include an offer 184 to perform the training exercise. The employee may then have an opportunity to accept or reject the training exercise 160. If the employee rejects the training exercise 160, it may be scheduled for another time. [0039] The system 100 may be used in conjunction with a mid-fidelity simulator. For example, the training exercise 160 may include a mid-fidelity simulation 162. The mid-fidelity simulation 162 may provide simulations and scenarios that are common among multiple aircraft. This may enable the employee to receive conceptual scenario training as opposed to aircraft-specific training. [0040] the learning management system 110 may receive feedback 186. This may be provided as user response data retrieved during performance of the training exercise 160, as survey data after performance of the training exercise 160, as instructor review data, or another form of evaluation data. The feedback 186 may be used to modify the training exercise 160 and/or the AI learning model 170. [0040] the learning management system 110 may receive feedback 186. This may be provided as user response data retrieved during performance of the training exercise 160, as survey data after performance of the training exercise 160, as instructor review data, or another form of evaluation data. The feedback 186 may be used to modify the training exercise 160 and/or the AI learning model 170. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
for each simulation action notification, determining whether an action represented by the simulation action notification … an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs and storing information regarding the elicited action as a response to the at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs; (in at least [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight. The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, (i.e. simulation action notification) such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” (i.e. elicited action) [0028] provide engaging, useful, and operationally relevant interactions on the flight deck. Given the sensitivities around providing training (and potential distraction), one, or a few modules, with clear operational relevance to a flight could be offered initially. These could be deployed on a voluntary basis. Tracking of when the modules are taken can be used to identify patterns of usage and adapt the modules and system to fit the needs of the pilots. Over time, an increasing number of modules can be introduced. [0038] Once the training exercise 160 has been selected, the learning management system 110 may send a notification 182 to an electronic device 180 associated with the employee. The notification 182 may include an offer 184 to perform the training exercise. The employee may then have an opportunity to accept or reject the training exercise 160. If the employee rejects the training exercise 160, it may be scheduled for another time. (i.e. action, and elicited action) [0039] The system 100 may be used in conjunction with a mid-fidelity simulator. For example, the training exercise 160 may include a mid-fidelity simulation 162. The mid-fidelity simulation 162 may provide simulations and scenarios that are common among multiple aircraft. This may enable the employee to receive conceptual scenario training as opposed to aircraft-specific training. (i.e. simulation action notification) [0050] As the employees 410-412 complete the training, it may be removed from their list of required or preferred training exercises. The learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 may select the training exercise 160 to correspond to the regulatory or audit data 142 for the employees 410-412. (i.e. active) [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
determining a set of completed BEEs, the set of completed BEEs comprising each active BEE that has all corresponding elicited actions met; (in at least [0038] Once the training exercise 160 has been selected, the learning management system 110 may send a notification 182 to an electronic device 180 associated with the employee. The notification 182 may include an offer 184 to perform the training exercise. The employee may then have an opportunity to accept or reject the training exercise 160. If the employee rejects the training exercise 160, it may be scheduled for another time. [0050] As the employees 410-412 complete the training, it may be removed from their list of required or preferred training exercises. The learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 may select the training exercise 160 to correspond to the regulatory or audit data 142 for the employees 410-412. [0051] FIG. 5, an embodiment of the sample data 152 is depicted. The sample data 152 may map employees 510-512 to training histories 520, 530, 540. For example, a first employee 510 may be mapped to a first training history 520, a second employee 511 may be mapped to a second training history 530, and a third employee 512 may be mapped to a third training history 540. The learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 may use the sample data 152 to determining a common training exercise 172 associated with the employees 510-512. The training exercise 160 may correspond to and/or may be the common training exercise 172. Determining the common training exercise 172 associated with employees 510-512 may include performing an artificial intelligence analysis of the training histories 520, 530, 540. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
for each completed BEE of the set of completed BEEs, storing information regarding the training performance, the information comprising the one or more observable behaviors of the completed BEE; and (in at least [0052] The completed training records 614 may function as a checklist to indicate what training trainees have completed and what training still needs to be completed. The data from the crew roster 616 may enable the learning management system 610 to identify time periods when trainees may be available for training and to identify training scenarios that may be relevant to the trainee's scheduled flights. The learning management system 610 may correspond to the learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 and may rely on artificial intelligence to identify training needs, at 620. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it (i.e. query). For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
automatically evaluating the training performance against the competency framework using the information regarding the training performance; (in at least [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight. The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
….
Although implied, Kennedy does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Peyronnet,
…action … matches an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs… (in at least [0067] FIG. 2 , the data correlation step 104 comprises a step 116 consisting in determining a trigger event originating from an operator, the trigger event originating from an operator is the occurrence of an event at the origin of an action of the at least one operator in response to this trigger event originating from an operator. The trigger parameter originating from an operator may thus be an endogenous datum, such as for example the initialization of technical dialog between the team of operators. However, it may also be contemplated, in a more generalized scenario, for the trigger event parameter to be an exogenous datum. [0068] The data correlation step 104 then comprises a step 118 consisting in determining a trigger event originating from the platform. The trigger event originating from the platform represents the occurrence of an event at the origin of a state of the platform, and may be interpreted as an exogenous datum. This is then followed by a step 120 of detecting trigger events originating from said at least one operator or from said platform, and a step 122 of selecting at least one trigger event. [0069] The detection 120 of a trigger event originating from an operator is based on the detection of an action from the at least one operator. The detection 120 of a trigger event originating from a platform is based on the detection of a state of the platform, such as for example a change of piloting mode, the extension or retraction of the landing gear, a fault, and on the departure from an envelope of dynamic parameters, such as for example speed, incline, attitude. [0070] In response to the trigger event, whether it is a trigger from the at least one operator or from the platform, the assessment method 100 then captures at least one action parameter represented by an endogenous datum and presenting the physical manifestation of a reaction of the at least one operator to the trigger parameter. Grouping together a trigger parameter, represented by an exogenous datum or an endogenous datum, and at least one action parameter, represented by endogenous data, thus makes it possible, during the correlation step 104, to generate at least one observable behavior datum reflecting, according to tangible parameters, the behavior of the at least one operator upon triggering of an event. [0079] In step 106, the assessment method 100 comprises a step consisting in analyzing the observable behavior data in predefined analysis sequences, each predefined analysis sequence being specific to a technical and non-technical skill to be assessed, and comprising at least one trigger event parameter and one action parameter for characterizing an expected observable behavior according to a predefined situation. The analysis 106 also makes it possible to generate a measurement indicator for each observed behavior. More specifically, step 106 analyzes observable behavior data under the prism of trigger event and action parameters by comparing (step 132) the detected observable behavior data with a predefined sequence defining the expected observable behavior, each predefined sequence representing at least one physical manifestation allocated to the expected behavior. The predefined sequences are contained in a correspondence database. This correspondence database thus comprises the predefined analysis sequences presenting observable behavior data known to those skilled in the art, as well as their assigned measurable and detectable physical manifestations. Each predefined analysis sequence thus comprises at least one trigger event parameter and at least one action parameter and other endogenous and exogenous data for characterizing a flight situation and a context for at least one operator, and also their expected reaction according to the predefined situation. This analysis provides the nature of the induced action, its temporal location and also its duration or its frequency. The correspondence database also comprises a reference table containing trigger event parameters associated with each behavior to be observed. [0080] in order to be able to analyze the behavior of at least one operator during a flight situation, the step 106 of analyzing the observable behavior data compares the detected endogenous and exogenous data, and more specifically the trigger event and action parameters, with the trigger event and action parameters and also the predefined endogenous and exogenous data. The predefined analysis sequences are specific to each technical and non-technical skill to be assessed. [0092] This generation of observed behavior indicators then makes it possible to initiate a step 108, shown in FIG. 1 , consisting in assessing a behavior of at least one operator. The assessment of the behavior of the at least one operator consists in comparing the observed behavior, which is based on a set of detected behavior elements, with predefined expected reference behaviors. The conformity of an observed behavior is assessed by comparison with known prior art of defined procedures or established protocols, contained in the correspondence database. [0093] The objectivity of the assessment of the technical and non-technical skills of an operator is thus based on the prior creation of the correspondence database between various observable behaviors and measurable physical variables in relation to these observable behaviors. [0094] The matching consists, for each observable behavior, in determining various ways of measuring same and then developing the tools necessary for each measurement. [0095] By way of indicative and non-exhaustive examples, various cases below are given to illustrate the matching of observable behaviors with measurable physical variables to allow behaviors to be assessed.)
