CTNF 19/212,835 CTNF 90962 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/16/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Objections Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 2, recite the limitation “the long dimension of the receiving coil is less than 50% of the long dimension of the receiving coil” should be changed to “the long dimension of the receiving coil is less than 50% of the long dimension of the transmitting coil ”. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries set forth in Graham v. John Deere Co. , 383 U.S. 1, 148 USPQ 459 (1966), that are applied for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1, 8, 10-12, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seng (US 2017/0085103) in view of Yu et al. (CN108766744) . Regarding claim 1 , Seng teaches A wireless charging system (see figures 1-3) for recharging batteries in a medical environment, comprising: a charging station (see figures 1 and 3) comprising: a housing (see figure 1@ 30) comprising an inlet (fig. 1@ 31) for batteries (fig. 6@ 50), an outlet (fig. 1@ 32) for charged batteries (50) below the inlet, and a channel extending between the inlet and outlet (see figure 3), wherein the batteries (50) received in the inlet fall through the channel to the outlet (see figure 1 and par. [0042], the configuration of the battery pack 50 may enable the battery pack 50 to be inserted in the battery pack receiver opening 31); a wireless power transmitter (fig. 3@ wireless charging pad 37) inside the housing (30), wherein the wireless power transmitter (37) comprises a transmitting coil (see par. [0073], charging coil); and at least two rechargeable batteries (50) disposed within the channel (see figure 3), wherein each rechargeable battery (50) comprises a receiving coil (see par. [0042], a coil in the battery pack 50). However, Seng does not explicitly teach wherein the transmitting coil is formed on a first surface of a substrate; and a metallic sheet disposed on a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface, wherein the metallic sheet increases a transmissivity of the transmitting coil. Yu teaches the transmitting coil (fig. 1@ 101, 102, 103) is formed on a first surface of a substrate (see figure 1 and par. [0058-0059]); and a metallic sheet (see par. [0058], a metal sheet of a dielectric plate) disposed on a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface, wherein the metallic sheet increases a transmissivity of the transmitting coil (see par. [0058], [0079-0080]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seng with the teachings of Yu by having the transmitting coil is formed on a first surface of a substrate; and a metallic sheet disposed on a second surface of the substrate opposing the first surface, wherein the metallic sheet increases a transmissivity of the transmitting coil in order to achieve wireless power transmission with a transmission distance of 10 mm to 40 mm and a transmission efficiency greater than 50%. Regarding claim 8 , the combination teaches wherein the transmitting coil is formed from a single wire distributed in a rectangular spiral (see figure 1; Yu). Regarding claim 10 , Seng teaches A wireless charging system for recharging batteries in a medical environment, comprising: a housing (see figure 1@ 30) comprising: an inlet (fig. 1@ 31) configured to receive batteries (fig. 6@ 50) at a top of a housing (see figures 1 and 3); an outlet (fig. 1@ 32) configured to enable removal of charged batteries (50) below the inlet (see figures 1 and 3); a channel extending between the inlet and the outlet (see figure 3), wherein batteries (50) received in the inlet fall through the channel to the outlet (see figure 1 and par. [0042], the configuration of the battery pack 50 may enable the battery pack 50 to be inserted in the battery pack receiver opening 31); a power supply (fig. 3@ wireless charging pad 37) connected to or housed within the housing (see figure 3); and a wireless power transmitter (37) a wireless power transmitter inside the housing and coupled to the power supply (see figure 3), wherein the wireless power transmitter (37) comprises a transmitting antenna (see par. [0073], charging coil). However, Seng does not explicitly teach a plurality of transmitting coils, wherein the plurality of transmitting coils are formed by a wire distributed on a substrate. Yu teaches a plurality of transmitting coils (fig. 1@ 101, 102, 103), wherein the plurality of transmitting coils are formed by a wire distributed on a substrate (see figure 1 and par. [0058-0059]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seng with the teachings of Yu by having a plurality of transmitting coils, wherein the plurality of transmitting coils are formed by a wire distributed on a substrate in order to achieve wireless power transmission with a transmission distance of 10 mm to 40 mm and a transmission efficiency greater than 50%. Regarding claim 11 , the combination teaches wherein the transmitting coils are arranged into 10 or fewer individual coils (see figure 1; Yu). Regarding claim 12 , the combination teaches wherein the transmitting coils have a rectangular shape (see figures 3 and 4; Yu). Regarding claim 17 , the combination teaches wherein the transmitting antenna comprises an empty region in a middle of the substrate, wherein the empty region has a surface area less than 50% of a surface area of the transmitting antenna as measured using an outermost long side and outermost short side rectangle of the transmitting antenna (see figure 1; Yu). Regarding claim 18 , the combination teaches a metallic sheet disposed on the substrate on a surface opposing the transmitting antenna (see par. [0049] and [0058]; Yu). Regarding claim 19 , the combination teaches wherein the metallic sheet comprises a cutout at an area corresponding to a center of the transmitting antenna (see figure 1; Yu). Regarding claim 20 , the combination teaches wherein the metallic sheet is a ferrite sheet (see par. [0049], [0058], a metal sheet of a dielectric plate; Yu) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 