displaying at least the information regarding the training performance on a user interface (in at least [0112] the assessment method 100 comprises, after the skill assessment step 110, a step 112 of displaying the assessments of the technical and non-technical skills. Thus, in order to facilitate the reading of the assessment of the technical and non-technical skills of the at least one operator, it is possible to display one or more assessed skills according to their nature or according to a time or mission scale that makes it possible to contextualize the assessment for the instructor. This display step 112 also makes it possible to display all of the detected endogenous data correlated with the exogenous data, making it possible to precisely present the reactions of the at least one operator on the basis of the state of the real or simulated platform.)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Kennedy, as taught by Peyronnet above, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Kennedy with the motivation of, …analyzing the behavior of an operator in a simulation or training situation, allowing an observer to obtain statistical data that provide real-time information about the state and the behavior of the operator. Using these statistical data, the observer is able to carry out their own analysis of the technical and non-technical skills of the operator… to assist instructors in assessing these non-technical skills, the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) has published a list of Observable Behavior Indicators (OBI). These behavior indicators make it possible to objectify these various skills and provide a shared assessment framework between instructors, enabling a reduction in subjectivity in the assessment… allow the instructor to be easily directed to observable behavior data needed to assess skills…assessing and training commercial aviation pilots developed by players in the aeronautical world, based on an objective skills assessment (competency-based training)….to improve the assessment capabilities of the assessment method 100 by enriching the correspondence database for subsequent use of the assessment method…, as recited in Peyronnet.
And even further, respectfully, Applicant’s argument requires that the each of the features of supporting references are bodily incorporated into primary reference that teach and every element is individually taught by a single reference. However, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). The test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one single or in all of the references. See id. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See id.; In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claim 1-16, are rejected under is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant(s) regard as their invention.
Claim 1 recites “…At a computing system…”, “…receiving a simulation state update from a computing system of the training environment…”, it is not clear if these elements refer to the same computer system. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-10 depend on claim 1 and do not cure the aforementioned deficiencies of claim 1, and thus, claims 2-10 is rejected for the reasons set forth above regarding claim 1 as a result.
Claim 11 recites “…A computing system, comprising …”, “…receive a simulation state update from a computing system of the training environment …”, it is not clear if these elements refer to the same computer system. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 12-16 depend on claim 11 and do not cure the aforementioned deficiencies of claim 11, and thus, claims 12-16 is rejected for the reasons set forth above regarding claim 11 as a result.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 (similarly 11) recites, At a …, a method of automatically evaluating a training performance of a training subject against a competency framework using a … simulated training scenario, the training performance being performed in a training environment that simulates a physical environment, the method comprising:
receiving a simulation state update from a … of the training environment;
querying a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) database to determine, from a plurality of BEEs stored in the BEE database, a set of active BEEs based upon the simulation state update, each BEE of the plurality of BEEs comprising one or more elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors;
receiving a plurality of simulation action notifications from the … of the training environment;
for each simulation action notification, determining whether an action represented by the simulation action notification matches an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs and storing information regarding the elicited action as a response to the at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs;
determining a set of completed BEEs, the set of completed BEEs comprising each active BEE that has all corresponding elicited actions met;
for each completed BEE of the set of completed BEEs, storing information regarding the training performance, the information comprising the one or more observable behaviors of the completed BEE;
automatically evaluating the training performance against the competency framework using the information regarding the training performance;
displaying at least the information regarding the training performance on a ….
Claim 17 recite: A method of displaying information related to a flight simulation, the method comprising:
displaying on a … an observable behavior display comprising information regarding one or more observable behaviors of at least one phase of the flight simulation, the one or more observable behaviors corresponding to a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) that occurs during the flight simulation, wherein the one or more observable behaviors correspond to training subject competencies in a competency framework; and
displaying on the … information regarding one or more elicited actions performed by a trainee for each observable behavior of the one or more observable behaviors,
wherein the information related to the flight simulation comprises information regarding an automated evaluation of a training performance of the trainee.
Analyzing under Step 2A, Prong 1:
The limitations regarding, …automatically evaluating a training performance of a training subject against a competency framework using a … simulated training scenario, the training performance being performed in a training environment that simulates a physical environment… receiving a simulation state update from a … of the training environment; querying a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) database to determine, from a plurality of BEEs stored in the BEE database, a set of active BEEs based upon the simulation state update, each BEE of the plurality of BEEs comprising one or more elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors; receiving a plurality of simulation action notifications from the … of the training environment; for each simulation action notification, determining whether an action represented by the simulation action notification matches an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs and storing information regarding the elicited action as a response to the at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs; determining a set of completed BEEs, the set of completed BEEs comprising each active BEE that has all corresponding elicited actions met; for each completed BEE of the set of completed BEEs, storing information regarding the training performance, the information comprising the one or more observable behaviors of the completed BEE; automatically evaluating the training performance against the competency framework using the information regarding the training performance; displaying at least the information regarding the training performance on a … displaying information related to a flight simulation…displaying on a … an observable behavior display comprising information regarding one or more observable behaviors of at least one phase of the flight simulation, the one or more observable behaviors corresponding to a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) that occurs during the flight simulation, wherein the one or more observable behaviors correspond to training subject competencies in a competency framework; and displaying on the … information regarding one or more elicited actions performed by a trainee for each observable behavior of the one or more observable behaviors, wherein the information related to the flight simulation comprises information regarding an automated evaluation of a training performance of the trainee…, under the broadest reasonable interpretation, can include a human using their mind and using pen and paper to perform the above identified limitations, therefore, the claims recite a mental process.
Further, …automatically evaluating a training performance of a training subject against a competency framework using a … simulated training scenario, the training performance being performed in a training environment that simulates a physical environment… receiving a simulation state update from a … of the training environment; querying a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) database to determine, from a plurality of BEEs stored in the BEE database, a set of active BEEs based upon the simulation state update, each BEE of the plurality of BEEs comprising one or more elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors; receiving a plurality of simulation action notifications from the … of the training environment; for each simulation action notification, determining whether an action represented by the simulation action notification matches an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs and storing information regarding the elicited action as a response to the at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs; determining a set of completed BEEs, the set of completed BEEs comprising each active BEE that has all corresponding elicited actions met; for each completed BEE of the set of completed BEEs, storing information regarding the training performance, the information comprising the one or more observable behaviors of the completed BEE; automatically evaluating the training performance against the competency framework using the information regarding the training performance; displaying at least the information regarding the training performance on a … displaying information related to a flight simulation…displaying on a … an observable behavior display comprising information regarding one or more observable behaviors of at least one phase of the flight simulation, the one or more observable behaviors corresponding to a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) that occurs during the flight simulation, wherein the one or more observable behaviors correspond to training subject competencies in a competency framework; and displaying on the … information regarding one or more elicited actions performed by a trainee for each observable behavior of the one or more observable behaviors, wherein the information related to the flight simulation comprises information regarding an automated evaluation of a training performance of the trainee…, are human instructor observing and training human pilot actions and behaviors with training scenarios and learning simulations, which are, managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people, therefore the claims recite certain methods of organizing human activities.
Accordingly, the claims recite a mental process, certain methods of organizing human activities, and thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea under the first prong of Step 2A.
Analyzing under Step 2A, Prong 2:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A.
In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea identified under Step 2A, Prong 1, such as:
Claim 1, 11, 17: computing system, user interface, logic system, computer-readable storage system, computer
Claim 2, 12, 18: menu
, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, as an ordered combination, each of the additional elements are computing elements recited at high level of generality implementing the abstract idea, and thus, are no more than applying the abstract idea with generic computer components.
Further, these additional elements generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment, namely the environment of a computer.
Additionally, with respect to, “…receiving…”, “…storing…”, “…displaying…”, these elements do not add a meaningful limitations to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they are extra-solution activity, pre and post solution activity - i.e. data gathering – “…receiving…”, “…storing…”, data output – “…displaying…”
Analyzing under Step 2B:
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception under Step 2B.
As noted above, the aforementioned additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because, as an order combination, the additional elements are no more than mere instructions to implement the idea using generic computer components (i.e. apply it).
Additionally, as an order combination, the additional elements append the recited abstract idea to well-understood, routine, and conventional activities in the field as individually evinced by the applicant’s own disclosure, as required by the Berkheimer Memo, in at least:
[0022] Computing system 100 is configured to evaluate the training performance of training subject 104 against a competency framework, such as the ICAO pilot competencies, for example. Computing system 100 comprises a processor 110 operably coupled to aircraft training environment 102, and a storage system 112. Storage system 112 comprises a BEE database 114 comprising a plurality of BEEs as discussed with reference to FIG. 2. Storage system 112 further comprises a BEE monitor 116 configured to be executable by processor 110. Storage system 112 further comprises a learning record store (LRS) 118 configured to store information relating to the evaluation of the performance of training subject 104. In some examples, LRS 118 can be configured to also store information from aircraft training environment 102. In other examples, the information from a training environment and/or information relating to the performance evaluation can be stored in another location or across multiple locations. Further aspects of processor 110 and storage system 112 are discussed with reference to FIG. 9. In other examples, computing system 100 can be configured to receive flight operations quality assurance (FOQA) data recorded during a live flight and to detect pilot behavior against the ICAO competency framework. Such a configuration can help to determine training recommendations for an airline fleet and/or to determine effectiveness of training programs of the airline fleet. While discussed herein with reference to aircraft training environment 102, a BEE database can be used to evaluate another training performance against any suitable competency framework in other examples.
[0043] FIG. 8 illustrates a flowchart of an example method 800 for evaluating a training performance of a training subject against a competency framework. The training performance is performed in a training environment that simulates a physical environment, such as aircraft training environment 102, for example. In such an example the competency framework can comprise the ICAO competency framework, for example. In other examples, another training environment and/or another competency framework can be used. Method 800 can be performed by any suitable computing system comprising a BEE database, such as computing system 100, for example.
[0064] FIG. 14 schematically shows a simplified representation of a computing system 1400 configured to provide any to all of the compute functionality described herein. Computing system 1400 can take the form of one or more personal computers, server computers, and computers integrated with aircraft, as examples. Computing system 100, training computing system 108, and computing system 402 are examples of computing system 1400.
[0066] Logic subsystem 1402 includes one or more physical devices configured to execute instructions. For example, the logic subsystem 1402 can be configured to execute instructions that are part of one or more applications, services, programs, routines, libraries, objects, components, data structures, or other logical constructs. Such instructions can be implemented to perform a task, implement a data type, transform the state of one or more components, achieve a technical effect, or otherwise arrive at a desired result.
[0067] The logic subsystem 1402 can include one or more hardware processors configured to execute software instructions. Additionally, or alternatively, the logic subsystem 1402 can include one or more hardware or firmware devices configured to execute hardware or firmware instructions. Processors of the logic subsystem 1402 can be single-core or multi-core, and the instructions executed thereon can be configured for sequential, parallel, and/or distributed processing. Individual components of the logic subsystem 1402 optionally can be distributed among two or more separate devices, which can be remotely located and/or configured for coordinated processing. Aspects of the logic subsystem 1402 can be virtualized and executed by remotely accessible, networked computing devices configured in a cloud-computing configuration.