2-7, 9, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seng (US 2017/0085103) in view of Yu et al. (CN108766744) and further in view of Yang et al. (CN108377036) . Regarding claim 2 , the combination teaches the wireless charging system above, but does not explicitly teaches wherein: the receiving coil has a long dimension and a short dimension; the transmitting coil has a long dimension and a short dimension; and the long dimension of the receiving coil is less than 50% of the long dimension of the receiving coil. Yang teaches the receiving coil has a long dimension (fig. 6: length is 9 cm) and a short dimension (fig. 6: width is 7 cm); the transmitting coil has a long dimension (40 cm) and a short dimension (25 cm); and the long dimension of the receiving coil is less than 50% of the long dimension of the receiving coil (see figure 6 and par. [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seng and Yu with the teachings of Yang by having the receiving coil has a long dimension and a short dimension; the transmitting coil has a long dimension and a short dimension; and the long dimension of the receiving coil is less than 50% of the long dimension of the receiving coil in order to provide the transmitting device has a large transmitting power and a wide spatial radiation range, and can drive more load devices. Regarding claim 3 , the combination teaches wherein a receiving coil surface area measured using the long dimension (9 cm) and the short dimension (7 cm) of the receiving coil is less than 25% of a transmitting coil surface area measured using the long dimension (40 cm) and a short dimension (25 cm) of the transmitting coil (see figure 6 and par. [0067]; Yang). Regarding claim 4 , the combination teaches wherein the short dimension (25 cm) of the transmitting coil is longer than the long dimension (9 cm) of the receiving coil in each battery (see par. [0067]; Yang). Regarding claim 5 , the combination teaches wherein a first ratio of the long dimension to the short dimension of the transmitting coil is less than a second ratio of the long dimension to the short dimension of the receiving coil (see par. [0067]; Yang). Regarding claim 6 , the combination teaches wherein first ratio is less than 2.5:1 and the second ratio is greater than 3:1 (see par. [0067]; Yang). Regarding claim 7 , the combination teaches wherein first ratio is less than 2:1 (par. [0067]; Yang). Regarding claim 9 , the combination teaches the wireless charging system above, but does not explicitly teach wherein the receiving coil surface area is less than 10% of the transmitting coil surface area. Yang teaches the receiving coil surface area (63 cm2) is less than 10% of the transmitting coil surface area (1000 cm2), (see par. [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seng and Yu with the teachings of Yang by having the receiving coil surface area is less than 10% of the transmitting coil surface area in order to provide the transmitting device has a large transmitting power and a wide spatial radiation range, and can drive more load devices. Regarding claim 13 , the combination teaches the wireless charging system above, but does not explicitly teach wherein a length-to-width ratio of each rectangular shape is between about 1.5:1 and about 2.5:1. Yang teaches a length-to-width ratio of each rectangular shape is between about 1.5:1 and about 2.5:1 (see figure 6 and par. [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seng and Yu with the teachings of Yang by having a length-to-width ratio of each rectangular shape is between about 1.5:1 and about 2.5:1 in order to provide the transmitting device has a large transmitting power and a wide spatial radiation range, and can drive more load devices. Regarding claim 14 , the combination teaches the wireless charging system above, but does not explicitly teach wherein a transmission efficiency of the wireless power transmitter is at least 40% at a 20 mm distance spaced apart from the substrate to transfer power to a battery. Yang teaches a transmission efficiency of the wireless power transmitter is at least 40% at a 20 mm distance spaced apart from the substrate to transfer power to a battery (see figure 6 and par. [0067]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seng and Yu with the teachings of Yang by having a transmission efficiency of the wireless power transmitter is at least 40% at a 20 mm distance spaced apart from the substrate to transfer power to a battery in order to provide the transmitting device has a large transmitting power and a wide spatial radiation range, and can drive more load devices. Regarding claim 15 , the combination teaches wherein the battery (50) has a receiving antenna (see par. [0042], a coil in the battery pack 50; Seng). Regarding claim 16 , the combination teaches the receiving antenna has a long dimension (fig. 6: length is 9 cm) and a short dimension (fig. 6: width is 7 cm); the transmitting antenna has a long dimension (fig. 6: length is 40 cm) and a short dimension (fig. 6: width is 25 cm); and the long dimension of the receiving antenna is less than 50% of the long dimension of the receiving antenna (see figure 6 and par. [0067]; Yang). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to XUAN LY whose telephone number is (571)272-9885. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 9am-5pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Rexford Barnie can be reached at 571-272-7492. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /XUAN LY/Examiner, Art Unit 2836 /REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 2 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 3 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 4 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 5 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 6 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 7 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 8 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 9 Art Unit: 2836 Application/Control Number: 19/212,835 Page 10 Art Unit: 2836