[0071] The logic subsystem 1402 and the storage subsystem can cooperate to instantiate one or more logic machines. As used herein, the term “machine” is used to collectively refer to the combination of hardware, firmware, software, instructions, and/or any other components cooperating to provide computer functionality. In other words, “machines” are never abstract ideas and always have a tangible form. A machine can be instantiated by a single computing device, or a machine can include two or more sub-components instantiated by two or more different computing devices. In some implementations a machine includes a local component (e.g., software application executed by a computer processor) cooperating with a remote component (e.g., cloud computing service provided by a network of server computers). The software and/or other instructions that give a particular machine its functionality can optionally be saved as one or more unexecuted modules on one or more suitable storage devices.
[0072] When included, display subsystem 1406 can be used to present a visual representation of data held by storage subsystem 1404. This visual representation can take the form of a graphical user interface (GUI). As the herein described methods and processes change the data held by the storage subsystem, and thus transform the state of the storage subsystem, the state of display subsystem 1406 can likewise be transformed to visually represent changes in the underlying data. Display subsystem 1406 can include one or more display devices utilizing virtually any type of technology. Such display devices can be combined with the logic subsystem and the storage subsystem in a shared enclosure, or such display devices can be peripheral display devices.
[0116] It will be understood that the configurations and/or approaches described herein are exemplary in nature, and that these specific embodiments or examples are not to be considered in a limiting sense, because numerous variations are possible. The specific routines or methods described herein may represent one or more of any number of processing strategies. As such, various acts illustrated and/or described may be performed in the sequence illustrated and/or described, in other sequences, in parallel, or omitted. Likewise, the order of the above-described processes may be changed.
[0117] The subject matter of the present disclosure includes all novel and non-obvious combinations and sub-combinations of the various processes, systems and configurations, and other features, functions, acts, and/or properties disclosed herein, as well as any and all equivalents thereof.
Furthermore, as an ordered combination, these elements amount to generic computer components receiving or transmitting data over a network, performing repetitive calculations, electronic record keeping, and storing and retrieving information in memory, which, as held by the courts, are well-understood, routine, and conventional. See MPEP 2106.05(d).
Moreover, the remaining elements of dependent claims do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these remaining elements merely recite further abstract limitations that provide nothing more than simply a narrowing of the abstract idea recited in the independent claims.
Looking at these limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing additional that is sufficient to amount to significantly more than the recited abstract idea because they simply provide instructions to use a generic arrangement of generic computer components to “apply” the recited abstract idea, perform insignificant extra-solution activity, and generally link the abstract idea to a technical environment. Thus, the elements of the claims, considered both individually and as an ordered combination, are not sufficient to ensure that the claim as a whole amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being unpatentable by US Patent Publication to US20230343236A1 to Gagnon et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Gagnon”).
As per Claim 17, Gagnon teaches: A method of displaying information related to a flight simulation, the method comprising:
displaying on a user interface an observable behavior display comprising information regarding one or more observable behaviors of at least one phase of the flight simulation, the one or more observable behaviors corresponding to a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) that occurs during the flight simulation, wherein the one or more observable behaviors correspond to training subject competencies in a competency framework; and (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0083] FIG. 4 shows a workflow as run by a trainee after a training flight mission in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention, wherein as can be seen, after log in through the trainee interface, the trainee may visualize flight data, cursus progression, recommendations, historical data. The trainee may also enter new data to his/her user profile 1068 and/or may check-in for a new flight. [0084] Referring back to FIG. 1 , the instructor interface unit 1062 allows an instructor to easily input and visualize data. Advantageously, and in contrast to prior art solutions, an instructor is involved and full part of the learning process of a trainee. The instructor is provided with a dedicated instructor interface allowing him to easily define and use a list of students, a list of available missions or scenario (names, aircraft type, projected distance), an aircraft, to input cursus parameters 1066, scenario parameters 1067, to define relationship between the cursus parameters and the scenario parameters. In a preferred embodiment, the screen of the instructor interface is similar to the one available for trainees, with additional features allowing the instructor to upload new data. [0085] In an embodiment, the instructor interface allows instructors to have a general view of a cohort via a single dashboard representing every flight for every trainee of a given cohort/promotion. In an embodiment, a set of colors is used to rate the cohort, and allow the instructor to see one student per row, and one flight per column. The color indicates the level of ease in flight achieved by a given trainee, on a given flight, and can be easily compared with the other trainees. [0086] The cursus parameters are defined by the general skills that the trainees need to acquire and practice for a specific procedure. The skills may be clustered into different categories such as Execution skill, Mental skill, Physical skill and Required checklists skill. In the context of flight training, for the engine start procedure, some skills to acquire are for example: skill to start engine; skill to navigate on landing strip; skill for landing; skill for take-off. So, all the skills that a trainee has to practice and test during a session are not specific to a pilot but are common skills for all trainees. This information is then predefined and entered in the system prior to the flights. Indeed, if there are 10 flights planned during a semester, the set of skills to be practiced for these flights are predefined before the beginning of the training sessions. In a preferred embodiment, each skill is associated to one or several abilities, such as for example, the skill “start engine” may be associated to the ability “stress management”, or the skill “navigate on landing strip” may be associated to the ability “decision making”. The person skilled in the art would define any association of skill with ability required for a specific context of use of the system of the invention. [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
displaying on the user interface information regarding one or more elicited actions performed by a trainee for each observable behavior of the one or more observable behaviors. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
wherein the information related to the flight simulation comprises information regarding an automated evaluation of a training performance of the trainee. (in at least [0060] the system is implemented in one or a plurality of computer systems allowing operating a training session in a simulation environment or during a real mission, such as during real flight for example. [0105] As described, the invention solves the problem of individualized training by linking an autonomous and objective evaluation of trainee’s progress to specific skills and abilities to be achieved during training. It is therefore possible to identify skills, and abilities that require additional practice, in greater granularity than is actually feasible. The main advantages of the invention are: an objective evaluation of progress; an automated evaluation of progress; showing trend with historical data; progress is linked with skills; assessment is done during real training exercises (flight or simulator) rather than being theoretical; scenario timeline decomposed into skills and abilities; instructor remains in the loop.)
As per Claim 18 Gagnon teaches: The method of claim 17, wherein the method further comprises
displaying on the user interface a menu, the menu comprising selectable menu items each corresponding to a flight phase of the flight simulation. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
As per Claim 19, Gagnon teaches: The method of claim 17,
wherein the observable behavior display for each observable behavior of the one or more observable behaviors is expandable to display an expanded observable behavior display, and wherein the expanded observable behavior display comprises a progress bar for each elicited action displayed. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
As per Claim 20, Gagnon teaches: The method of claim 17, further comprising
displaying a graphical representation of a flight path during at least one phase of the flight simulation on the user interface. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US Patent Publication to US20210272469A1 to Kennedy et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Kennedy”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20240105076A1 to Peyronnet et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Peyronnet”)
As per Claim 1, Kennedy teaches: At a computing system, a method of automatically evaluating a training performance of a training subject against a competency framework using a computer simulated training scenario, the training performance being performed in a training environment that simulates a physical environment, the method comprising: (in at least [0052] Referring to FIG. 6, a conceptual diagram 600 depicting an embodiment of embedded training for commercial aviation is depicted. As shown in the diagram 600, a learning management system 610 and mid-fidelity simulation (MFS) training scenarios 630 may be used to provide embedded training 650 via mid-fidelity simulation. The learning management system 610 may receive a training browsing history 612, completed training records 614, and data from a crew roster 616. The training browsing history 612 may be associated with multiple trainees and can help the learning management system 610 identify common training topics and scenarios where training might be beneficial. The completed training records 614 may function as a checklist to indicate what training trainees have completed and what training still needs to be completed. The data from the crew roster 616 may enable the learning management system 610 to identify time periods when trainees may be available for training and to identify training scenarios that may be relevant to the trainee's scheduled flights. The learning management system 610 may correspond to the learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 and may rely on artificial intelligence to identify training needs, at 620.)
receiving a simulation state update from a computing system of the training environment; (in at least [0025] training modules that could be available, and may be adapted to long-haul flights, include: a simulated Himalaya crossing during a Dubai to Beijing flight, or a drift-down procedures module during the same flight; a North Atlantic Tracks (NAT) refresher training for flights across the Atlantic Ocean; a refresher training on volcanic ash and related procedures for routes over areas with risk for volcanic activity; and polar operations for polar routes. [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight. The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” [0036] In order to determine which training exercises may be applicable to an employee, the learning management system 110 may retrieve regulatory or audit data 142 from the regulatory or audit database 140. The regulatory or audit data 142 may indicate training exercises or concepts that are required for the employee and have not yet been performed. [0053] Once training needs have been identified, at 620, the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630 may be selected and calibrated. For example, the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630 may upload actual data relevant to a trainee. To illustrate, during a flight associated with the trainee, the mid-fidelity simulation training scenario 630 may upload an aircraft position, at 632, and/or upload aircraft systems data, at 634. (i.e. change) An example of using uploaded flight data in mid-fidelity simulation is further described in U.S. patent application Ser. No. 16/275,723, filed on Feb. 14, 2019 and entitled “Mid-Fidelity Simulation Approach and Method for Flight Crew Training and Evaluation,” which has been incorporated by reference herein. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
querying a behavioral elicitation event (BEE) database to determine, from a plurality of BEEs stored in the BEE database, a set of active BEEs based upon the simulation state update, each BEE of the plurality of BEEs comprising one or more elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors; (in at least [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight (i.e. elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors). The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” (i.e. elicited actions and one or more observable behaviors) [0035] The learning management system 110 may select a training exercise 160 that is applicable to the employee. As an illustrative example, the learning management system 110 may retrieve flight data 132 from the flight database 130 for a flight associated with the employee and determine the training concept 168 associated with the flight. The learning management system 110 may select a training exercise 160 that is associated with the training concept 168 from the multiple training exercises 164. (i.e. BEE) [0036] In order to determine which training exercises may be applicable to an employee, the learning management system 110 may retrieve regulatory or audit data 142 from the regulatory or audit database 140. The regulatory or audit data 142 may indicate training exercises or concepts that are required for the employee and have not yet been performed. Based on the regulatory data or audit data 142, the training exercise 160 may be selected. [0037] Selecting the training exercise applicable to the employee may alternatively or additionally include retrieving sample data 152 associated with multiple employees and determining a common training exercise 172 associated with the multiple employees. The training exercise 160 may be the common training exercise 172. Determining the common training exercise 172 associated with multiple employees may include performing an artificial intelligence analysis of a training history associated with the multiple employees using the AI learning model 170. [0052] The learning management system 610 may receive a training browsing history 612, completed training records 614, and data from a crew roster 616. The training browsing history 612 may be associated with multiple trainees and can help the learning management system 610 identify common training topics and scenarios where training might be beneficial. The completed training records 614 may function as a checklist to indicate what training trainees have completed and what training still needs to be completed. (i.e. active BEE) The data from the crew roster 616 may enable the learning management system 610 to identify time periods when trainees may be available for training and to identify training scenarios that may be relevant to the trainee's scheduled flights. The learning management system 610 may correspond to the learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 and may rely on artificial intelligence to identify training needs, at 620. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
receiving a plurality of simulation action notifications from the computing system of the training environment; (in at least [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight. The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” [0038] Once the training exercise 160 has been selected, the learning management system 110 may send a notification 182 to an electronic device 180 associated with the employee. The notification 182 may include an offer 184 to perform the training exercise. The employee may then have an opportunity to accept or reject the training exercise 160. If the employee rejects the training exercise 160, it may be scheduled for another time. [0039] The system 100 may be used in conjunction with a mid-fidelity simulator. For example, the training exercise 160 may include a mid-fidelity simulation 162. The mid-fidelity simulation 162 may provide simulations and scenarios that are common among multiple aircraft. This may enable the employee to receive conceptual scenario training as opposed to aircraft-specific training. [0040] the learning management system 110 may receive feedback 186. This may be provided as user response data retrieved during performance of the training exercise 160, as survey data after performance of the training exercise 160, as instructor review data, or another form of evaluation data. The feedback 186 may be used to modify the training exercise 160 and/or the AI learning model 170. [0040] the learning management system 110 may receive feedback 186. This may be provided as user response data retrieved during performance of the training exercise 160, as survey data after performance of the training exercise 160, as instructor review data, or another form of evaluation data. The feedback 186 may be used to modify the training exercise 160 and/or the AI learning model 170. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
for each simulation action notification, determining whether an action represented by the simulation action notification … an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs and storing information regarding the elicited action as a response to the at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs; (in at least [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight. The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, (i.e. simulation action notification) such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” (i.e. elicited action) [0028] provide engaging, useful, and operationally relevant interactions on the flight deck. Given the sensitivities around providing training (and potential distraction), one, or a few modules, with clear operational relevance to a flight could be offered initially. These could be deployed on a voluntary basis. Tracking of when the modules are taken can be used to identify patterns of usage and adapt the modules and system to fit the needs of the pilots. Over time, an increasing number of modules can be introduced. [0038] Once the training exercise 160 has been selected, the learning management system 110 may send a notification 182 to an electronic device 180 associated with the employee. The notification 182 may include an offer 184 to perform the training exercise. The employee may then have an opportunity to accept or reject the training exercise 160. If the employee rejects the training exercise 160, it may be scheduled for another time. (i.e. action, and elicited action) [0039] The system 100 may be used in conjunction with a mid-fidelity simulator. For example, the training exercise 160 may include a mid-fidelity simulation 162. The mid-fidelity simulation 162 may provide simulations and scenarios that are common among multiple aircraft. This may enable the employee to receive conceptual scenario training as opposed to aircraft-specific training. (i.e. simulation action notification) [0050] As the employees 410-412 complete the training, it may be removed from their list of required or preferred training exercises. The learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 may select the training exercise 160 to correspond to the regulatory or audit data 142 for the employees 410-412. (i.e. active) [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
determining a set of completed BEEs, the set of completed BEEs comprising each active BEE that has all corresponding elicited actions met; (in at least [0038] Once the training exercise 160 has been selected, the learning management system 110 may send a notification 182 to an electronic device 180 associated with the employee. The notification 182 may include an offer 184 to perform the training exercise. The employee may then have an opportunity to accept or reject the training exercise 160. If the employee rejects the training exercise 160, it may be scheduled for another time. [0050] As the employees 410-412 complete the training, it may be removed from their list of required or preferred training exercises. The learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 may select the training exercise 160 to correspond to the regulatory or audit data 142 for the employees 410-412. [0051] FIG. 5, an embodiment of the sample data 152 is depicted. The sample data 152 may map employees 510-512 to training histories 520, 530, 540. For example, a first employee 510 may be mapped to a first training history 520, a second employee 511 may be mapped to a second training history 530, and a third employee 512 may be mapped to a third training history 540. The learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 may use the sample data 152 to determining a common training exercise 172 associated with the employees 510-512. The training exercise 160 may correspond to and/or may be the common training exercise 172. Determining the common training exercise 172 associated with employees 510-512 may include performing an artificial intelligence analysis of the training histories 520, 530, 540. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
for each completed BEE of the set of completed BEEs, storing information regarding the training performance, the information comprising the one or more observable behaviors of the completed BEE; and (in at least [0052] The completed training records 614 may function as a checklist to indicate what training trainees have completed and what training still needs to be completed. The data from the crew roster 616 may enable the learning management system 610 to identify time periods when trainees may be available for training and to identify training scenarios that may be relevant to the trainee's scheduled flights. The learning management system 610 may correspond to the learning management system 110 of FIG. 1 and may rely on artificial intelligence to identify training needs, at 620. [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it (i.e. query). For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
automatically evaluating the training performance against the competency framework using the information regarding the training performance; (in at least [0026] The modules could be part of an overall learning management system that tracks pilots' training and examinations for regulatory and audit purposes. When linked to a rostering system, suggestions to pilots could be sent out before a flight and reminders provided for the flight. As an example, this system could remind a pilot that he has not done an Atlantic crossing in the last few months and offer the module as a refresher before or in flight. The system could then provide different levels of recommendations, based on regulatory requirements. For example, the system could generate a notification with various recommendations, such as “You need to complete this module by [a particular date]—do you want to do it now?” or “This flight will pass over active volcanic areas—do you want more information on this?” or “You have not passed over the Himalayas recently—do you want to have an update on this?” or “Many pilots have recently looked at the module on new approach procedures for Hong Kong—would you like to take this module?” [0056] During the embedded training 650, data logs 656 may be generated. Further, after the training, feedback 652 via in-situ analytics may be performed to evaluate the trainee's performance and the relevance of the mid-fidelity simulation training scenarios 630. Also, the trainee may engage in a debriefing 654 with an instructor, with an automated feedback application, or with another type of feedback collection method. Data and results associated with the data logs 656, the feedback 652, and the debriefing 654 may be provided to the learning management system 610 for future use in determine what training to provide and when to provide it. For example, training data from the use of MFS, which may be included in the data logs 656, can be used to determines a next exercise to be performed. If a trainee does well, they may not need further training in a particular area. Otherwise, the data logs 656 can be used by the learning management system 610 to determine whether to offer another training, or additional training, within a certain time frame.)
….
Although implied, Kennedy does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Peyronnet,
…action … matches an elicited action for at least one active BEE in the set of active BEEs… (in at least [0067] FIG. 2 , the data correlation step 104 comprises a step 116 consisting in determining a trigger event originating from an operator, the trigger event originating from an operator is the occurrence of an event at the origin of an action of the at least one operator in response to this trigger event originating from an operator. The trigger parameter originating from an operator may thus be an endogenous datum, such as for example the initialization of technical dialog between the team of operators. However, it may also be contemplated, in a more generalized scenario, for the trigger event parameter to be an exogenous datum. [0068] The data correlation step 104 then comprises a step 118 consisting in determining a trigger event originating from the platform. The trigger event originating from the platform represents the occurrence of an event at the origin of a state of the platform, and may be interpreted as an exogenous datum. This is then followed by a step 120 of detecting trigger events originating from said at least one operator or from said platform, and a step 122 of selecting at least one trigger event. [0069] The detection 120 of a trigger event originating from an operator is based on the detection of an action from the at least one operator. The detection 120 of a trigger event originating from a platform is based on the detection of a state of the platform, such as for example a change of piloting mode, the extension or retraction of the landing gear, a fault, and on the departure from an envelope of dynamic parameters, such as for example speed, incline, attitude. [0070] In response to the trigger event, whether it is a trigger from the at least one operator or from the platform, the assessment method 100 then captures at least one action parameter represented by an endogenous datum and presenting the physical manifestation of a reaction of the at least one operator to the trigger parameter. Grouping together a trigger parameter, represented by an exogenous datum or an endogenous datum, and at least one action parameter, represented by endogenous data, thus makes it possible, during the correlation step 104, to generate at least one observable behavior datum reflecting, according to tangible parameters, the behavior of the at least one operator upon triggering of an event. [0079] In step 106, the assessment method 100 comprises a step consisting in analyzing the observable behavior data in predefined analysis sequences, each predefined analysis sequence being specific to a technical and non-technical skill to be assessed, and comprising at least one trigger event parameter and one action parameter for characterizing an expected observable behavior according to a predefined situation. The analysis 106 also makes it possible to generate a measurement indicator for each observed behavior. More specifically, step 106 analyzes observable behavior data under the prism of trigger event and action parameters by comparing (step 132) the detected observable behavior data with a predefined sequence defining the expected observable behavior, each predefined sequence representing at least one physical manifestation allocated to the expected behavior. The predefined sequences are contained in a correspondence database. This correspondence database thus comprises the predefined analysis sequences presenting observable behavior data known to those skilled in the art, as well as their assigned measurable and detectable physical manifestations. Each predefined analysis sequence thus comprises at least one trigger event parameter and at least one action parameter and other endogenous and exogenous data for characterizing a flight situation and a context for at least one operator, and also their expected reaction according to the predefined situation. This analysis provides the nature of the induced action, its temporal location and also its duration or its frequency. The correspondence database also comprises a reference table containing trigger event parameters associated with each behavior to be observed. [0080] in order to be able to analyze the behavior of at least one operator during a flight situation, the step 106 of analyzing the observable behavior data compares the detected endogenous and exogenous data, and more specifically the trigger event and action parameters, with the trigger event and action parameters and also the predefined endogenous and exogenous data. The predefined analysis sequences are specific to each technical and non-technical skill to be assessed. [0092] This generation of observed behavior indicators then makes it possible to initiate a step 108, shown in FIG. 1 , consisting in assessing a behavior of at least one operator. The assessment of the behavior of the at least one operator consists in comparing the observed behavior, which is based on a set of detected behavior elements, with predefined expected reference behaviors. The conformity of an observed behavior is assessed by comparison with known prior art of defined procedures or established protocols, contained in the correspondence database. [0093] The objectivity of the assessment of the technical and non-technical skills of an operator is thus based on the prior creation of the correspondence database between various observable behaviors and measurable physical variables in relation to these observable behaviors. [0094] The matching consists, for each observable behavior, in determining various ways of measuring same and then developing the tools necessary for each measurement. [0095] By way of indicative and non-exhaustive examples, various cases below are given to illustrate the matching of observable behaviors with measurable physical variables to allow behaviors to be assessed.)
displaying at least the information regarding the training performance on a user interface (in at least [0112] the assessment method 100 comprises, after the skill assessment step 110, a step 112 of displaying the assessments of the technical and non-technical skills. Thus, in order to facilitate the reading of the assessment of the technical and non-technical skills of the at least one operator, it is possible to display one or more assessed skills according to their nature or according to a time or mission scale that makes it possible to contextualize the assessment for the instructor. This display step 112 also makes it possible to display all of the detected endogenous data correlated with the exogenous data, making it possible to precisely present the reactions of the at least one operator on the basis of the state of the real or simulated platform.)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Kennedy, as taught by Peyronnet above, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Kennedy with the motivation of, …analyzing the behavior of an operator in a simulation or training situation, allowing an observer to obtain statistical data that provide real-time information about the state and the behavior of the operator. Using these statistical data, the observer is able to carry out their own analysis of the technical and non-technical skills of the operator… to assist instructors in assessing these non-technical skills, the European Union Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) has published a list of Observable Behavior Indicators (OBI). These behavior indicators make it possible to objectify these various skills and provide a shared assessment framework between instructors, enabling a reduction in subjectivity in the assessment… allow the instructor to be easily directed to observable behavior data needed to assess skills…assessing and training commercial aviation pilots developed by players in the aeronautical world, based on an objective skills assessment (competency-based training)….to improve the assessment capabilities of the assessment method 100 by enriching the correspondence database for subsequent use of the assessment method…, as recited in Peyronnet.
As per Claim 11 for A computer system (see at least Kennedy [0013][0052]), respectively, substantially recite the subject matter of Claim 1 and are rejected based on the same reasoning and rationale.
Claims 2-10, 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable by US Patent Publication to US20210272469A1 to Kennedy et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Kennedy”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20240105076A1 to Peyronnet et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Peyronnet”) in view of US Patent Publication to US20230343236A1 to Gagnon et al., (hereinafter referred to as “Gagnon”).
As per Claim 2, Although implied, Kennedy does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Peyronnet: The method of claim 1,
wherein the user interface comprises … to allow selection of a phase of the simulation. (in at least [0035] the step of detecting observable behavior data comprises a step consisting in determining a trigger event originating from the real or simulated platform, said trigger event being the occurrence of an event at the origin of a change in state of the platform. [0036] a step of detecting trigger events originating from said at least one operator or from said platform, and a step of selecting at least one trigger event. [0068] The trigger event originating from the platform represents the occurrence of an event at the origin of a state of the platform, and may be interpreted as an exogenous datum. This is then followed by a step 120 of detecting trigger events originating from said at least one operator or from said platform, and a step 122 of selecting at least one trigger event. [0069] The detection 120 of a trigger event originating from an operator is based on the detection of an action from the at least one operator. The detection 120 of a trigger event originating from a platform is based on the detection of a state of the platform, such as for example a change of piloting mode, the extension or retraction of the landing gear, a fault, and on the departure from an envelope of dynamic parameters, such as for example speed, incline, attitude.)
Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon:
wherein the user interface comprises a menu to allow selection of a phase of the simulation. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
At the time the invention was filed, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the teachings of Kennedy in view of Peyronnet, as taught by Gagnon above, with a reasonable expectation of success if arriving at the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to the teachings of Kennedy in view of Peyronnet with the motivation of, …providing adaptive training cursus to individuals…providing adaptive training cursus of aircraft pilots inflight and in simulator…allows individualization of training to the specific needs of each trainee. Skills from a training cursus that are required to perform a given task are mapped with a scenario or mission timeline, which is itself mapped to a “level of ease” curve (or an “ease in flight” curve for flight training) of the trainee, and therefore to a level of mastery of these skills…providing recommendations to both a trainee and an instructor. Suggestions are sent to an instructor to indicate which key skills (and associated abilities) are to prioritize for an identified trainee and to indicate which scenario fits best for practicing those key skills. A trainee receives as well information on his/her cursus progression and features of his/her individual profile…allows that real mission performance data may be associated with predefined skills by having a correspondence integrated between a cursus of skills to the real mission of the trainee while having an instructor being actively involved in the loop of the training cursus of a trainee.…to provide recommendations on various aspects of the training to improve…by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver…advantages gained by the invention are better training outcomes, economic benefits because of reduced time and reduced attrition which are associated to decreased costs. This is especially true in domains where training is mandatory but costly, such as in aeronautics…., as recited in Gagnon.
As per Claim 3, Although implied, Kennedy does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Peyronnet: The method of claim 2,
wherein the user interface further displays, for a selected … item, an observable behavior display for the selected … item, the observed behavior display including information on elicited actions observed during the simulation. (in at least [0037] the analysis step comprises a step of comparing detected observable behavior data with a predefined sequence defining the expected behavior, each predefined sequence representing at least one physical manifestation allocated to the expected behavior, the predefined sequences being contained in a correspondence database. [0070] the assessment method 100 then captures at least one action parameter represented by an endogenous datum and presenting the physical manifestation of a reaction of the at least one operator to the trigger parameter. Grouping together a trigger parameter, represented by an exogenous datum or an endogenous datum, and at least one action parameter, represented by endogenous data, thus makes it possible, during the correlation step 104, to generate at least one observable behavior datum reflecting, according to tangible parameters, the behavior of the at least one operator upon triggering of an event.)
Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon:
wherein the user interface further displays, for a selected menu item, an observable behavior display for the selected menu item, the observed behavior display including information on elicited actions observed during the simulation. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
The reason and rationale to combine Kennedy, Peyronnet, Gagnon is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 4, Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon: The method of claim 3,
wherein the observable behaviors display for the selected menu item is expandable. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
The reason and rationale to combine Kennedy, Peyronnet, Gagnon is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 5, Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon: The method of claim 4, further comprising
displaying information regarding each elicited action for the selected menu item when the observable behaviors display is expanded for the selected menu item. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
The reason and rationale to combine Kennedy, Peyronnet, Gagnon is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 6, Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon: The method of claim 5,
wherein the information regarding each elicited action comprises a progress bar for each elicited action. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
The reason and rationale to combine Kennedy, Peyronnet, Gagnon is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 7, Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon: The method of claim 1, further comprising
displaying, on the user interface, summarized information regarding at least the training performance. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
The reason and rationale to combine Kennedy, Peyronnet, Gagnon is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 8, Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon: The method of claim 7,
wherein the summarized information regarding at least the training performance is displayed upon selection of the selected menu item displayed on the user interface. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
The reason and rationale to combine Kennedy, Peyronnet, Gagnon is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 9, Kennedy teaches: The method of claim 1,
wherein the simulation is a flight simulation, and (in at least [0003] recurrent flight crew training and evaluation may include computer-based training (CBT) (usually in the form of digital slide presentations), aircraft part-task simulators, aircraft fixed-base simulators, and highly sophisticated and realistic full-motion flight simulators. [0004] CBT is effectively a medium for presenting manuals, checklists, and other paper-based information in a digital slide pack. It typically includes no simulation that would allow someone to interact with the aircraft systems. Training may be enhanced with part-task trainers that enable subjects to practice skills in the operation of specific flight deck systems, however, these part-task trainers fail to provide a full picture of how the aircraft functions in given scenarios and cannot realistically simulate interactions between highly coupled aircraft systems. Fixed-base and full-motion simulators are a good medium for practicing physical maneuvers. However, they cannot evaluate whether the flight crew possess the requisite competencies to manage unusual/non-normal situations. They also cannot predict whether the flight crew understands the underlying mechanics of how the aircraft functions. Such understanding is crucial for correct decision making to occur.)
Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon:
wherein the user interface further comprises a graph showing information on at least one phase of the flight simulation. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
The reason and rationale to combine Kennedy, Peyronnet, Gagnon is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 10, Although implied, Kennedy in view of Peyronnet does not expressly disclose the following limitations, which however, are taught by Gagnon: The method of claim 9,
wherein the graph illustrates positional information for a simulated aircraft as a function of time. (in at least [0060]-[0067][0073] The output of the ease in flight processing unit 1024 provides a trainee ease in flight level also defined as ease in flight assessment or estimation of the trainee throughout a whole flight. In an embodiment, the processing unit allows computing at 1 Hz, providing a very detailed assessment of the trainees’ ease in flight state during the flight. This information is represented notably on area ‘A’ of a screenshot mockup on FIG. 6 . In an embodiment, the path followed during a flight is associated with colored points (from green to red) indicating the level of ease during the training mission at each moment, based on the physiological measures. [0074] Data used by the ease in flight processing unit 1024 also includes mission or flight data, such as geolocation data (latitude, longitude, altitude), accelerations (x, y, z in g), and velocity (inferred from geolocation data). These mission data are later used by the cursus recommender of the present invention as further described with reference to FIG. 2 , for a decomposition of the flight into learning phases or mission segments, and a classification of the phases into maneuvers and procedures, as represented notably on area ‘B’ (“Décollage”, “Atterrissage”) of the screenshot mockup on the FIG. 6. [0079] On the visualization side, the trainee interface unit 1060 is configured to display after a session, information that is stored in the secured database 1040. A trainee may thus visualize his/her cursus progression, and is provided with recommendations for his/her individual training, as represented notably on area ‘C’ (“Recommandations pour le vol BFMS”) of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0080] the interface displays a time scaled graph, where both ease in flight (%) and altitude (meter) are plotted throughout the flight. The interface allows the user to select a specific point on the graph by clicking on it to get information about altitude, time since beginning of the mission, distance covered, heart rate and ease in flight at this specific moment. The interface further allows focusing on a specific flight segment, using a selection tool, and selecting the segment of interest on the map to highlight the corresponding points on the ease in flight /altitude graph underneath the map. Since the interface is conceived as a tool for trainees and for their instructors, it also provides general statistics concerning the missions performed by a trainee (distance covered, time, average ease in flight), with comparison to those of the cohort. [0081] Recommendations are based on the quantification of “ease in flight” for each of the phase and maneuver recognized by the cursus recommendation system 104. In an embodiment as represented, the maneuvers are listed from the ones with the lowest ease in flight (i.e. maneuver 9) to the highest (i.e. maneuver 10). Then, by selecting a maneuver, the interface offers an area for the trainee (and similarly for the instructor on the instructor interface) to better understand the underlying skills that need to be improved in priority in order to increase ease in flight during later flights for this maneuver. The recommendation area is represented notably by area ‘D’ of the screenshot mockup on FIG. 6. [0082] in FIG. 6 , in a variant the system can represent multiple flights and provide recommendations based on a series of flights instead of only one. A trainee may represent the progression of his/her ease in flight throughout multiple flights on a single maneuver, such as take-off [0104] FIG. 3 is an example of a timeline for a flight A showing progression curves as shown to instructors and trainees in accordance with an embodiment of the present invention. The flight is decomposed into 5 learning phases labeled takeoff -looping - clover leaf - loose eight - landing. Each phase is defined as requiring one or more specific skills (and abilities): Skill A; Skill B; Skill C. The user (instructor or trainee) visualizes the cursus progression and profile elements, as well as detailed flight information (e.g., hearth rate and ease in flight) every N seconds.)
The reason and rationale to combine Kennedy, Peyronnet, Gagnon is the same as recited above.
As per Claim 12-16 for A computer system (see at least Kennedy [0013][0052]), respectively, substantially recite the subject matter of Claim 2-10 and are rejected based on the same reasoning and rationale.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PO HAN LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3623